Resident_Evil thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: -Vagabando-

Haters can't deny Karishma had more popularity than likes of Kajol in late 90's and she gave more success overall too.

If we talk of performances - Karishma in Fiza, Shakti, Zubeidaa, Biwi No.1, Hero No.1 and DTPH was much better than anything K-Jol did. Besides Dushman and Gupt she had no good performances unless you call DDLJ and KKHH pathbreaking 😆

It's another fact that Karishma didn't have Kjo in her life to continue giving films post marriage

Yes lets not start. We all know the acting abilities of Karishma. If she was such a great actress why is she an awful has-been now? 😉

And you are counting her numerous movies with David Dhawan and her one movie with Yash Raj but at the same time discounting Kajol's one movie with Karan and one movie with Yash Raj. 😆 Acha tareeka hai, twist all facts according to your liking.

Karishma was a showpiece in ALL David Dhawan movies. If she was so great in Biwi no 1 why didnt she win an award that year? Why were Aish and Kajol the top 2 even in 1999, the year of Biwi no 1? And Fiza was a fluke cuz 2000 was a weak year for female performances. I cant believe the flake Kajol gets for winning over Tabu yet Karishma won over Tabu's brilliant performance in Astithva.

And i dont understand this constant hating over Karan giving Kajol roles. Why didn't Karishma or anyone have a Karan in their life post-marriage? Its clearly because they had little abilities and their career was done for anyone to give them a chance. Karan is no kid, he wont sign anyone for his movies until he knows they are going to bing some value to his movie.

LOL. Cant believe people have the same ol tired excuses to downplay Kajol's success. Try improvising people. 😉
1088767 thumbnail

Originally posted by: BollyGlitz

We've obviously not been watching the same Karishma films growing up. Its a shame you can't respect talent. Judwaa 2 may not have won awards or has nothing in it to write home about but I thoroughly enjoyed watching such films whilst growing up. She's way better than the current crop of actresses. I rather watch a Karishma, Juhi or Madhuri on screen than the lukewarm talent Bollywood is producing nowadays.

😆🤢😕

I can't respect something when there is none of it..But again Thank you for the laugh
🤣 🤣 🤣

KK does have a talent to utterly bore and annoy me.

923901 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Resident_Evil

Yes lets not start. We all know the acting abilities of Karishma. If she was such a great actress why is she an awful has-been now?😉

And you are counting her numerous movies with David Dhawan and her one movie with Yash Raj but at the same time discounting Kajol's one movie with Karan and one movie with Yash Raj.😆Acha tareeka hai, twist all facts according to your liking.

Karishma was a showpiece in ALL David Dhawan movies. If she was so great in Biwi no 1 why didnt she win an award that year? Why were Aish and Kajol the top 2 even in 1999, the year of Biwi no 1? And Fiza was a fluke cuz 2000 was a weak year for female performances. I cant believe the flake Kajol gets for winning over Tabu yet Karishma won over Tabu's brilliant performance in Astithva.

And i dont understand this constant hating over Karan giving Kajol roles. Why didn't Karishma or anyone have a Karan in their life post-marriage? Its clearly because they had little abilities and their career was done for anyone to give them a chance. Karan is no kid, he wont sign anyone for his movies until he knows they are going to bing some value to his movie.

LOL. Cant believe people have the same ol tired excuses to downplay Kajol's success. Try improvising people.😉

I don't know how you suss your rankings but if we follow star power and Bollywood success - Karishma was leading from 1996 - Raja Hindustani, Hero No.1, Judwaa, DTPH and delivering 4back to back success - Biwi No. 1 (even it's considered only DD film where the Centric character is the lead actress), Hum Saath saath Hain, Haseena Maan Jayegi and Jaanwar.

We are talking of Box Office facts not awards mate. Kajol even won best actress over Tabu's more acclaimed performances Chandni Bar.

Aish having 3rd biggest hit and another small hit didn't mean she was the topper that year as for Kajol she didn't even exist in 1999
Resident_Evil thumbnail
Acha bhai chalo, Karishma is the Best Actress of all time and ruled every single year of the 90s decade. Her performances in movies like Paapi Gudiya and Coolie no1 are to this date unmatched. 90s hee kyun, Karishma is still the top most leading actress of Bollywood.

