peacestead thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Posted: 20 years ago
I really like qazi, comes across as a very sweet and friendly person but sorry to say sing he cant, he is besurra really and Rex is a much better singer than him but am i the only one or did i see shades of arrogance in rex the other day ?????chavvi gave a dismal performance - guys dont u think that the songs chosen for them did not bring out their full potential and Rooprekha the one who was paired with gurdeep really has an attitude problem , she was giving gurdeep or whatever her name is ( i'm awful with names) so much flak while they were singing together in gurukul and when a faculty staff member said who do you think has a studio voice she named the winner of the first gala (forget his name) and herself and said that gurdeep doesnt have a studio voice, wow what an attitude YIKES!!!!!she comes across as an unpleasant person and that poor gurdeep is so SWEET.
aries_sakshi thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

ya, i also agreed with u. inspite of the fighting spirit of qazi, he is not the best. Chavvi n Rex are better singers than him. no offences if someone likes qazi.

do agree with u about gurdeep. she is a very sweet girl n i also liked chavvi.

anyways, hope FG participants gets singing chances like indian idol ones.

aries_sakshi thumbnail
Watch exclusive, behind-the-scenes videos
Result Round:
Votes: 11.5 lakh
Janta saves Qazi
Students save Rex
Voted out: Chhavi.

From the final 12 who entered the Gurukul, this is the first time that someone will leave. It is the first time the Gurukul family will face the sorrow of bidding goodbye to a member.

Right from the morning, the three on probation were feeling the pressure of the results and the possibility of leaving the Gurukul. Prasant, who has always been a strict disciplinarian, showed a very emotional side. The night itself was fraught with tension and tears.

Watch exclusive, behind-the-scenes videos

The evening began with Manav and Mandira pumping in a lot of energy into the show, but by the end they were finding it hard to control their tears. It was easy to announce the first result of Qazi being safe. But when it to came to the Gurukul students choosing between their two friends, it become really tough and heart breaking.

They still had to decide ….
Mona voted for Rex
"You both are very capable like all of us here because we all made it
to the Gurukul"

Amit voted for Rex
"You are both my very good friends. I cannot think of the Gurukul
without Rex and Chhavi"

Qazi voted for Rex
"Just a while back, I too was here …"

Shamit voted for Rex
"Forgive me. I love you both"

Arpita voted for Rex
"It was a tough decision. Rex is a great guy and I shared a great bond with Chhavi, like two girls would do"

Arijit voted for Chhavi
"One cannot compare both of you"

Kirti voted for Rex
"Both of you are very clean of heart"

Anubhav voted for Rex
" Please do not cry. I just cannot do without my elder brother Rex"

Ruprekha voted for Rex
"You both are my very good friends"

Gurpreet voted for Rex
"I treasure all my moments spent with you guys"

aries_sakshi thumbnail

Double Dhamal
Mona and Arpita: They set the pulse racing and became the only jodi that was totally SAFE.

Guest of honour
Alka Yagnik: She joined the Jury as the third Judge for the Gala Night. There could not be a more eminent judge. Alka is one of the most celebrated singers in Bollywood and has won seven Filmfare Awards and two National Awards.

Jury ka Judgment - Kamzor kaun?
Ruprekha - Could not get the high notes correct
Gurpreet - Could not put energy in her performance
Kirti - Over-confident, but out of tune
Qazi - Out of tune

Fair Faculty
They saved RUPREKHA as they felt that they had not advised well on the "high notes".

This was the Item Gala that promised to be everything from breathtaking to foot tapping. The students had put in a lot of practice, but when the lights are turned on, many things happen - so were they able to deliver?

Amit & Ruprekha sang Dil ne kiya hai Nikkama
Bossy Ruprekha, who has always tried to call the shots, had a little trouble with Amit during the practice sessions. But this did not show when they performed. Amit did the steps right and got the tune and Shankar felt he was flawless. But Ruprekha missed the tune and was low on energy. The Jury, faced with 11 good performers, was looking for small slip-ups and Ruprekha slipped up. While Amit was totally safe, Ruprekha was put on the block.

