Sultan.Mirza thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 5

Sarcastic Chatterbox

Originally posted by: --Udhay--

Poor, Insecure Ajay..! He should have thought twice before deciding to release a film alongside a biggie!! :D

YRF is Insecure here by making this kind of Agreement, they don't trust on yash chopra-srk jodi ke they force this kind of thing?

And there is no rule that u can't release a film against a biggie.
642940 thumbnail

Originally posted by: .SB.

I am with Ajay here.The more monopolistic these big film production companies are,the lesser are the chances for small budget movies to survive.

Another point,kinda off topic,but i have been reading so many hate messages against Ajay saying he is insecure,he is heartless...should have postponed the film due to Yash Chopra's demise,etc.When Pam Chopra herself wants a grand premiere to celebrate Yash Chopra's life and work,why should people postpone their movie releases?Is that how Ajay has to show 'respect' to Yash Chopra? The whole fan war here is idiotic to say the least.Both have the potential to get bumper openings and instead of whining over JTHJ vs SoS and such crap,just go there and enjoy the movie you want to watch.

Well said 👏

I'm in NO way an Ajay fan but I see that he's getting a lot of flak, just because he wants to release his movie on the same day as JTHJ. And the amount of names and titles that he's been given in recent times is quite idiotic, to put it mildly! Life goes on and people have to keep moving. Zindagi ka asool hai. Let both films release on the same day and let the audience decide which film they want to watch, enjoy and embrace.

Now coming to the forum atmosphere, both parties are at fault here. No one's collar is whiter than white. I will acknowledge that some SRK fans have been at the receiving end as well. But there's so much negativity coming from BOTH sides, it is unbelievable. Anyone would thing that our lives depend on the release of these two movies. Regardless of the BO outcomes of JTHJ and SOS, the world will not end, I'm sure of that :)

Anyways, this is my last comment on JTHJ vs SOS because I'm disguisted at the way people from both sides are pulling each other down. I would rather back out with grace than get involved in this mud slinging
poppy2009 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
History has proven that two big films can be released on the same day and become blockbusters!
Lagaan and Gadar - two completely different films, with two completely different type of superstars (Sunny was even bigger than Aamir at that time), released on the same day...went on to make box-office history! Both the films did fabulously well! Lagaan went on to be nominated at the Oscars and Gadar went on to become the highest grossing indian film of all time! Infact, I distinctively remember, that a lot of halls were screening both the films, one after another...and loads of people were running from one screen to another to watch both the films on the same day!
Can't see why anyone would be insecure here? SRK has his own loyal fanbase and Ajay his own...JTHJ seems to be a romantic drama and SOS seems to be an action-comedy film!
India is the second most populous country in the world...surely, there would be enough people to watch and appreciate both the films!
PS: Ajay is one of the most non-political actors around...whatever he might be in his personal life, one has to admit that he is extremely professional and you rarely ever see him indulging in any kind of publicity related nonsense! I think its really unfair to tag him as being insecure and what not, just because he refuses to take shit from a big production house like YRF and isn't hypocratic enough to pretend that he would bend backwards to accommodate someone's film because of sentimental reasons!
Edited by poppy2009 - 12 years ago
youknowme thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
This is so ugly and needless. Really can't people in India go and watch TWO movies? Does going to see one film really...really, realistically...cancel out the ability to go see the other one?
It just gives the audiences two opportunities to enjoy themselves. How is that so wrong?
Sultan.Mirza thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 5

Sarcastic Chatterbox

Originally posted by: estel

It looks like it. But it is far too late, no? Things aren't going to change for him now, are they? I don't understand why he decided to release it on Diwali. He has every right to release it on Diwali, but if you know someone is going to play dirty, then shouldn't you have a back up plan?
You can't change people, but you can change how you respond to a situation. You can plan a different strategy that will ensure maximum profit for you.
Releasing it on 13th when YRF has 17 screens and you have only 2 screens was a terrible move on his part. Things don't change around here. This is India. It is unfortunate, but people get away with this. I would be very surprised if things work out for Ajay.

