Twinklingmoon thumbnail
6th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

I'm not but My best friend is psychiatrist although she has very less experience and is still practising. She told me people who visited her were very weird. It take them 2-3 sessions to finally open up and trust the psy. But Indian psy. Charge too high per session so half of them leave it midway without completing the therapy. She also told me they hide a lot, a lot. They have this constant fear of being judged.

Moodyblue thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

I work as resident psychiatrist at a government hospital. The work load is massive, since many people consider psychiatry to be a branch where any case can be sent to and initial mental health evaluation takes anywhere from 60-75 minutes.

Usually in government hospitals, patients are never seen alone since history taking is quite important since you never know patient might be psychotic thus a close family member is required.

A high risk patient i.e. someone with suicidal ideation is taken quite seriously, admitted if with someone is with the patient and if patient is alone, patient is asked to bring family members if possible at the time and relatives are called informing the condition with admission advised but high risk patients rarely come alone . Many times , relatives refuse admission. 5/10 times, they are like ladke ki naukri chali jayegi and ladki ki shaadi nhi hogi, admission nahi karana.

Mages thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: anu rulz

I am spamming this thread now coz I just read through the posts. My apologies for it.

The mind is a very very powerful organ. Dont underestimate it. If it decides it wants to shut down, it will do so at the cost of any survival instinct. Manic or psychotic patients get energy 10 times of what they should biologically have, depressed patients make suicidal attempts which could be immensely painful or ride over the inherent survival instinct. Your mind is making you hear and believe things in some of these illnesses which, even though we may call impossible, is the absolute truth for the patients.

thats why i say the mind is very interesting subject to study so many things to learn and its mysterious its more closer to me as my late dad suffered it too but i was young i don't know his diagnosis but if he never takes his medicines and his monthly injection he becomes violent mom never let me go close to him when his mind is unpredictable but she knows his behaviour pattern in and out and she is the only one who can handle him...

he died from an accident but that night he went out just like that he call me up and told he loves my mom more than his life and sorry that he did not give her any happiness and ask me to take care of mom and i gave mom the phone as i did not understand the meaning mom went to find him before that she spoke to him she knows something wrong and the next day got to know he met with an accident and got to know he skip medicines and he lie to mom that he took it since she is at work due to shifts

mom was not home when he went out and when she came back he was already out

he hates taking the medicines as its too strong with side effects sometimes he sleeps for long

I have to say i am proud of my mom she lost her 2 days old son and also cope up with my dad mental illness till the end...it show how much she loved him and dad too loved her even his last words was the love in his heart for my mom and he was not mom first love the guy she loved died my dad was a arrange marriage

Edited by Mages - 5 years ago
Anurulz thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Moodyblue

I work as resident psychiatrist at a government hospital. The work load is massive, since many people consider psychiatry to be a branch where any case can be sent to and initial mental health evaluation takes anywhere from 60-75 minutes.

Usually in government hospitals, patients are never seen alone since history taking is quite important since you never know patient might be psychotic thus a close family member is required.

A high risk patient i.e. someone with suicidal ideation is taken quite seriously, admitted if with someone is with the patient and if patient is alone, patient is asked to bring family members if possible at the time and relatives are called informing the condition with admission advised but high risk patients rarely come alone . Many times , relatives refuse admission. 5/10 times, they are like ladke ki naukri chali jayegi and ladki ki shaadi nhi hogi, admission nahi karana.

Hi Moodyblue - your post reminded me of my residency and the negative consent/dama families at 3 am in the casualty, sigh!

Anurulz thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Mages

thats why i say the mind is very interesting subject to study so many things to learn and its mysterious its more closer to me as my late dad suffered it too but i was young i don't know his diagnosis but if he never takes his medicines and his monthly injection he becomes violent mom never let me go close to him when his mind is unpredictable but she knows his behaviour pattern in and out and she is the only one who can handle him...

he died from an accident but that night he went out just like that he call me up and told he loves my mom more than his life and sorry that he did not give her any happiness and ask me to take care of mom and i gave mom the phone as i did not understand the meaning mom went to find him before that she spoke to him she knows something wrong and the next day got to know he met with an accident and got to know he skip medicines and he lie to mom that he took it since she is at work due to shifts

mom was not home when he went out and when she came back he was already out

he hates taking the medicines as its too strong with side effects sometimes he sleeps for long

I have to say i am proud of my mom she lost her 2 days old son and also cope up with my dad mental illness till the end...it show how much she loved him and dad too loved her even his last words was the love in his heart for my mom and he was not mom first love the guy she loved died my dad was a arrange marriage

Mages am so sorry for the hurt and confusion you would have gone through in your childhood..

