ar78655 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago
I am a gizmo freak – Sharad Malhotra

Money. That's what drives everyone in the final analysis, whether in the glamour world of acting or the hard grind of scripting and producing. Cashin' In sits down with TV celebs to know well they handle their financial matters, and tracks their spending patterns.

As Sharad Malhotra's career is going great guns, he has his eyes set on the best things in life. This cool dude is the most chilled out person as far as financial matters are concerned, just the way he is about his personal matters.

How important is money for you?

(Laughs) It is the most important thing for having a comfortable and luxurious life but it is not more important than my peace of mind and my happiness.

Are you an impulsive buyer?

I am not an impulsive buyer but when I like something, I don't see the price tag. It is very rare that I get time to shop, so impulsive buying doesn't happen very often. I am a gizmo freak, so I usually pick up gadgets. I recently bought an Iphone on an impulse.

What are the investments you have made?

I have not made enough money to indulge in big investments. I want to save money for buying a house. I am planning to invest my money in something good. I am in talks with my chartered accountant for that.

What is your most expensive purchase?

My most expensive purchase is yet to come. I came to Mumbai for work only two years ago, so I have much more work to do and money to earn.

Do you feel financially secure?

No one feels financially secure. I am sure that even Mukesh Ambani wants to make more money. I am more satisfied financially than before but I have a long way to go.

Who handles your expenses?

I handle my expenses. I consult my brother in law and my dad at times.

What was your first salary? What you did with it?

It was Rs. 3,000 for a Reliance print ad. I earned it 3-4 years ago. I spent it on my mom but I don't exactly remember what I bought for her. I guess I took her out for a dinner.

How much money do you carry every day?

I generally carry credit cards as I don't like carrying cash with me. I do carry a couple of thousands for the sake of emergency. I keep them in my car to prevent it from being robbed.

Do you invest in the stock market?

I have invested in stock market in the past but it was not a good experience. I plan to make better and fruitful investments in the future. I am not interested in stock market any more.

Any advice for investors?

If you are investing your own money, then play wise and smart. If you are investing someone else's money, then you may do whatever you want.

ar78655 thumbnail
Dulhann to stay put on Zee

Dulhann fans went into a tizzy after it was reported that the show could be going off air. However, they can now breathe a sigh of relief as nothing of this sort will take place. However, there's no denying that the show is currently going through a turbulent phase.

At the centre of the problem is the leading pair of Sharad Malhotra and Divyanka Tripathy. Reportedly, the duo has been throwing a fist on the sets. While there's uncertainly over their future, the show will go on.

Clearing the air, Shyam Bhattacharya, producer of the show, says, "How can the channel let go of their top rated show? Too much is being read into tales of actors reporting late to work. After all, they too get tired and besides this is monsoon so one is bound to get late at times."

Adding further, he says, "The existing reincarnation track was for 100 episodes and it's nearing its climax. However, we're now working on a new parallel track, for which we're contemplating on roping in some big names."

Will Sharad and Divyanka be part of this new track? Shyam replies, "Yes, they are the main protagonists of our show. "

We called up Kamya Punjabi, the main antagonist of the show, who replied, "That's complete bull s***t. The show is not going off air. The creative team is working on a new track and I'm very much going to be part of it. Some big names will be roped in. In fact, we actors too were also asked for suggestions."

Commenting on tales of Sharad and Divyanka's reporting late to work, Kamya chides, "I don't want to comment on it but there's no denying that we've been facing problems. At a recent meeting, all actors were told to give 12 hours a day. You can't cry foul over long hours. After all, when it comes to a daily, you have to slog it out. That's what you get paid for."

When asked whether Sharad and Divyanka be part of the new track, Kamya quips, "I think so. However, with a new actor coming on board, few actors will have less work to do."

Despite repeated attempts, Sharad Malhotra and Divyanka Tripathy remained unavailable for comment.

So for now fans can continue watching their fave soap.

ar78655 thumbnail
Dulhann to shift track

New characters and a new storyline will be introduced in Banoo Main Teri Dulhann next month. Creative head Shyam gave us details about the new track and twists.

Explaining the reasons for this new twist, he says:" We had thought about it few days back. We are going to introduce a new track which will run parallel to Amar-Divya and Sindoora's track. There would be two different stories in the show which will get connected with each other in the future. We are still working on the script and have not finalized actors for it so far."

He does not feel that low TRPs is the reason behind the track change. "It is true that the audience is still hooked up with Amar and Divya's love story but now they have got married and other tracks too are also winding up soon. So we wanted to have some freshness."

He further explains, "We have completed 500 episodes and during this period, we have shown Sharad and Divyanka's chemistry so now we want some bigger and better twists."

Are the other actors fine with this twist? "I do not think there would be any problem. In past too we have shown changes in the story. Sharad-Divyanka are the protagonists of show so their track surely will not be sidelined."

