It speaks to how much they have destroyed V that even with him showing guilt, apologizing and looking "torn" and regretting etc, audience CAN'T sympathize with him. Even if his performance in today's scenes was decent, it doesn't make me feel any differently about the character. And thats the impact of their constantly negative story telling and of what they have made V into. In my eyes even if he begs , Sai can at best forgive him but audience and Sai can never go back to trusting him and definitely not to loving him and Sai together. Theres a soft corner because she only loved him, he was the only man, only family/friend in her life apart from her father, he's also the father of her kids but the mutual bridges have been burnt beyond repair and now even the raw materials, enthusiasm to build a new bridge have been fully exhausted. Now its just about live n let live. Kids Khush ho. Bass. I sense that resignation and complete surrender from Sai. And I'm glad. I want her to also consciously distance herself more. Thats also needed. She does not need to be "available" for V P or CN just because her kids are also his..
As for V, he has often cried buckets only to flip in no time. So even this so called guilt of hiding the truth from Sai doesn't mean anything. Even now his monologue is not that - i will make sure P gets her mental illness treated and tell Sai truth. Its an indefinite postponement. His "sahi wakt" never comes. He has NO plan. He never does.
Audience can only be expected to understand his pov (he doesn't have one but just for argument sake....) if he at least has a plan in his head. If he thought "P is sick. She is emotional. She lost uterus. She will get suicidal - so i will get her treated and then prepare her to accept the truth by the end of the month" then just maybe for a second we could say- ok he did listen to the voice of his conscience, his rational mind. But what he did instead was to just essentially declare that Sai cannot know and started making excuses for himself that his situation is more "complicated" than Sai's was. Abey?! Who the F is he to make these comparisons and conclusions .... Even in shruti kaand he did the same. He had NO plan of involving Sai or of exactly when he would be able to inform her. It was an indefinite postponement+ self pity of how he was in such a "difficult" position but nobody understands him etc etc. Same thing now.
In the past also he cried buckets, asked for apology and flipped. Last instance was when he was begging Sai to forgive him for snatching the baby and not seeing Ps truth. He wanted to punish himself n all but Sai melted and wanted to focus on their baby. Even when he was summoned by DIG, he told Sai - I deserve it. Its not your fault.
But as soon as that was done he flipped. He wanted to bail P , expected Sai to conpromise instead of convincing his stupid family that criminals cannot be excused because they are worried about "log kya kahenge" and then icing on cake was the extremely nasty things said to her.
Till date he has not had FB of his last words to her - anaath, bojh, samjhauta, bhai ki maut - all the accusations of being a family breaker
He has a track record of being nice to Sai- like full on emotional, apology n all and then very next second flipping into opposite end of the spectrum.
So yeh sabb guilt vaghera fake hai. 100% fake.
Basically there is a teeny tiny bit of conscience that tries to speak up but he quickly shuts it down as always.