26th Sep - JA-JO - Colours - the spice of life!

lashy thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
Jodha-HB
It took the sweet words of HB to help Jodha (and possibly the viewers too) to understand the significance of this Meena Bazaar! It was initiated as a social event that was meant to bring the royal ladies together - a short-lived chance to give them a feeling of independence - a rare opportunity to allow them to display their skills and attract the Emperor's attention!
I was sceptical when I saw what was going to be another Jo-HB scene...however, this scene was sweet...

'Ammi-Jaan ke liye tho ye karna hi padega' Jodha tells herself
At least, for the sake of this overtly-trusting HB I wish Jodha never thought of leaving Agra...

AGRA PALACE
Jodha stumbling upon the idea of Holi at Meena Bazaar was done well-enough!

Btw, these poor 'etc' Begums of Jalal only seem to get screen space whenever there's a Meena Bazaar happening in Agra

MEENA BAZAAR
Looking gorgeous in a grand purple attire, engrossed Jodha takes a tour of the small bazaar. Why, she was even in accordance with her friend's statement 'We've seen bazaars at Amer too...however, this bazaar has it's own unique features indeed!'

Jalal looked dashing - no doubt- as he strode into the bazaar. No matter how far his other Begums try, he always ends up landing in Ruqaiyya's tent first. The smile on his face when he sees her and the gratified grins on her's when she sees him *sigh* - I wonder when such Jalal-Jodha scenes would ever play on screen for us!

Visually inspecting her tent, Jalal mutters 'Now you have the opportunity, the setting and the experience - show me what special surprise you have stored for me in this Meena Bazaar!'
Having set up a stall that sports dupattas intricately woven with silver and gold embroidery, Ruqaiyya proudly explains the speciality of her wares to him. Jalal takes less than a moment to be impressed. He instantly purchases three of the dupattas - for three of his special Begums!

Ruqaiyya obliges and Jalal actually spends a few moments inspecting each of them - a very different scene this was indeed! (I found this whole scene's direction pleasant, though my heart ached for J-J)
Once he comes to the third dupatta - a pink one - he adorns it on the head of his favourite Begum with an appreciative smile. Ruqaiyya is absolutely delighted.
'You are smiling like as though this is the most expensive gift I've got you!' he remarks
'Shehenshah has laid his sights on my wares first and presented me with the first gift...what could be a more priceless gift than this? As it is, anything that Shehenshah lays his hand on becomes expensive' she explains - an earnest happiness on her face 'By the way, are you sure about this purchase? These three dupattas are going to cost you a lot!'
'Why talk of its price, when Shehenshah is presenting something in honour of his Begum? Today, you're the one trading - whatever its cost, you'll receive its value worth! Consider this your most profitable transaction!'
Ruqaiyya is elated, as Jalal walks away - happy with her!

I was shocked when MA assumes that the over-crowded tent was of Ruqaiyya's - but, in reality - was Javeeda's. Javeeda was selling paintings of a brightly-smiling MA!😆 Gawd these two - utter timepass!

I quite liked how Jalal was impressed with Salima's exquisite Ittar too. He respectfully hands her the green dupatta after complimenting her on her choice of scent (Initially, I thought the green colour would be reserved for Jodha, but then understood why he'd kept aside the white one for her!)

And then, our majestic Emperor lands where else - but, at our confused Sherni's tent - Madam Jo herself!
I love the music when they both come face-to-face! After gracefully acknowledging her gesture of putting up a stall in Meena bazaar, he goes on to ask her why she'd chosen to display colours in her stall. However, the stern Jodha refuses to explain 'I don't consider it important to explain its meaning to YOU!' [Grrr]
'Well...if you've put up this stall...then, its your duty to elaborate on its significance too!'
'What do I explain about colours to you' she quips 'Just understand that even if the hues of a relationship change over time, the association that we humans have with the various 'colours of life' never change!'
Jalal is pensive. She resumes her monologue 'Colours are always a part of my life and will remain so forever! Colours are a gift of God...a miracle of nature...2 colours can get together to form a new shade...and when these very two colours don't mix, they can become a stain too!

After stating a few more 'colour-ful' words on importance of tints, she boldly moves forward and takes the white dupatta his attendant was holding 'This white dupatta can signify peace...the moment a different colour makes its mark on it, its connotation changes'

While Jalal remains silently confounded by her lecture on colours, she goes on to rub some pink colour on it 'Tomorrow is Holi and an important day for us' she continues 'We throw colours at one another and express joy...that's why I've put this stall up and tried expressing my sentiments through it!'

The hush Jalal grows increasingly impressed - even though his white shawl was now a royal mess! (Pun intended)

'But you wouldn't understand all of this since you possess neither sentiments, nor a heart!'

He smirks at her 'A King cannot function by relying on sentiments...he functions on rules and regulations!' he pauses 'And the rules here are that whichever tent I visit, I purchase something from it!'

Staring away, Jodha orders her friend with indifference 'Give him how much ever colours he wants'

'I haven't come to take anything...I've come to buy something' Jalal corrects her 'So, I'll buy all the colours you've displayed here' he then walks a step closer to her 'One more thing, you understand the importance of colours well enough, but not the roles they play in our lives as well as you think they do...' Jodha is mildly intrigued, as the Kings continues 'I'd bought three dupattas from Ruqaiyya's tent...and in the form of a token of peace, I'd brought over the white one for you...however, splashing it with colour - you've completely changed its significance altogether!'

While Jodha looks a bit lost, Jalal concludes with authority 'True that I possess no sentiments, but as a King- I'm not blind to the sentiments that others possess!'

He then leaves from there - but not before permitting her - a guest - to play Holi to her heart's content with the colours he'd gift her - the very colours he'd bought from her that day!