Currently in the show, Divya and Amar got married and Sindoora like before trying to destroy them even.
Link http://www.indya.com/news/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2008/July/News_20080715_99
ar78655 thumbnail
Kamya enjoying marital bliss

Kamya Punjabi, who plays Sindoora in Banoo Main Teri Dulhann, is enjoying a come back of sorts in her married life. The actress who had separated from her husband for a while is now back together with him.

"I am happy to be back with my husband. Now all the problems between us have been sorted out. Both of us are feeling nice. We are managing to take out time for each other even though both of us are very busy. We try to catch up with each other over dinners at least. More than that I do not want to talk about it," says Kamya.
The actress is also enjoying success on one of television's most popular show Dulhann. "My character is a prominent part of this show and it can never be excluded. Sindoora's track will get over only if she will be killed in show. It is true that a new track is coming but those characters are going to have relation with me only. It is a very interesting track and if I will tell you everything now then what will you watch later on? So I think you should wait and watch out for it. The only profit will be that while they will shoot with new cast… we can build bank with our tracks," says the busy actress.

With her success on Dulhann, Kamya is also now busy in trying her luck in comedy.

"There is a lot of hard work involved in this show. Those who don't say so are not telling the truth. You have to sit with your partner, work on the script and rehearse with him. It is not easy. In fact I never thought that I will reach this position. Every week I used to think that I will be eliminated this week. But I have come so far and now I want to be in finale. I am enjoying doing comedy," she says.
Link http://www.indya.com/news/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2008/July/News_20080719_125
-Nina- thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
TB Article Divz Ring Tune

Divyanka Tripathi:

Which Dialer tune your phone is having right now?

The caller tune I am having right now is the music piece of Saathiya which is in Sanskrit. It is a very nice musical piece.

Why this particular tune?
I love the way it is sung. It feels good whenever we listen to this song. I want my caller tune to be different and I think that a caller tune portrays one's personality. I always prefer soft songs.

Why do we compel callers to hear songs of our choice?
I am not forcing anyone to listen to my song, rather I am letting that person to know me. I have kept this song because people should know me, although I am glamorous but at the same time very soft .
Source :http://www.india-forums.com/tellybuzz/article.asp?id=2914
ar78655 thumbnail
Divyanka breaks her silence

The Dulhann ship is showing signs of wreckage. Though it's still the top rated show on Zee TV, it's not drawing the TRPs that it once did. A part of this decline has been attributed to the alleged starry attitude of lead actors Sharad Malhotra and Divyanka Tripathi. At least that's how it appeared in the media. These reports gained weight with one actor hitting out indirectly against Sharad and Divyanka.

Amidst all this, both Sharad and Divyanka chose to seal their lips. And when they did, what appeared on television was half-baked. After weeks of maintaining silence, Divyanka has finally come out of her shell to offer her side of the story. The recent events have taken its toll on the actress, who's once again laid low with a slip- disc. Nevertheless, Divyanka sounded upbeat when we called her.

Firstly, how's your back now?

It all started with a shoulder injury which later culminated into a slip- disc. Earlier, I was taking physiotherapy but it didn't help much and often I ended blasting the masseuse. I've now switched to acupressure and it's providing more relief.

Reportedly, you've been coming late to the sets and even throwing tantrums.

These reports are all false. It was even reported that I was making use of a dummy. No one bothered to find out the trauma that I was going through.

But it's alleged that you've been giving in less hours of work? Isn't it true that channel has issued a dictum for all actors to work 12 hours a day?

Jab hum athara ghante kaam kar rahe the toh acche the, (We were considered good when we were working for 18 hours). Now, that we're working less, have we turned bad?

Apparently, one of your co-actors has hit out against you. But why don't we see any retaliation from you?

Jisse apni izzat payri hai woh kabhi kuch nahi bole ga (A self-esteemed person wouldn't never resort to such measures). Those who blabber are the ones who are scared and talk ill of others.

Supposedly, the reincarnation track hasn't proved all that successful for the shows. The TRPs have dipped. What do you think?

Well, such dips in TRPs are part and parcel of a daily. It's not the first time that TRPs have dipped. The TRPs weren't that high when Sagar lost his memory.

It's also buzzed that Sharad and you could be phased out of the show?

If that's in the interest of the show then I have no hassles over it. There will be additions of new characters but I have no intentions of quitting the show.

Would be you comfortable if your character is to take a back seat?

Why would I be uncomfortable? In fact, the new characters should be given a grand entry. The question of feeling threatened simply doesn't arise as I've been part of the show since its inception.

How would you react if you're not part of Dulhaan tomorrow?

I've always believed that whatever happens, it happens for good. If I'm not there tomorrow then I'm sure God will present me with something better

ar78655 thumbnail
Sindoora to be killed?

