ShikhaKhushi thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
CHAPTER 11 - You're Getting Attracted To Me...

Akshay gurgled joyfully, smacking his aunt's cheek.

"Badmaash! It's late now, beta. You should sleep now." (Naughty!...)

The baby grinned and gurgled again.

"Kya hua? Maasi gaana gaake sulaayein?" (What happened? You want Aunty to sing you to sleep?)

As if on cue, Akshay clapped his small hands together in delight, squealing. Khushi laughed.

Arnav smiled as he watched the aunt-nephew affection. It was cute. It warmed his heart in a pleasant way. He was just turning to leave, to give them privacy, when her soft melodious voice stopped him. He thought he had been dreaming when he had first heard her hum. He turned back to her, this angel who had fallen on earth by some miracle.

Thode badmash ho tum, Thode naadan ho tum

Haan magar yeh saach hai, hamari jaan ho tum

[You are a bit naughty, a bit innocent

You are a bit naughty, a bit innocent

But it is true that you are my life]

The toddler had his hand wrapped around one of her fingers, his eyes fixed on the hypnotic crystals of her saree. She was smiling down at him, motherly affection etched on her face.

Haan magar yeh saach hai, hamari jaan ho tum

[You are a bit naughty, a bit innocent

But it is true that you are my life]

Arnav felt as though he was bewitched. He could neither take his eyes off the pair, nor walk away. Khushi walked further in the garden, towards the fountain as she sung. His heart was racing; his feet moved without his accord, following her. What was he doing? Or should he better say, what was she doing to him?

Meri saanso ki jhankar ho tum, mera sola singar ho tum

Meri aankho ka intezar ho tum

Mera imaan meri shaan mera maan ho tum

[You are the sound my breaths make, you are my adornment

You are what my eyes await

You are my faith, my pride, my self-esteem]

He noticed the baby's eyes were already drooping with sleep. He shifted his gaze to the woman, who had not yet seen him. The baby's head was resting on her shoulder and she had placed her cheek lovingly on the top of it, her eyes shining with bliss. She sat on the edge of the fountain.

Thode beyimaan ho tum, thode shaitaan ho tum

Haan magar yeh sach hai, mere bhagwaan ho tum

Thode hummm, hummm naadan ho tum

[You are a bit dishonest, you are a bit of a devil

You are a bit dishonest, you are a bit of a devil

But it is true that you are my God

']

When she had finished singing, Arnav broke out of his trance. He found himself smiling foolishly. How could a person's voice only contain so much magic was beyond his power of understanding. He had been spell bound himself, he, Arnav Singh Raizada, who held no interest for music. He suddenly realized his legs were moving of their own accord, taking him to her.

"Stop, Arnav," he ordered himself. But they would not heed.

"Akshay?" Khushi tipped her head to look at the child, who, she noticed, was fast asleep on her shoulder. She giggled, gently unclasping his hand from her hair. "Badmaash."

"You've left the Sangeet already, Miss Gupta?"

She inhaled sharply as she recognized the voice, her eyes widening. She saw him before her when she looked up. How long had he been there? Had he heard her sing? A blush crept up her neck and cheeks. She felt uncomfortable, almost embarrassed. She hated it when people who hear her singing, they would generally tease her about it. And he was Arnav Singh Raizada. He half-smiled at her and took a seat on the edge too.

"I should say, you dance well."

Khushi blushed deeper. "Thank you."

He eyed Akshay curiously. "He's your sister's son, right?"

She nodded. "Akshay."

He nodded back. "So you left the ceremony early?"

"Yes, actually, Akshay was not liking the crowd and Jiji wanted to watch the Sangeet, so I came out with him. And you? You also left early."

He shrugged smugly. "I hate these ceremonies, music, weddings and all."

She raised her brows and open her mouth to comment on his statement but right then, her mobile gave a shrill ring. She answered the call.

"Haan Jiji?" (Yes, Jiji?)

"Kahaan hai tu, Khushi? Akshay tere saath hai na?" (Where are you, Khushi? Akshay is with you, right?)

"Haan, so raha hai." (Yeah, he's sleeping.)

"Achha, use vaapas le aa." (Okay, take him back.)

"Theek hai," she turned back to Arnav. "Sorry, I have to go. My sister is looking for her son." (Fine...)

He nodded in disappointment. "Yeah, it's okay. Good night Miss Gupta."

