Arshad- A much needed catalyst!!!!

arshi_asya thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Indian TV shows have a history of bringing the third character & changing them to vamp in order to bring the lead couple together. But there have been times these third characters have been beautifully used to bring the two together & they themselves made the graceful exit from the shows.
For eg,
1. Lavanya in IPKKND 1- Even though she began with vamp but ended up being a beautiful character who did the much needed task of breaking Arnav's ice cold attitude towards Khushi.
2. Natasha in KRPKAB- She made Dev realize his feelings for Sona and herself made the graceful exit.
3. Rithwik in KRPKAB- Made Dev & Sona realize what they will lose and how badly it will affect them if they don't realize the consequences of what they are doing.

And after listening to Tahir's interview that he is a positive character, I hope he too makes a graceful exit once he does what he has to do, break Zoya's shield of friendship that covers the underlying feeling of love.

In every episode, this guy has a punch line with a deep meaning hidden.
Episode 1- "Jaisa hota hai wo dikhta nahi aur jo dokhta hai wo hota nahi."
Episodes 2- "Zindagi na beete kal me hai aur na hi aane wale kal mein, Zindagi to bas wahi jo is pal me hai."

Arshad will do what he said today, make Zoya realize that her life is in present and she has to give herself a chance at love once again & ultimately overcome her past with Yash.

And Zoya finally made herself clear in the precap that she has no place for love in her life & only for friendship. This tells a lot about her mental position in life about relationships.

Even if Adi had proposed to Zoya now, Zoya would have rejected him without considering because Adi would have stepped into the boundary she is most scared to unlock. She would have said the same thing to Adi that she said to Waseem.

No matter how much Zoya says or pretends that she is over her past, she is but not completely, because she is using the past to judge her future and all future decisions when it comes to relationships in her life.

Adi dilemma was cleared by Pooja herself because Adi was blinded by friendship and then stepped into territory of love which is relatively easy & then Pooja cleared all his doubts & gave him a closure finally while Zoya has not actually got her closure, she herself closed the certain things & Arshad is going to be the one to provide that for her indirectly.

Zoya has once stepped into the territory of love very deeply & betrayal in that made her to find comfort in the territory of friendship which she now uses as a shield to protect her heart from being unlocked to feeling of underlying love. Moving to friendship from love is painful and again back to love from there is a long journey in itself. Zoya knows what it was like to love some stranger with that much passion and betrayed in it. While defending everyone's love, Zoya herself has forgotten to love or feel what it's like to love or be loved by someone in an intense and passionate way.

Adi would have never been able to break that shield because Adi himself needed Pooja to bring him out of his dilemmas & Zoya too needs a different person who will teach her to live & consider the present & not the past. And Arshad is the one who will do it. He is the catalyst that will help Zoya remove the layer of friendship from her heart and re-discover love. Sometimes, your own people can't do what a completely strange, third person can do to you, open the deepest corners of your heart and mind & change perspective of looking at things.

Arshad too will become a good friend for Zoya & Adi will indeed be bothered by that but it is important for Zoya to understand the difference between friendship and love. She will find comfort in Arshad's friendship too but not the same she finds with Adi. With Adi she has a different level of things because they have been through the common journey of betrayal and pain that brings them all the more closer & the day Zoya realizes this will be the day she will realize her feelings of love that have been masked with best friend feeling for Adi.

Zoya needs to be pushed out of the way with huge jerk to break her trance of friendship that makes her unable to step into territory of love. Arshad will help her unveil her older self slowly and gradually, the older Zoya who could easily love or trust the relationship, the marriage. These gradual things will help Zoya realize how strongly she feels about Adi.

While Adi's realization came suddenly, Zoya's realization will come slowly and gradually. And Arshad won't hold her back when she realizes the truth, in fact he might be the one to push Zoya to go out of the way again just like she did with Yash.

Makers have not promoted Arshad as a grey character like they did with Rajveer. Rajveer first impression gave the feeling of his grey and evilness. Arshad on the contrary has given a warm feeling that will be seen in future episodes. And I hope my gut feeling remains the same. I want Arshad to be a beautiful character that makes the graceful exit from the show.

I am actually looking for this track for 2 reasons-

1. For some unknown reasons, I like to see the lead guy being jealous, it heats up the things. I have seen sarcastic, pained, protective, friendly, flirting, fierce Adi. But I am yet to see possessive & jealous Adi. As long as it's healthy, I want to see that side to his character as well. The one shown earlier in 2 episodes was nothing and consider me sadistic, I want to see some more of that

2. Bepannah has been different and I want Arshad's character to be different as well with his role of third character between AdiYa. Tahir himself doesn't believe in good guy turning bad suddenly, so I believe he has taken up this role after knowing that it will do justice to his beliefs & end him on a graceful note.

mango.falooda thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail 7th Anniversary Thumbnail + 4
spot on! if they choose to make arshad a good character, then what you suggest will follow... like you said, zoya needs a wake up call and arshad can do it in a good way. it will be nice change to see a third character of the triangle who is good and has dignity. we saw him playing with the children in the hospital and the nurse saying he is a good doctor -- so far, it looks like arshad will be a good character? keeping my fingers crossed... it will be a far more interesting if zoya chooses aditya because she loves him and not because arshad turns out to be a manipulative, evil person.. in other words, aditya is not a better choice but a choice of love...
Edited by mango_pudding1 - 7 years ago
Prriyam thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Good post! Yes, catalyst he is. Just pushing her to bring out a reaction and pushing her to her destination.

Had a good time reading ur post.
rrosy thumbnail
Yes. Even I feel Zoya need another male friend, just friend, to distinguish between a male friend and lover.
For eg: How she responds to similar situations,
When both Aditya and Arshad praises her beauty with admiration
While dancing with both
When she is in arms of both
What impact their presence and absence makes her
and so on...
Edited by rrosy - 7 years ago