There's an air of uncertainty surrounding Banoo Main Teri Dulhann these days. Well, there was a question mark on the show's future itself. Expectedly, the show's custodians were in denial mode. It's now been buzzed that antagonist Sindoora (Kamya Punjabi) will be killed.

If sources are to believed, Sindoora will be killed by lead male protagonist Amar (Sharad Malhotra).

A little birdie informs, "Yes, Sindoora's character will come to an end but it's yet to be decided on how it will be done. Probably, it could be Amar or both Amar and Divya (Divyanka Tripathy) who'll do the honours. There's also a possibility that Sindoora may not be killed but she'd be taken to court by Divya, who is a laywer."

When contacted, Kamya replied, "I'm sorry but we've been strictly told not to speak anything. All I can say is that something interesting is indeed coming up. However, I'm very keen on remaining with the show."

Producer Shyam Bhattacharya was quick to rubbish the news.

But isn't the current track nearing its climax? After all, the good always prevails over the evil. "Yeah, that's true but this is a daily soap and you can't do away with your leading characters. All, I can tell you is that the current track is headed for an interesting climax."

Though Sharad Malhotra was unavailable for comment he has said in an interview that he hated Sindoora so much that he wanted to kill her. He also added that the show was in for some major twists and turns.

How much this translates on to the screen remains to be seen.

-Nina- thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Sharad Malhotra – Divyanka Tripathi:

Describe your Friend :
Sharad :
I value her as a friend and have known her for the last 5 years. Our friendship has grown over a period and to tell you frankly, I have very few friends in the industry and she is certainly the closest of them all! She is an amazing actor to work with and an even more amazing person by heart! Over all these years, she has proven to be my best friend and a great support system! The best part about her is that I really respect people who have lot of self respect and are passionate about work, and she is exactly that! About her bad qualities, I can go on and on!! (Kidding) But ya, she gets too stuck up with things and it gets really tough to convince her. Every second day, we get into an argument over a particular scene and she will never try to understand what I am trying to say. She is too stubborn in that aspect.

Divyanka : Sharad goes overboard to help the person whom he is very close to, be it his mom, dad or friends. He is over thoughtful and over helpful. With his friends, he makes them feel on the top of this world. He is very passionate about work and goes through all the lines very well in the script. Coming to negative points, he simply believes people without giving it a thought and they take advantage of him. He is also too stubborn and views things with a technical eye.

Advice you want to give him/her on this Friendship day:
Sharad : The only advice for her is 'Stay the way you are and never change for anyone!'
Divyanka : My advice for him is - Don't get angry for each and everything. People around you are not that bad!! Above all, the only thing I keep telling Sharad is "Eersha ki badi behen ka naam hai Ninda' i.e. Jealousy's elder sister is criticism. So when people criticize you, then it means they are jealous of you!!

ar78655 thumbnail
Sharad confident about role in Banoo Main Teri Dulhann

Sharad Malhotra, Amar of Banoo Main Teri Dulhann, thinks that even after the introduction of new characters his track will remain prominent.

He says, "In fact my work is going to increase and slowly I will get know about my last birth. We wanted to have a change in the show and were working on it for a long time."

On the falling TRPs, Sharad explains, "All shows have bad patches. I am sure Dulhann will pick up soon and that is why we are bringing in new characters. Moreover, I believe kuch toh log kahenge… After two years it is very hard to maintain the same standard. We tried but things always don't click. People really loved the reincarnation track so I hope they will continue to like us in the future too."

Are you comfortable with the new actors? "When I started this show I was also new and the experienced people treated me very well. So I also treat them like that. I hope they bring energy and freshness in the show," he explains.

Sharad is planning to go his hometown Kolkata for Raksha Bandhan. "I will take one day off. I wanted to go for more days since I have not been for many days. But I will have a nice time with my sister and parents," he adds.

Having recovered from his knee injury, the actor is now learning horse riding and martial arts. He wants to concentrate only on Dulhann for the moment.
Link http://www.indya.com/news/newsDetails.aspx?xfile=2008/August/News_20080805_23
ar78655 thumbnail
New man in Divya's life

Dulhann fans brace yourselves for a 'kahani main twist'. In an earlier report, the show's producer had hinted of a major twist in the show. It is now learnt that the twist will come in the form of actor Adesh Chaudhary posing as Divya's (Divyanka Tripathi) husband.

An actor who didn't wish to be named says, "Adesh Chaudhary, who plays Viren, jumps into the picture claiming to be Divya's husband. This will create tension between Amar (Sharad Malhotra) and Divya. This is a plot hatched by Sindoora (Kamya Punjabi)."

The current track has rubbished all theories of Sindoora's death. A source adds, "With Adesh coming to the show there's no question of Sindoora being killed. Nor is Sharad or Divyanka going to leave the show."

Adesh Chaudhary was earlier seen in Star Plus' Santaan and 9X's Veeranwali