The king & the wise man
Suvi sat in the Sector 40 arcade with Nihar, he looked indifferent, hiding his eyes under his ball cap, or atleast tried to
The week after Preet's anniversary had been eventful to say the least
Neel's in-laws had arrived for a flying visit and Pant Mamaji and Mamiji too
Neel had hosted a lunch at a Pind Baluchi... and Suvi was invited...
This Nihar Suvi meeting was "after" the luncheon
His milkshake sat untouched
"Brownie leke aayegi mai?' Suvi asked softly
He shook his head politely, only to realize he was unhappy
He immediately shut down
Suvi sighed, groaning inaudibly
She had a great friendship
He ran up to her and hugged her and told her what her Art teacher said that week whenever he saw her, he talked about fancy new sketching instruments Ruchi had sent for him from Glasgow
He shared fine pencils with her
He smiled secretly at her when they ate terrible pao bhaji in NOIDA
Or when Aadhya spoke like a boy
He chuckled secretly when Neel tried to cook
He laughed openly at Neel when Neel turned on the wound up hose in the tiny front lawn only to have it dance up like a cobra spraying him with water
'Aapka idea tha?" he asked Suvi, with a grumpy face
"Nahi NIHAR ka" she smiled fondly
He actually held her saree rolling the pallu in his hands like a oblong pillow, like he did with Nupur's saree at Preet's anniversary
He sat by her as they ate, daring her to bite into mirchi and counting to see how long she could go without water
He took her to Neel's terrace to show her a colony of creepy earth worms picking up one as it curled around his thumb like a baby's finger
"He likes you" Suvi had said
"How do u know its a boy?" he asked
LOGICAL! JUST LIKE A BOY!
Suvi had chuckled noisily
Aadhya would have immediately taken on a nurturing stance, but Nihar questioned the gender of the worm
"Aunty ko kya maloom" she smiled
"Shud we go back?" she asked him softly, back to Preet's anniv party
"Umm... mmm its fun to see the worms at night" Nihar whispered
"I am scared" she smiled
"There are no monsters" he said smugly
"I agree" she smiled
"Are u happy for school to start?" Suvi asked gently
Bringing them back both to the now
Nihar was more nervous as he imagined 6th grade...
"U liked 6th grade in April & May" she reminded him
"I dont like Social Studies" he told her bluntly
"U can sketch kings and queens and monarchs" she offered
His eyes lit up
She pulled out her note pad from her purse and her stubby red and black Natraj pencil and sketched Akbar and Birbal spectacularly
He watched holding his breath
When she was done, or after when she was done, she went back and added jewels to Akbars's sherwani, and the ruby pendat on his pagri
"Can it be mine?" Nihar asked
She smiled overjoyed
Pushing the royal duo towards the lil 11 year old
"Milkshake peene ka... haan?" she ordered gently
He sipped quietly
"We will always be friends Nihar" she said reassuringly
He sipped noisily and without looking at her face asked "So does that mean u are marrying my Dad"
Edited by Nisha0604 - 9 years ago