Wings-of-Fire thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Chapter eleven

The Bond That Bound None.

Megha: you think this is a game don't you? IT'S NOT!

Nupur : di I know its not a game. But I have no choice. You know me di. I wouldn't have done it if I had an alternative!

Megha: whatever. This is not done.

Nupur: I know di that this is not done. But I'm trying to sort out this situation and I need your help di. Just like the old days. I need my best friend on my side. It's getting worse by days and I wont be able to handle if you're not with me. Please di, for me?

Megha looked cross but didn't protest and nupur knew that the battle was won.

she hugged her.

Nupur: thank you di. You're the best.

Megha: ok, now stop buttering me! But I need to meet him.

Nupur: any time di.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

The next day was the engagement day. It was a big day for both mayank and nupur. Not because they were going to engaged but they had to put the drama perfectly. And faking an Indian wedding is hell of a job. Because in west wedding just officials two persons relationship. But in india it connects two family with each other. And to act with every other person 'known or unknown is very tough. After all they were not actors! Everyone was super busy in singh mansion. Nupur's dadi wanted her engagement to be perfect. Everyone was working- even nupur. The house was decorated beautifully for the ceremony. Nupur tried to make her dadi understand that this wasn't needed and a simple ceremony would do. But she got a lecture for half an hour and gave up.

Mayank was nervous too. Half his khandan had reached his home. They were attending the ceremony. He was worried about nupur. He knew nupur. She wasn't the best person to handle relationships considering she grew up without a family. And in Indian wedding all the relatives of the groom examine the bride like they are examining some alien. Her everything is been judged. This is so irritating!!!besides he had these cousins teasing him. Freak! Here he was tensed about the function and nupur and they were teasing him for his marriage! What did they expect him to do? Blush? Hell no!

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nupur got ready in a sky blue lehenga for the function. She was looking gorgeous. She was freaked out. She'd never attended an Indian wedding before. But she could figure out that it was going to be messy. Moreover megha had told her that she was going to be judged on every step she took and this did not help a bit.

She was sitting in front of her dressing table when someone told her that mayank and his family had reached. She looked through the mirror. Took a deep breath.

Nupur: this is it nupur.the toughest hurdle. you overcome this and the rest would be lot more easier. You can do it nupur. You can do it.

Megha had entered the room.

Megha: let's go. Its drama time!

Her voice told that she was still not approving it though she'd help nupur.

Nupur: di!

Megha: let's go.

Megha had met mayank the day before. he seemed to be a nice guy. And if all this was for real she woudnt have any objection. But it was not real. They were faking the most sacred bond that could be formed by human. and she could not support it ever.

-------------------------------------------------------------

As nupur entered the ceremony hall everyone was enchanted at her beauty. She was looking simple yet gorgeous. And when mayank saw the jaw dropping expressions of his family members he knew nupur had won half the battle. And a smile crept in his face. Nupur felt a bit reassured looking at his smile. Dadi went forward to receive her and she introduced nupur to everyone while mayanks mom helped her. Nupur had to bow down every time to touch their feet to seek blessings as her dadi had told her to do so. Nupur thought that instead of her they were giving blessings to the doctor she'd have to visit as she felt her back arched and stiff I n pain. Who invented this silly customs any way?

And the comments they were passing!!

Woman1: wow beta you are gorgeous!

Woman2: tumhare baal kitne lambe hain!!!!! Bilkul badal jaise gehre!

Woman3: you have lovely dove shaped eyes!

Kid: are you a feiry?

Woman4: haan beta tum bilkul pari jaisi khubsurat ho!

And all the time she had to smile. She wondered how the girls always smile in the beauty pageants? Don't their cheek ache? And about the comments- well she thought she was everything thing but a human! She wanted to talk to mayank but she couldn't as the introduction was not over yet. After about an hour she got free from the chaos. Her head was spinning by the time. But the function was not over yet so she couldn't have some rest. She found a chair in a corner and sat down.

Mayank: chakkar aa rahi hai?

Nupur: oh! Tum! I thought'.

