Grumpydwarf24 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: atominis

No he did not.

Those successes were credited to stars.

Infact he himself recollected how photographers asked him to step aside at premiere of Khudgarz, a film which he made himself.

His successes were always credited to stars. Never him.

I remember people like kjo and what not telling him he was one of the best directors in hindi cinema. In 2006 when he was called with a whole bunch of other successful directors .They recollected his work an told he was known for his creativity. Many even told him they wish they had the creative capacity to create films like Karan Arjun, Krish etc.

And Hrithik was always criticized for only delivering in his father's film. After Doom 2 success he mention in every interview how his Dad was happy that Hrithik had proved his critics wrong?
ibelieveinpink thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: atominis

Wife being more successful is not a gender issue.

But about getting undeserved attention, just due to wife.

Otherwise NOBODY would have invited him to Cannes or Oprah.

Nobody would have cared once his dad died or retired.

Now he can get perennial attention due to wife.

Nobody would have paid him 20 crores for a pressure cooker ad unless Ash was there in it!

Abhishek first leeched off his elders. And now his wife.

I bet he wouldn't get such defense from likes of Hetal either if he was not Aishu's hubby. Ash's fanbase and dad's fanbase keep suppprting him!

I never said he's was a phenomenal actor or better than HR, but I do think he's a pretty stand up guy. So I don't mind defending him. 😆

And I'm sure Aish married him for love AND name. But I don't like that he gets demeaned as a lazy, henpecked man just b/c he supports her. Like that's separate. He can be a bad actor and way less successful but that doesn't take away from the fact that he's very good to her.

He has his kabaddi team that he's trying now that's separate from his filmy life and Aish goes out there and supports her hubby. I don't think he's a "leecher" or lazy. He def works hard for the roles he gets. I do think he would have done much better with business or whatever he was studying for at Boston or if he had stuck to his niche--comedy instead trying to do a little of everything.
642126 thumbnail
Hrithik is also a product of nepotism but not to the extent that AB Jr is.

This is why he has hits like Dhoom 2, JA, Agneepath, ZNMD etc also.

What sureshot hits? Superhero films don't work in India. But Krissh series are hit.

I hope you remember how fantasy and superhero genre yielded flops like Ajooba, Bundalbaaz, etc for older stars. And even Ra 1 is no clean hit.

KNPH is nothing as a film. It worked only due to Hrithik and music. It is not like, oh it was always going to be a hit!

That's like saying Oh Aamir always chooses great script so he is hit, no big deal etc.

This is how you belittle success to justify a failed guy and level comparison?

Nepotism is there. But atleast see difference in extent of nepotism!

Hrithik also proved himself fair and square. Unlike some others who didn't.

664269 thumbnail
You can understand the difference between Roshans and Bachans when you realize that kapoor's made Kareena walk out of KNPH to make her debut in refugee only because Abhi was debuting, the son of Amitabh in front of whom Roshans are pimps .

Yes Rakesh Roshan helped HR but HR also gave his dad his career's biggest hit and awards as a director which his dad never got before. HR was never known as the son of RR instead RR is known as HR's father that is where Hrithik stands out .

pallavi25 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

What abt the wives of stars accompanying their superstar hubbies to awards functions and film festivals?

What abt the wives of famous industrialists, getting all the publicity thru their millionaire hubbies, spending their hubbies' millions for charitable photo ops?

Arent they basking in reflected glory as well?

Gender Equality works both ways! 😊
ibelieveinpink thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
Sorry to bud in, but yeah Hritihk is a star kid and he is best friends with a lot of the other kids like Uday and Abhi and KJo, but Rakesh was NEVER a superstar. he wasn't even considered a great actor. His niche was that he made really good films--films that connected well with the audience. Big B and Jaya tried making films but they didn't so well. Everyone has their strengths. However, Abhi def has had more flops than hits. I think Rajkumar talked about this in one interview (he never said Abhi but it was implied) how star kids can have 20 some flops and still get lead roles while the rest of them are always waiting for their chance. Hritihk despite being a star kid at least has the commercial and critical success backing him yet Abhi doesn't.
I still like Abhi though the same way I like Imran. They're like the rare humble ones so I can't help but root for them. 😆
642126 thumbnail
@grumpydwarf

That praise in KWK happened after Hrithik pointed out how industry still ignores his dad. The Roshans broke down in Rendezvous. And narrated their experiences.

