4492 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Zareena

Kajol's character was so beautiful, not for once you think about her clothes or make up. Her smile is gorgeous, eyes are beautiful and i thought she looked beautiful as for her role. In MNIK it's completely different. She was on nuts diet, she LOST so much weight in MNIK, which shocked me! Let's not forget KJO makes his ladies extra beautiful be it on weight, dresses or vice verse. I loved all Kajol's dresses in DDLJ, it was simran's trademark.

kajol looked quite fat to me in MNIK and quite ravishing in ddlj probs cause she was young, simple and also she was quite thinn, but yeh found her pretty in k3g
15836 thumbnail
^^^^Depends on the voting ji. If more people vote for it then it will be that.
395575 thumbnail
no not k3g..i think we have discussed in many topics abt it...let's bring a classic tht is never been discussed
395575 thumbnail
According to old classics ... i will choose jaane bhi do...like others..
in the new ones...i will choose WAKE UP SID for discussion...very nice movie..
4492 thumbnail

Originally posted by: tweety_lovely

According to old classics ... i will choose jaane bhi do...like others..

in the new ones...i will choose WAKE UP SID for discussion...very nice movie..

wake up sid is not considered to be a classic
395575 thumbnail

Originally posted by: nkapoor

wake up sid is not considered to be a classic

yeah neither K3G is...
31609 thumbnail
My absoulte favourite scene towards the end of the hogaya hain tujhko toh pyaar song when simran returns home after her europe trip and goes outside to get her bags and imagines raj standing there in front of her.

What was your favorite song in the movie?
Lovely songs!! all of them actually..but tujhe dekha to and hogaya hai tujhko to pyaar

Why do you think it's considered a classic?
Well the fact that there wasn't any "main tera khoon pee jaaonga" or "main tumhare bacche ki maa banne vaali hoon" or "hamari ghar ki parampara and izzat" type stuff and showed its characters to be normal people, was wht worked the most. and of course...add srk kajol to tht and u have instant chemistry.

Anything else you'd like to discuss about the movie?
I cant speak for everyone else but i just loved all the little yash raj cameos in this one...all the future directors like KJO, Arjun sablok, parmeet sethi and also future celebrities like mandira bedi, anaita shroff (dhoom 2, love aaj kal's 's stylist who played kajols friend sheena)...its fun watching them now in the movie!! shows wht a gr8 time everyone had during the shoot and shows how close they were.
31609 thumbnail
ooh if we are taking suggestions...for upcoming discussions...may i suggest the movie Lamhe...i feel its soo underrated. :( would give people a chance to express their views abt the film.
395575 thumbnail

^^^

yeah lamhe was a nice movie...

-Edelweiss- thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Full of cliches, cheesy, over exaggerated and unrealistic at points but I absolutely love this movie. And I have no qualms in saying that. For me it does come under classics; classics such as Mughl-e-azam, Kagaaz ke phool, Pyaasa (old), Sahib biwi aur ghulam, Jaane bhi do yaaro and countless others. Everybody has a different opinion on what they would count as classics, I know most people love Sholay, so do I. But I personally know countless people who absolutely disregard Sholay and would never consider it as a classic, again its their opinion. So for me I love DDLJ.

I watched it when I was a young kid about 9-10 and it was the first movie that I watched on my first trip to India. Hence it holds and will always hold a special place in my heart. I still remember I went to watch it with my cousins and other girls and boys from our neighbourhood and we ended up getting tickets in black and had to settle for some really crappy seats. Now that was an experience.

The movie worked coz when it came out, the concept was something very new, it was the movie that started the trend of shooting majority of the movie outside of India, it also started the trend to target and cater for NRIs. The simplicity of the characters worked, the fact that people living out of India could identify with the father struggling to keep the culture intact in his kids, the mother who was caught between her child and husband knowing well that neither of them were wrong. A girl wanting to live and experience the life before she gets tied down, the little chutki and her relationship with her mother and sister. It somewhat showed all of that amongst a fairy tale, cheesy sort of disney-ish romance. Hence people bought that... it was also the movie that increased the expectations of many girls to find their Rajs on a Eurorail trip and boost the tourism side of Europe and also increased the business of Eurorail. lol.

The movie made the SRK-Kajol pair. It put SRK and Kajol on the map and how. It made Aditya Chopra, and the Yashraj camp.

I am not much for romantic movies, but DDLJ is an exception. I don't really have an answer for what I like about the movie, I just do. Its a feel good movie, and somehow watching it always uplifts my mood when I am down. May be if it was to release in times right now, I don't think I would have liked it as much. I hardly like or watch any Hindi movie nowadays. My taste has definitely changed, I guess growing up does that to you. But DDLJ is a part of my growing up years and some things should never change. DDLJ is a memory that I will always cherish, and also because it gave my favourite SRK-Kajol pair, the only other pair that I love apart from Guru Dutt and Waheeda Rehman.

Before I forget, my favourite scene of the movie is quite difficult to pick, so I won't pick one. But the relationship between the mother and daughter is something I loved. I loved their scenes, Farida Jalal was fabulous. All actors did an amazing job, even Amrish Puri as a strict father was bloody good, sad that people always remember him as Mogambo (though I love Mogambo 😆), he always played all his roles to a great conviction.

Lastly, if we are taking suggestion about discussing movies I would love it if we did some old movies instead.. I don't know how many here would have seen them. But Naya daur is an amazing movie, Mughl-e-azam, or even Chupke chupke or Jaane bhi do yaaro.. or there are many other serious ones like Arth or other Nasseruddin Shah stuff..or Guru dutt stuff. But I am not sure how many here would have even heard of them. So I'll leave to you guys.

You're doing a great job Simran. Can I say I love your name..😆
Edited by -Edelweiss- - 15 years ago