blue-ice. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: DB_reloaded

good opening now depends on WOM

Chalo...shows that Ranbir still has his star power intact after the disaster BESHARAM...😛
briahna thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
yayyy...
Roy Has Good Opening At Multiplexes
Friday 13 February 2015 12.00 IST
Box Office India Trade Network

Roy has taken a good opening at multiplexes of around 40-45%. The initial at multiplexes is the best of the year so far as far as the morning shows are concerned. Although that does not mean much as the films released so far have not opened well. The opening is better than Baby although that film did better in the evening.

The presence of Ranbir Kapoor as well as the music has proved a big advantage for the film. The opening is pretty good in Mumbai and good in Delhi and East Punjab.

The single screen opening will probably not be as strong as multiplexes but if the film can show just the normal evening growth it should come out with the best opening day of the year. The opening of Roy is the first positive at the box office in 2014

briahna thumbnail
some constipated topics hanging on front page of IF, indicates biru not giving smanshing performance. its ok his performance is not upto mark this time, little rusty it seems, but will share my thoughts after seeing the movie.
with no hype, missing for almost over yr, this good opening at multiplexes ...i'll take it.
Edited by briahna - 10 years ago
briahna thumbnail
reviews are really bad...oh biru ..pls stay away from these jacklyn craps...
some of them are here...
Roy Hindi Movie Review
Ratings:1/5 Review By: Rajeev Masand Site:CNN IBN
Did anyone who was attached to the film actually read the script before showing up on set? The one strength of the film is its terrific soundtrack, even if those infectious dance numbers do pop up in not all the right places. But that's faint praise for a movie that limps lethargically for close to 2 hours and 30 minutes, all but collapsing in a predictable twist ending that you've guessed a long time ago.I'm going with one out of five for Roy. The unintentionally funny dialogues aside, it's unlikely that you'll be smiling very much through this misery.
Visit Site for more
Ratings:-- Review By: Komal Nahta Site:Zee ETC Bollywood Business
Vikramjeet Singh has penned a story which is far from engaging or interesting. That it moves at a painfully slow pace and thereby tests the audience's patience is just one of the many problems. On the whole, Roy is a confused film which will confuse the audience more than it would entertain. Despite a hit music score, it will prove to be a flop fare at the box-office.
Visit Site for more
Ratings:1/5 Review By: Anupama Chopra Site:Film Companion
Visit Site for more
Ratings:2.5/5 Review By: Madhureeta Mukherjee Site:Times Of India
Debutant director Vikramjit's premise is uncommon; the execution is stylish - with beautifully captured actors and ambience, but it turns into an emotional drama (often too complex) rather than a taut romantic thriller. It's glazed with visual appeal and style (champagne, cigar, et al), and evokes curiosity too, but the soul of the plot fades into thick clouds of smoke.
Visit Site for more
Ratings:3.5/5 Review By: Bollywood Hungama Site:Bollywood Hungama
As far as the film is concerned, debutante Vikramjit Singh steps into Bollywood with a film that is slow paced and long. His sense of storytelling needs to be more polished than this one. Brownie points to Singh for having captured the luscious beauty of Malaysia in its raw essence. On the whole, ROY is a film to be watched if you are a fan of thriller movies with some soul-stirring music.
Visit Site for more
Ratings:0.5/5 Review By: Sukanya Verma Site:Rediff
I don't know yeh film kaise ban gayi,' wonders Arjun Rampal in one of the most honest moments of the baffling, boring Roy.Roy is so tangled in its inflated, erratic ideas of a pseudo mystery around parallel lives and loves that it ceases to make sense even before it takes off. Mostly, though, it's just slow torture.
Visit Site for more
Ratings:2/5 Review By: Saibal Chatterjee Site:NDTV
The director, who is also the co-writer of the dialogue, knows the primacy of a kahani, if the lines his characters spout are any indication. He does not, however, follow it up with tangible action.One character puts it unambiguously: if a story is not going anywhere it is best to cut it short.But where, pray, is the story in Roy?Recommended only if you want to use the auditorium for a relaxing catnap. Roy will not wake you up.
Visit Site for more
Ratings:0.5/5 Review By: Shubhra Gupta Site:Indian Express
So here are my questions. Who wrote this? Who is it for? The mystery and the enigma, which are set up lazily and obviously, never really take root. I haven't seen something as fuzzy and dreary as Roy' in a long time : just what is Ranbir Kapoor doing in a movie like this?
Visit Site for more
Ratings:1/5 Review By: Rohit Khilnani Site:India Today
I'm told releasing a film is not easy. One has to have a good story, get the cast in place, and convince a producer to back it and then get a studio to release it. After all kinds of checkpoints it's appalling that this film has made it to the theatres.
Visit Site for more
Ratings:1/5 Review By: Sarita Tanwar Site:DNA
Roy will stun your senses - because there hasn't been a film this boring, this ridiculous and this pretentious since the time you can remember. Singh stretches his idea so much that after a point, you start wondering if this is a film at all. Roy is boring, exhausting and pretentious - save your money and time by staying away.
Visit Site for more
Ratings:2/5 Review By: Surabhi Redkar Site:Koimoi
Royis at the core of it all a love story which finds a mysterious representation. If you are bored of watching cheesy romantic films and wish to watch a film that apes Hollywood style story telling with a desi plot, this one is for you. Could make up for a Valentines watch minus all the mujhe tumse pyaar hogaya hai' type drama.
Visit Site for more
Ratings:2/5 Review By: Manjusha Radhakrishnan Site:Gulfnews
Roy, which showcases Rampal as maverick filmmaker Kabir Grewal, is high on style and resembles a slick music video rather than a taut psychological drama.Watch this if your are in the mood to see a pair of good-looking men act like boys.
KhanSinghKumar thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
The movie probably gonna flop as some of us predicted the fate few weeks back. Doesn't matter to anyone, neither Biru, nor Arjun nor Jacqueline...
Producers might feel bit down but they spent too much on the movie of a newbie director.

