angelk1 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: shruthiravi

I dont want to argue on religion. But I believe even God helps only those who help themselves. unless you can stand up for yourself and demand justice how can God help you. unless you take action to get justice how he can help you.

God can give you the most favourable questions for the exam. But God cannot write exam for you. you have to write the answer if you need to clear the exam. By praying answers wont automatically come in paper. You should make an effort to write. Yes he can remove any other obstacle that can come in your front that can stop you from writing the exam. But writing you yourself has to do.

Coming to killing it depends on the situation. If someone comes to kill you, you will stand there and tell the person kill me, you wont even raise your hand to defend yourself.

No wonder human rights are always for criminals like Govindachamy who brutally raped a girl or the murderers of Nirbhaya and also for the terrorists. Not for the families who are orphaned by bomb attacks or the young girls life that is nipped in the bud.

I agree at some points, but like you said, I won't get into the whole religion stuff. If someone attacks you of course you have a right to defend yourself. Fighting back, an injuring them is fine,. But going as far as to kill them, doesn't make it any better. I'm not saying not to do anything when something is injust. I'm saying we shouldnt let what happened to us cloud our better judgment causing us to kill. By killing one person is like killing the whole human race. Sadly, not many people see it the way I see it. Their to quick to pick up a weapon.

NAUCholic thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
See that is the fine line between reel and real.
That is why people love movies. They can relate to them and see justice being done. They can see things that are the best and easiest solutions to their problems. Solutions that may be way too impractical in real lives. They see the heroes in risks, man up, and fight. They see good triumph over the evil.
Murdering the evil guy is the best thing on screen. But real life mein the common man may not do that due to several practical reasons- the biggest being that jail gaye toh aage kya. Real life mein this question has a longgg array of sub questions.
But movies mein when we see the bad guy murdered, we get a feel of justice being done. Something which we can not practically achieve. In real. Which is why people watch movies. Why people love movies.
We admire superheroes. We wish to be like them. We see an empowered version of ourselves.
So reel mein is not a big deal to kill the baddie. That is the thing and beauty of the reel world. In there, we always get to see the perfected and easiest and convinient results.
Real mein we got to be practical, moral and thousand other things. Real mein we got to FACE it. Also, conscience ki baat aati hai.
So I feel that reel mein killing the baddie is justified. The viewers just have to know the fact that it is fictional and that it is utter stupid to replicate in real. I've seen stuffs where people think they are superman and jump off, or where people take law in their hands. The viewers just need to be practical while dealing with situations in real and think about the consequences which may mot be so heroic.
As far as Maya is concerned, reel hai bros. Chill.
Edited by NAUCholic - 8 years ago
shruthiravi thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
But letting go of one criminal is killing thousand others. Which is the better option. Human right activists are arguing for protecting Surinder Koli who brutally murdered kids and buried their skeltons. Atleast 10-12 kids he have killed.
You want to save this man so that he can kill the next generation again brutally as people will come to defend him. Killing him will erase the human race or protecting will erase the human race
Sometimes killing one saves 1000 and human race at large. If that is the case you have to kill. If to protect a family you have to sacrifice one member you have to do that. If to protect a village one person has to be sacrificed it needs to be done. If to protect a country few hundreds have to be sacrificed it has to be done.
Whenever killing is concerned the larger interest is seen and if larger interest or rather more innocents or law abiding people will be protected by that killing then it has to be done. That is why capital punishment happens in the rarest of rarest cases. It is to protect the larger society from such criminals it is done because they cannot be corrected.
If you leave such criminals in the name of whatever it is you are allowing crime to flourish as no one is afraid of punishment. Rapes happen day in day out. Why no punishment. People have no fear because the way current law is implemented the criminal will go scott free in most cases.

One whose actions support Adharma to flourish also will get punishment by the ultimate law if not the law of the nation. That's why many times hypocrites run from pillar to post why we are getting punished we didnt do anything. That doing nothing has helped adharma , that doing nothing is also selfishness for which the punishment is more severe than the actual culprit.
Because you are taking moral high ground and acting like a criminal.

When I watched Star MB there is a beautiful dialogue Krishna says to Karna. It is not duri and co who is responsible for this destructive war but it is you 3 referring to bhishma, drona and Karna who with your abilities, talents supported the adharma.

