Vr15h thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail IPL 2024 Participants Thumbnail + 6
Posted: 1 years ago

Originally posted by: K.Universe.

I completely agree with this.

It's absolutely ridiculous on Modi's part to "appeal" to the people of India NOT to come to Ayodhya on Jan 22nd and, in the same breath, shamelessly extend an invitation to a select few. Clearly, the VIP culture in India is not just alive but thriving.

It is also infuriating to know that Ayodhya hotels are cancelling bookings ahead of the temple opening. I am not sure if the hotels are doing this on their own or at the behest of the local/central administration. So what if they are refunding the money?! They better refund the money of course but that still doesn't absolve them of these unscrupulous maneuvers.

Shame shame!

Agree w/ you. My suggestion for people wanting to visit Ayodhya: do it on Ram Navami, the day this ceremony should have happened, but didn't, bcos politicians would have been embargoed from participation by the Election Commission

Kyahikahoon thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail IPL 2024 Match Winner Thumbnail + 4

Ram Navami will be election time. Courts wouldn't even allow both the events together coz both will require full involvement of local administration and security staff to maintain law n order. So either election dates need to be moved or Pran Pratishtha date..people involved would've checked the muhurat.

Regarding other things..it's easy for us to write our opinions bcoz we r not the ones organizing..we aren't in charge of taking care of all the stuff..nor r we responsible for well being of general public.

Anyways it's just n appeal ..not a dictat.

Those who agree with it will choose another day..those who don't can very well visit

K.Universe. thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Kyahikahoon

U know so many people r waiting to visit Ram Mandir. Can imagine the rush on 22nd Jan without a general appeal. God forbid something happens who will be responsible? How to control law and order for so many devotees when u don't have n estimate of how many people r coming? On other days it's fine but on the day of the function? And appeal is only for 22nd..not next day

Hundreds of thousands stand in lines everyday to visit Tirupati Balaji. Millions of pilgrims attend Kumbh Melas. Large gatherings are nothing new in India.

If the authorities are indirectly admitting that they can’t control crowds, that they can’t maintain law and order, that is even more damning. So, they can guarantee the security of political leaders, athletes and movie stars but not security of the general public? They might as well resign en masse for that acknowledgment of incompetence.

In any case, what changes on 23rd? Nothing! It will be pretty much the same number of people (minus politicians and other “luminaries”) fervently waiting to get in and get a glimpse.

What’s supposed to be a sacred event is being turned into a spectacle, a gong show! Sad!

Kyahikahoon thumbnail

Hundreds of thousands stand in lines everyday to visit Tirupati Balaji. Millions of pilgrims attend Kumbh Melas. Large gatherings are nothing new in India.

If the authorities are indirectly admitting that they can’t control crowds, that they can’t maintain law and order, that is even more damning. So, they can guarantee the security of political leaders, athletes and movie stars but not security of the general public? They might as well resign en masse for that acknowledgment of incompetence.

In any case, what changes on 23rd? Nothing! It will be pretty much the same number of people (minus politicians and other “luminaries”) fervently waiting to get in and get a glimpse.

What’s supposed to be a sacred event is being turned into a spectacle, a gong show! Sad!

But it isn't Pran pratishtha of Tirupati Balaji. Kumbh Mela happens every 12 years and so many organisations work towards its execution. Still movies have made a stereotype of Kumbh ke mele me kho jaana.

This has happened after a 500 years wait..Shree Ram is Aastha of so many people. There were been stories of people being on maun vrat, not eating particular food etc. till Mandir is built. They have got n invite. Many many non VIPs have received invites. Apartment communities have received Akshat and most of them r organizing Pooja and Kirtan on the day.

We can see and feel the emotions as day approaches. And m not the kind of person who looks for something to criticize or be negative about in the middle of such happiness. So don't want to argue..just putting my point across.

Only one thing to say, jaisi Prabhu ki ichha.

He chooses the time, people and place

Kyahikahoon thumbnail

And it's not about security of general public. Stampedes in India in public gatherings aren't new..even in temples and religious gatherings

Vr15h thumbnail

Originally posted by: Kyahikahoon

Ram Navami will be election time. Courts wouldn't even allow both the events together coz both will require full involvement of local administration and security staff to maintain law n order. So either election dates need to be moved or Pran Pratishtha date..people involved would've checked the muhurat.

Regarding other things..it's easy for us to write our opinions bcoz we r not the ones organizing..we aren't in charge of taking care of all the stuff..nor r we responsible for well being of general public.

Anyways it's just n appeal ..not a dictat.

