How much overhyped is the popularity of actors?

PangaNaLe thumbnail
Own Your Stories Participant Thumbnail 5th Anniversary Thumbnail + 3

We know that millennial generation of actors are not really popular among audience except the younger generation. Like people still confuse between and Ranbir and Ranveer. Most don't know about Alia.

Personal experience, my mom while watching Stree confused Rajkummar Rao with Varun Dhawan. My brother doesn't care about any actors in Bollywood and might not even be able to name them all.

But I think even the popularity of Superstars is very much overrated. I've met people from villages and small towns who have no idea about Salman Khan or Akshay Kumar or any Superstar. Yes, I've met people who don't know about Salman Khan and it was quite shocking for me.

These people whom I have met, watch Bollywood movies but still don't know who is. But then we see fans and media hyping these Superstars to the sky as if 90% of India know who they are.

It's not just current actors though. People in village also don't have an idea about Amitabh Bachchan or Rajesh Khanna. So it was always like this I suppose.

The only thing which makes actors celebs is their popularity, and when you really look into it, even that is PR generated for the most part.

ShaliniTv thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail + 3

As a audience we boost them up unnecessarily! Their only duty is to entertain us, we in turn go to watch their movies(our money)! Instead we indulge in fan wars, worship them and if anything happens we expect them to speak up! It's totally not necessary! I wish we could stop doing that, but you know today their lives seems much more entertaining than the movies they make! But if tomorrow they decided to make a biography movie of Salman Khan like that Sanju! Consider me out!

Uday_Shetty thumbnail
Stunner Thumbnail 6th Anniversary Thumbnail + 4

Majority of so called BW stars are overhyped and all thanks to their PR teams!

I agree.... many people have no idea about the actors, their names, their families etc because they don't care about it....apne kaam se kaam rakhte hai unlike most of us

It's high time we treat acting as a profession itself and don't make actors into heroes and heroines... it will reduce their unnecessary hype!

But at the end of the day we all need some mirch-masala gossip(human nature) so here we go....

Talis thumbnail
Dazzler Thumbnail 4th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Considering the population of India the amount of movie theaters and the amount of people that go to see films is minuscule.

If the villages or small towns don't have movie theaters then name recognition is likely to be far less. People going to movies usually make a pro active choice on what to see and pay for.

If they're watching movies on TV though my guess is if you showed them a photo most would recognize the bigger longer lived stars.

colossial2015 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Most of these stars like Ranbir, Ranveer, Akshay, Amitabh and Salman are popular among masses. There is a world beyond IF and social media, where these stars are popular. This is the reason why many of these actors are part of social campaigns done by the government of India.

There is a different stars at non Hindi states. The audience of those movies recognize the old stars. There is a certain nostalgia for these stars. They do not care for Netflix actors or even most Hindi films. Actors like Jeet and Dev rule Bengali cinema and South Indian stars had made their mark all over India thanks to dubbed movies.

Most over hyped stars of IF- Tripti Dimri and Ayushmann Khurrana are liked by people who are obsessed with social media. Most common people would not waste their money and time to watch these two. At grassroots levels, most people do not even know them. For me these people are most over hyped.

mintyblue thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: colossial2015

Most of these stars like Ranbir, Ranveer, Akshay, Amitabh and Salman are popular among masses. There is a world beyond IF and social media, where these stars are popular. This is the reason why many of these actors are part of social campaigns done by the government of India.

There is a different stars at non Hindi states. The audience of those movies recognize the old stars. There is a certain nostalgia for these stars. They do not care for Netflix actors or even most Hindi films. Actors like Jeet and Dev rule Bengali cinema and South Indian stars had made their mark all over India thanks to dubbed movies.

Most over hyped stars of IF- Tripti Dimri and Ayushmann Khurrana are liked by people who are obsessed with social media. Most common people would not waste their money and time to watch these two. At grassroots levels, most people do not even know them. For me these people are most over hyped.

Are you serious?

Do you know Ayushmann's last 2 films which released in theatres - one was about a bald man(Bala) and grossed over 100 crores and the second was about a homosexual couple (Shubh Mangal Zyaada Saavdhan) grossed 60 crores?

I suppose these 2 films garnered money with the help of general public only.

these films worked only because of Ayushmann. Their scripts were average to weak.

colossial2015 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: mintyblue

Are you serious?

Do you know Ayushmann's last 2 films which released in theatres - one was about a bald man(Bala) and grossed over 100 crores and the second was about a homosexual couple (Shubh Mangal Zyaada Saavdhan) grossed 60 crores?

I suppose these 2 films garnered money with the help of general public only.

these films worked only because of Ayushmann. Their scripts were average to weak.

I am taking about a normal person who is not obsessed with social media and lives in a tier 3 or tier 4 city in Indian state. They also prefare to watch regional cinema. The movies popular with top tier cities movie goer and the other small city movie goers is different.

catchm-ifucan thumbnail
Rocker Thumbnail 4th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Harley_Quinn

We know that millennial generation of actors are not really popular among audience except the younger generation. Like people still confuse between and Ranbir and Ranveer. Most don't know about Alia.

Personal experience, my mom while watching Stree confused Rajkummar Rao with Varun Dhawan. My brother doesn't care about any actors in Bollywood and might not even be able to name them all.

But I think even the popularity of Superstars is very much overrated. I've met people from villages and small towns who have no idea about Salman Khan or Akshay Kumar or any Superstar. Yes, I've met people who don't know about Salman Khan and it was quite shocking for me.

These people whom I have met, watch Bollywood movies but still don't know who is. But then we see fans and media hyping these Superstars to the sky as if 90% of India know who they are.

It's not just current actors though. People in village also don't have an idea about Amitabh Bachchan or Rajesh Khanna. So it was always like this I suppose.

The only thing which makes actors celebs is their popularity, and when you really look into it, even that is PR generated for the most part.

There are still people who confuse between Sharukh Khan and Irrfan Khan so Ranbir and Ranveer kis khet ke mooli hai. 😆

My parents still cannot differentiate between the Khans(Saif included). My grand mother toh doesn't even care anything that came after Amitabh.

Most of the hype these BW stars generated is through their PR and now toh it has reached it’s peak with the advent of SM.

Edited by cutejodikangal - 4 years ago
PangaNaLe thumbnail
Own Your Stories Participant Thumbnail 5th Anniversary Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: colossial2015

I'm talking about world outside IF only. I have met Bollywood movie watching people in small towns and villages in Hindi speaking states who don't know about Salman Khan, forget about any other star.

Maroonporsche thumbnail

https://youtu.be/kFHO18vFc8o

They don’t care about you so why care about them 😆😆