Aah!!
I LOVE THAT SONG!
My all time favourite!
Why dont we get such movies aaj kal??

Errantnomad thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
"Adu, Rajini movie, vengaya sambar aloo curry, nanna thookkam... and then BEER in the evening" Akka laughed uncontrollably

True that. I don't care much for the last in this list but life on a few days is pure bliss with the rest of the list. Back in the 80's and 90's , this sure was 'Sunday Gold' for a middle class family and if I hv to replace one thing in this list , it would have to be pakodis and onion, potato and raw plaintain bajjis in the evening replacing beer 😊. Nostalgic.

This update warmed up totally for the major part of it. It was so good and light to read Bala and vandu having a pleasant day. Caught in the life's doldrums such sunny breezy day walks in the park are always welcome. It's like the human pulling the hand cart loaded with goods everyday toiling in sweat . It's just that Some days he does it , still toiling in sweat but smiling and singing. This Sunday is a smiley cart day for the Balachsndrans. Nice. But just goes on to show how such moments have a cascading effect on the rest of the family with their approach.

It was funny to read vandu suddenly coy and teasing II as besharam on her qtn for the repeat episode for the night after literally showing a video with almost nothing left to bare. 😆 . SISTERS!!!. Huh... 👏 .

Bala was bk to his kanna mode with II and their banter on Rajini and stuff like yester times . The appreciation for her singing came from his heart. And on II comparing Bala to Dude and missing the banter like this over Tamil stuff , on a few days it's ok to reminisce instead of taking offense on that thought of hers. We don't get every small or big pleasures of life from one source even if that source happens to be your husband.

I would prefer to look at this comparison as a person having spent his or her childhood in mango groves and jackfruit trees in their ancestral farm / home reclining in a rope cot / Charpai dangling his feet in air...missing out on such simple fun times because that person has now made his or world somewhere else with her or his loved one. But on a day when you get bk to go to your mango grove and taking a bite out of the raw/ ripe Mango ,one does end up comparing or reminiscing . It doesn't hv to mean that the person wants to change or uproot his present world.

But Akka in her mood today couldn't quite catch on to II's hinting of her fear and indirect approach of tubes and current doldrum that she finds herself in. Mrs Iyer would hv immediately caught on to II dragging her feet on this. But she needs help for sure. It was also good to see vandu having a laugh over
her father's paranoia on dude's offsprings 😆 .She got II to smile on this pinched nerve of hers as well.

Paati and thatha with their trade mark wit was fun to read. An awesome update Nisha and so refreshing from the balacgandrans. It's been a while. 👍🏼
Edited by Errantnomad - 8 years ago
Errantnomad thumbnail

Originally posted by: Nisha0604

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5afB764FSA

Here is the song
One of the most beautiful Tamil songs... EVER

Early 90's I think. Thalapathi release.After my twelfth board exams. Some things stay in your memory. Hindu news paper used to have this Friday music review. The writer in her review of the audio release of thalapathi songs gave a soulful review of this song. She had written that listening to this song for the first time while traversing up the western Ghats and its serenity, the music and the singers voice and soul to the melody made her transcend life's barriers.

After reading this audio review I remember pestering my dad for Money to buy the audio cassette of Thalapathi. Appa did not agree to give money to buy that but he gave me a blank Sony cassette tape instead from his pk of 7/ 8 and told me to record it and listen to them. So I did that borrowing the cassette from a friend of mine as that was more Cheaper and you could have more songs from multiple genres in one tape. This song used to be on loop then for months and many times over the years whenever I got to reconnect to the melody in it.

All time favorites. Thank you. 😊

Mid / late nineties cassette started its decline to become a dead medium
taramira thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
I think it is on days such as these that II feels the difference between the bhallas and the iyers more strongly. The easy camaraderie that exists in Akkas house. a happy lull, truly cherishing and enjoying the simple pleasures of life. and yes the update did bring back strong memories of our middle class existence. the cool home with cement floors rendered shiny by the daily pochcha. simple furniture, typical curtains and lovely scent of my grandmothers dhoop mixed with scents from the kitchen. Harmony indeed. but am just wondering how II simply takes off for hours without informing or inquiring about Nivi? Does she really take her job as the woman of the house at MM seriously at all? I sometimes feel that despite it being two years she still behaves as though she was a floater!
Errantnomad thumbnail
Does II take her role as woman of the house seriously? Well, II just turned more luckier as regards responsibilities of the house than vandu or Sam as she herself acknowledged happily in the previous night dinner convo that she had with her sister and sister in law. That's why we don't see her fitting in to the slot behavior which is normally perceived for the woman of the house in general. But I don't think she is overdoing her advantage. I also feel circumstances dictates responsibilities , demand a certain order of control.

