Shahrukh Khan vs Salman Khan:Is this a battlefield

DB_reloaded thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Shahrukh Khan vs Salman Khan: Is this a battlefield? Guest Post.

8:51 PM Guest Post, Salman Khan, Shahrukh Khan
Precautionary Measure: This article is written by taking utmost care and full honesty without any preoccupied thoughts. I have taken all the possible considerations while making the analysis. So I sincerely request the readers that read the article honestly without any biasness and please not feel offended. I also apologies in advance if one's sentiments got hurt.
Now, I start this article with a question "Shahrukh Khan vs Salman Khan: Is this a battlefield?". The reason behind this question is that from the comment section available on the website anybody can easily guess that we made this forum as battlefield rather than a discussion forum. I have seen lot of comments from both sides which are just not for discussion rather they meant for personal harassment including cheap and derogatory language.

Before answering the above question first of all I briefly analyse both Salman and SRK as an actor based on some standard parameters like film status, variety of roles, Box Office failures, awards and achievements, fan following and charity works.

1. Film status:
If we see this as a parameter then anybody who has seen the last 20yrs of hindi film industry can easily say that both Salman and SRK are highly successful. Its seriously difficult to decide who is more successful. If SRK have (Deewana, Darr, Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa, DDLJ, Karan Arjun, Dil To Pagal Hai, Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, Mohabbatein, K3G, Devdas, Kal HO Naa Ho, Swades, Don, KANK, Om Shanti Om, Chak De, Rab ne bana di Jodi, MNIK, Ra.One, Don 2) in his kitty which established him as a successful actor both critically and box office wise.

On the other hand Salman also have (Maine pyar kiya, Sanam Bewafa, Kurban, Saajan, Baagi, Andaz Apna Apna, Hum Apke hai kaun, Karan Arjun, Judwaa, Pyar kiya to darna kya, Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, Biwi No. 1, Hum Dil de chuke sanam, Tere Naam, No Entry, Partner, Wanted, Dabanng, Bodyguard, Ready, ETT) under his belt which simply shows his success which no one can deny.

2. Variety of roles: As both have performed well over the period. SRK shining in Romance, Anti-Hero, Action, Comedy (Though only Badshah). Salman on the other hand shined in Action, Romance, and Comedy. For me personally SRK has edge with variety of roles and has an edge over Salman. Though I accept that Salman is ahead in Action Genre.

Except pure romantic movies SRK has tried different genres and been successful also like Darr, Baazigar and Anzaam (Negative shade – Anti Hero), Chak De and Swades (Social Message), Don, Ra.One and Don 2 (Pure action). Again SRK has not got success in full comedy except (Badshah- Average).
On the contrary Salman also has tried different genres but got less success except: Tere Naam (Both critically and commercially successful), Khamoshi (Critically acclaimed), Andaz Apna Apna, Judwaa, Partner, No entry (Full comedy). But in Anti-Hero field Salman lacks a bit like till date, as he has never tried negative roles. Even in social message movie (except phir milenge) Salman lacks a bit. So on this front I feel SRK has got an edge but this does not put Salman on lower side. Salman has been successful in Comedy and Action and is ahead of SRK in these fields.

Rohit Shetty, Director of Golmaal fame, always make typical masala entertainer movie. He always maintained that, 'I am here to entertain the people. Thats all.' So may be Salman is also following the same concept.

3. Boxoffice Failures: Now talking on the failures, Both Salman and SRK has tasted forgettable failures in the form of Guddu, King Uncle, Maya Memsaab, English Babu Desi Mem, chahat, Duplicate, Phir bhi dil hai Hindustani, Paheli etc. (For SRK) and Auzaar, Jaaneman, Babul, salaame ishq, marigold, Main aur Mrs. Khanna, London Dreams, Kyoki, Veer etc. (For Salman). So like success both are almost equivalent in this section.

Note: I have just named those movies which were both critically and commercially failures. Several other movies are there for both stars which were commercially failure but critically acclaimed.

4. Awards and Achievements: In this section at the very beginning I would clarify that not getting awards does not mean that actor is not good. Remember guys, Our Dharam Paaji also did not get awards but what an actor he is everybody knows. Again on the other side if someone is recognized with an award for his hard work then it's ridiculous to say that awards were fixed. I just want to say that awards adds to the recognition in your contribution, but remember man of the match is only one but it does not degrade any other ability or hard work.

Now, Salman has also got awards for his films like Maine Pyar Kiya (Filmfare Best Debut), Kuch Kuch Hota Hai (Filmfare Best supporting actor), Dabanng (Star screen best actor , Stardust award of the year). Sometimes you don't get awards cause someone has done little better. That's simple. But it never degrades any one dignity. Now SRK has got several awards so the only fact is his work is being recognized. That's all. It never says that if someone does not get awards then he is not good. Here I am not talking about any award given by govt. Because most of us don't know the exact procedure of civilian awards but definitely they are not fixed.