"Good night, Mr Raizada," she replied with a smile, emphasizing on his name.

Arnav winced. "I told you to call me Arnav, didn't I?"

Khushi raised her chin defiantly. "And didn't I tell you to call me Khushi?"

This time he felt his own eyes widen. She smiled and turned towards the hotel, leaving him alone in the dark grounds. His lips curved into a smile. Khushi Kumaari Gupta. A girl who would perhaps never cease to amaze him. Less than a couple of weeks since he had met her, and she had already surprised him in hundreds of ways.

Her lies. Her hidden secrets. Her ability to hide her emotions. Her affinity with kids. Her dance. Her singing. There was too much. Now, he observed her as she walked to the entrance of the Sheesh Mahal, her long dark hair, the slight sway of her hips, her slim frame draped in a saree. She was undeniably beautiful.

Right before she stepped inside a sudden breeze blew over her, moving her hair and he caught sight of her back. Arnav's breath caught at the sight of the expanse of exposed whit skin. A familiar feeling stirred inside him as his imagination blinded him.

Desire?

Edited by ShikhaKhushi - 12 years ago
frenzyy thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
he s soo falling for her...😉
Arshibest thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Awesome update
Arnav it's not disire it's love
prerna.sharma thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Awww..this was truly amazing.. i enjoyed every bit of it...!! Fab update..:)
rkapoor1382 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Awww tht was nice one.
He has already fallen in love its jst tht he realises tht soon.
Continue soon
720865 thumbnail
Loved it yr..it is beautifull story.
And the way it is described is adorable.
Will u plz pm me whn u update it?
pantrossy thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Arnav couldnot control himself n following her everywhere.. That was amazing
N that song was so perfect .. I felt that she was singing for Arnav not for Child

He was truly fall for her
Ms. Gupta N Mr. Raizada both r perfect
When they r gonna call each other by their first name
ShikhaKhushi thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
CHAPTER 12 - Looking For Me?

"Ulka? Which design have you chosen?"

"This one, and you?"

"I-"

"Khushi, do this one."

"This? Oh, yeah, it's so pretty, do this one, Khushi."

She smiled at Ulka and Payal who were both insisting on a design.

"Okay, fine, I have this one done."

The three of them had grown close indeed, making Garima and Madhumati, as well as Ulka's mother very happy. It was the afternoon and they were holding the Mehendi ceremony. Meanwhile as the boys were not allowed there, they were holding a bachelor party at some pub, though it had made Ulka quite upset. Just as Khushi's mehendi was halfway done, and the girls and women were all chattering among themselves, the phone rang.

A maid rushed in with it, informing the future bride it was for her and held it to her ear. Her smile fell at once.

"What? You cannot do this to me! But why? No! No! Promise? Okay, fine! Just be back in time!"

Everyone watched her, confused. Ulka explained that it was Arnav. He had to leave for Jaipur immediately as an urgent meeting had come up, but he had promised to be back the next day for the wedding.

Khushi felt a little prick where her heart should be. But why?

Twenty four hours. He sighed as he ran to the entrance, gesturing the porter to take his bags to his room. Twenty four hours since he had been away. More than that since he had not seen her.

And now he was going to be late for the wedding and his cousin would bury him alive. He was only entering the building when he saw something like a flash of white come out of it and even before he could react, he had bumped into it.

Khushi closed her eyes as soon as she saw the impact coming. She crashed into what seemed like a wall in the middle of the door way and felt her body rebound towards the floor. She scrunched her eyes tighter, readying herself for the bruises she was sure to receive but instead she felt something holding her back at her waist. Something warm.

Her eyes snapped open to collide with a coffee brown gaze. Familiar eyes. She blinked nervously as realisation crept into her. Arnav Singh Raizada.

The one and only.

Her breathing stopped, literally, but her heartbeat picked up pace. He was frowning down at her, his body, encastrated in a form fitting charcoal three-piece suit, was emanating heat against hers, while his eyes set her on fire.

Khushi looked down at her hands which rested flat against his broad chest. What was happening to her? She had never felt this way before...

Could be possible to get what you wish for seconds after thinking about it? He was lucky enough for this to happen to him. His eyes were fixed on the nymph in his arms.

