JalebiJane thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 7

Part 13

A good host knew that once party guests had dined, they would soon begin to gather their children and dig for their car keys. In order to counter this exodus, the Mehras asked the DJ to launch into pulsing dance music. Guests who a few minutes before had been ready for their beds, now flocked to the dance floor. Some lively young women Khushi had met earlier called out for her to join them. She declined with a smile and a shake of her head.

"Go on," Anjali encouraged her Bhabhi. "You love to dance!"

Shyam added greasily, "haan, Khushiji--it's a pleasure to watch you. You dance beautifully. Just because your husband is a bore and doesn't know how to enjoy life, doesn't mean you should be deprived."

As always, when Shyam was angry, he got careless with his words. He had sat fuming for the past half hour, piqued by Arnav's untimely interventions and resentful of their public intimacy. It is all a charade--he consoled himself. It's a forced marriage; Khushi herself had revealed that on Holi. One of them slept by the pool; he himself had seen the evidence. Yet, despite all this, when he saw them together--like this evening, like the evening at the cinema--he wanted to tear the limbs off the mighty and powerful Arnav Singh Raizada.

-----

Khushi tensed at Shyam's words. But more than that, there was a tangible shift in Arnav. She glanced at her husband and saw a storm gather in his visage. His face darkened. Mouth tightened. Eyes narrowed.

Seeing the fury in her husband's face, Khushi could honestly say that she hated the man called Shyam. Or did she really only hate herself? Shyam's attempts to generate a response from Arnav were due to her carelessness. She felt sick. She hated that in her bhaang-induced state she had opened her mouth and given Shyam the means to ruin her life--again. Because of her, Shyam provoked Arnav because he knew why they had married. And, Arnav was triggered because he was aware Shyam knew about their forced marriage. There was no other explanation for why Arnav had suddenly become so harsh towards his brother-in-law.

This chilling indictment meant that Arnav also knew who told Shyam. Then why has he not confronted me? Was he waiting? Would he pick his moment? Her husband was not a patient man, but he was a master of timing. Fear-induced nausea rose in her throat. I have wrecked my own happiness even before I have fully tasted it. But, this was not the time to think of herself. She had to distract Arnav before he exploded in public.

She heard Arnav saying, "Khushi is not an entertainer for others to admire her dancing, she's my wife!" On the word wife, his fist slammed the table.

"Chotte!" Anjali reacted in shock. "What on earth--?"

She had to do something!

Khushi grabbed his fist in both her hands, which instantly brought his eyes towards her. "Arnav...Arnavji, I feel sick. I need some air," she said. With her eyes, she begged, "Please."

He immediately came to his feet, pulling her to him, and with his arm along her waist, quickly led her outside, leaving behind a perplexed group.

Akaash and Anjali were never surprised at their brother's temper, but this possessive behaviour was something entirely new. They could only attribute it to his married state--their brother had finally come to learn that not everything in life was a dispensable commodity. Payal knew differently, and a troubling thought began to germinate in her mind. What did Arnav know about Shyam and Khushi?

Shyam was all the more irritated. He could not claim victory, nor could he understand Khushi's actions. His intention had been to provoke Arnav, but Khushi had put herself between them. He wondered whether by attacking Arnav, he was creating an enemy in Khushi. That would not serve his long-term goal.

-------

Khushi leaned weakly against the terrace, grasping the cool railing. She took in large gulps of evening air. Arnav stood silently behind her, rubbing her arms. She felt him leave, and then was back within the minute.

He twisted her around to face him. "Here," he said, scooping an ice cube out of a glass, and bringing it to her lips. She parted her mouth to receive it. But, he first rubbed the ice cube across her upper lip, then her lower lip, before popping it into her mouth. She closed her eyes and allowed the frozen shard to melt slowly on her tongue. The cooling effect spread down her throat, and into her chest. She felt her breath return to normal.

Arnav rubbed another ice cube along her hairline and across her temples.

She parted her eyes. He looked so concerned, it almost broke her heart. I love him so. I would do anything to make him happy.

"Ab?" he asked.

She nodded, and was able to give him a faint smile.

He placed a finger under her chin and tilted her head so that she was looking right into the dark ocean of his eyes.

"Khushi, what are you afraid of?"

Her heart jumped at his germane question. She was accustomed to being the one who asked the direct questions. His role was to evade them.

"Dar? Nahi...kuch nahi," she stammered out.

Arnav didn't speak for the longest moment. She felt he was weighing his words. He finally said, "you no longer have to do everything by yourself."

Khushi felt tears form at the back of her eyes. Was it true? I am no longer alone? A tiny hope began to flower in her heart. If Arnav knew she had betrayed their secret to Shyam, would he be so tender, so generous towards her? Would he be so protective? Hai, Devi Maiyya. Could she be mistaken? Is it possible that he doesn't know?

---------

That was enough for now, Arnav decided. He could show her she was safe and that she was not alone. But nothing in their future life would mean anything if she did not trust him with her secret. He would wait for her to come and tell him what Shyam had done to her--when she was ready.

