MagadhSundari thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
Lola's in the HOUSE y'all ๐Ÿ˜†

@ Debi di - I knew you would agree with me on the besuri aawaz during Sharanagat Vatsal, aur koi nahin to aap to saath dengi hi on a music issue ๐Ÿ˜† The Dharti Maa actress is definitely different from the one in the dirt eating scene, I think that one was the same lady who was in the original Yamuna-touches-Krishna's-feet song but because of all the underwater effects it's hard to tell.
And ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘ at the in-depth analysis of Radha so Shyam; that they were able to convey such a deep truth with such simple technology was indeed a remarkable feat ๐Ÿ‘ That "Shyam tripti, Radhe abhilasha" line you quoted reminds me of the RSR Swayamvar discussion we had, Sita Maa's deep longing that could only find fulfillment in Shri Ram and thus her manaao'ing of Gauri-Ganesh.
As for Shahnawaz as Shursen confusion, I'm still in the same boat as bhaiya, 50-50 ๐Ÿ˜• It's really really hard to tell with the stark white beard, but both have those gentle eyes so it could totally be possible... if it's true, hats off to his talent ๐Ÿ‘
Next sequence coming right up ๐Ÿ˜‰

@ Janu - glad we agree on the early exposure to Kans's true nature, as well as the dubbing voice confusion ๐Ÿ˜†
And even more in our love for Dave as Narad... will open a poll in a few days that I had long ago opened on Orkut, so we can discuss all the wonderful scenes in which he got a lesson firsthand from Shri Krishna.
Later SK did not have SDB's real voice, that dubbing artist with the lowww mellow voice was the one they used on Mukul Nag in Saibaba and Gurmeet during his Vishnu scenes in ASR.
As for the confusion regarding Vasudev's family, I think bhaiya already addressed it but just to restate: he had an elder brother named Devbhaag who had more scenes in unedited SK than the new dvds, and Devbhaag was Uddhav's father. However, neither of them inherited a throne because this whole family belonged to Mathura which was jointly ruled by several factions of the Yadav dynasty, and out of respect for an old boon bestowed on the Bhoj faction to which Ugrasen, Kans, Devak, and Devaki belonged, it was a member of that family who always sat on the throne. Why Ugrasen and not the elder Devak, I don't know, unless SK messed up and made Devak older but he was actually younger. Then it would make perfect sense.
Anddd... good point about the parallel VD-Narad flower scenes, the freakiness of flowers falling indoors is certainly... freaky ๐Ÿ˜† I guess y'all have convinced me then, it wasn't a personality difference in their reactions but just circumstantial.

@ Daau - idk if that particular video had the Brihaspati scene but this one certainly does, henceforth I will be linking the vids from this uploader because he's putting up the original dvds in longer segments and higher quality so yayyy for that:
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GJNGGqJwtY[/YOUTUBE]
And sachchi baat kahi about Narad's vardaan... firsthand audience of these divine leelas and also, the opportunity to get an explanation of the confusing ones from the Leeladhar Himself whenever needed! BONUS!!!
And as usual in agreement on the unresolved Shahnawaz issue... unhi se poochna padega ke bhai, aapne aakhir kitne roles kiye SK mein?! Talented man ๐Ÿ‘
MagadhSundari thumbnail
Next up: In Mathura's royal court, we are introduced to the rest of the royals and the political dissent within the Yadav dynasty... 12 and a half minutes into this vid:
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URtLSKVHhDQ[/YOUTUBE]

My comments, or at least some of them since it's time for bed but if I don't finish I'll continue tomorrow:
- Cannot go without once again professing my love for the Golok set decor that I'm booking for my vivaah (which ain't happening any time soon, don't get excited mommy)... that swing, those fountains, the peach color... ati sundar ๐Ÿ˜
- also, the last we will hear of SDB's real voice in the show :(
- Vijay Kavish, who we loved as Shivji and Valmiki in RSR, makes his first appearance as Ugrasen in this scene. LOVED the characterization he was given, for the first time very "kingly", totally responsible and in charge, not easy for Kans to just dominate without a fight. The debate between his (as well as Vasudev's and Akrur's) democratic ideals and Kans's Machiavellian fear-driven philosophy made for a veryyy interesting scene that fit right in with the sophisticated, intellectual tone of this phase of SK. The ocean-of-devotion wave that followed was of course the core of the show, but this too had its own appeal. Though both Akrur and Vasudev support the same model of democracy, it would be interesting to debate their slightly different approaches. Was Akrur's direct opposition to Kans a wiser course of action as it might have nipped the problem in the bud, or was Vasudev's cleverly worded coercion better given Kans's supposed power at the time? Akrur claimed over and over later on that had they rebelled against Kans at this point before he seized the throne, they would have succeeded in getting rid of him... do you guys think, destiny and devotional elements aside, this was a realistic claim?
I myself would not have been able to mask my feelings towards Kans's tyranny as well as Vasudev did and am not sure whether Kans really had the kind of power to force him to subscribe to such civility - but maybe he was just that nice to everyone, in which case I lose he wins ๐Ÿ˜† j/k... He does defend the Populist cause quite formidably and Ugrasen's follow up too was right on... reminds me of the farmers' debt crisis that occurred a few years back.
- The dude who speaks out against Kans at 17:45 - RSR's Prahast, though he had infinite other roles that one is most memorable to me. Good thing he learned his lesson siding with the bad guy in that, ab line pe aa gaya ๐Ÿ˜†
- Then Vasudev suggests Operation Vivaah for appeasement not knowing that it would end up becoming his own vivaah... the scene is very different from how it occurs in BRC's MB, where Vasuji is reluctant but Kans forces the proposal on him... both were well portrayed but created very different character sketches for Vasudev... anyway, back to SK: short-lived as his affection was, Kans's reaction was cute.