Ajay devgn n team was unaware of this move by YRF, both the parties knows that they will arrive on Diwali, Ajay has released previously also light rom/com on Diwali, so he was charged up as both the movies will be on their own...

Now when SOS team received the confirmation from Halls across India as how much they will screen SOS, dn only he has taken the step.

YRF has done a big blunder, even if result is late for SOS, still they will get the right compensation for this.
poppy2009 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
@estel, I doubt Barfi made 100 crores!🤔 Did it? Not sure on this actually! It definitely made a huge profit, despite the relatively limited release, but that was because the budget of the film was comparitively less, despite stars like Ranbir and Priyanka!
SOS on the other hand is an action film, starring the likes of Ajay and Sanjay, who are commerically bigger than Ranbir and hence it would require more number of screens to recover the higher cost of production!
Barfi made money not just because it did well, but also because the production cost of the film was low...SOS, I suppose is a much more expensive film and would require some tremendous business to simply recover its cost! And hence the fight for more screens!
Whatever the case...I do believe that YRF employs monopolistic practices and isn't exactly the most ethical & fair production house around! Remember the huge lockdown they had with the PVR Group some while ago? Ajay Bijli...the owner of PVR refused to give in to YRF's bullying and the feud is still going on!
Edited by poppy2009 - 12 years ago
AishMinoz thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
As expected Ajay Devgan👎🏼
mandy0310 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 8
**Edited: Topic will be re-opened tommorow so discussion can resume **

**Re-opened**
Edited by .Mandy. - 12 years ago
TheRowdiest thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: .SB.

I am with Ajay here.The more monopolistic these big film production companies are,the lesser are the chances for small budget movies to survive.

Another point,kinda off topic,but i have been reading so many hate messages against Ajay saying he is insecure,he is heartless...should have postponed the film due to Yash Chopra's demise,etc.When Pam Chopra herself wants a grand premiere to celebrate Yash Chopra's life and work,why should people postpone their movie releases?Is that how Ajay has to show 'respect' to Yash Chopra? The whole fan war here is idiotic to say the least.Both have the potential to get bumper openings and instead of whining over JTHJ vs SoS and such crap,just go there and enjoy the movie you want to watch.

Its just the double standard of some fans ...

some r just insecure hence by saying such things abt Ajay makes them happy

for some ppl Ajay is the Villain and SRK is the hero ...God knows for what reason 😆 ... and i have no idea when YRF bought Diwali slot ...kitne ka Khareeda 😉 ????????

Diwali slot pe bhi YRF ka haq aur screens pe bhi ...wow 🤣

everyone knows who can go to what extent to promote a movie ( Shiv Sena issue during MNIK , Thank God riots didn''t happen that time 😉 ) so its funny when some SRK fans claim ajay is doing all this for Publicity 😆
lovanika thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: TheRowdiest

Its just the double standard of some fans ...

some r just insecure hence by saying such things abt Ajay makes them happy

for some ppl Ajay is the Villain and SRK is the hero ...God knows for what reason 😆 ... and i have no idea when YRF bought Diwali slot ...kitne ka Khareeda 😉 ????????

Diwali slot pe bhi YRF ka haq aur screens pe bhi ...wow 🤣

everyone knows who can go to what extent to promote a movie ( Shiv Sena issue during MNIK , Thank God riots didn''t happen that time 😉 ) so its funny when some SRK fans claim ajay is doing all this for Publicity 😆

I just don't understand why Ajay is the villain here. He is doing his own job and he has the COURAGE to stand up against YRF.

Did you notice that the music of JTHJ was a flop and not on top ten list of different channels UR suddenly the songs are on the top slots on different channels. this is what Yash Raj are famous for - buying stuff. They give money for favors...