Why can’t Indian television call a spade a spade!?

S.n.e.h thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail

Well, Kavya’s dialogue in precap to Anupama, “samajlo me tumhara badala le rahi hu..” triggered this thought stream for me. Has there ever been any show where a female character called out the male character for his wrong doings and actually took legal ways to punish him. (I am not regular ITV watcher if there is such a show let me know)

I mean Anupama slapped Kavya for ruining her son’s marriage, was it not Vanraj’s fault as well to give Kavya that stage and access, (I have seen pre Anuj episodes udate udate, so if she did call out Vanraj I would want to see that). In general as well Kavya is blamed for breaking Anupama’s ghar, but isn’t Vanraj ‘the most’ responsible for it, I am not defending Kavya she is at fault definitely for having a secret affair with a married family man but why can’t people call out Vanraj for what he is? Did Anupama ever in any way punish Vanraj for what he did to her, is it not needed?????
Now when tables turn in terms of gharwali baharwali Kavya is blaming Anupama for her marriage break, And Vanraj is being portrayed as self repenting man of the house who is trying to move on. So how Vanraj’s life got affected after all what he did and he is now repenting???

This whole Shah circus is more than qualified for domestic violence charges but them showing Kavya pressing those charges instead of Anupama (and moreover glorifying herself by calling it for Anupama) is a very wrong message.

Would it be toooooo much to ask for shows to actually punish in laws and husband by law from the actual victim and not just leave it to television track based karma. Oh may be that kind of woman empowerment is not entertaining enough..

Would love to hear your thoughts….

Edited by S.n.e.h - 3 years ago

piyu008 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail + 2

Totally agree and I have lost any hope for this show from a long time already.

It's so puckworthy to even remember how many times Vanraj was whitewashed as a perfect parent and child to Baa/Bapuji. There are countless instances I can write to prove otherwise so I will just let it be.

My theory is as long as you are "Original Shah" any crime would be forgiven and Mahan Anu would come to your rescue. Kavya/Rakhi being women in so called women empowerment show are forced villians.

Vanraj, Toshu, Baa - they all are forgiven or whitewashed.

I still can't forget how Anu sprayed Ganga jal just because Rakhi sat on her Baa's Julla. Where is this same attitude when it comes to Vanraj.

There was one show I used to follow few years back - it was a teen drama(KYY) but my girl not only gave it back to the ML but punched him on his face. There was a proper repentance track for ML. Although it was a teen show- it was very well written for most parts.

U_nicorn thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: S.n.e.h

Well, Kavya’s dialogue in precap to Anupama, “samajlo me tumhara badala le rahi hu..” triggered this thought stream for me. Has there ever been any show where a female character called out the male character for his wrong doings and actually took legal ways to punish him. (I am not regular ITV watcher if there is such a show let me know)

I mean Anupama slapped Kavya for ruining her son’s marriage, was it not Vanraj’s fault as well to give Kavya that stage and access, (I have seen pre Anuj episodes udate udate, so if she did call out Vanraj I would want to see that). In general as well Kavya is blamed for breaking Anupama’s ghar, but isn’t Vanraj ‘the most’ responsible for it, I am not defending Kavya she is at fault definitely for having a secret affair with a married family man but why can’t people call out Vanraj for what he is? Did Anupama ever in any way punish Vanraj for what he did to her, is it not needed?????
Now when tables turn in terms of gharwali baharwali Kavya is blaming Anupama for her marriage break, And Vanraj is being portrayed as self repenting man of the house who is trying to move on. So how Vanraj’s life got affected after all what he did and he is now repenting???

This whole Shah circus is more than qualified for domestic violence charges but them showing Kavya pressing those charges instead of Anupama (and moreover glorifying herself by calling it for Anupama) is a very wrong message.

Would it be toooooo much to ask for shows to actually punish in laws and husband by law from the actual victim and not just leave it to television track based karma. Oh may be that kind of woman empowerment is not entertaining enough..

Would love to hear your thoughts….

I couldn't agree more!!!

Homemakers (like Anupama) portrayed as docile and sacrificing in nature so they won't damage the husband's name and will tolerate domestic abuse...whereas educated women (like Kavya) portrayed as villiams who in the name of love and image in society will tolerate domestic abuse. In both cases, the husband walks guilt-free and responsibility free cos he is the man of the house.

