sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
My dearest girl,

I literally do not know what to do or say, after having been almost drowned in this outpouring of heartfelt ( for I can judge that! ) praise, except to tell you Thanks a million! 🤗 I am truly blessed to have readers like you.

Shyamala

Originally posted by: Sabdabhala

SHYAMALA JI

PLEASE DONT STOP OR EVEN SUGGEST THAT IT IS WE WHO NEED A BREAK 😆

EVER SINCE MANDY STARTED THIS THREAD, NEEDLESS TO SAY, THE PICTURES HAVE TAKEN A LARGE PART OF MY DAY

AND EVER SINCE YOU HAVE STARTED POSTING, MY MIND IS LITERALLY REELING 😆

EVEN THOUGH I HAVE READ MOST OF YOUR POSTS EARLIER, I AM STILL READING THEM LIKE A WONDERSTRUCK CHILD

WITH EVERY SENTENCE THAT I COMPLETE, I AM LEFT EITHER WONDERING WHY I DID NOT THINK ABOUT THE SITUATION IN QUESTION IN THE MANNER IN WHICH YOU HAVE WRITTEN ABOUT IT, OR FEELING OH MY GOD, THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I TOO HAD THOUGHT

I HAVE SPENT THE BETTER PART OF TODAY RELIVING THE EPISODES THAT YOU HAVE WRITTEN ABOUT

AND WALLAH😊 WHAT A JOURNEY IT HAS BEEN

SO PLS DO NOT EVEN THINK OF STOPPING

sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you, my dear Chandni (what a lovely id you have!), and I hope you will stay with us till the end of this series, which now seems likely to touch 40 parts!

Shyamala (Aunty? Di?)

sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you so much, my dear Fatma, and I am delighted to have you back with me. I am sure you will stay with us till the end of series, even if it goes to 40 parts!

Thank you also for your good wishes. I have had a total knee replacement 6 weeks ago, and it will take several weeks more, with painful physiotherapy, before the knee gets near normal and stops hurting so much. In the meantime, this series is helping me keep my mind off the pain!

Shyamala (Aunty?)

Originally posted by: fatma201

Thank you for an awesome post. Nice to have you back. Looking forward to reading more posts on Rajat aka Jalal. He is a great actor.

Wishing you a quick recovery.

sashashyam thumbnail
Mandy, I have the uneasy feeling it is going to touch 40 parts at the rate at which I am going!😉

I would love to put all the live links on page 1, but I forgot to reserve a second slot for it there. Can you create a slot for me there?

If not, I shall post the live links off all the parts on the earliest page now available, which is this pager 8, and you can put that in the title, and take out the references there to the individual updates, which will in any case be impossible once we cross Part 5 or so!

Shyamala

Originally posted by: ghalibmirza

sandhya, i think she will be posting more but in 20 parts i believe and will be posting all her links as well to the best of my knowledge but i guess she can answer better..i am just being too pushy to poor soul..akka sorry again for bothering you in such a condition! you can whip me but never leave us🤗..and yes standalone links to the posts in the beginning will be a good idea!

Edited by sashashyam - 10 years ago
sashashyam thumbnail
Sandhya my poppet,

Of course I will! I have asked Mandy just now how to do it on Page 1 for the 40 odd parts I think this series will come to, seeing that I cannot edit her opening post, only she can.

As for your list, I will compile it and PM it to you, and also put it up here when it is ready.

You of course are one of my major moral boosters! 🤗I love your responses to these old posts, and I am waiting to see if your list of favourites changes in the ranking as this series proceeds!

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: Sandhya.A

Aunty

Could you post the links of the 99 standalone JA posts of yours in this thread? A sort of ready reckoner whenever we feel like perusing your excellent analysis.

Whenever i have felt low, i have turned to P&P, HP series, Sherlock Holmes series, Gone with the wind, Ponniyin Selvan and the likes. God knows how many times i must have read parts of these. This series of JA analysis could also come in handy.😃 There have been certain parts, certain posts that i have enjoyed reading again and again.

I remember how much i laughed at your comments on the serial Maharana Pratap's wooden-ness in the Sukanya track. The serial had begun to take a down slide in charecterisation since then and satire overflowed in your words. We were compensated.

Your analysis on episode 31...you gave me the links later and i was as taken in by it as much as i was by the episode itself. 'Bharmal being Bharmal' was a real cherry in the cake. 😆

The Gordian Knot and the Shakespearean Heights were two other super good posts.

i joined the forum only in nov '13 and i had requested you to whip Jalal with words for his marshmallowing. But little did I realize then that it was nothing, nothing at all compared to what he was going to be reduced to.😭

sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you so very much, my very dear Sri!

When I watch those episodes or read my posts about them, I forget the travesty to which this once wonderful serial has been reduced and that alone makes the effort worth it!

Shyamala Akka

Originally posted by: jayaks02

In this labour of love posts akka you have created, I am reliving the great ecstasy RT's Jalal(Arrogant but stull JUST Emperor) brought to the table. Your posts glitter for those awesome episodes.

I relished reading them again - Good writing can never go out of style or time. It makes sense for any newcomer to JA to read yours and watch those fantastic episodes.
More Power to good writing. Keep your tribute to RT coming in, whenever you can.

sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you darling. My knee is going to be dicey for at least another 2 months, but you know what, doing this series is helping me keep my mind off it, at least to some extent!

