Are South stars so desperate for BW?

642126 thumbnail

Why has Prabhas let Bollywood con him and how did he agree to act in crap like Adipurush?

Earlier Ram Charan has made a mockery of himself in poor remake of Zanjeer.

Many South stars like Rajinikanth, Kamal, Vijayshanti, Chiranjeevi, Bhanupriya have done fairly crap roles in Hindi films or even B grade films.

Rajini and Chiru especially did many faltu roles in 80s Hindi films.

Why? Why compromise own dignity or not visualise how it will turn out onscreen or focus on script?

In this sense I now appreciate many South stars who refuse to do Hindi films at all and are happy as they are.

Prabhas was also shortchanged in a crap film like Saaho.

Why are they risking own image just to make it in BW in hope of reaching so called pan India audience?

you2 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6

Adipurush has taken an earth shattering opening on Sunday.We know that all filmmakers pay for good reviews and fill seats.But how many can do at this scale,especially overseas and south markets..

According to BOI..Adipurush is the 4th biggest opener worldwide.All 4 are south films,

The way BW media keeps throwing their names around..I bet they pay big money too.

For Prabhas,Prashanth Neel's Salaar is almost ready.

A Shamshera didn't affect Brahmastra,Previous flops of SRK didn't affect Pathaan.

But yes Lessons will be learnt.BW directors don't know how to present heroes.SRK is doing Jawan.AjayD is doing Drishyam3.RK is doing Animal.Their fans are excited about it.

Edited by you2 - 2 years ago
642126 thumbnail

Adipurush will soon fall as well.

My point is why South stars are ruining own image and ready to do any shit here?

Diljit also burnt his fingers in BW and was not happy with work he was being offered or how he was being caricatured or asked to get rid of his turban if he wanted more roles. He now says he is happy with stardom in Punjabi industry and does not need BW.

Mahesh Babu was also smart enough to say he was not interested in BW.

Surya was also wasted in faltu films like Rakta Charitra in BW. He is otherwise a phenomenal actor.

Why more stars do not get assertive about kind of roles they get and how they are presented?

you2 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6

^^ BW doesn't have enough directors ,writers,music directors..it is a struggling industry lacking in vision and ambition.

South stars become pan India stars by working with South directors. You are right.. why should they work with BW directors. Pushpa will take a massive opening in the North,with no thanks to BW.

Dirdam thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

Bollywood will never give them good movies..South heros better stay in their industries. We already know how bollywood and nepotism works but this also happen in the South where only the nepo heroes have good projects, is something that Adivi already said.The south industry is the same or even worse with outsiders male actors.

piya2025 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 7

May be they aren't desperate. Not when their films are doing great & their heroes are literally worshiped + bankable unlike BW. I don't even watch South films but calling them desparate is an insult to them. It could he other way around. May be BW people are adamant to ride on their name & success very badly.

Adipurush is crap but it's possible that it looked great on paper & the director failed the cast. No one can possibly imagine someone ruining something like Ramayan to this extent. Prabhas is capable & we have seen him doing good job even in crap films. Besides, the way BW movies these days adding South tadka be it through in form of dialogues or dance moves shows how obsessed they are with them.

642126 thumbnail

Your point on Pushpa is SPOT ON. Same goes for RRR, Bahubali where makers gave actors a GOOD deal.

I think Bollywood insults, humiliates and degrades regional stars. I saw them get good work only in old days when Suchitra Sen got Devdas and Aandhi or some exceptions like Sridevi, Jayaprada got meaty roles.

Even Kamal Haasan had to make own Chachi 420 etc for better role. Or Southern maker made Ek Duje ke liye for him. Otherwise BW wasted him making him do supporting roles like Saagar or Geraftar.

Otherwise mostly BW has given unfair deal to South stars and I see them misbehave with Southern stars or other regional stars and stereotype or caricature them or pronounce their names badly.

I did not like treatment Dhanush got during promotions of Raanjhanaa and Atrangi re. BW media was paying more attention to Sonam and Sara compared to National award winning Dhanush.

Rajamouli could have made fabulous film on Ramayana or inspired from it. Adipurush wale made Prabhas a meme.

642126 thumbnail

I used the word 'desperate' wondering WHY would anyone do crap like Zanjeer remake or Adipurush or Rakta charitra where RGV gave more limelight to Vivek compared to Surya and WHY would they tolerate being taken for granted or such disrespect?

I wonder if they are taken by BW as they are seen as more affordable and less pricey compared to, say, Khans, Ranbir, Akki, HR who are overpaid anyway?

I have always seen regional films offer better deal to BW stars but not same vice versa.

Shatru and Manoj Kumar got SOLID lead roles when they did Punjabi films for eg. Whereas no Punjabi star got such lead roles in BW.

Regional makers do not offer such a raw deal to BW as the latter does to them. Even BW media is insulting and ignores or caricatures them or does not even get their names right.

North Indians turned even Rajinikanth into a meme and something like Chuck Norris jokes. Forgetting he has done stuff like Thalapathy also and not just unreal action as shown in Shankar films.

I have seen Rajinikanth in some really bad BW films in 80s and crap roles. That made me wonder what was need to do those films? So eager to get into Hindi films?

I am glad he never did Hindi films again after 1980s.

I also did not like a National award winning actor like Dhanush accept films like Atrangi re where promotions focused more on Sara and Akki and film looked like vehicle to prove Sara can act. Same way Raanjhanaa looked like a film to salvage Sonam's dying career. Dhanush stole the show simply on his own merit and talent.

I do not like regional stars accepting disrespect or crap films or bakwas treatment by snooty BW media.

cts22 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

I want south actors should film in their language they are comfortable with and that should do well pan India. Most south actors can speak in various south languages and that exchange is okay. Problem is south actors do have massive fan follow but south has better writers, directors and other technicians. Ex Baahubai, RRR, KGF, Kantara these movies are solid south ones dubbed in various languages and released all over. That is what we want

Kyahikahoon thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail IPL 2024 Match Winner Thumbnail + 4

Pan India publicity matters..no matter the flops.

All of them were big stars down South..much celebrated..but we r talking about them after their BW debut..dubbed or otherwise.

Prabhas after Bahubali, Dhanush after Ranjhana, Allu Arjun after Pushpa, Ram Charan and Jr NTR in RRR or Sidharth in RDB. It's even easier to remember names of few films done by Rajni Sir or Kamal haasan in BW compared to 20 of their regional ones.

M strictly talking about Pan India audience. Their regional audience would of course know and also respect their body of work.

We don't talk about Mahesh Babu as much though he is such a big star in Telugu industry.

So even the flops give visibility. But ya quality that BW gives them is crap

Edited by Kyahikahoon - 2 years ago