5. Fan Following: In this section undoubtedly Salman is the biggest star right now. In fact Salman is having a huge fan following all over the world. On the other hand SRK also holds one of the biggest fan following in the entire world. So it's difficult to say that who is bigger. But one thing is sure that both Salman and SRK enjoys huge fan following. If we have to segregate then we can say, in India, Salman is leading followed by SRK, Aamir etc and worldwide SRK leads the chart followed by Salman, Aamir and others.

6. Charity and Social service: Here instead putting facts I refer the official webpage of Salman Khan and Shah Rukh Khan on Wikipedia. Please read that section and you can easily find out the charity works done by both stars
Now, I just want to mention that this entire analysis is done by keeping the facts into consideration obtained from different sources (Mostly from www.wikipedia.org andwww.addatoday.com ).
I have just analyzed both Salman and SRK in terms of their celebrity aspect. I did not went inside their personal life because that is beyond the purpose of this article. The only purpose of this article is to make the fans of both the stars to realize that both Salman and SRK are the one of the most talented and successful actors with some failures also.
However this article never says that stop debating over the movies. The only thing I would like to request fans of both Salman and SRK that Just maintain a minimum respect for both of them, for their movies as well as their fans. Please do not use any cheap or derogatory language towards anybody. Always remember my friends: "Language used by a person shows the character of the person". So be respectful and discuss any topic with full decency and positive attitude. Don't argue to just pull someone down. Be daring to accept good works of your opponents also, only that can help you to be a good speaker. Signing off with these words...keep debating ...cheers!!!
Guest Post by - Kunal Anand. He is 28 years old & a Computer Engineer working with a prominent Engineering College in Bhubaneswar. He is basically from a small town of Bihar called Samastipur. He moved to Odisha way back in 2005 for my studies. Along with job he is also pursuing M.Tech from IIT Kharagpur. He always try to make people happy with his deeds. Apart from the profession, he has a keen interest in reading novels, listening music and playing cricket. He is crazy about movies and love to watch comedies, love stories, action but not comfortable with horror.
He can be reached at kunaljitm@yahoo.com
Note - Addatoday doesn't take any responsibilty of the post written above. It is all personal note of the Guest Author alone. We have disagreements on few points with the post written above by the Guest author, but we respect his Freedom of Speech.

668837 thumbnail
This was quite nice to read!
Tfs!
ILoveDrama thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5
Wow 👏👏finally someone who is unbiased not down right abusing the other actor...
Nice read a much needed break from what's happenening recently on the forum and everywhere😊
452840 thumbnail
Ohh a small suggestion i think they forgot to mention
veer zara,baazigar,Anjaam,Main hoo naaa(SRK'S other successful films)
DB_reloaded thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: Aishh.

This was quite nice to read!

Tfs!

ye good article
816870 thumbnail
Chori chori chupke chupke and khamosi had social message along with Phil milenge.

Also hum saath saath hain, panther ka pool, baghban, Maine pyar kyun kiya, mujhse shaadi karogii jab pyar kisi se hota hain and bandhan were also major Salman hits.

Veer zaara and Baazigar missing off shahrukh list too. Infact Swades was not commercially successful but only critically acclaimed

Decent article of comparisons
Sanju_ thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
nice article...I wish some fans could accept this and at least show a little respect to the other actor and their works as well as their fans!
Salman4Eva thumbnail
Groupbie Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Whys it never Aamir vs Salman or Aamir vs SRK or Ajay Vs Srk etc
This competition between SRK and Salman has just been created by media for no reason whatsoever and fans like us are stupid enough to follow it. I mean do you really think SRK and Salman see each other as competitors or just 2 individuals working in the same industry. I mean guys come on, They were once best friends dont forget!! Anyway really really hope things get sorted between the 2, though my heart loves Salman I still think SRK is an AWESOME actor and I love his films. Seriously SRK fans should stop hating on Salman and vice versa, I mean for those hating, think about the day the 2 become friends will those bashing SRK change their minds straight away and start liking him, same to Salman fans, think guys before bashing people!!
Billu-Maamma thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
agree with u..fans are always fight with each other with out any cause..
we dont know who is wrong salman or srk?but salman fans always curse srk fans by saying bad about srk and vice versa.ppl need to grow up..
but i dont think that the fight between srk and salman fans can end till the last day of world.😆

briahna thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
hell no kidding. i desperately want to see them together in a movie.
imagine ...it will SHATTER all records!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i loved them in karan arjun.