Ranveer gets brutally slammed for mocking Chavundi Daiva
Samantha Ruth Prabhu And Raj Tie Knot
Kriti Sanon- from ZERO to NO.1
What Happened To Aashiqui Fame Mr. Rahul Roy
Jaya Bachchan- " I'm a disciplinarian,I wanted to join the military "
Like/Dislike/Neutral Week 14
2 Years Of Animal
Hey Everyone!
So I bet you all thought that we had forgotten about this SS! We haven't! I am so deeply sorry for the delay. I bet most of you even forgot this SS even existed but I have been super busy with preparation for entrance exams for masters, getting driver's license, research, etc. I wanted to so badly update this but I never had time to collaborate with her to finish the part. We finally did though! Hopefully you like the next part. The next part is mainly centered around Raghav and we dedicated the whole part to him because he really deserved this part.
Raghav winced as he abruptly got up from his office chair. He closed his eyes in order to stabilize his footing. When he was sure that he could walk few steps without wincing again, he opened his eyes and approached the small one-shelved cupboard and took out medication for his throbbing head. When he did try to crouch down to accomplish his goal, he stumbled and fell on his palm instead of his heels. It took him a moment to get used to his surroundings again. Perhaps drinking and drowning his problems in sea of self-loathing and pity wasn't the smartest idea last night. However, he wasn't able to think properly at all, especially with Sammy being cryptic about what exactly it was that went on.
He groaned again and sat back on his heels. Sometimes he really wondered why he had been alright with Sammy being such a close friend, especially with him being downright evil. No, this was not the evil that's malicious. This was the harmless kind of evil that makes your skin crawl and gut twist in anticipation, not even in disgust. If it were the malicious kind of evil, Raghav would have, more than happily, taken liberty and made sure that Sammy paid for jumbling his brain up. It was the kind of evil that he knew was supposed to make his skin crawl but with no terrible intention other than the fact that he would need to be more open and accepting about his thoughts revelations. That was the worst kind of evil for him. It could be because he was used to fighting off people with malicious intent, knowing exactly what buttons to push and how to act, but he was not at all acquainted with the evil that was hidden with good intentions. Who does that, seriously? Evil should be evil with bad intentions, not good! Perhaps, it wasn't so evil then?
Either way, he had an immense loathing for Sammy at the moment, as he tried to fumble with the bottle of painkillers and chuck it down his throat so he could get his blinding headache under control. To think that he should've already been used to hangovers by now, since he was planning to invite his brand of alcohol every night in his bed. Heck, if he ever did marry for convenience later on, he was thinking of bringing it as his best man for the wedding, despite the fact that traditions don't require him to have a best man at a Hindu wedding. Then again, Raghav had never really been the one for traditions. The point was, he wasn't able to think straight - what with the blinding headache and aching heart that, in no way, had anything to do with the fear that he may have pushed Kalpi too far and it was already too late.
When he was finally able to settle back down on his chair, he pressed both of his palms to his temple in an effort to massage his head. After what seemed like half long hour, he felt soft, warm hands gently nudging away his hands and he looked up to see Kalpi standing there with lips pursed in a deep frown.
He closed his eyes again as he put down both of his hands on the desk, and sighed. This could not be happening to him again. All of the last night, he had been dreaming and feeling sensations of her being close-by. All of the night, he had been continuously dreaming about how things could've been if he had, in fact, taken a chance to befriend her, if had in fact reciprocated and taken her hand in camaraderie that she was so kind to offer. He hadn't and he had never regretted anything more. Even though he knew what he was doing was the right thing for everyone, he just couldn't force himself to believe it.
He inhaled sharply, as he felt her warm hands take residence and press gently on his temple, the same place he had previously been. At least, this hallucination was actually causing him contentment. Who was he kidding? All of his hallucinations were causing him a form of happiness that he hadn't known existed for him. They were filled with everything that his mother had dreamed he would have and everything his father had told him that he would have one day. It was filled with laughter, contentment, companionship and, more importantly, a promise. Though the dreams started out something that was other worldly, they became downright torturous by the end. He couldn't stand how happy and unreal they seemed. It was a reality that he could only ever dream of, a reality full of people he cared for and wanted in his life. It was a reality of what he wanted, but could never have. And that was...excruciating.
However, he still held his eyes firmly closed. He was done with agonizing over what he couldn't have and doesn't want to have (right). He just leaned back on his comfortable office chair and enjoyed the sensation of contentment and security again. Yes, he would have this. He would enjoy this as much as he can. Then, he would have to wake up to reality again.
After what felt like an hour of gently massaging, his head finally seemed to have started feeling clearer and better. He wasn't sure if it was because his brain conjured up the sensation of having Kalpi massage his head or if it was the medication he took earlier. Either way, it seemed like it was finally time and he should probably get back to work. However, the relaxation seemed to still overpower his senses and he opted to give himself few more moments.
