Does any one find this dialogue offensive?

Sabhayata thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
Since so much discussion is going on about offensive dialogues just wanted to know if any one finds this dialogue offensive.Its from a very hit and a good movie as well 'Yeh Jawaani hain Dewaani'. Many may not have even noticed it or may not have even cared for it but its very offensive for me.
Its when Ranbir tells Deepika that you are a girl worth loving and not flirting something to that effect. Hence again showing that you have to be certain type of girl if you want to get married.That girls who are (modern and may be shallow) are only meant for sleeping around with and girls who are goddy two shoes type are love and marriage material

I find it highly offensive.Am i the only one?
Edited by Sabhayata - 8 years ago

Pehchaan.Kaun thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
90% movies have offensive scenes and including the above Sabhyata. For example - 3 Idiots joke on boobs and rape was indeed damn offensive as I watched it with not-so-close male friends. For example - Pyar ka panchnaama series almost everything's offensive. For example - Kuch Kuch Hota Hai Rahul's eyes popping out seeing the uncovered part of Kajol at the end of the song Ladki Badi Anjaani Hai or touching her stomach during the just before basketball match without her permission was damn offensive. For example - Akshay's stalking Bhumi in TEPK was indeed in much bad taste.

But the thing is movie is for entertainment purpose and I dont watch a movie with scrutiny glass. If the movie is overall good and entertains me, I tend to ignore 3-4 offensive dialogs or scenes. And people (read film critics) who cannot come out of those 3-4 offensive dialogs in a 3 hr movie remind me of those neighbours or desi relatives whose sole purpose in life is to just find flaws in everything and talk about it endlessly ! 😆
Edited by Pehchaan.Kaun - 8 years ago
itzMYattitude thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
U will find alot of dialogues in almost every movie that u can find offensive for sure. But thats what movies are for. They show different characters exists in our own society and all of them have flaws one way or another.
I dont get when people make long posts as happened recently in the forum regarding the characters of a movie. What they want? Humans portrayed as angels and no name calling, no bad words coming out of their mouth?That will be way too unreal and boring
Edited by itzMYattitude - 8 years ago
itzMYattitude thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Pehchaan.Kaun

90% movies have offensive and including the above Sabhyata. For example - 3 Idiots joke on boobs and rape was indeed damn offensive as I watched it with not-so-close male friends. For example - Pyar ka panchnaama series almost everything's offensive. For example - Kuch Kuch Hota Hai Rahul's eyes popping out seeing the uncovered part of Kajol at the end of the song Ladki Badi Anjaani Hai or touching her stomach during the just before basketball match without her permission was damn offensive. For example - Akshay's stalking Bhumi in TEPK was indeed in much bad taste.

But the thing is movie is for entertainment purpose and I dont watch a movie with scrutiny glass. If the movie is overall good and entertains me, I tend to ignore 3-4 offensive dialogs or scenes. And people (read film critics) who cannot come out of those 3-4 offensive dialogs in a 3 hr movie remind me of those neighbours or desi relatives whose sole purpose in life is to just find flaws in everything and talk about it endlessly ! 😆

+1 😆
many cant digest the fact that the movie is doing good 😃
Edited by itzMYattitude - 8 years ago
FilmiDhun thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 6
I think you are being overcritical...

If we start getting offended at such (relatively less) offensive dialogues then we will totally lose the enjoyment of watching BW films.

When I saw that scene, my reaction was that it was a cheesy dialogue placed to create a filmy throwback-to-90s moment in the film.
1098676 thumbnail
Actually in the movie Bunny didn't believe in the concept of marriage(and love also I guess), so he was probably flirting with Naina too.

Btw, if this is a comparison with Judwaa 2. Then that "Khatara Gaari" dialogue was used to generate laugh from the audience I guess??(Sorry, I haven't watched the movie).
Well, objectifiying a women isn't funny. Oh yeah, I know there is a genre called Black Comedy. But a movie like Judwaa 2 which promotes itself as a family movie, shouldn't have such sexist dialogues as punchlines.

YJHD was a different genre. The characters in the movie were not perfect. They were more real and layered. It's not about the sexist dialogues used in a movie, it's about in which context they are used.
Edited by Luna46 - 8 years ago
Sabhayata thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Pehchaan.Kaun

90% movies have offensive scenes and including the above Sabhyata. For example - 3 Idiots joke on boobs and rape was indeed damn offensive as I watched it with not-so-close male friends. For example - Pyar ka panchnaama series almost everything's offensive. For example - Kuch Kuch Hota Hai Rahul's eyes popping out seeing the uncovered part of Kajol at the end of the song Ladki Badi Anjaani Hai or touching her stomach during the just before basketball match without her permission was damn offensive. For example - Akshay's stalking Bhumi in TEPK was indeed in much bad taste.

Agreed

only wanted to point out that there are many dialogues that we ignore or even find romantic that have offensive tones to it.Like the one's even you pointed out.
BIackSwan thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3
Oh these movies do make your kidneys twirl sometimes 😆 For instance I was rather embarrassed than offended when Anushka kept on forcing SRK to flirt with her in JHMS
maal_u_have thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Rolled my eyes at that one but didn't find it offensive. I do find calling middle-aged women khatara gaadi offensive. Or stalking a woman and filming her photos and videos and using her photo to advertise your shop (all without her knowledge). Or kidnapping a woman, by forcing her into the trunk of your car and driving around 😕 Like the last two cases are criminal offences! However, since these movies become hits, apparently such scenes are just supposed to be funny and not offensive 🤢
Novarieaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
There are two ways to look at it. One the way you mentioned. Second - probably it was just his perception of girls. Don't all women also have a type? Sort of like that. However, it didn't strike me as offensive.