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: ---Khushi---

Shyamala Aunty. ...🤗

Awesome post as usual. ...so nice to see you back on IF...that too for us all to sing our dear RT's praises...😳

I hope your health recovers soon...love you Aunty...🤗

sashashyam thumbnail
Preeti, my dearest girl,

What can I say except that I am delighted to have you back with me! And mind you stay with me for what threatens to be 40 parts or more!😉

I am truly blessed to have such perceptive readers like you, who can catch what I am trying to put across, recognise and relish the nuances and the sense of humour, often wacky😉, and make all the effort put into it more than worthwhile.

I am putting up the list of all the live leads to the individual parts on Page 8.

As for Mahakumbh, after coming back home from hospital and recovering enough to sit up for an hour at a time, I caught up with the serial after 3 weeks. When it ended, I had missed analysing 25 episodes, and though I did say that I would do something for the last 12, I just could not manage it. I did not have the energy or the urge to do it, and so I could not keep my promise. A pity.

As for me, I have had a total knee replacement 6 weeks ago, and so it will take several weeks of physiotherapy before the knee gets near normal and stops hurting so much, but in the meantime, this series of posts helps take my mind off the pain.😉

Shyamala

Originally posted by: Coolpree

Dearest Shyamala,

I cant express how thrilled I am to read your farewell post to JA ( or is it?😉).
Anyone who doubts the "Power of the Pen" needs to just read your posts on both JA and Mahakumbh.
There isn't much to say about this post except that it is quite simply perfect but then nothing less is expected of you dear Shyamala. I have told you before but you really need to write your memoirs. I know that anyone that can write with such color and substance must have some amazing life experiences to share.

Yes Rajat's Jalal was magnificent in its myriad of hues but he is fortunate to have a fan like you. One who can bring out the finest of nuances in his character and acting which maybe even he is not aware of and certainly goes unnoticed by mere mortals like me ...that is until you highlight it of course😛

I am dismayed that you are still batting pain even 2 months after surgery and sincerely wish you a speedy recovery ( mainly for your sake but also for my own selfish reasons😆). I fell off the wagon with Mahakumbh ( and JA) and missed your last few posts. When I finally came back I found out that you had gone in for surgery and had stopped writing. I look forward to following your future posts in perhaps a new serial that catches your eye.
Cheers and the warmest of regards
Preeti

PS Thank you Mandy for this post 😛

sashashyam thumbnail
My dearest Mandy,

This is one time when I do not have to say anything at all in response to this heartfelt post, except that I agree with all that you have written her. Especially the bitter, very sad lines of Amrita Pritam that you have so appositely quoted at the very end.

I am very pleased that you thought of this series, for I have started having so much fun writing here now, knee or no knee. Thank you so much, my dear. Between us, we shall make it a thread to remember!

Shyamala

Originally posted by: ghalibmirza

shyamala, now i got the chance to respond to your yet another wonderful post and you did it for me or for rajat or for your fans i cannot thank you enough for that my dearest🤗

to begin with you got hooked after watching the payal scene..and i must confess here that i did not get hooked until one of my friends who too is a vancouverist suggested me to watch..she forcefully made me watch few scenes and i belive jodha was married to jalal then..but none of the actors impressed me much..! for evening walk i used to stop at her house every evening and then we used to watch the show together as she would not leave the house before watching the show and i used to get bored and watch it half heartedly then my eyes laid upon the BT scene where jodha is pouring water on jalal and i kinda liked that scene..now the first thing that attracted me was the sizzling chemistry of the two and then from there on i started watching with bit more interest..and then i watched all the previous episodes in one go and was quite impressed!..slowly rajat's jalal was seeping into my heart and when the scene came of amer ki shehzaadi har baar kuch aisa kar jaati hi jo hamare dil ko choo jata hai..something in those lines..with a goblet of wine in his hand..the way he gets up from the bed..the way he pours wine into the goblet and the way he stands and recites that dialogue..he made his way into my heart through his this very flawless act and then many more after and before this as after this scene i looked at him with different eyes..and i too being a middle age woman cannot drool over him but yes there is a lot of respect and love for this kid in my heart...and will remain till eternity!

now coming to the payal scene..no one can explain it better than you shyamala..your observation is remarkable..i loved reading your post again and the way you explained his feelings is bang on..i loved it when you said that its not his passion for jodha but its how he wants her by hook or by crook..! and he who had the whole world at his feet did bent to pick her payal and the way rajat did is again impaccable👏

and yes i agree that akbar's liberal policies were not just because of jodha he was in fact born and raised among the rajputs which also helped him in being secular! but then this is ekta's show what can one do!

and then the way you explained how he took care of abdul and his interactions with bairam khan were a delight to watch and who can forget smily's rukkya..i too till date miss abdul and smiley suri..! she had a perfect attitude of a royal blood and what chemistry these two had..! the harem of those days looked like harem..the dances..the whole set up was just out of this world and really commendable as per tv standards!

and also agree with a heart full of pain that rajat although is actor par excellence the unskilled directors and script writers that trailed later finished the larger than life charisma of the character and what was left was just a skeleton with no life in it...rooh lai gaya dillan da jaani e hudd sanu chukna paya ni jinde meriye..amrita pritam's lines so aptly show ours and rajat's situation when the direction and script went kapoot!