geet.a thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: BoxedIn

Geet, yeah same, never seen QH so this is my first impression of Chandna too and she's been fantastic so far. Nakuul I've seen a bit of in his previous show and his web series... light-hearted comedy seems to be his forte so I was really surprised to see him playing a Gul hero. But yeah you seem to be right, looks like the writers are using his strengths... Shivaay is more a crotchety uncle than your usual brooding Gul hero with never-ending issues and it's a nice change. I'm still catching up with the earlier episodes where he seems to be in more of the Gul ML mould and this new and improved Shivaay is certainly wayyy more tolerable.
Re: their offscreen personalities, lol I saw some speculation here about the lack of joint interviews aur mujhe thoda deja vu hua, so I decided not to bother at all. 😆 Anyway, hope they continue in this vein for some time... I need to watch something for my desi tv fix and right now this one is the stress buster I need. 😆

At Bushy's suggestion, I went back and rewatched the previous epis, since I was complaining a lack of intensity( like other MLs) in Nakul. But I got that too, except I guess he realized REAL quick she is different 😆 and will give back as bad as she gets. I love how she does not make it easy for him in any of their interactions.
Re: Joint interviews 😆
Dude they gave one, and usme bhi trolled their own characters so much. It's fun to watch that one, hotstar par hai 😆

Let's hope their relationship progresses organically and comically( for our stressed lives' sake)
yellomellow thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

There were possibilities with the way all three couples have been conceptualised, but Shivaay-Anika have been the only one so far to have had some sort of arc. Although I have my doubts about whether Gul can sustain it...this is her usual pattern she's following here although these two are probably her most well-matched couple so far in terms of the verbal volleyball. 😆
As for Shivaay's being intimidated, hmm I think it's a mix between discomfiture at his attraction and some genuine alarm at her aggressive ways...he has certainly done more than his fair share of standard Gul ML manhandling otherwise.

You make a valid point no one has ever stood up to him and she is unpredictable 😆 Honestly, minus the predictable and unnecessary ML manhandling it's an awesome show and I love all the leads so I hope they don't ruin it.

I watched his previous show where his character was the nice guy and the lead's relationship was beyond adorable. Shivaay + Anika ship is intense and there is nothing cute about their relationship. The chemistry is insane and the characters (and actors) are well-matched so I'm hoping they capitalize on all this potential.
Cat. thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 6

@Adhi: OmRu's behavior would definitely have been disrespectful on another show which took this plot seriously. As it is Shivaay himself (and the writers at large) seems to forget half the time that Tia even exists, so no point feeling sorry on her behalf. Doesn't help that the actress playing her has the most grating voice.

@Anu: I wasn't expecting intensity as such in the drunk scene, just that "cute" was a very lame response in the situation I felt and this show usually does better with comebacks. Again, this cribbing is mostly because of Chandna's fabulous voice modulation in that bit... it lifted the scene tremendously and Shivaay's response just fell flat in comparison.
Haven't seen her in QH but heard she did a good job playing a vulnerale mute girl there. Chalo good to know she has range. With you on laughing at the serious bits too, especially the "conflicts" in the oberoi family...lol everyone looks like they are having an apoplexy and ten minutes, a few tears and one OBros hug later, everything is back to being sunshine and roses. 😆 If Gul was intending to make a parody of all her shows, she certainly seems to have succeeded and I'm not even complaining, it's why I watch it in the first place. 😆
Re: Dadi's voice, lol yeah very grating Even Chandna's voice tends to become shrill whenever she raises it but she saves it with her expressions and the dialogue delivery. But NOTHING beats Tia's whiny voice... you could torture someone with it and they'd beg to die. 😳

@Sru: Hi. Good to see you here too.
This turning out to be another reunion thread. 😆

Like Anu said, the irreverence is what is working for this show, the conflicts & the emotional family moments are unintentionally funny😆
AreYaar thumbnail

@Anu: I wasn't expecting intensity as such in the drunk scene, just that "cute" was a very lame response in the situation I felt and this show usually does better with comebacks. Again, this cribbing is mostly because of Chandna's fabulous voice modulation in that bit... it lifted the scene tremendously and Shivaay's response just fell flat in comparison.
Haven't seen her in QH but heard she did a good job playing a vulnerale mute girl there. Chalo good to know she has range. With you on laughing at the serious bits too, especially the "conflicts" in the oberoi family...lol everyone looks like they are having an apoplexy and ten minutes, a few tears and one OBros hug later, everything is back to being sunshine and roses. 😆 If Gul was intending to make a parody of all her shows, she certainly seems to have succeeded and I'm not even complaining, it's why I watch it in the first place. 😆
Re: Dadi's voice, lol yeah very grating Even Chandna's voice tends to become shrill whenever she raises it but she saves it with her expressions and the dialogue delivery. But NOTHING beats Tia's whiny voice... you could torture someone with it and they'd beg to die. 😳