Edited by shruthiravi - 8 years ago
NAUCholic thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

But letting go of one criminal is killing thousand others. Which is the better option. Human right activists are arguing for protecting Surinder Koli who brutally murdered kids and buried their skeltons. Atleast 10-12 kids he have killed.

You want to save this man so that he can kill the next generation again brutally as people will come to defend him. Killing him will erase the human race or protecting will erase the human race
Sometimes killing one saves 1000 and human race at large. If that is the case you have to kill. If to protect a family you have to sacrifice one member you have to do that. If to protect a village one person has to be sacrificed it needs to be done. If to protect a country few hundreds have to be sacrificed it has to be done.
Whenever killing is concerned the larger interest is seen and if larger interest or rather more innocents or law abiding people will be protected by that killing then it has to be done. That is why capital punishment happens in the rarest of rarest cases. It is to protect the larger society from such criminals it is done because they cannot be corrected.
If you leave such criminals in the name of whatever it is you are allowing crime to flourish as no one is afraid of punishment. Rapes happen day in day out. Why no punishment. People have no fear because the way current law is implemented the criminal will go scott free in most cases.

One whose actions support Adharma to flourish also will get punishment by the ultimate law if not the law of the nation. That's why many times hypocrites run from pillar to post why we are getting punished we didnt do anything. That doing nothing has helped adharma , that doing nothing is also selfishness for which the punishment is more severe than the actual culprit.

See killing is different from sentencing. The court can very well and should do it when necessary.
Practically speaking, if your not the court, it is advisable not to take law into your hands. Now if you're sure that you won't go to jail because self defence or something, then it is completely fine. But if you don't have enough proof and you kill a person who is a baddie- then you'll go to jail which is again unfair and your family has to go through stuffs. So the best thing then is to leave it to the court. Or else be smart enough not to get caught.
If the dude is a criminal, either leave it to the court or if you are really smart enough, make sure proofs nahi rahe- which is risky because crime rarely is perfect.
But all this is real. Because reel mein you can create perfect crime.
Edited by NAUCholic - 8 years ago
shruthiravi thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
@Nau in real sense even if you murder for self defense you will be sentenced by the court though the quantum of punishment will be less. If you see movies like Adhipan , New Delhi or Panchagni that is what happens. The protoganist surrender after committing the murder to take the punishment from the law though they dont regret killing the criminals. Because in those days conscience worked and a protoganist meant yes he or she can kill but what differentiates them from antagonist is that they are willing to take the punishment for their act from the law of the land.
But now it has moved to perfect crime reason is people no longer believe in law or court, whereas 10-15 years back it was there to some extend. Seeing every criminal escape people are doing the same things to protect themselves as we see in Drishyam or take law into their hands like Kaabil.

As a person I dont support vindictive justice reason being the crime is not exposed and though the individual gets justice by doing that similar crimes happen again and again. Only if the punishment happens within the system the system changes. Like the case of Jessica Lal where Sabrina Lal fought to get Manu Sharma sentenced or the fight of Neelam Katara to get the punishment for Nitish Katara's murderer's carry more weight.

ishakumar thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

When I watched Star MB there is a beautiful dialogue Krishna says to Karna. It is not duri and co who is responsible for this destructive war but it is you 3 referring to bhishma, drona and Karna who with your abilities, talents supported the adharma.

As they say
"Dard sehney wala bhi utna hi bada gunegaar hai jitna ki dard dena wala"
Everyone has limits, and once the limits are crossed work should be done ;)
sellysona thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
Well killing someone is too extreme for sure but we cannot deny that circumstances play a major role..
For eg if a girl is getting molested and she in process of defending her, hits him with a knife. Is the girl wrong here?
Another eg, in movie provoked, the lead murders her husband bcoz he tortured her. She was fed up and had no way to get out? Was she wrong?
Another eg. Recently in news a man was arrested. He is a serial rapist and had molested more thn hundreds young girls in delhi. If he gets bail or cannot be punished due to lack of proof and continues doing crime. More and more girls will be harmed. But if any of those earlier victims had managed to kill him in self defense than wont hundreds more girls would have been saved..
See, murder is not always wrong. We have to take in consideration about situations.
Just bcoz murder is a crime we cannot judge everyone as a criminal..