Saawariya
Director :
Music :
Lyrics :
Starring :
Sanjay Leela Bhansali
Monty Sharma
Sameer, Nusrat Badr, Sandeep Nath.
Ranbir Kapoor, Sonam Kapoor, Salman Khan, Rani Mukherjee.
By Martin D'Souza, Bollywood Trade News Network

View Saawariya Movie Stills

Saawariya is an Indian cinematic experience of rare brilliance. Either consciously, or unconsciously, director Sanjay Leela Bhansali has let the influence of Baz Luhrmann's Award winning movie, Moulin Rouge take over his being.

The sets are top class, the lighting absolutely brilliant and there is a prop in every frame that never looks out of place. The music is simply scintillating complemented with heart touching lyrics. The choreography is of international standard. Never have I seen such poetry in motion on Indian screen. Every dancer is in sync. Every movement matches the mood of the music and every expression complements the lyrics. The costumes have to be seen to be believed. Top it with performances worthy of applause and you leave the theatre humming the title track. Yes, the end too is not what was expected. There's also a loser in love. But Saawariya is a winner

Full marks to Sanjay Leela Bhansali for treading the musical path to weave a sincere love story. Like an excellent music conductor, Bhansali waves his baton, to squeeze up a fine performance from his cast. Absolutely flawless. The actors follow the flow of the baton and the master conductor must be pleased with his symphony. My fear is that his movie will sweep up a number of awards in the coming year.

The freshness of Ranbir Kapoor and Sonam Kapoor takes this symphony to another level and keeps it there. Both actors give of a splendid performance. Ranbir is a great dancer and an excellent actor. He comes across very confident of himself in whatever he does. If you look intently, one can see a streak of his grandfather, the legendary Raj Kapoor, in his mannerisms.

< =text/> < src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js" =text/> < name=google_ads_ marginWidth=0 marginHeight=0 src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/ads?client=ca-pub-9691720716894283&dt=1195061313015&lmt=1195061313&alternate_ad_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.glamsham.com%2Fbanner300_default-1.htm&at=300x250_as&output=&correlator=1195061313000&channel=4707118014&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.glamsham.com%2Fmovies%2Freviews%2F09_movie_review_saawariya_100708.asp&color_bg=FFFFFF&color_text=000000&color_link=7F7F7F&color_url=000000&color_border=FFFFFF&ad_=text_image&ref=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.glamsham.com%2F&cc=310&ga_vid=2074173419.1192913980&ga_sid=1195061265&ga_hid=2090140616&ga_fc=true&flash=9&u_h=800&u_w=1280&u_ah=770&u_aw=1280&u_cd=32&u_tz=330&u_his=6&u_java=true" Border=0 width=300 scrolling=no height=250 allowTransparency></>

As for Sonam, she matches Ranbir, step for step. A gorgeous looker, she carries off her role with aplomb as the one who is looking for her love to return. Her huge eyes portray her emotions and her confidence is personified in every frame; whether she is playfully fooling around with Ranbir or anxiously looking out for her Imaan (Salman Khan) to return. It looks like these two were born to act. The chemistry between the two is awesome.

Rani Mukherjee as Gulab the prostitute is very good; better than her Laaga Chunari Mein Daag act. It's a small but meaningful role, central to the theme of the movie. Zohra Sehgal is simply adorable. You just want to reach out and hug her! Cinematographer Ravi Chandran freezes the frames to give moving, picture perfect images.

Only a master craftsman could have dreamt of a film like this and worked towards putting it together exactly as he saw it in his mind's eye. Take a bow, Sanjay Leela Bhansali.

Like Rani Mukherjee keeps saying in the movie, 'I likes it'!

Ratings : 4 / 5

I'd say 3/5.😉

atlast14 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago
Great review but i must agree the chemistry was amazing though between them 👏
b_queen thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
wow..grrr8 review...4/5 is absolutely fiiine 4 me too 😃
Taify thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
3/5 ..

he is praising too much!

I think the choreography was poor.
mango-frost thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Taify

3/5 ..

he is praising too much!

I think the choreography was poor.

i thut choreography was perfect considering it was a special dream world and
it had to be very different from the real world...

and ranbir raj, as said by ranbir, very a carefree kinda guy...if he woke up one
morning and his hair was a mess....his hair wud stay a mess for the rest of the
day...

so wen he danced...he just danced for himself...watever he cud think of at that
moment he did...thas why the choreography had to be sloppy and
average...not professional and perfect...it had to match the characters they
were playing...

as for rani's choreography...she was a sex worker...she had to dance like
one...but at the same time not be too vulgar as she was singing to cheer up her
best friend.....therefore the choreography...

yes it was weird....but it matched with the characters....so it was perfect in that sense...

Edited by srk_lover - 17 years ago
Sanchari thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail
Finally a good review which is worth totally! 👏 Its a masterpiece from SLB. I loved the movie!
TheBlackJaguar thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: srk_lover

i thut choreography was perfect considering it was a special dream world and
it had to be very different from the real world...

and ranbir raj, as said by ranbir, very a carefree kinda guy...if he woke up one
morning and his hair was a mess....his hair wud stay a mess for the rest of the
day...

so wen he danced...he just danced for himself...watever he cud think of at that
moment he did...thas why the choreography had to be sloppy and
average...not professional and perfect...it had to match the characters they
were playing...

as for rani's choreography...she was a sex worker...she had to dance like
one...but at the same time not be too vulgar as she was singing to cheer up her
best friend.....therefore the choreography...

yes it was weird....but it matched with the characters....so it was perfect in that sense...