Those who agree with it will choose another day..those who don't can very well visit

Courts would not stop pran pratishtha happening during Ram Navami. In fact, it's the Election Commission that would weigh in here, not the courts, and they'd disallow political candidates from milking the event. But that begs the question of whether this Pran Pratishtha is a religious or political event. Can Hindus be forgiven for thinking that it's the former and not the latter?

Even from a law & order standpoint, all that the EC has to do is not make April 27th (or whichever day Ram Navami is this year) an election day in the country. That way, all of law & order could have been dedicated to that, and once done, they could get back to election duty. Reason this is being timed for next week is that the PM, CM et al wouldn't have been able to take part had it been done on Ram Navami due to EC rules

Another question: for the pran pratishtha, I understand the role of the pujari at the event. What exactly are the roles of PM, CM, governor and RSS chief at this event? If not the Shankaracharyas, it should at least be the heads of the Ramanand sect or even the Vaishnav sect, if they're there

K.Universe. thumbnail

What happened to "this is only an appeal and not a diktat"?

In light of Pran Pratishtha on January 22, the Uttar Pradesh government has clarified that only people invited by the temple trust, journalists and government functionaries on duty can enter Ayodhya a day before and on the day of the ceremony. Prior hotel bookings on these days of all others will be cancelled, officials said.

The note went on to add that actions might be taken against those who enter the town without a permit.

The DM, meanwhile, said, “We are investigating the hotel bookings already made in Ayodhya hotels during Pran Pratishtha. We will take the necessary action.”

source: hindustantimes.com/cities/lucknow-news/only-invitees-govt-officials-scribes-to-stay-in-hotels-on-january-22-ayodhya-dm-101704567701968.html

Obviously, to most who have advance-booked, they would have to cancel bus/train/flight bookings too if they don't have a place to stay.

Look, I understand that the alternatives to certain political parties may be equally bad or worse but that doesn't mean we don't condemn autocratic measures when we see them. We are talking about citizens needing permits to enter a town/city and we are talking about hotel bookings being cancelled in a high-handed manner. And, we are talking about catering to a special class of citizens. All of these are wrong any which way you slice it.

Vr15h thumbnail

What happened to "this is only an appeal and not a diktat"?

In light of Pran Pratishtha on January 22, the Uttar Pradesh government has clarified that only people invited by the temple trust, journalists and government functionaries on duty can enter Ayodhya a day before and on the day of the ceremony. Prior hotel bookings on these days of all others will be cancelled, officials said.

The note went on to add that actions might be taken against those who enter the town without a permit.

The DM, meanwhile, said, “We are investigating the hotel bookings already made in Ayodhya hotels during Pran Pratishtha. We will take the necessary action.”

source: hindustantimes.com/cities/lucknow-news/only-invitees-govt-officials-scribes-to-stay-in-hotels-on-january-22-ayodhya-dm-101704567701968.html

Obviously, to most who have advance-booked, they would have to cancel bus/train/flight bookings too if they don't have a place to stay.

Look, I understand that the alternatives to certain political parties may be equally bad or worse but that doesn't mean we don't condemn autocratic measures when we see them. We are talking about citizens needing permits to enter a town/city and we are talking about hotel bookings being cancelled in a high-handed manner. And, we are talking about catering to a special class of citizens. All of these are wrong any which way you slice it.

This launch looks increasingly like a disaster, particularly the political aspect of it, which was meant to highlight the BJP fulfilling its decades old promise. Somehow, Ayodhya is only open to the PM's chosen celebrities, & even normal people who're just visiting the city for the occasion are treated as if they are going to Kashmir

The best thing people can do is just avoid this event, and check in April of this year - during Ram Navami - whether the infrastructure facilities at Ayodhya have improved - the station, the hotels & so on. If they have, pick that occasion to come!

K.Universe. thumbnail

Originally posted by: Vr15h

The best thing people can do is just avoid this event, and check in April of this year - during Ram Navami - whether the infrastructure facilities at Ayodhya have improved - the station, the hotels & so on. If they have, pick that occasion to come!

Well, Indians seem to be taking this in their stride with their chalta hai attitude. I don't see any outrage anywhere, not even in the media, other than a few opposition leaders who have rightfully questioned the authority vested in the government to invite a few and block the rest on Jan 21st and Jan 22nd.

I have no skin in the game so, if they are not bothered, I wouldn't get worked up either. As the idiom goes, "it is what it is".

PunnyPotato thumbnail

April would be just few weeks before Election, abhi itna ro rahe hain tab toh pata nahi kya karte.

https://x.com/BeingPolitical1/status/1747966605827711043?s=20

Edited by Palak2812 - 1 years ago