I don't have the strength to argue with someone who has made up all his facts and thinks he is right in his head. Keep believing what you want to believe.

Chudailpaapi thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Karishma had good synch with her co-stars. she was very hard working and great dancer. She worked on her flaws instead of cribbing, moved to performance based movies when she could. It was her decision not to work after marriage - because she started in movies when she was very young and was over worked like all actress in 90's, had major heart ache when she broke up with AB jr and she had arrange marriage with rich dude from conservative family.
fivestars thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Dont know why people r laughing at karishma's comic timing thing..i do feel she has great comic timing which jacky doesnt have...good she is watching karishma's movies for understanding but its a natural thing which karishma had and jacky lacked...it looks forced and disaster for jacky...
Dont know how jacky is justified for karishma's role ! Lets see !
923901 thumbnail
From Sanjani Chale Sasural till Fiza

http://www.boxofficeindia.com/actor.php?actorid=49#

Unless in your eyes Monobrow-jol gave blockbusters like Raju Chacha
http://www.boxofficeindia.com/actor.php?actorid=92
Edited by -Vagabando- - 8 years ago
222149 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Chudailpaapi

Karishma had good synch with her co-stars. she was very hard working and great dancer. She worked on her flaws instead of cribbing, moved to performance based movies when she could. It was her decision not to work after marriage - because she started in movies when she was very young and was over worked like all actress in 90's, had major heart ache when she broke up with AB jr and she had arrange marriage with rich dude from conservative family.

agree😳she was great in Judwa plus had amazing chemistry with Salman⭐️
Resident_Evil thumbnail
LMAO. I am not even going to dignify these hyperboles. Kajol is in a different league. If you want a fair companion please try actresses like Preity Zinta, Juhi Chawal, Urmila and Manisha Koirala who would be a fit for your comparisons.
BollyGlitz thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
If Karishma had no talent she wouldn't have been nominated/won awards. Doing a few DD movies doesn't mean she hasn't achieved anything in her career.😕

1999: Filmfare Best Actress, Biwi No.1
2002: Filmfare Best Actress, Shakti: The Power

Awards of the International Indian Film Academy
Winner
2000: Best Actress, Fiza

Nominated
1999: Best Actress, Biwi No.1
2001: Best Actress, Shakti: The Power

Screen Videocon Awards
Nominated
1996: Best Actress, Raja Hindustani
1997: Best Actress, Dil To Pagal Hai
1999: Best Actress, Biwi No.1
2001: Best Actress, Zubeida
2002: Best Actress, Shakti: The Power

Zee Cine Awards
Winner
1997: Best Supporting Actress, Dil To Pagal Hai
2000: Zee Premiere Choice - Female, Fiza

Nominated
1997: Best Actress, Dil To Pagal Hai
1997: Best Actress, Hero No.1
2001: Best Actress, Zubeidaa

Sansui Awards
Winner
1997: Best Actress in a Supporting Role, Dil To Pagal Hai

Nominated

ZGold Bollywood Awards
Winner
2002: Best Actress in Sensational Role, Shakti: The Power

Nominated
2001: Best Actress, Zubeidaa
2001: Best Actress Critics Award, Zubeidaa
2002: Best Actress Critics Award, Shakti: The Power

Bollywood Fashion Awards
Winner
2000: Celebrity Female Style Award (Prize presented by Hollywood actor Steven Seagal)
2001: Most Elegant Actress of the Year, Zubeidaa

Smita Patil Memorial Award
Winner
2002: Best Actress, Zubeidaa (Prize presented by Deputy Prime Minister India)

Bengal Film Journalists' Association Awards
Winner
2000: Best Actress (Hindi Movies), Fiza

Indo-American Society Young Achievers Award
Winner
2000: Young Achiever Award (Prize presented by US Consul General, David Good and President of Indo-American Society, Brian Brown)

Edited by BollyGlitz - 8 years ago