Mayank: had enough?

Nupur: don't tell yaar!!!! Indian larkiya shadi kayse karti hogi? I feel like fleeing from here.

Mayank: well ayse hi hoti hai. I knew you'd have trouble but you did a wonderful job.

Nupurs face lit up at his words.

Nupur: you think so? Thank you.

Mayank: you're welcome. Waise tum aaj sachme pari lag rahi ho!

Nupur furrowed her eye brows.

Nupur; you're flirting with me?

Mayank: what do you think?

Nupur: you're not allowed to!

Mayank: yes I am! And after today, I'd have the license!

Nupur gave her a stern look.

Nupur: mayank? Don't even think about that.

Mayank was about to answer when they heard megha telling something.

Megha: oye! You love birds! Stop chatting and come. It's time for the ceremony.

Nupur and mayank felt dumbfounded at her words. 'lovebirds?' freak!

Nevertheless they advanced together towards the centre of the hall where a small stage was made. As they advanced their family members welcomed them with huge round of applause. If this was happening in fashion parade, she'd be very proud of herself but now. She was far from being proud.

Mayank and nupur climbed the stage where their family members were waiting. Mayanks mom gave him the ring while dadi gave nupur the ring. Mayank held her hand and was about to slip the ring when megha stopped him. Nupur and mayank was surprised. What was she upto? Had she changed her mind about helping them?

Megha: ayse nehi Mr. Malhotra. Apki love, confession kuch bhi hum logo ko paata nehi chala. Toh ab ap pehle nupur ko officially propose karo! Common go down on your knees!

Every one joined her and started calling out his name.

Mayank! Mayank!Mayank!!!! COME ON DUDE!!!

Mayank shrugged his shoulder. He didn't have a choice. Megha was making thing difficult for them.

Nupur felt mad at megha. What was she doing? She nodded to mayank indicating him to do it.

Mayank went on his knees. He tried his best not to look pissed off and smiled. He took her hand.

Mayank: miss singh, will you marry me?

Nupur: yes!!

She answered with a smile.

Everyone was shouting and clapping hard. And nupur was surprised. Zees! Who's engagement was this any way? Her? or their? But this was not the time. Mayank stood up and slid the ring onto her finger and she did the same. they were now bound together. As we call it- 'engaged'.

I wonder what the bond of engagement actually binds? As people say it connects the hearts of two people. And in india engagement binds two families too. But does it really? Can wearing a ring bind you or your heart with someone? If the person we're talking about was mayank and nupur- the answer would be ' No'. All that this engagement bound was their journey of a year.

Here it goes guys!!!! I know its not very long. But I wanted to update tonight at any cost. Tell me how do you like it. Share your views with me about the bond of engagement.

Don't forget to hit the like tab!!

And last but not least- a very happy new year to all of you. I hope this year proves to be the best in your lives. God bless.

Roshnee.

Edited by roshneerakhali - 14 years ago
556195 thumbnail
hey rosh!!!!!!!
amazing part......i wonder how nupur didi this
awesome update
continue soon
and a very happy new year

love
tasfia

Edited by tasfia123 - 14 years ago
manapandey thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
thanx 4 pm .
loved it
i will read previous chapters too.

happy new yr dear
love.mayurarti thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
awesome update
so, they r engaged now...gud
cont soon n happy new year dear
zarfishanzahid thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail
nice update rosh

thx alot for the pm
DhanakZ thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
Happy new Year
Lovely Update dear
I really Like Megha how cleverly she start to make Mayur a real couple or either judging them
and yup I believe that the Engagement is a bond between two hearts which brought them together
Thanks for pm and plz cont soon
IISHAFS thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
tht was sooooooo niceeeeee part
MyInspirationz thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
hey rosh... lovely update and Happy New Year to u too..
Faria. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
roshni
wonderful update
simply beautiful
loved the whole update
keep updating

Gaby09 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
finally roshni sis i read all chapters .its so nice dear.loved it...

happy new yr sis
.plz update soon.i will be waiting