Ranbir did it for friend... everyone does it.. didn't we see ranveer doing killdil? it's their personal relationships that they cherish more than dictates of fans
Edited by KhanSinghTomar - 10 years ago
643898 thumbnail

Art attack!

Roy

Rating: 1

February 13, 2015

Cast: Arjun Rampal, Jacqueline Fernandez, Ranbir Kapoor, Shernaz Patel, Anupam Kher, Rajit Kapoor

Director: Vikramjit Singh

It's hard not to become deeply suspicious and cynical about the movie business when you've watched a film like Roy. Is it really enough that Ranbir Kapoor agrees to make an extended cameo, for a producer to pump money into this boring, amateurish drivel that also happens to be unmistakably pretentious? Did anyone who was attached to the film actually read the script before showing up on set?

There are more unanswered questions thrown up by the film's clunky plot, which concerns itself with four protagonists. In a nice stroke of irony, Arjun Rampal plays Kabir Grewal, a film director who sets off to Malaysia to shoot his latest film, although he's suffering from writer's block and his script is far from ready. Jacqueline Fernandez is Ayesha Aamir, an indie filmmaker from London, also shooting in Malaysia, although we literally never see her around actors or a crew, or doing anything that even remotely resembles work.

Kabir is the sort of fella who wears a fedora, indoors even, and bangs away on a manual typewriter. He's had a long string of romantic entanglements, and after some initial resistance Ayesha becomes his Girlfriend #23', likely seduced by the impossible lines he comes up with. "Zindagi ka asli shor uski khamoshiyon mein paaya hua milta hai," he says at one point, even as you roll your eyes and demand to know who talks like that.

There's also Ranbir's character, Roy, a master art-thief who has successfully broken into seemingly impenetrable museums in France, Qatar, China, and India. Inspired by Roy's exploits, Kabir fashions the new script around him. And smitten by Ayesha, he casts her lookalike as his leading lady. So that's a second Jacqueline Fernandez, this one permanently sporting bright red lipstick and a slightly different hairstyle.

Now two romances unfold, and you're meant to be intrigued by where reel' life blurs into real. But it's all such a plodding bore because you're never invested in any of the characters. In an earlier interview debutant director Vikramjit Singh revealed that he drew on the once-romantic relationship between Quentin Tarantino and Sofia Coppola to craft Kabir and Ayesha's romance in Roy. Singh borrows an incident from 2010 when Tarantino, at the time heading the Venice Film Festival jury, awarded the top prize to Somewhere, directed by Coppola, by then his ex, thereby sparking rumors that he'd played favorites. It's a scene that appears to have been inserted into this film only as show-off on Singh's part.

Ranbir looks like he was punished and forced to be in this movie; it's such a sullen performance, you have to ask why a charmer by profession, a man who must win hearts so he can steal art, would never crack a smile. Arjun gives it what he's got...but it doesn't help that Kabir isn't a particularly likeable character to begin with. Jacqueline, unfortunately, appears miscast in a part that required an actor with greater range.

The one strength of the film is its terrific soundtrack, even if those infectious dance numbers do pop up in not all the right places. But that's faint praise for a movie that limps lethargically for close to 2 hours and 30 minutes, all but collapsing in a predictable twist ending that you've guessed a long time ago.

I'm going with one out of five for Roy. The unintentionally funny dialogues aside, it's unlikely that you'll be smiling very much through this misery.

Sharif.Badmaash thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
big positive from it is a good opening , now im sure BV will open above 15 & will have a good weekend too. Rest depends on whether Kashyap has f'ed it up or made a masterpiece.
Gubbara. thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
supriya.ipkknd thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 6
Saw this movie only and only for Ranbir and I want my 2 and a half hours back. Usually I like films of this genre but it seemed like genre of this film was 'Lets all go to sleep'. Through out the first hour you are left wondering what suspense was being talked about. I didnt find any such element in the film.
The only parts I liked where when Ranbir and jacky scenes on the beach where there. Ranbir looked amazing. And another moment where I laughed was when Ranbir takes the gun out of another man's hand.

Chittiyaan kalaiyan pops out of nowhere. Infact except for Tu Hain ki Nahi.. No other songs seem to fit into the film.
Jacqueline made me cringe. She was so much better in kick. She was terrible in some of the scenes with Arjun Rampal. But she looked breath taking.
And Ranbir does not have a cameo. He has a long role in the first half.
I didnt like Rampal either. Or maybe thats because hia dialogues which were supposed to be funny put me to sleep.

In short I would watch films like Total Siyappa or Break ke Baad 10 times over Roy anyday