He sent a text to Akaash and Anjali that he was taking Khushi home. To forestall their worry, he implied she had an upset tummy. It would prevent any other speculation. When they reached home, Hariprakash met them at the front door. He handed Arnav an envelope delivered by messenger earlier that evening. Arnav had been expecting it, and was keen to have a quick glance at the documents. But, not in Khushi's presence. He urged Khushi to go upstairs. He watched her walk away. Before mounting the steps, she stopped, turned and looked at him. He held her eyes. Something passed between them. It could not be articulated, but Arnav knew that today they had taken multiple steps forward. The documents could wait. He caught up with Khushi at the staircase and they went upstairs together.

----------

While Arnav went to the bathroom, Khushi sat in front of the mirror and began to remove her earrings. At the movement of her hands, her churiyas tinkled and the pleasing sound reconciled her scattered emotions. She was named Khushi for a reason, she reminded herself. And, she had much to be happy about. This morning she had not known who she was. Now, she knew. She was married to the man she had loved and denied for months. This strange difficult angry man had somehow become her entire life, and she now had a chance to love him openly with all the power of her female heart. She would love him, she smiled. And, she challenged him to find the strength to resist her. Arnav Singh Raizada, you will be mine whether or not you want to be. After all, she had forced him to marry her today. This time for ever.

She felt his touch on her neck. He was undoing her necklace--and with it undoing her self-control.

"Leave those," he said, as she began to remove her churiyas.

He lifted her from the stool so she was standing facing the mirror with him close behind her. "But...this...this has served its purpose," he continued, as he began to remove her saree.

Her hands instinctively went to prevent him. He stopped.

Their eyes met in the mirror, and held. She felt her hands then fall helplessly to her side. She had cleared his path. He tugged at the saree, unwrapping her like a gift. And, when she was divested of the saree, he stepped back like a sculptor admiring his own handiwork.
She felt the warmth in his eyes stoke the warmth in her womb. But, her desire and her love for him were not enough to melt away her natural bashfulness. She crossed her arms covering her exposed midriff and stepped away from the mirror and stepped away from him. A huge part of her wanted to go to him. But, her legs simply would not comply.

She saw him take a seat on the recliner, his eyes never leaving her.

"Khushi, don't cover yourself. You want me," he stated simply.

His reading of her thoughts shocked her to the core.

"You can't say such things!" she blurted.

He responded by lifting an eyebrow. "Am I wrong?"

Khushi felt her control slipping rapidly. She gathered her wits. "I..I.."

"Be very careful how you answer, Khushi--for both our sakes," he advised. steepling his fingers and resting his elbows on his knees as he leaned forward.

Khushi thought for a moment, and then her eyes flashed back at him, and accused, "you want me even more."

A shout of unexpected laughter burst from his chest.

He chuckled, and shook his head, "I won't deny that."

She couldn't help smiling herself. The laughter had eased her anxiety.

"Come here," he said, standing and stretching out his hand. She went to him, suddenly comfortable. He caught her hand, and with one deft move, he had lifted her in his arms. "So, Mrs. Raizada, it looks like you won that round," he said, smiling into her eyes.

She returned a triumphant smile.

He set her down on the bed and reached for her, and for a brief moment she felt apprehension. She widened the space between them. He hesitated, then lifted her hair aside, urged her head to rest on the pillow, and spread out her hair so it fanned across. He covered her with the duvet, and stood up.

She instantly felt regret and loss. "Arnavji...?"

He halted, and met the unspoken question in her eyes.

"Show me when you are ready, Khushi. I'll wait."

---------

pink.lotus thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
oh wow! an update! and such a great one at that!

loved how arnav is so delicately handling her emotions.. bringing her out to be confident in her sensuality.

wonderful writing, as always!

👏👏👏
👏👏
Edited by guturgutur - 13 years ago
shadesofme thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
i love the understanding between them...loved the update...
ekdoteenchar thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Ahhh looved this part .. Hehehee the last line .. Thanks for the pm btw :)
Edited by theflyingdonkey - 13 years ago
Cytherea thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
That was a great part.. Shyam is a disgusting pig 🤢 and does he really think that after all that has happened Khushi would still be on his side.. He fails to realize that Khushi became his enemy the minute he betrayed her (atleast I hope she did..lol) Loved the intense scene between Arnav Khushi
lovekkg thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
What an update.. Its such a pity we wont get to actually see such scenes.. It would be so amazing if its made into a movie or episodes.. Waiting for the next update !!
ilive2laugh thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

cant wait till khushi tells arnav the truth

clover thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 4
Wow!!! You are amazing!!!👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼 👍🏼
.A.l.i.a. thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 6
nice update ..
you are very talented in writing..
I like Arnav waiting for her to tell him the truth with out press her ! ..
please continue soon 👏

689471 thumbnail
Lovely, Amaaazzingg update😃. Thanks for the PM😊