Western Dance or Indian Dance?!

Jeshwant thumbnail
Hey everyone,
What I don't understand is, why there is only ONE classically Kathak trained duo. Where is everybody? What I see is, locking, popping, spinning, turning, aerial acts but what about our ancient Indian dances? Where is the bharatanatyam, the odissi, the kathak, kathakali etc.. Our indian folk madness.. where is it? Even Shakti said it herself, that she has the privilege of having the only Indian classical duo. Our country is famous for its ancient dances, for the synchonization and not for Michael Jackson kinda moves.
We already have Michael Jackson and other groups based in the U.S. who are really amazing at the locking, popping etc.. why doing tht when we have our own dances?
Western dancing/HipHop/Break Dance is promoted like there is no other dance in India. These days, if it is Nach Baliye, Dance +, DID or India's Dancing Superstar, the Indian dance is nowhere to be seen. Kya hoga humare classical dance par? India's it not famous for western dance, the U.S.A IS. I am actually tired of the aerial acts, the lifting, spinning, turning, ballet kinda moves. Isn't there something else..
Also the women.. WHERE are all the women?? Most of all the duo's, groups, singles are MEN. I personally think that eventually (as usual) a man, male group or male duo will win. It's not fair and I believe that they are biased towards women.
I have nothing against Remo, I love him and his work and respect him a lot.

Jane_Doe thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
I dont think anyone is biased.. yes there is only one classical act and yes there are less girls but i think that just happened, i dont think any deserving girl or classical act didnt make it past selection round because of any unfair judgement. Maybe less girls or classical performances showed up for audition Because the only girl group and only classical duo get really respected n appreciated for being there
Actually the main difference was brought by selection of 6 solo males.. but from the auditions i think they were the real deserving ones. so like i said its not bias or lack of support, just happened this way
..Roopal.. thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3
i second shwetha
its nothing biased actually...its just a coincident...well m saying only for this show and for DID...
what personally i have seen is, there were less contestants with indian dancing style in the audition rounds...no doubt our indian dance is outstanding , but its not about its essence...its about how perfectly someone show it...and this is i feel where those few in auditions were lacking...the + factor...
coming to girls...well yes there are not girls as solo or a pure girls group like banjaara girls...but v company, brass crew have girls who are doing good job...and we can not forget the stars: chandni and preeti...they are magic...less no of girls is just the result of a proper and strict judging by remo sir...
NAUCholic thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Sorry for going off topic, but I missed the episode today. Who went into top6??
..Roopal.. thumbnail

Originally posted by: NAUCholic

Sorry for going off topic, but I missed the episode today. Who went into top6??

detailed written update here:

NAUCholic thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
[QUOTE=..Roopal..]
detailed written update here:

[/QUOTE=..Roopal..]
Much needed. 😃thaaank you so much yaar. :')
..Roopal.. thumbnail

Originally posted by: NAUCholic

Much needed. 😃thaaank you so much yaar. :')

my pleasure 😊
bhavi09 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
biasedness umm don't think so
n yes many groups performing Chhau lavani and other dance forms were rejected first epi itself
classical n folk talent really isn't here
I wonder ppl aren't interested in bharatnatyam kathak and other Indian rooted forms or rather makers don't wanna display so
all we see is locking popping breaking hip hop genre type fortes
Edited by bhavi09 - 9 years ago
sharif_lafungi thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
well i do agree we hv less classical promotions now..but what we hv is awesome...
nd dear rare is expensive...indian dance forms are not evryone's cup of tea...
Jane_Doe thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Au_Revoir

well i do agree we hv less classical promotions now..but what we hv is awesome...
nd dear rare is expensive...indian dance forms are not evryone's cup of tea...

exactly!! It takes years of training for perfection n in my opinion are probably one of the most difficult dance forms to master, and out of respect for these forms half baked attempts are not made