Hey all,
I'm back and that too before the 23rd! Actually I had 3 big semester exams back to back and now I have a week off before my last exam so I decided that I would update again. Also Ramadan Kareem to you all π May this holy month bring you all peace and happiness! Anyways hope you read and enjoy this chapter.
Recap: Viraf asks Chhavi to come meet his parents but Chhavi is a little hesitant in telling her parents and his parents about their relationship. So what lies next for ViCha?
Chhavi's POV:
After we had finished shooting the bed scene, I headed towards my dressing room but I couldn't understand where Viraf had disappeared off to after the shot was given. Ever since our little talk, he hasn't spoken to me as Viraf and simply did his lines as Mrityunjay. My strides became smaller and slower as I thought about how my answer deflated his enthusiasm. Maybe I was overthinking this? Yes, of course there are issues that we need to solve but perhaps my parents will understand...they might even convince Viraf about marriage.
I had reached my dressing room door when I heard laughing coming from Viraf's dressing room which was opposite mine. The door was closed and it sounded like a woman was in there with Viraf laughing. In about a split second, I realised my hand was impulsively reaching towards the door knob to open the door and find out who he was laughing so hard with but I stopped myself.
Seriously, what was that? Why had I suddenly wanted to find out who he was talking with?
No, I have to find out! I mean, hey, he was the one questioning me about Pracheen this morning and getting all jealous so I also have to find out who this chudail is. Without knocking, I turned the door knob and stomped inside to see Viraf turn his head and stare at me with a stunned expression on his face.
Viraf's POV:
This morning's conversation had been a dampener and I couldn't help but feel a little anxious about where our relationship was heading. Yes, I was never too big on the whole commitment thing but with Chhavi, it feels like there is something special between us. I was lying down on the bed in my dressing room when I heard a knock on my door. Half expecting it to be Chhavi, I opened the door to see Saba standing outside. I ushered her inside and told her to have a seat.
"What's up Saba? Anything wrong? Why such a serious look?" I asked seeing her look rather grim.
"You're asking me that? You seemed like you were tensed! Usually you're laughing and fooling around after the scene has been completed but you just left in a hurry. Hua kya hai?" She asked me as the grim expression turned into that of concern.
"Nothing, just not in the mood to be fooling around today. I'm a philosopher today and not the joker. Waise what's our next scene? Please don't tell me ki mujhe ab outdoor shoot karne padega because the sun will burn me and besides my face almost got burned by pancakes being flipped onto my face by..." I stopped myself before I told her about Chhavi.
Saba started laughing after hearing my pancake story but luckily she didn't inquire about how the pancake even landed on my face. I nervously laughed back, hoping that she wouldn't notice me being flustered from almost having revealed the secret. Before I could say anything further, my dressing room door flew open and Chhavi stomped inside. She looked like she was about to murder somebody.
"Chhavi, are you okay? Madam knock nahi kiya apne. What if Viraf had been changing huh?" Saba said to Chhavi with a rather confused yet bemused look on her face.
"No, Saba I just urgently needed to talk to Viraf about something but I can come back later if you two are busy," she said while slightly death glaring me.
"Oh no please I was about to leave anyway. I just came to ask if Viraf was ok and then he told me this hilarious story about his face almost getting burned by pancakes this morning. Btw Viraf you didn't tell me how that actually happened?" Saba inquired while chuckling lightly to herself.
"What? Really? Oh Saba he probably just flipped it on his face himself. I mean he does live by himself so how could anyone else possibly flip it onto his face, right Viraf? Chhavi interjected before I could answer and the nervous tone in her voice gave Saba the impression that something was fishy.
"Accha iss weather ne tum dono ko hi pagal kar diya hai. Okay you guys carry on and don't be late for the next shot!" Saba scolded us mockingly as she walked out of my room.
"Kya hua hai tumko? You don't have a fever now do you?" Chhavi asked sarcastically while checking my temperature with her hand on my forehead and neck.
"Nahi par ab fever aa jayega after that serious death glare you just gave me. Also what was with that hero entry? You looked like your girlfriend had been kidnapped by some villain and you're here to murder them," I said trying to lighten up the mood.
"I can't believe you almost told Saba about us. You know we're supposed to be keeping it a secret. Also darwaja baand karke itna hasne ke kya jaroorat hai? She could've left the door open," Chhavi said while sulking.
"I don't understand what the big issue is if she knows. Yaar you were the one who made her suspicious with your 'Viraf lives alone who else would flip it in his face' dialogue and now you're accusing me of having almost revealed the secret?" I said annoyed at Chhavi's actions.
"Fine. If you want to go tell Saba then feel free to walk out and announce it to the world as well. It doesn't matter that my parents are actively looking for potential husbands for me in Patna and it doesn't matter that they won't let us be together. You know what? Let me make this easy for you and call it quits right now," Chhavi said angrily with tears welling up in her eyes.
"Woah wait, hey, yeh sab kya bol rahi ho? Chhavi please just listen to me. Why didn't you tell me before that your parents were looking for husbands for you? Seriously this is why you don't want to tell people?" I questioned her as I pulled her into a hug.
At that point, she had buried her head into my chest and started sobbing lightly. I also realised that I was right in feeling anxious about the future of our relationship but what was I going to do about this new problem? I pulled her away from me and held her by her shoulders before I gently wiped her tear strained face.
Chhavi's POV:
As he wiped my face, it dawned on me what I had said to him in rage. I grabbed his hands and held them in mine.
"No I'm sorry. I overreacted and said all those terrible things to you but I'm scared Viraf. I don't want my parents to separate us," I said releasing his hands and going in for another hug.
"I know but we have to let them know someday or some Bhojpori bhaijaan aake tumhe shaadi karke le jayega tab main kya karunga?"He said while rocking us back and forth in our cuddling position.
Viraf's POV:
We both sat on my bed in that position for a while but none of us spoke a single word. I had been formulating a plan in my head while I was drawing circles on her back but I'm not sure if I should let her know what it is. No I won't tell her because then she'll think I'm crazy and crush all hopes of me carrying on with the plan. The problem is how am I going to take a day or two off from shoot to actually execute my plan? How am I going to handle both Chhavi and Saba from knowing my real reason for taking a break? My thoughts were interrupted when our spot boy knocked on my door to me know my shot was ready and I quickly kissed her forehead before heading out. C'mon Viraf beta ab tumhe hi kuch karna hoga.
A small chapter with nothing much happening but this is a build up to a big dhamaka that will happen very soon. What is Viraf's plan you ask? Well you'll have to wait for the next chapter to find out. Do leave your thoughts behind π
Catch you all later!
Shegufta x
Edited by sfarazi - 10 years ago