Hmm....if we go by the characters in the film....the choreography was fine....absolutely in sync with them.

dazzlingdesi thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
nitica_82 have u watched Saawariya already?

i was actually waiting to read ur review...but havent seen it...can i get the link for it if u posted one

and i gave the movie a 4/5...and posted my review in the Review Section....

as for the glamsham reviewer...i totally agree with them
DeSi*KuRi* thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

the movie was just too good... i loved it....

finally a more postive review to read...

i too would give it 4/5!!!

XXXX

TheBlackJaguar thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: dazzlingdesi

nitica_82 have u watched Saawariya already?

i was actually waiting to read ur review...but havent seen it...can i get the link for it if u posted one

and i gave the movie a 4/5...and posted my review in the Review Section....

as for the glamsham reviewer...i totally agree with them

Hi there. First thing, just call me nitica or nitu and second thing, here's the review that i wrote after watching the film.

Hi,

I just came back after watching the last show of Saawariya...even at 10pm show, inspite of the "gorgeous" reviews this film is garnering...the house was full. Not that people were super-excited about the movie....they were either there to see Ranbir-Sonam or else out of curiosity of finding out that how could the great SLB go wrong? Anyway, here's what I felt....no offence to anyone....I am bad at reviewing , so am dividing it into bouquets and brickbats....First the brickbats....

1. The first half of the film is a major major letdown...the pace of the film competes with a snail...the narrative is not strong enough and the scenes look beaded together asymmetrically...

2. Background of Raj's character and Gulab needed some proper fleshing out as half the time people were wondering that what is this fiesty woman doing here? What is her relevance? Same goes for Imaan's character.

3. The sets are beautiful....they actually transport you into another world but they only mount the feeling of pathos and depression...giving a feeling of melancholy and suffocation after sometime.... a little sunshine could have balanced out everything perfectly....

4. Dialogues should have been simpler and closer home... and for the sake of commercial success , a touch of realism was required indeed....

5. SLB doesn't believe in scriptwriters and the massive hurdles and loopholes in the film are due to the fact that this creative genius followed the play blindly and word-to-word...

Now, the bouquets...

1. I can't think of a single film-maker in contemporary Indian cinema who can match the creative brilliance of SLB when it comes to presenting the movies.... he fills every single frame with a life of it's own....his attention to detail is truly mind-boggling....he truly is a SHOWMAN.

2.The various gamut of emotions that Ranbir's character goes through in his whirl-wind passionate love for Sakina is beautifully depicted.....the joy, the sadness, the anger, the jealousy, the defeat and the victory.....Ranbir is truly the most alive and vibrant character in the film...

3. Bonding of Ranbir with Lillipop (Zohra Aunty) and Gulab (Rani) actually touches your heart. The man has so much to give....he fills the lives of these two women what they have always craved for....Love for Lillipop and respect for Gulab...all moments between these three bring sunshine into an otherwise sad film....

4. Ranbir and Sakina look so perfect and gelled together that it's difficult to believe that Sakina could actually love anybody else than Ranbir. Even in the most depressing settings, Ranbir and Sakina seem the most alive thing possible....The seeping through of Ranbir in Sakina's life is beautifully portrayed....

5. Ranbir and Sonam are the best thing to happen to SLB's Saawariya. They both definitely have star quality....Sonam looks like a Princess from the Gothic age and it's easy to see how Raj falls in love with her the very moment he lays his eyes on her. They both are good-looking starkids who look great together, have an amazing bonding and a crackling chemistry and can ACT......the climax can vouch for that. I don't think SLB did any injustice to Sonam...going by the play her character Sakina is this elusive confused charmer and SLB stuck to that.

6. Lastly , a word for my favourite actress Rani....Girl, you are a powerhouse...you just have to stand in a frame and it goes up in smoke. I love you!

On a parting note,

When you leave the hall....moments stay with you....not the whole film for obvious reasons....Raj writing Sakina's name all over the town walls, Raj's dilemma and heartbreak during the song 'thode badmaash', Raj and Sakina's angry, passionate and loving interactions, Lillipop's argument with the fiesty Gulab, Gulab's shameless feminity and desertion of Raj when he needs her the most, Liilipop sitting with Raj's picture at the end of the film, Sakina crying and kissing Raj's hands when he asks her to choose a yes or no for Imaan's return and her hugging him...Sakina running like a madwoman through the inroads of the town towards the bridge....shot of Raj betraying Sakina's faith and burning her letter....separation of Raj and Sakina ( perhaps the best 15 minutes of the entire film).........for a few seconds you do sadly laugh at the human fallacy of falling for somebody you know you cannot have.....😆

Saawariya is a flawed film...yes, it is... but it is all heart. It's so easy to see that an over-indulgent and passionate SLB was simply seeing a dream for himself while making the film...he didn't think about the regular audience while making it....he never does....he did what Raj Kapoor used to do...make films for himelf. Critics are right in their place, the public is right in it's place but then, SLB doesn't care what we say about his baby....it's his baby. SLB will stay SLB and we'll keep watching him....even if he falters, you cannot snatch away his magic....it'll always find it's way back....

Anyway, Saawariya won't be a flop. It's doing fine in USA and UK and is expected to be either a semi-hit or an average grosser in India. Saawariya is not for everybody, it really isn't.And ya,any Tom , Dick and Harry can conceive an Om Shanti Om ( kill me for that if you want to) but it takes courage and a little madness to even dream of attempting a Saawariya in India where Masala sells and rest all goes into deepfreezers.😆

Sorry for boring you all but I am like a tap....I just have to vent out everything.