Alas, those moments could only last so long.
"Raghav yaar, you look like crap!" Sammy exclaimed as he bolted through the door.
Raghav sighed, exasperated. He really should get a 'Do Not Disturb' sign and, preferably a lock that only opens from his eye scan since fingerprinting lock and regular lock seemed too easy for Sammy to break.
He opened his eyes, his expression clearly showing his annoyance. "Sammy, feel free to speak as loudly as you want. It's not like we're in an office of civilized human beings where there's such a thing as code of conduct or anything."
Sammy waved carelessly and ignored his obviously sarcastic jab. "Yaar, the office hasn't even started yet and you're already making poor Kalpi work."
Raghav's eyes widened and he jerked around to look. Kalpi was standing there, looking at him, shocked at the sudden turn of events. And, yes, she was very much real. He gulped again and opened his mouth to say something. Apparently, that was the moment that his brain had chosen to not come up with a proper retort because he was left gaping at her like a goldfish.
After a brief moment of intense staring contest between him and Kalpi, Kalpi just shook her head and took a deep breath. She looked at Sammy with a frown on her face.
"Sammy, he didn't ask me to do anything. You know how competent Raghav Sir is when it comes to asking us to do something on his behalf. I volunteered."
Sammy just shook his head and looked at Raghav. His lips slowly curled in a slight smile as he narrowed his eyes a little. If Raghav hadn't known Sammy any better, he would've thought that it was just a gesture to get a rise out of him. But the thing was that Raghav did know Sammy better and he knew that smile meant nothing good. The feeling of anticipation that had been building up from last night got more intense as he felt his stomach knotting even more.
If the sight of Sammy and Kalpi pleasantly having late lunch/early dinner together the day before had sent his stomach in inevitable knots, then the feeling right now only made the knot from yesterday a passing sensation. He looked down and gulped again to keep the bile from rising on the back of his throat.
When he made no movement of paying either of the other two any attention, he felt Kalpi sigh. After a brief moment of shuffling of footsteps, he realized that he had finally been left alone with his reeling thoughts about his life choices.
Raghav went to grab a quick bite to eat before his meeting. When he finally got his order, he shuffled towards the tables when he heard a loud "Raghav" ringing through the cafeteria. He flinched a little at the loud ringing (and too excited) sound when he turned sideways to see Sammy waving furiously to get his attention as if they were in the middle of the train station filled with crowded passenger and not in the cafeteria that's barely half-filled.
He carefully made his way towards the table, as the same feeling of anticipation burned through his system again.
"Yaar, tu ab aya hai? If I had known that you were going to come eat with us then I would've told you to just come with us! Why did you tell me?" questioned Sammy.
"Woh, actually, I wasn't planning to come but then I got hungry all of a sudden and didn't want to be distracted in the whole meeting afterwards," Raghav finished off weakly.
Raghav couldn't exactly tell Sammy that he had been trying to avoid him, or any interaction that they would have on a personal level instead of work. Of course, that wasn't exactly the greatest idea since Sammy lived with him, but he hadn't exactly known how to deal with the nagging feeling in his stomach. So, yes, he was trying to ignore the problem until it relents and he could stop feeling that. Though his instincts weren't to ignore, but a person really can't confront something that he or she can't even decipher. As much as Raghav loved solving mysteries, he liked it even more when the mystery had nothing to do with him.
He ate his terrible-tasting food quietly as he heard Kalpi and Sammy arguing about something pointless again. The feeling in his stomach became even more unsettling and infuriating. He just couldn't understand what was going on. He usually felt a silent contentment when he was eating with the other two, but now he felt completely exhausted as the feeling tried to overwhelm and suffocate him. The cafeteria felt too stifling and he had to quickly excuse himself.
"Yaar Raghav, you don't look well right now. Maybe you should sit this meeting out? Kalpi and I will take care of it," Sammy said, with concern obvious in his tone, as Raghav got up to leave. That was what made it even worse. His friend, the best one he had in all of his life, felt like an imposter. His friend, who was nothing but caring and honest with him, despite his other character flaws, felt like the enemy.
He briefly nodded, as if giving permission so they could take over the meeting for him. There was no way he could've handled anything in the state of mind he was in.
"Yeah, I think that would be a good idea. I need some rest. I will send someone to give you the details so you can look over again. Kalpi already knows everything. I will be in my office if you need anything else." With that, Raghav took his exit without having the strength to look back.