K Jo did that for face saving to make up for ignoring earlier.

Why do you think Rakesh still casts Rekha? He knows what he has suffered.

But she was the only one who worked in his film. She got credit but he still didn't.

You know how sought after he was when an Aamir rejected Karan Arjun too. It is another leftover that SRK got.

642126 thumbnail

Originally posted by: pallavi25

What abt the wives of stars accompanying their superstar hubbies to awards functions and film festivals?

What abt the wives of famous industrialists, getting all the publicity thru their millionaire hubbies, spending their hubbies' millions for charitable photo ops?

Arent they basking in reflected glory as well?

Gender Equality works both ways!😊

Yes they are.

This is why we make fun of star wives and their nakhras daily.

It sure works both ways.
pallavi25 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5
Dont know abt others but for our generation, Hrithik is the son of Rakesh Roshan, not the other way around.
We have watched Rakesh Roshan in many movies, he was quite a popular actor in the Basu Chatterjee, Hrishikesh Mukherjee brand of movies, like Khatta Meetha, Khubsoorat.

In Khel Khel Mein he was 2nd lead to Rishi but he really stole the show!
He and Rishi and Jeetu did several movies as co-actors and he always stood out with his acting style.

One of the most popular songs of all times, Sama hai suhana suhana is from RR's old movie.
He was very good in Kaamchor as well, his first production, opposite Jayaprada.

Its not always been abt the Bachchans, Kapoors and Big Budget Movies, there was a parallel cinema running alongside helmed by the likes of Hrishikesh, Basu Chatterjee and also Rajshri productions family dramas.
We always appreciated the small budget movies as well, they were rather endearing, piece of life movies, the kind of movies which are succeeding at the BO nowadays.
simplyrdb thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
I think I might have gave the same reply previously too but anyways. Akshay Kumar, Sunil Shetty, Arshad Warsi or add someone else name who came without background - so how many flops have these guys given in there growing years and how did they survive - ?

Is Will Smith a better actor than Al Pacino, Leonardo Di Caprio because he has better box office receipts/records (unlike bollywood luckily in hollywood things are verifiable) ?

Will Smith's Hancock did better than all Leo films (except Inception) in the last decade or for that matter Hitch, does that mean Hitch and Hancock are better than all films that Leo made in the past decade ? Would people not be laughed at if someone said Hancock/Hitch are better films that Shutter Island, The Departed because they grossed more ?

Why couldn't Hrithik Roshan the biggest star in India, open Jodha Akbar to record opening week? It was coming after sensational 2006 and had good reviews? Such feat was already achieved previously by Mangal Pandey? What was the opening of Jodha Akbar and Sarkar Raj ? Why did Guzarish fail? What was its budget, who was its director and how did it open? Opening of ZNMD and Mere Brother ki Dulhan -the difference that such a big star could bring?

Even after carefully choosing your films and genres/directors whenever one does a different film that doesn't cotton to the usual commercial cliche it has failed for ALL stars. So what was the commercially safe film of Abhishek that failed to get openings or decent number (depending on the year).

NO actor has done more unsafe non-formulaic films in Bollywood than Abhishek, its a fact. He did not use his success to make more safe films, a mistake that is costing him now, it is incidentally also a mistake that Ranbir is cleverly avoiding (he is someone who has been following Abhishek to the T but with safety net). Now if he were a Hollywood actor or if we had the critical culture of a Hollywood where they know to separate films made seriously and films made for quick cash grab or where they could simply differentiate between a star and an actor, Abhishek would have been happily making movies of his choice that require acting talent and wouldn't be compared with others who are simply stars.

Unfortunately he is in Bollywood where one can't differentiate between a Raavan and Krish, Game and a Bang Bang and compare all as one with just one box office parameter. Hrithik Roshan has been a star from the day KNPH released, this is as much of an undeniable truth as Abhishek has taken a completely uncharted course as a star son from Refugee. With the kind of choices he has made no one in the industry would have been better placed in the industry right now than him.