Vandu envies the freedom Sam and II have not having to rush bk to put food on the table every meal. Sam envies the inlaws bonding vandu has and II claims then she has both the freedom and the bonding with the inlaws.

After the load she took at MM the previous evening inviting everyone including chachu and her sons as that was her father in laws wish and given the circumstances and her fracas with her husband,her visits to both Sam and her sister seem to be in flow atleast this Sunday. Her visit to Sam's was after letting Dude know and with Nivi who later was picked up by Dude and was told to make her way bk home. I feel that she used to take off just like that when Nivi wasn't born. I think she also is able to take off without Nivi for a longer stretch when Dude is around. On the days he's not around she has no choice but to take Nivi with her .

The stretches of time I think she feels and behaves like a floater trying to distance herself from the house convos and stuff and even distance herself from Sam , is when Manny is home. That unsettles her and that's not exactly comfortable. I don't think given the magnitude and scale with which things are run at MM, she will be on page with the finances and the handling of it as the woman of the house yet. Don't even know if Dude has an financial arrangement with his dad as to the expenses at MM. Everything is so different at MM from any normal house hold with Ranjan being so generous and warm making light of every situation.

Yep II just turned more lucky and she is aware of that and on occasions when II forgets that, her mom Mrs. iyer dings her and reminds her of the fortunate circumstances and the liberty she has when compared to others.
taramira thumbnail
Kaplana you have done a whole analysis of whether II is a floater or not. 😛Considering that she did luck out, I still feel that She doesn't reallly make too much of an effort to really fit in. Agreed she doesn't have much help in that regard from anyone other than Ranjan but Ranjan is like 4 bahus put together and super cooperative too. When they were so called separated for a few months she just didn't bother to even find out Ranjans haal? I completely get the circumstances etc her anguish, fear etc etc Lekin responsibility is also something no? But then if she wasn't this way then she wouldn't be II would she? And we are not looking for a perfect ghar wali and a super sweet wife and a great mom etc etc, we are looking out for impulsive II!
taramira thumbnail
Waiting for the manao or the repercussions of the tube tying update!!!!
Nisha0604 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Disaster of our own making

No questions were asked, no interrogations, she had full freedom at MM
Too much freedom in fact, she didnt have to tip toe, like Akka said she would if she returned late at night
Her FIL wud be "guarding" the door and she would get scolded

Ranjan and Nivi were asleep in Ranjan's room.
Nivi looked content, she had cat's whiskers and... no II spotted leopard spots on her face and three dots on her chin

She smiled when II kissed her as if she knew

Ranjan stirred and sat up

"Huney aayi puttar?" he asked gruffly fumbling, reaching for his glasses

"10 bhi nahi baje aap so gaye?" she asked

"Haan, tu nahi, osne baat karna hai, kal raati 2 baje tak jaga" Ranjan yawned

II smiled walked over and hugged him

"Vandu ne mere waaste kuch diya?" he asked
II shook her head
"Oh sorry diya, tamarind paste kal banati hoon tamarind rice" II smiled softly

"Changa gudiya... so jaayin puttar" he urged

She stood there smiling

"Did she eat?" she asked abt her daughter

"Jee beta... osne khilaya isko, cheese, fruit, chawal, hore pata nahi kya" he said and lay back down

II went up the lights were all on

She shut them as she passed
Showered and changed into a cami and draw string cotton pants

Walked the corridor to peek into his room

He was on the phone

He stopped talking to stare

II leaned on the opposite wall and pulled one foot up

He didnt seem like he was going to come out and greet her

Neither was she invited in

They looked at each other longingly and she went to bed
Got up, grabbed a few Tamil mags

There was no place to set them by the bed, there was a book tower on both sides on the night stands

"Tchhh" she exclaimed and set all his books down and stacked hers, lay on her belly and read up all the latest gossip

Looked at RMKV saree designs

All the deepavali things were dazzling on the pages

She took some pics on her phone and texted them to Akka

"Idu epdi iruku?" (how do u like this one?)