After coming inside his office, he drew his blinds and lied down on the sofa to take a momentary break from the outside world. He closed his eyes to arrange his thoughts and started doing something he was good at - thinking. It was time. For revelations and admissions (if only to himself in the privacy of his space). He analyzed the feeling again, the same one he had been feeling for a long time. It was the same feeling that lay dormant for quite a long time, only to be awakened ten times more intensely during these past few months. The feeling that he was feeling in his gut was not anticipation. The burning desire that he felt overwhelming his rational senses was not the anxiety that comes from waiting for something bad to happen. It was jealousy.
He was jealous. Of Sammy. Of the one person who stood by him when all the others sought to destroy him. Of the one person who hadn't thought twice before standing up for Raghav to his family.
Now that he had acknowledged that, it hadn't made him feel any better about himself. It had been a terrible revelation. This was the time when Sammy needed to be his wingman and make it work between both of them. This was the time when he needed to make sure that Sammy doesn't make any mistake and ruin this.
He had never seen Sammy interested in anyone before, other than work. He had definitely seen him flirt but it never led to anything serious, granted that Kalpi was a very different girl. She was unlike any girl that either of them ever had a chance of acquainting. She had so much in a grasp, yet she valued the smallest, most personal things. She was precious. In every sense and in every way --
Raghav took a shaky breath and stopped his thoughts from going in that direction. He couldn't. He wouldn't. Sammy had asked him, insinuating again and again, if he was interested in Kalpi. Now he knew exactly why Sammy had wanted to know. He wasn't trying to pry. He was trying to be a good friend and not impose in case there was something for her in Raghav's heart. Raghav was the one at fault. He should be the one to suffer the consequences, not Sammy.
As those thoughts raced through his mind, he went himself drowning in the bottomless pit again. This time, he let himself. He needed the quiet. He needed it to remind himself all the reasons that he shouldn't be thinking about her. He needed it to remind himself all the reasons that he shouldn't be against this relationship. She was good for Sammy, providing the stability that he had been looking for. That's all there was to it.
Raghav jolted awake when he heard the lights to his office switch on. He hadn't realized that he actually did fall into a dreamless sleep. He looked towards the door to find Kalpi coming towards him with a cup of coffee. At least he assumed that it was coffee. He sat up to get a better look.
She smiled at him and placed the coffee. "You should drink some. I know that you still have another meeting that you're most likely not going to cancel. You need the refreshment."
God, how much he missed her. Every morning for the past few weeks, he had come early in hopes that she was there. He had wanted to make things right between them, just like the old times, but he just hadn't known how to. As much as he had liked bantering with her, irking her, he still liked the camaraderie no matter how much he would never admit that loudly.
Instead, he said, "Yeah, thank you."
She smiled again and sat down at the edge of the sofa. He moved aside to give her enough space to sit comfortably and started sipping the coffee.
"How was the meeting?" he chanced out loud to fill the silence.
"Fine," she said softly.
They were quiet after that for long moments. As much as he wanted to break the silence, he hadn't known why. When did it become so hard to fill silences? Why? He guessed he had answers to both of them. It was simple, really. He was never the one to fill those silences. It was always Kalpi, chatting away and prompting him to speak in return. Now, though, something was broken. As much as he wanted to fix that, he just didn't know how.
"Raghav, is everything okay?" Kalpi said looking at him, trying to look as nonchalant as possible but failing miserably.
His heart ached at that, knowing that she was concerned and how much he didn't deserve that for always making her miserable. He wanted to stop pretending that everything was alright and just let it all out. He wanted to tell her exactly how he was feeling, broken and desperate. It was so tempting. He gulped.
"Fine. Everyone is fine. Why do you ask?" he said instead.
She bit the left corner of her bottom lip nervously. "It's just. Don't take this the wrong way. You've been sort of, I don't know, sort of out of it. You've been looking so exhausted and distracted lately."
He could hear the underlying concern for him and his traitorous heart started picking up its beat. For a second, he was horrified at the thought that she may have heard it too especially with the way she sharply looked at him. That was until he had realized how absurd that was.
"I mean, never mind. Just take care of yourself okay? I know that I should mind my own business but I know that aai would worry for you too."
On that, his heart had felt a squeeze and it was making it hard for him to breathe. He couldn't manage a response without looking anymore miserable than he already felt.
"Yeah," he said not exactly knowing if that was to her talking about minding her own business or that her aai would worry.
She took that as her indication of the end of the conversation and got up to leave. Before she could go, his hand shot up to stop her. When he realized that his hand was on her wrist and she was looking at him confused, he had said the first thing that came to his mind.
"Are you guys happy? You and Sammy?" Raghav had to mentally kick himself for saying that. It was too late and the words were already out of his mouth.
She looked even more baffled by his question and narrowed her eyes at him. After a long pause, she cleared her throat.