She wore a white saree this time with an emerald Crepe de Chine choli. The glass tissue cloth hugged her curves beautifully, its borders sewn with old-gold-coloured beads. She wore jhumkas again, but this time, they were smaller and golden. A matching pendant with dark green motifs hung from a thin thread of gold around her neck, her wrists were filled with dozens of white, gold and deep emerald bangles.

Her wide eyes focused on him, only him. Her warm, inviting scent enveloped him, making him light headed. Why? What the hell was happening to him? He released her, suddenly fuming at himself for the way he was reacting to her.

"I'm s-s-sorry..."

He looked at her silently. She notice his jaws had clenched all of a sudden and he had roughly removed his arm from around her slim bare waist, almost pushing her away. He held his gaze for another fraction of a second and stormed inside the hotel. Her eyes followed him, confused. What was wrong with this guy?

Then she shrugged. It hardly concerned her, did it? That was his problem. She went her way to do what she had come out for. Within ten minutes, she was back inside the immense hall where the ceremony was being held. She went to stand by the mandap, near Payal and Akshay. Buaji was also there, crying bitterly because her 'baby' was getting married. Khushi and her cousin could not help but laugh at her.

Khushi leaned against one of the corner pillars, watching the ceremony well. She sensed as though she was being watched. When she looked up, she found him staring at her.

He gave her a tiny smile but she looked away immediately. He felt guilty. He shouldn't have reacted that way earlier. It was his mind which had been at fault, not her. Certainly not her.

He could not take his eyes off her. Especially when she was wearing that thin, almost transparent, saree which fitted her form so well. He clenched his jaws together, decidedly, she was not very healthy for his mind. He needed a lot of sharpness in the field he worked in but ever since he had known her, that sharpness he had was slowly eroding away. She had been infiltrating his mind ever since he had seen her at a conference, two months ago. She had not seen him, she had been daydreaming like the day he had caught her in his office. He smirked at her memory of the incidents of that day.

When he raised his eyes from his shoes again, she was glaring at him, her lips moving fast. His smirk widened, causing her eyes to do the same. She went on mumbling under her breath, more vigorously than before. Arnav found himself concentrating more on her than on the ceremony, his eyes narrowing a bit, straining to understand what she was saying.

Khushi tried hard not to laugh. It looked like Mr Arnav Singh Raizada had no idea of how funny he looked, his head tilted slightly to one side, his eyes narrowed to slits nearly and a comical smile on his face. His head was bent forward and he appeared to be trying to know what she was rambling about.

It was better if he did not hear, or he would surely be horrified. He stood directly opposite to her, on Ulka's side. She had to admit, he looked staggeringly handsome. Minutes later, he was called upon to complete the ceremonies a brother should, and as the bride did not have one, it was Arnav who had to. Khushi noticed he was startled, having been abruptly snatched from his preoccupation in which he had invested a great deal of attention.

She giggled at his embarrassment but thankfully for her, the trumpets were being played too loud for him to hear.

His eyes searched her amidst the crowd thronging the part of Sheesh Mahal where the wedding was being held. Now that the ceremony was over, everyone was either having dinner or strolling around, but the person he was looking for was nowhere to be seen.

She was not at the dinner tables, she was not in the hall, she was not with the guests, she was not in the gardens. Where the hell was she gone?

But the real question was why he was so bothered about it?

He frowned to himself. She was nothing to him. Then why? He was stuck in a maelstrom of feelings and emotions he was unable to understand. He sighed, fists clenched. He had to get her out of his mind. Else she would make his living difficult...

He made up his mind and stalked stiffly to the hotel, his mood suddenly off and a strong urge to go to his room pushing him. A familiar laughter stopped him. He swivelled on his heels to see her, his eighth wonder of the world, running about in a secluded area with group of kids. Of course! He should have known!

He had searched high and low for this girl and here she was, playing. She had changed already, for a maroon and beige chiffon churidaar. As he watched her, a smile drew itself on his mouth unconsciously. She was the first person he had met who took her name to seriously. Khushi...

Edited by ShikhaKhushi - 12 years ago
prerna.sharma thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
awesome update :)
Arnav and khsuhi both are getting attracted towards each other.. wow..!!
pantrossy thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
It was super amazing part
He was falling for her but didnot realised
He was so restless when she wasnt there for a while
Wow.. Finally he smiled
Yes she is really eighth wonder of his world
His heaven.. His peace.. His smile more then miracle