"Podi... watch for a Kumaran Silks ad on TV usually between Sun News a orangey peach saree with a giant peacock" Akka texted

"Lets go to Chennai and shop together I have a new job, I will buy u ur saree" II promised

There was no response

After 40 or so minutes

II pestered her

"Ka... where are u?"

"ughhh, podi... I am busy"

"OMG U ARE DOING IT" II texted in caps

Akka sent back a bunch of emojis

II checked the clock it was nearing 11

She heard footsteps, he showed up at the doorway

"I am heading out to play poker" he said

II didnt acknowledge.

"Its Sunday night" she said

YA SURE
LIKE HE HAS TO WAKE UP AND GET IN THE CAR AND DRIVE TO WORK

"I guess" he said quietly

"Tumhe koi faraq nahi padta..." she said later

SHUT UP
OK?
JUST SHUT UP
BEFORE YOU SAY SOMETHING YOU REGRET

I NEVER SAY ANYTHING DUMB

HA!

"What?" he asked

"I actually meant abt you not having to go to work tomorrow" she said "I didnt mean it any other way. I mean...aisa nahi hai ki tumhe kisi baat ka faraq nahi padta
padta hai... lekin Jab tumhe faraq padta hai kisi baat ka to tum bilqul baat karna band kar dete ho"
She cackled derisively
"Thats an oxymoron actually... jo baat karta hai wohi baat band kar sakta hai, you never talk so stopping doesnt mean a thing to you" she smiled derisively

AYYYOOO!!!
YENN DI?

"Are u done?" he asked

"Kyon? If I am not done to ruk jaoge kya meri poori baat khatam honey taq?" she threw at him

She was sitting up now

He leaned on the door jamb hands in his pockets... the hoodie strings down across his chest

"Ritu threw all these cryptic hints all evening long. Thats why I asked you if you dated her" (she was hoarse)
"Ive never asked you who all you have dated in the last 10 years... or 12... or" she stopped
IF YOU SAY 14 OR 16 THEN IT WILL MEAN YOU ARE ACK HE WAS SEXUALLY ACTIVE FROM 16
WHY?
WHY ARE U TORMENTING URSELF?

"Ive just dealt with it..." "or not" she whispered
"She hates me... and so I thought this must be why she gave me grief the last couple years" she said choked up

"And we both conspired to hide it from you?" he asked baffled

"No... no... thats not why I asked you... I asked you because I can reassure myself that there was nothing"

"What if I had said there was indeed something?" he challenged

She was in shock

"Would that have made u happy?" he asked
NO

HOW CAN IT MAKE ME HAPPY

MAKES ME WANT TO KILL HER MORE

HE IS RIGHT
IF HE ADMITS HE DATED HER
RITU WILL FOREVER HAVE THAT EDGE OVER YOU OF KNOWING HIM INTIMATELY BEFORE YOU DID

YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH RITU HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH HIM
HIS SEX LIFE IS A MONSTER THATS PERMANENTLY TATTOOED TO YOUR SKIN
ITS A OPEN GASH THAT FESTERS AND GROWS

"U cannot use me to win a Ritu battle" he said bluntly "That disaster is all of your own making unrelated to my sexual urges" he finished
"I am not particularly crazy to watch a tantrum right now II" he said firmly

And walked out

She left the lights on and went to sleep... cried a bit at first

He didnt actually enjoy poker, he returned at 1 to find her sprawled on the master bed fast asleep her magazines every where open to saree ads

He stacked them all on the open pages
And lay by her and exhaled... groaned

Bala had sent the video file of her singing at dinner at Munirka

(Bala and Vandu awake at 1... after... ahemm...)

"Thanks" R&B texted

And listened with his earbuds on,... multiple times.. before falling asleep
Their bodies close to each other, warm and firm...radiating hunger... but the mind too much in control