In the next vid, Kans spews more Machiavelli and then the grand VD wedding takes place:
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jW8PUlZPt00[/YOUTUBE]
- Paulommi's look during the mehendi scene was really cute! Observation: what she wore there was the only sleeveless saree blouse in all of SK; closest to RSR's costumes in that regard. Anywho, I liked it cuz I love green :D
- My absolute fav song from the wedding sequence was the vidaai one, Vachan Vida ke... such a sweet, lilting melody, almost like a lullaby!
- I've mentioned this before but I just love Ugrasen's speech to Vasudev during the vidaai, about putting your wife first and all... we get a lot of those mother-daughter duties of a wife dialogues in our mythos and Indian cinema/television in general, this PATI dharm stuff is much rarer to come by and a welcome change. It also very nicely foreshadowed what a devoted hubby Vasuji was shown to be in the series, but more on that later โค๏ธ
- Finally, favorite instrumental tune from this segment starts about 23 minutes in, it's a very sweet and folksy one that reminds me of Dekha Ek Khwaab and any number of other compositions by Shiv Hari... I think we only hear it one more time in the show, right before baby Kanha overturns the cart on which the invisible Utkach comes to attack him... when Yashoda Maiya's teaching some girls how to spread mirchis so they dry properly ๐Ÿ˜† Interesting fact: JSK also showed Yashoda Maiya drying mirchis in one scene... apparently maakhan misri's not all they ate in Gokul! Anyway love that tune and hate that the new DVDs dubbed a song over it... grrr.

That's all for now folks, looking forward to you guys' take on this segment!
Edited by lola610 - 13 years ago
ShivangBuch thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: lola610

- Vijay Kavish, who we loved as Shivji and Valmiki in RSR, makes his first appearance as Ugrasen in this scene. LOVED the characterization he was given, for the first time very "kingly", totally responsible and in charge, not easy for Kans to just dominate without a fight.
Kingly and later on really UGRA. Each and every role played by him is master blaster. Underrated by people possibly just because of this fact that he is not identified in 1 single role. Very unfair because that itself is the reason of his superiority over other actors.๐Ÿ˜”

The debate between his (as well as Vasudev's and Akrur's) democratic ideals and Kans's Machiavellian fear-driven philosophy made for a veryyy interesting scene that fit right in with the sophisticated, intellectual tone of this phase of SK. The ocean-of-devotion wave that followed was of course the core of the show, but this too had its own appeal. Though both Akrur and Vasudev support the same model of democracy, it would be interesting to debate their slightly different approaches. Was Akrur's direct opposition to Kans a wiser course of action as it might have nipped the problem in the bud, or was Vasudev's cleverly worded coercion better given Kans's supposed power at the time? Akrur claimed over and over later on that had they rebelled against Kans at this point before he seized the throne, they would have succeeded in getting rid of him... do you guys think, destiny and devotional elements aside, this was a realistic claim?
I think both the different approaches were natural and right in their own sense. I can empathize both. Vasudevji's one looks like that of Ramji (a bit more deliberate and thoughtful rather than innocent/forgiving like Ram were with Ravan before war) and Akrurji's one looks like that of Lakshmanji.๐Ÿ˜ƒ And Akrur's claim also seems to be realistic. Right thing could have been stopping the marriage of Kans with Jarasandh's daughter. But had that had to happen, Ugrasen would never have been able to know what limit Kans could cross and why that alliance had to be stopped. Concern of Akrur and far vision had no strong base to convince others until it actually happened.

And lol. That Brihaspati voice is definitely of Kans. But very soft and gentle like also used in some sages possibly in Ramayan or even in SK. Sochna padega. Sharbhang I am sure.โค๏ธ You must be knowing the names in the list which can be further added. And Shahnawaz. Extremely talented. Undoubtedly.๐Ÿ‘

And that music 'Dekha ek khwab' reminds me some other song also. Possibly close to 'Ye mausam bhiga bhiga hai' or background music of many Yash Chopra films only.