Anubhav & Gurpreet sang Tauba tauba Ishq na kariya
They sizzled in red but the Jury was not totally impressed by Gurpreet. They all felt she lacked energy. Alka said that Gurpreet needed to learn voice control. Shankar said that Gurpreet started well, but could not keep the momentum. Anubhav, on the other hand, was very good. Despite his gentle nature, he was able to project the energy and the spirit that the song required. So Anubhav was declared safe and Gurpreet was put on probation.

Mona & Arpita - They sang Baras ja ae badal baras ja
They captured the audience, jury and anchors alike. The jury was thrilled with their coordination and expression. Shankar admitted that the decision of the faculty to save Mona in an earlier round had been absolutely right. Mona was turning into a serious contender for the title. Alka said that Arpita's body language and voice oozed confidence. They were the winning pair of the evening and both were declared SAFE.

aries_sakshi thumbnail

Double Dhamal
Mona and Arpita: They set the pulse racing and became the only jodi that was totally SAFE.

Guest of honour
Alka Yagnik: She joined the Jury as the third Judge for the Gala Night. There could not be a more eminent judge. Alka is one of the most celebrated singers in Bollywood and has won seven Filmfare Awards and two National Awards.

Jury ka Judgment - Kamzor kaun?
Ruprekha - Could not get the high notes correct
Gurpreet - Could not put energy in her performance
Kirti - Over-confident, but out of tune
Qazi - Out of tune

Fair Faculty
They saved RUPREKHA as they felt that they had not advised well on the "high notes".

This was the Item Gala that promised to be everything from breathtaking to foot tapping. The students had put in a lot of practice, but when the lights are turned on, many things happen - so were they able to deliver?

Amit & Ruprekha sang Dil ne kiya hai Nikkama
Bossy Ruprekha, who has always tried to call the shots, had a little trouble with Amit during the practice sessions. But this did not show when they performed. Amit did the steps right and got the tune and Shankar felt he was flawless. But Ruprekha missed the tune and was low on energy. The Jury, faced with 11 good performers, was looking for small slip-ups and Ruprekha slipped up. While Amit was totally safe, Ruprekha was put on the block.

Anubhav & Gurpreet sang Tauba tauba Ishq na kariya
They sizzled in red but the Jury was not totally impressed by Gurpreet. They all felt she lacked energy. Alka said that Gurpreet needed to learn voice control. Shankar said that Gurpreet started well, but could not keep the momentum. Anubhav, on the other hand, was very good. Despite his gentle nature, he was able to project the energy and the spirit that the song required. So Anubhav was declared safe and Gurpreet was put on probation.

Mona & Arpita - They sang Baras ja ae badal baras ja
They captured the audience, jury and anchors alike. The jury was thrilled with their coordination and expression. Shankar admitted that the decision of the faculty to save Mona in an earlier round had been absolutely right. Mona was turning into a serious contender for the title. Alka said that Arpita's body language and voice oozed confidence. They were the winning pair of the evening and both were declared SAFE.

aries_sakshi thumbnail

about fame gurukul

The Road to Fame
Fame Gurukul

This is a daily reality drama that tells the story of 12 talented singers who have given everything they have to enter the coveted music academy -- FAME GURUKUL -- and their journey to becoming the nation's biggest singing sensations.

Based on a successful Spanish reality show called Operation Truinfo, Sony Entertainment Television's Fame Gurukul will take millions of Indians on a roller-coaster ride of fierce competition, spectacular performances and stardom success. Operation Truinfo has been adapted across 11 countries gripping millions of viewers across three continents.

After being tested on various parameters through auditions held across Kolkata, Delhi, Mumbai and Indore, only 14 will be given the dream chance of training at the academy under a team of top notch no-nonsense experts from the industry in music and dance. Only 12 of the 14 singers will enter the academy through Jury selection and public voting

Every week, a real-life drama will unfold giving viewers a look at the life, struggle, hopes and aspirations of these young singers. Every week, one aspirant will mercilessly be asked to leave the academy till we zero in on the two who will become the FAME JODI.

Judging them will be an eminent panel of judges and the ULTIMATE JUDGE -- the NATION.

Making of the Fame Jodi

The Gurukul is where the stars will be born out of back breaking training and surviving fierce competition, frustration, bickering, tears and insecurities. Each week will drive towards individual live performances, with students performing for survival before a studio audience.

