CeruleanSky thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: nureat01

Download links ka pata nahin but it's all uploaded in a HQ print on YT....it's an old show....aired a year and a half back I think.....it's total 15 episodes. It's about a group of Pakistanis living in the U.S. and the way their lives intersect.....it's basically a SUPERBLY written show and on top of that very well enacted and directed too. Malaal means regret I think.......so it's about the regrets that the lead character Zeenia especially has in life in a sense....but the others do too.....it's a multi-layered, GENUINELY intelligently written script.....something that is practically unheard of on TV or in movies in general these days😛

Oh it's an old show...that explains why I haven't seen any promos of it on the channel...15 episodes toh I can easily handle :D And if everyone HERE says it's good , try toh banta hi hai :D
-Fivr- thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: CeruleanSky

*peeved* What I don't like about you people is , that you force me to get off my butt . *sigh* And now my interest is all piqued . And here I was planning to read manga online.

BAD people.

Lol! Koi baat nahi - thora kaam kar lo! It's time I get off my butt and go into lab and work too.. But trust me your "work" is infinitely better than mine! 😆 Toh you can't even complain about not getting to be lazy - watching TV is pretty much a key ingredient to being lazy!! 🤣
Nymeria thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Thanks for the welcome guys!

Right now i just watch Navya and well Kismat. Navya, as anu and shreya mentioned, has those subtle sweet moments that makes it watchable at the moment and the character of Anant, the male lead is sorta interesting because right now he's not being shown as the conventional "youth" show male lead.

Regarding Kismat, well its definitely not the conventional indian telly show and the fact that it was based on a book rather than being a mixture of tracks from movies and such. I have read Kane and Abel...in bits and pieces, dunno why but just happen to read it once. LOL it's funny how the actors and people associated with the show deny it being based on the book when it clearly is an adaptation.
Just like any other show, it has setbacks too. there were certain tracks that were unnecessary and certain things that could have been shown different BUT overall its a decent attempt at showing a different genre on Indian telly which is mostly filled with romantic "youth based" shows or those village based "social" shows.
The show's really fast paced. if you miss one episode then, you're like "Huh" what ? lol

Btw found this on YT----- the girl who plays Navya seems like the character in her real life too. and the guy who plays Anant seems to be a serious cheese lover.😆
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezjJ9EHR6UQ&feature=feedu
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zy0-22sLw_w&feature=feedlik
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5yShimLH_g&feature=relmfu

AreYaar thumbnail
Hi Amy :-)

I saw a couple of their off-screen interviews a few days back too I think.....Navya does seem all Navya-like in real life also like you said.....very innocent/naive and sweet.....haha.....but the guy is more jovial...I haven't seen this cheese interview you're talking about though......haha.....will check out the links after I get home from work :-)

Re: Kismat.....LOL they deny that it's an adaptation of Kane and Abel?? hahaha who are they fooling seriously? My mom is also watching it for the same reason.....she lovesssss that book.....I unfortunately just haven't gotten around to find the time or motivation to watch it.....lol
Nymeria thumbnail
btw one silly question-- Does "Adolescence" in india start late? As in in late teens.....around 18 or 19?😳

So i read an article on that movie "always kabhi kabhi" and it said it's about 4 friends in their final year of school and them going through adolescence.
Also, in Navya's synopsis or whatever on SP website, they mentioned "adolescence" there as well.

@Anu-- yeah the guy's more jovial and really in to all sorts of games😆 he's like he plays x-box, PS3, this and that and wants to get Kinnect. anyhow, he mentions his "love" for cheese in the links i provided earlier. and apparently the dude used to run an "event management" company and doesn't prefer being bossed around. lol

@kismat---not everyone would watch such type of show. it does get sorta boring and redundant. but since i started watching it, i shall finish it unlike how i never finish a show.😆
i started watching that crapfest CMG stuff last year and then it got so crappified. then i was watching that random "baat hamari pakki" show on sony just for time pass and it got crappified with wahi's entry. then i was watching Saas bina sasural in the beginning and it is just not my cup of tea so stopped watching that too.😆
Edited by Ramy25 - 14 years ago
AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: Ramy25

btw one silly question-- Does "Adolescence" in india start late? As in in late teens.....around 18 or 19?😳

So i read an article on that movie "always kabhi kabhi" and it said it's about 4 friends in their final year of school and them going through adolescence.
Also, in Navya's synopsis or whatever on SP website, they mentioned "adolescence" there as well.

😆😆😆.....No adolescence doesn't start late biologically in India😆 but yeah mentally in some ways 18 year olds can be equated to the 14 year olds in the U.S./U.K. given how fast they are😆.....More than anything, this is a case of poorly written PR....these ppl themselves don't know how to describe their movie synopsis in the correct terminology/ manner😆
Nymeria thumbnail

Originally posted by: nureat01

😆😆😆.....No adolescence doesn't start late biologically in India😆 but yeah mentally in some ways 18 year olds can be equated to the 14 year olds in the U.S./U.K. given how fast they are😆.....More than anything, this is a case of poorly written PR....these ppl themselves don't know how to describe their movie synopsis in the correct terminology/ manner😆

lol that's what i figured. 😆
lol not a single "synopsis" of any indian show or movie is ever written the way it should have.
AreYaar thumbnail

@kismat---not everyone would watch such type of show. it does get sorta boring and redundant. but since i started watching it, i shall finish it unlike how i never finish a show.😆
i started watching that crapfest CMG stuff last year and then it got so crappified. then i was watching that random "baat hamari pakki" show on sony just for time pass and it got crappified with wahi's entry. then i was watching Saas bina sasural in the beginning and it is just not my cup of tea so stopped watching that too.😆

LOL no actually I'd really like to watch Kismat cuz it seems intelligently made.....but I haven't found the time to in all seriousness.

Yes I know you watched BHPH....I remember seeing your posts in that forum😆....and it was crappified long before KW entered the show.....I'm not much of a fan of Barun's non-existent acting skills and the MAHA BRAINLESS script of that show which just made everything ridiculously slapstick. As for CMG.....no comments😆

SBS is a nice show....I also watched a few epis in the beginning but lost track later on.....
Nymeria thumbnail
lol yeah at that time shows that i watched on American telly were on hiatus and so i spend my time watching it. It was a good time pass in the beginning.
@barun--- lol not only him but even his co-star. both were very very very raw.

@SBS-- yeah it started out good. but then all that stuff with Toasty being the most unrealistic woman of today was just not digestable.😆 I mean who would sacrifice her career and life for being a mere maid in the house full of men who disrespect her every now and then let alone appreciating her efforts. that pashu guy is just way OTT.
AreYaar thumbnail

lol yeah at that time shows that i watched on American telly were on hiatus and so i spend my time watching it. It was a good time pass in the beginning.
@barun--- lol not only him but even his co-star. both were very very very raw.

@SBS-- yeah it started out good. but then all that stuff with Toasty being the most unrealistic woman of today was just not digestable.😆 I mean who would sacrifice her career and life for being a mere maid in the house full of men who disrespect her every now and then let alone appreciating her efforts. that pashu guy is just way OTT.

LOL yes Ankita couldn't act much either.......weird characterization too....overnight they changed her from shy scaredy girl to such a chalaak types......no consistency in writing😆...anyways.

Yeah Toasty's character isn't the most realistic but otherwise the show has a nice light hearted feel to it I guess so it's still ok.