"Yea, I think so. I mean, yeah we are," she paused but her mouth was still in the process of talking, "But you should probably ask this from Sammy, you know? But yeah I think so."
He hadn't been expecting that. He hadn't known what he was expecting but he had not expected her to say that. He let go of her hand as discreetly as possible.
"Good," he said, "That's...really good."
She nodded, still confused, and exited his office.
He sank back on his couch and put a hand on his eyes to stop the light from entering his vision. He took few shuddering breaths and brought down his hand only to realize that it was damp. To say that he was surprised would be an understatement.
Was he actually...crying? What the--
Before he could even wonder more about the current dilemma in hand, his phone buzzed to remind him about the meeting in half an hour. He shook himself and gathered his thoughts. No, he would not do this to himself or to the people around him. Wallowing in self-pity was the worst way to survive in this world. He had seen enough of it around him and he would not succumb to that. He had already made up his mind about not letting anyone in, and he will stand by that.
With that, Raghav straightened himself up and took the last gulp of his coffee. After taking one last deep breath, he exited his office to make his way towards the conference room.
The meeting, as could be expected, went pretty smoothly. Turned out, after actually confronting his thoughts, he had felt a bit lighter despite how terrible he felt about himself. After the meeting was over, he had excused himself and gone to home early (after a very long time). That had nothing to do with the fact that he was still avoiding Sammy or to the fact that he still hadn't felt like he had enough courage to finally be supportive to their relationship. The next day, he had decided. The next day, he would voluntarily go up to Sammy and give his blessings. For now, he needed sleep.
He woke up the next morning, feeling more rested than he had been in quite a while. He had even taken his time and eaten breakfast before going to the office, in order to ready himself completely. No, it had nothing to do with the fact that he was trying to delay that as much as possible. He wasn't a terrible friend. He was a supportive friend who wanted to do this right.
He went to the office little later than usual (not deliberately) and missed Sammy by few minutes (unfortunately). After several busy afternoons of proposal-making and approval, he finally found himself alone with his best friend (after several non-deliberate attempt of being with him only when he had company). Yes, he could do it now. He could call out and tell him how happy he is that they are together and how good it is for him. He would then tell him sternly not to use any office time for anything personal because he still is running a company here.
He opened his mouth to call out his name when he saw the receptionist come in. "Sir, have you seen Kalpana ma'am?"
He shook his head negatively and Sammy answered, "She's out for now. She will be back in few minutes. Did you need something?"
"Sir, her next appointment is here already. A Prem Kapoor, I believe. She's not scheduled to meet him until half an hour later so I will just seat him."
Sammy nodded and the girl exited the door.
Raghav looked at him, confused. What had Prem wanted now? How had he even dared to come to his territory? He felt furious.
He was just about to go out of his office to see Prem when he felt a hand stopping him. He looked towards Sammy with a pointed look.
"Yaar, chill! I am the one approved this appointment. He has been pestering our office to meet with Kalpi for quite a while now. At first, I wanted to ignore it. But then, now I am curious as to why?"
Raghav gave him an incredulous look. "Seriously? And you didn't think that it was, maybe, important to inform me first?"
At this, Sammy raised his eyebrow and looked at him with a very accusatory expression. "I would have if you actually felt like you had time to talk to me! Whenever I try to talk to you these days, you disappear. I don't know exactly what's going on but I wanted to give you space."
Hearing that, Raghav looked down guiltily. He had been avoiding him without realizing the consequences, and the poor guy didn't even have an idea why. He had been hoping that Sammy wouldn't notice since he never seemed bothered about it, but now he knew why. He was just trying to be a good friend. Raghav felt like his heart was sinking again.
"Yeah, okay. I was busy. Nevermind that. Still, why did you think it was a good idea to arrange an appointment? You know how cunning Kapoors are. What if something bad happens?"
Sammy shook his head and put a hand on Raghav's shoulder to placate his anxiety, "Raghav, he's going to be in our office. Kalpi can call us if she needs us. He can't really do anything bad here. Besides, now we can see what he's planning without being too obvious about it."
Raghav nodded again and hoped that Sammy was right. After that, he went back to readying the proposal, completely forgetting the aforementioned blessing that he was supposed to bestow upon his best friend.
Alas, Raghav completely missed the mischievous and all-knowing glint in Sammy's eyes. Raghav really should start giving Sammy more credit.
I didn't even proofread this. As soon as we were done writing this, I posted it up! Please do let us know if you want us to continue. Are you guys still interested? Just want to check since it's been forever! Thanks again for the lovely comments and support everyone. Oh and please pray for me because I am going for an interview tomorrow.
Originally posted by: shoonya9
Although your professional commitments must be keeping you busy, please update soon
Originally posted by: Vampgirl
plzzz update soon...