@Sru: Hi. Good to see you here too.
This turning out to be another reunion thread. 😆

Might as well rename it to "AT Dwitiya" now😛😆

hahaha you haven't heard Tia's voice before it seems...meri toh purani dosti hai...lol she used to be Dia in MJHT...legendary voice since then😆...her "Shivaay Babyyy" in this show is something else😆

Daadi's voice is still the most annoying to me...what makes it worse is that they try to sell her as this benevolent "Ishqbaaz-ing" figure and all I can hear is THAT VOICE😳

SC is more or less on the same volume levels as usual Gul FLs...not even her fault...Gul ko isse low decibel aata hi nahin apni FLs mein daalna😆

Re: drunk scene...lol I guess we shall again get back to the irreverence argument...they seem to have deliberately chosen not to go the route of Anika's "Shivaay" giving Shivaay a pause...it was all "how cute" mode😆
charminggenie thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
@Box- Such a refreshing thread..so proud of you. Such great discussions, thank you for making this thread.

@AY - So Bored and I am too lazy to type there - yeah that was my nickname for her. 😆
AreYaar thumbnail

Geet, yeah same, never seen QH so this is my first impression of Chandna too and she's been fantastic so far. Nakuul I've seen a bit of in his previous show and his web series... light-hearted comedy seems to be his forte so I was really surprised to see him playing a Gul hero. But yeah you seem to be right, looks like the writers are using his strengths... Shivaay is more a crotchety uncle than your usual brooding Gul hero with never-ending issues and it's a nice change. I'm still catching up with the earlier episodes where he seems to be in more of the Gul ML mould and this new and improved Shivaay is certainly wayyy more tolerable.
Re: their offscreen personalities, lol I saw some speculation here about the lack of joint interviews aur mujhe thoda deja vu hua, so I decided not to bother at all. 😆 Anyway, hope they continue in this vein for some time... I need to watch something for my desi tv fix and right now this one is the stress buster I need. 😆

I haven't seen much of Nakul's work before, just on and off glimpses of his previous show and a little of his web series...I agree with you on the point that he seems more suited for light-hearted stuff so I can see the struggle to fit him into Gul ML mould😆...he's not the first Gul ML to face that issue waise toh...but in his case, his appearance adds to the whole deal...he's got a bit of a petite frame for a character that's supposedly meant to be the "big brother imposing figure"😆...In the initial epis, it was even harder for me to buy him as the "big brother"...lol ab I've kinda gotten used to it since OmRu give him more deference...initial epis mein toh I was confused about whether Om was the older brother or Shivaay was😆

LOL his "new and improved" version of Shivaay is definitely more entertaining...Nakul's fine when he gets to do incredulous expressions at Anika's antics but it's the "voice modulation" that gets weird sometimes ...like he's constantly trying to clear his throat or something 😕😆

I saw the Hotstar IV...SC seems like a sweeter, more susheel version of Anika in real life😆...and Nakul seems like a cheerful person too...the questions in the IV were kinda dumb...seemed more like a PR exercise from the channel than a proper joint IV😆...all of the questions were geared towards getting them to drop an "Anika" or "Shivaay" reference😆

Nakul calling the rest of the cast as "these kids" kinda made me LOL cuz frankly woh khud kaafi baccha lagta hai😆...I did feel kinda sorry for him cuz it must be quite a struggle for him to hold that constant angry/glaring mode of Shivaay's...
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: charminggenie

@Box- Such a refreshing thread..so proud of you. Such great discussions, thank you for making this thread.

@AY - So Bored and I am too lazy to type there - yeah that was my nickname for her. 😆

I sense extreme sarcasm😛😆

Still bored? LOL kya karein hum tumhara, Genie? Waise you seem to be giving Anika a run for her money in keeping nicknames for all the annoyances😆
charminggenie thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: AreYaar

I sense extreme sarcasm😛😆
I am appreciating her sincere efforts for character analysis.She is so good at it.

Still bored? LOL kya karein hum tumhara, Genie? Waise you seem to be giving Anika a run for her money in keeping nicknames for all the annoyances😆
Way too early start at work and now I am so bored. I have a theory about Radhe Ma will tell you after the episode airs.😳

geet.a thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
🤣 kya bolu main?
Watch today's epi guys :)

Khidki thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
Oh my I m falling ...actually have already fallen for Anika's Shivaay... 😳

Yeh ho kya raha hai...

pehle iss naye Shivaay ne jhalak dii
phir naach kar dikh aaya