'Rocket Singh' opens to shockingly low response

laali4shekhar thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
B.O. update: 'Rocket Singh' opens to shockingly low response
- By Taran Adarsh, December 12, 2009 - 08:29 IST
Everyone was expecting ROCKET SINGH - SALESMAN OF THE YEAR to start with a bang, given the fact that Ranbir Kapoor's last two films, WAKE UP SID and AJAB PREM KI GHAZAB KAHANI, had fetched a flying start. Also, the fact that Aditya Chopra, Shimit Amin and Jaideep Sahni had teamed up with Ranbir, only raised the expectations from the film. But the poor start of ROCKET SINGH sent shock waves within the industry. The film had a 20% to 40% start at certain plexes and at places, 10% to 15% start.

The reports are extremely mixed and it remains to be seen if the film picks up on Saturday and Sunday, like Yash Raj's previous two biggies, CHAK DE INDIA and RAB NE BANA DI JODI.

toothbrush13 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Hmm... well I'm in the US and I'm not sure about how it was in India, but the promotions here have been dismal. Most people don't even know what this movie is and I didn't know that it released today!
I've only seen two commercials total for this movie (it was the same promo, just on two different days); there has been absolutely no hype at all. Now over-hyping isn't good at all, but people should atleast know that the movie exists and when it is releasing.
I guess if word of mouth is good then it will pick up this weekend.
Enycedoll thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
i think the yash raj camp has come with a new promoting strategy that doesnt seem to be working, they seem to be promoting a new movie like 2 weeks before its release and im not too sure if that's enough to create hype.
LifeOLicious thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
I am not surprised though. A movie with no songs no romance? R u kidding me? Hope it goes the Chak De way....

Anyways I think I am gonna like this movie....I read the reviews and it seems I am gonna connect.....most college graduates get a shocker when they join the work force....their rose tinted world shatters and that protective bubble of academics bursts. Curious to see what Shimit has done!
Edited by LifeOLicious - 15 years ago
3365 thumbnail
I dont know about out of india. but in india there has been lot of publicity for this movie. i could see only ranbir on TV on all the channels. everyone knows about the movie. i think people r bored of watching back to back movies of ranbir. it think its due to over exposure.
Edited by angelic_devil - 15 years ago
TheRowdiest thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
i loved it....... very sweet movie.....just hope it picks up
Larae thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
it will probably pick up later by good word of mouth because most the reviews are good
Ultimate_Shadow thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
i am sorry but i DISAGREE with all the members out here who are saying the movie was promoted well.. the promotied remained to only promos...now take WAKE UP SID for example, before the film the promos showed what actually..wake up sid is all abt..but rocket singh sings a song...POCKET MEIN ROCKET HAI a double meaning song...now how u expect people to leave everything and see this...atleast the content of the movie should have been in the promos
gujunpyo thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
lol,twilight is very famous in ind,specially rob...ofcourse it will do well. no one frm the harry potter gang comes here to promote d films,still it does well naa..!!!
-Aladin- thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Human_Torch

😆ppl never love to see AK but his baseless comedies thts why he is there, but this yr proved tht akshay is not a guarantee of hits...all his films flopped dis yr except de dana dan nd KI which was average as well

Human_Torch ji, you need to see public reviews.
Fact is most Akki's movies have a huge opening. It's not like he is the only one who does movies in the comedy genre. There are many who do comedies yet those movies do not get a huge opening. Whether the movie does well or not later, is another story. No star can guarantee a hit. Even SRK has had flops, hasn't he? Aamir is the only one who can guarantee a hit most of the times. That's a fact. 😛