Moodyblue thumbnail

Hi Moodyblue - your post reminded me of my residency and the negative consent/dama families at 3 am in the casualty, sigh!

Some people don't understand the consequences of their actions on their patients. Many times families are advised to not leave high risk patients alone and their response is drama hain kuch nahi karenga. It is so difficult to change their thinking. Sessions on sessions and nothing changes.

Mages thumbnail

Mages am so sorry for the hurt and confusion you would have gone through in your childhood..

never got dad's love properly thats my only regret in my life and that love i always got in my grandad(mom's dad)

when i see my friends and fellow students with their father those days my heart always cry why i am deprived with dadda's love,he loves me but i am always scared of him due to his unpredictable mind and i was so young i don't know what happens to him only mom can handle him

this one thing pricking my heart...

you guys might think i am heartless but than i am glad that my dad is no more becos i saw him suffering with that disease with no cure for it,as his daughter it was painful for me to watch him being violent sometimes he is so silent and unpredictable,he just go out of the house w/o informing he doesn't even know where he goes till my neighbours spots him and call mom,he gets angry at once and than he cries next second i can never forget that day in my entire life when i went to dad and he took a knife and threaten me if not for mom n grandpa i was dead i can never forget this incident i was in trauma mom than call the mental illness hospital to take him as he became violent than he cry not to bring him as he loves me n mom alot and he doesn't know what he did thats shocking...he cries to mom he loves her i can never forget that day i was just 13 years old

when he passed away on my 16 years old i told my grandpa its good that he is gone,he is in better place now rather than living in this hell of a life where his life is not in control thats a torture for him and mostly for mom she took care of him never left him...she was in depression the 2nd time after loosing dad...1st time when she lost her 2 days son but than she came out for me she knows she has a daughter and the symbol of their love to take care of

people make fun of a mental illness but one can never understand what the person who is suffering going through and what the family members suffers

Edited by Mages - 5 years ago
Moodyblue thumbnail

Originally posted by: Mages

never got dad's love properly thats my only regret in my life and that love i always got in my grandad(mom's dad)

when i see my friends and fellow students with their father those days my heart always cry why i am deprived with dadda's love,he loves me but i am always scared of him due to his unpredictable mind and i was so young i don't know what happens to him only mom can handle him

this one thing pricking my heart...

you guys might think i am heartless but than i am glad that my dad is no more becos i saw him suffering with that disease with no cure for it,as his daughter it was painful for me to watch him being violent sometimes he is so silent and unpredictable,he just go out of the house w/o informing he doesn't even know where he goes till my neighbours spots him and call mom,he gets angry at once and than he cries next second i can never forget that day in my entire life when i went to dad and he took a knife and threaten me if not for mom n grandpa i was dead i can never forget this incident i was in trauma mom than call the mental illness hospital to take him as he became violent than he cry not to bring him as he loves me n mom alot and he doesn't know what he did thats shocking...he cries to mom he loves her i can never forget that day i was just 13 years old

when he passed away on my 16 years old i told my grandpa its good that he is gone,he is in better place now rather than living in this hell of a life where his life is not in control thats a torture for him and mostly for mom she took care of him never left him...she was in depression the 2nd time after loosing dad...1st time when she lost her 2 days son but than she came out for me she knows she has a daughter and the symbol of their love to take care of

people make fun of a mental illness but one can never understand what the person who is suffering going through and what the family members suffers

You have suffered so much leela, burden of mental illness is quite high on the carer. It is a difficult thing but rarely has a solution. Don't feel guilty, sometimes looking forward is the only solution. I am sure your dad, wherever he is , would be proud of you!

Mages thumbnail

You have suffered so much leela, burden of mental illness is quite high on the carer. It is a difficult thing but rarely has a solution. Don't feel guilty, sometimes looking forward is the only solution. I am sure your dad, wherever he is , would be proud of you!

you know guys sometimes i feel peaceful pouring out my heart to you guys makes me feel peaceful in my soul🤗as i cannot discuss abt dad to my mom and i never let my hubby enter into this space of mine

but with you guys i am so much at ease...thank you guys and love you all❤️

sushant death is a personal loss for me too yes i love him but he brought back my painful memories associated with dad thus his tragic became so close to my heart and i am still affected

Mages thumbnail

@bold this mentality of people needs to change as this is what leads to suicides they do not understand that mental diseases needs treatment if not they might harm themselves or others

I hate the word when they use paagal word...its a disease why look down on it...