And that Yamunaji actress as I told once is the same as Puranmasi bua - Bhavini Jani.

And besura song? Which line you are talking about exactly? I can recall very very besura - height of it in the song Nand gher aanand bhayo in the following loud extending - Nandalaalaa Gopaalaa ho.

Edited by ShivangBuch - 13 years ago
RamKiSeeta thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 6
Guys,
Guess who finally updated their entry on Pg. 27?๐Ÿ˜› Please do take a look at it so that we can go back in time and discuss those scenes! It's been way to long and I'm eager to get back on track, especially since it's almost a year since my family began SK.๐Ÿ˜ฒ We only have four more episodes now and we'll be done with the show!๐Ÿ˜ญ
-Janu
RamKiSeeta thumbnail
We just finished SK today, guys! Though the Banasur track was incredibly boring, the last episode was good and made me feel a bit emotional that the show's over. :( We began exactly December 10th, and watched the show for almost a whole year, I can't believe it!Though the end of Krishna's life was not shown, the Sagars did wrap it up nicely by making Krishna tell everyone that his avatar has not yet come to an end and he still has to end the Yadavas' pride before returning to his divine abode.
Jai Shri Krishna!
pakhara thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
can i, like, join the convo right in the middle?
i know i ress a spot for comments going a long ways back, but that'll take forever to edit.
pretty please?
MagadhSundari thumbnail
@ Dau - regarding the Vasudev-Akrur question, the Ram-Lakhan comparison makes sense, as does the point that though Akrur accurately foresaw Kans's true nature no one could really be made to agree until they saw his actions later on. Par us waqt, was Kans really so powerful already that they had to censor themselves and be so sweet to him? Would confronting him more directly and with more pressure the way Akrur wanted have led him to be as destructive that early on?
Repeat dubbing artists ke liye to ek puri thread banni chaahiye, they really must have worked the HARDEST of everyone involved with Sagar mythos given how many roles they had ๐Ÿ˜† We should make a combined one to point out repeat voice artists and also side actors like the Prahast guy, maza aayega. A fun tiimepass where we can post in a hurry without taxing our brains, just like the costumes one I have yet to make ๐Ÿ˜†
Besura song was the "sharnaagat vatsal Narayan" one sung when the devtas go to complain to Vishnu about Kans, particularly the female singer who does the "trahimaam" in the end for Dharti Maa is nails-on-a-chalkboard bad ๐Ÿค”

@ Janu - congrats on editing your entry... will comment soon but do consider the suggestion I gave you about going back and forth, I think it'll be fun ๐Ÿ˜‰ And nooo you're not supposed to mention the words "ending" or "last episodes" to Lola, especially before she sleeps ๐Ÿ˜’ Now she's depressed. Fix it. I bet you know an easy way, as in what kind of scenes (of whom) to comment on to cheer her up again ๐Ÿ˜†

@ Aishu - do you even have to ask ๐Ÿคช Welcome back, looking forward to your catch-up commentary!!! But consider several smaller posts on each specific scene/track rather than one long one on all that you've missed... trust me, I have a lot of experience disappearing from threads and giving catch-up commentaries later on, the divide and conquer method's a lot less daunting ๐Ÿ˜†
RamKiSeeta thumbnail
@Lola,
I was just about to reply to your other PM hun, the older one where we were having a longer discussion and you asked if we could discuss Janmashtami along with Kans, and I love the idea as it will keep the freshness of the earlier epis alive. Let's get to it!
@Debipriya,
Will reply to your PM, soon, dear, so sorry for the delay! I have so many unread PMs in my inbox, lol, I have to tackle all of them!
RamKiSeeta thumbnail
Okay guys, to facilitate discussion on that Kans entry from Pg. 27, I'll pose a few questions for everyone to answer. Let's see where this goes.๐Ÿ˜›
1. Do you think Kans's plan to bring Krishna to Mathura was fool proof? What were the pros and cons of it thinking through a politician's mind and not a viewer's?
2. Had you been a politician in the time of Kans, would you have been induced to accept his bribe unlike Akrur (answer honestly!๐Ÿ˜†)? Why or why not?
3. Had you been in Devaki's place, how would your decision have been different? Would you have accepted Krishna as your son for your husband's safety, or would you have been so sure of God's grace (and known nothing would happen to Vasudev) that you'd have kept quiet? Remember, Balram already saved VD from being killed by Kans once, so it's highly doubtful that he or even Krishna would have let them be harmed again.
Now start answering! I ain't writing my next entry till I get some feedback on this one.๐Ÿ˜ˆ๐Ÿ˜†
RamKiSeeta thumbnail

Originally posted by: AishuJSKfan

can i, like, join the convo right in the middle?
i know i ress a spot for comments going a long ways back, but that'll take forever to edit.
pretty please?

Sure dear, you don't even have to reserve in this thread because you can comment on the epis anytime and however you want.๐Ÿ˜Š