Every day, you will get to see the high drama at the Gurukul and later in the week, the contestants will battle it out for your votes at the Gala. Every week, four contestants will be put on the block or probation by the JURY. One of whom will be given a second chance by the FACULTY. One contestant will be saved by the fellow contestants in a highly charged moment, and the NATION will vote on which amongst the final two should remain in the academy.

The Gurukul

This academy will boast of the best faculty and will be the best destination for aspiring performers in the nation. The Gurukul or Music Academy has been established in the true Guru-shishya parambara -- an age old tradition of education that is difficult, stark and relentless in its expectation from the student. Along with vocal classical training and vocal exercises, the Academy will take care of the physical and mental fitness of the contestants. No stone will be left unturned -- vocal coaching, dancing, performance style, counselling. Every aspect will be given attention at the Academy to turn out the complete performer.

Once the lucky 14 students enter the gate of the Gurukul, they will only leave if voted out. Here, their raw talent will be professionally tested and trained by an eminent faculty headed by a Dean who keeps all on the strict line of discipline.

Aspirants are known to have done some crazy things to get onto the academy. Fame ke liye kuch bhi karega!

Meanwhile, cameras follow the students' every move24/7. So get ready for action that's really intimate. The young wanting to break the rules, getting into a spot with the faculty, missing home, stealing, cooking for each other and the works

aries_sakshi thumbnail
PROFILE: Manav Gohil, Star of C I D and Fame Gurukul
Nitin Joshi
Pune, July 17: ''I have a nice life and a nice wife. No complaints at all,'' smiles actor Manav Gohil, who you see in C.I.D. (Sony) and the recently premiered Fame Gurukul that he hosts along with Mandira Bedi. A couple of months ago, he tied the knot with actress Sweta Kawatra. ''Life has gotten better in terms of relationships, work, my own self. There have been a few changes of course — for the better. I have become move responsible,'' says Gohil. Besides C.I.D. which is constantly doing well, he now anchors one of the biggest shows — Fame Gurukul (Sony) — which is Gohil's first attempt to play host. ''I haven't done anchoring before. What I also realised is that as an actor you keep doing the same thing every day especially in a daily soap. You start taking yourself for granted. I want to do work that in challenging. I want to do work that gets me going. So I am quite happy with Fame Gurukul,'' says Gohil, who accepts that anchoring is a different ball game. He says that, initially, it was a bit difficult, mainly because as an actor ''you talk to other characters, whereas a host talks to the live audience. So far so good. I would say. I am learning every day. I have done a lot of homework. I have been reading Hindi extensively. Been into theatre... worked really hard. I have a great team to support me and Mandira is very cooperative, friendly and supportive. So it's nice,'' he says. Fame Gurukul, which hit Sony a short while ago, is a sure shot the actor thinks because of the concept ''which is fabulous. It's a Spanish show, a formated show which has travelled a lot and has been very successful. So I am sure it will work,'' says Gohil who's come a long way from his first appearance in CATS, the three-crime busting woman service telecast on Sony a few years ago.
Nitin Joshi
< = src="http://ads.expressindia.com/banner/iestoryban.js"> < = src="http://banners.expressindia.com/adsnew/adjs.php?para=no&n=930571418&what=zone:377&target=_blank&exclude=," =text/>
''When I look back I feel like laughing. I was quite funny then. I can't watch myself. Though I feel quiet proud of myself now,'' he states. As of now life couldn't get better with two good shows on air. Life is hectic and currently the actor isn't thinking of anything else ''I am busy for the next couple of months with these two shows. I don't have time to think about future,'' he says.
meghalketan thumbnail
I am confused. I saw on Thursday when all the participants sang duets and Chhavi, Rex and Qazi were on probation. They don't show the program on Friday's so when was the result round shown? Are we one week behind in USA?
anjali.nair thumbnail
Yes! We in US are one week behind from India. In India 3rd gala is over and now Gurpreet, Qazi and Kirti are in danger. For gala2 Chavvi is voted out and Rex voted in by fellow gurukulites, Qazi voted in by Indian voters.
vcool thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
thanx sakshi for the aricle! and here we go again with qazi, plz judges give him a break😡!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if the ppl luv him then why cant they!!!!!!!!!!!!