PRECAP - Now...now...Jodha obviously blushes when HB tells Jodha 'Seems like Jalal has also started understanding your wishes...'
What is this I see Jodha?😛

Loved the episode today. Jodha continues to be rude...but I can totally see her hidden angst at Jalal's indifference...
She wants him to want her, but she can't see it happening
She wants to NOT want him...but, can't seem to do it!
Edited by lashy - 11 years ago

leelu0001 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
very nice analysis
CVs every day give us one nice akhda scene as consolation prize for watching the rest twenty five mins of bakwas
pooja-menon thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 7
Lovely write up dear 😃
In the disguise of colours.. Jodha was explaining their relationship to Jalal 😛😆😳
aanchal_c thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

Loved the episode today. Jodha continues to be rude...but I can totally see her hidden angst at Jalal's indifference...
She wants him to want her, but she can't see it happening
She wants to NOT want him...but, can't seem to do it!

bang on...👍🏼
lashy thumbnail
Thanks Leelu...actually aaj Akdha scene was longer than 5...I only know cos I had to type it all 😆
I liked the entire Meena Bazaar...his scenes with Ruq and Salima were good too!

Thanks poojie and aanchal 🤗
Autumn_Rose thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4

Thanks for the nice post di.

By the way Jodha was so wrong.. Colors always mix 😆

Jalal sort of tells her that baby... you neither understand me nor our relationship 😛 Look you just added the color of love to my gift 😆

lashy thumbnail

Originally posted by: Autumn_Rose

Thanks for the nice post di.

By the way Jodha was so wrong.. Colors always mix 😆

Jalal sort of tells her that baby... you neither understand me nor our relationship 😛 Look you just added the color of love to my gift 😆

Precisely,

What she sees as a stain, he sees as colour
What she sees as violence, he sees as passion
What she sees as hatred, he sees as love
What she sees anger, he sees as obsession...
sun29 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 2

ruqaiyya is like a kid...sabse pehle mere paas ,sabse pehle mujhe lol...no wonder he treats her with such affection...it matters to her that he comes first to her khema not just come to her khema😆...and then all about the cost and stuff...she is a true seller lol ...aaj ke zamane mein badi kaam aati ...loved he selected 3 dupattas for his begums instead of another strip and tease behind parda😆

saleema is like a cool breeze...seeing her on screen itself brings a calm ...

and then comes the tsunami of his life..jalal should be given some medal the way he keeps on going back to her 🤣...left right center she takes his class and yet he comes back lol

i liked their scene so much ...they are so adorable..jodha tried every trick to instigate him ,enrage him and he was as cool as a cucumber which did not go well with our amer ki mirchi 😆...he really is trying to make up but then he knows it is not easy hence is huge patience ...

only jodha can get away treating him like that in the entire world...no one absolutely no one else can ...and this cool facade comes down when she does a veeru style water tank suicide ...

but the total fun was javeeda and MA ..i cannot stop laughing 🤣🤣..MA should know about karma now..what an apt bahu she got🤣
lashy thumbnail
Omg sun...i started by trying to quote your post and highlight the various bits I liked...however...once I read through it all, I just realized the whole of it was beautiful...
Loved each and every word of it!
today's episode was a filler for me!
We got to know the significance of the Meena Bazaar and why it was started in the first place but just like many things it too has lost it real charm and now it's a open ground to grab his majesty's attention!

Moti is missing since yesterday wonder where she went? It would have been an interesting scene had we got JB & MB conversation take place instead of this new dasi!

The two jealous begums of Jalal have appeared and in the very same attire orange and blue! 😔 Cvs seem to forget that other begums exist in the harem besides ruku and Jodhu!
I was happy that for once Jalal showed interest in some other begum's stall ...ah good fortune of Ruqaiya ...he has to see her even before the other begum could show her stuff.

Jalal was anxious about the gift and an over excited Ruku didn't waste time. I remember the last time we got a very *ahem* demonstration of the kashmiri shawl ...phew...this time no such thing happened! 😉
I instantly knew who the 3 begums were and as expected pink was gifted to ruku and blue was given to Salima and white cum peace offer to Jodha!

I found it a little odd when salima said he is Shahensha and her husband nevertheless i admire their relationship... so much mutual respect for eachother!

Jodha is still stuck in her annoyed phase and it doesn't make much sense now. She is certainly pissed off on Jalal on his comment two days pehmaan!! she has to start with a taunt and show how knowledgeable and superior she is to him! I did find her tone rather rash and not been acceptable by 16th century standards! She was in a way mocking him and his sensibilities that too in public!

Her explaination on colors was rather interesting and best part was unknowingly she colored the dupatta Jalal wanted to giftthat too in pink! 😎 i couldn't stop laughing at the irony! Jalal was quick to point that out leaving JB even more pissed!

How sad that... Jodha can not see Jalal goodness in all of this, he bought all the colors and gifted it to her to celebrate holi...a festival never celebrated before in the palace! Jalal has been way too accommodating when Jodha is concerned as rightfully pointed by Ruku yesterday!
The earlier Jodha at least saw a good side to Jalal but this new one is lost in her own dilemma! It obvious she longs for his attention and doesn't want to leave Agra but her stubbornness and attitude will not let her listen to her heart.

The precap, thanks to SBS & SBB we know the future track. Maham is sure to create a ruckus. But i am more interested in knowing the reason she states? she might use the religion card here!

It won't make sense if JB is ready to die just because she got an earful from Jalal or that he is favouring MA! I think may be, Bharmal replies to Jalal's paigam and this upsets Jodha even more. She is no coward to take such a drastic step as taking her own life because of MA or Jalal's anger!

The new CVs are focusing on Jalal but and not giving much attention to JB! Jalal still get's the best lines while JB is sounding like a broken record!