I would rather want these shows to educate women on their rights in marriages. Both Anupama and Kavya didn't have financial security and so tolerated Vanraj's abuse...and now when Kavya snatched that security (and gave it back) she was again put through abuse. I totally agree that she was wrong in the cheating bit....but Vanraj was not saint either.

Women's rights in marriage, women's rights in divorce and the potential damage men could possibly face due to their abuse is what these shows should actually show (instead they either villainise the woman or show her sacrificial nature) so that unaware women are truly educated and take more thought through decisions in marriages.

S.n.e.h thumbnail

Originally posted by: piyu008

Totally agree and I have lost any hope for this show from a long time already.

It's so puckworthy to even remember how many times Vanraj was whitewashed as a perfect parent and child to Baa/Bapuji. There are countless instances I can write to prove otherwise so I will just let it be.

My theory is as long as you are "Original Shah" any crime would be forgiven and Mahan Anu would come to your rescue. Kavya/Rakhi being women in so called women empowerment show are forced villians.

Vanraj, Toshu, Baa - they all are forgiven or whitewashed.

I still can't forget how Anu sprayed Ganga jal just because Rakhi sat on her Baa's Julla. Where is this same attitude when it comes to Vanraj.

There was one show I used to follow few years back - it was a teen drama(KYY) but my girl not only gave it back to the ML but punched him on his face. There was a proper repentance track for ML. Although it was a teen show- it was very well written for most parts.

@bold: agree, your theory is what writers motto is it seems.

when Vanraj called Anu life partner and said there was RESPECT in that relationship, I felt like do I need to double check my understanding of respect.

Anj_01 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 7

I dont know your age so dont know about when you started watching itv. If you are in your late 20s or early 30s then you must have an idea about golden days of itv when there was no daily soap culture and serials used to come weekly mostly. Those were the days when we got gems such as astitva ek prem katha, justujoo, kora kaagaz, saans, hasratein, shanti, tara, campus, chhoti si aasha, kitty party, gulaal, kashmir and many more. Those were the serials, those were the characters specially women, such strong independent women. Even vamps were shown standing their ground based on their logic not some kinds of clowns with heavy makeup and designer dresses. But....ekta kapoor and daily soap culture ruined it all.🤢

To give some recent examples patiala babes, kuch rang pyar ke aise bhi are some shows which represented sensible women.

These days we only have either anupama like female lead who is God level mahaan, bearing every shit from everyone and still pretending to be independent strong woman or we have vamps like kavya who plans, plot, wear makeup, designer dresses and do whatever it takes to be a cartoon.

And their male counterparts are no better. Either we have vanrajs who is abusive and arrogant but when he decides to say sorry everyone should forgive him without a question or we have anujs who is so mahaan and understanding that even God takes advice from him on being nice.

Law and logic are the two things which doesn't exists in itv world.

They dont have humans to show in their stories, they have unrealistic cartoonish characters far from reality.

1222112 thumbnail

Such valid points and important criticisms you have all put forth. It's real nice to read.

I started watching Anupama because I wanted to see how they portray the journey of a woman from dependent to independent. I have these questions everyday and wish that mainstream tv can somehow address these issues in a progressive way, without pitting women against each other, without women fighting over a man, by showing problems other than family drama. Now I'm watching to see if they atleast portray a mature love story nicely.

I might just be disappointed on both counts. But yeah, am sucked into the drama!

S.n.e.h thumbnail

Originally posted by: U_nicorn

I couldn't agree more!!!

Homemakers (like Anupama) portrayed as docile and sacrificing in nature so they won't damage the husband's name and will tolerate domestic abuse...whereas educated women (like Kavya) portrayed as villiams who in the name of love and image in society will tolerate domestic abuse. In both cases, the husband walks guilt-free and responsibility free cos he is the man of the house.

I would rather want these shows to educate women on their rights in marriages. Both Anupama and Kavya didn't have financial security and so tolerated Vanraj's abuse...and now when Kavya snatched that security (and gave it back) she was again put through abuse. I totally agree that she was wrong in the cheating bit....but Vanraj was not saint either.

Women's rights in marriage, women's rights in divorce and the potential damage men could possibly face due to their abuse is what these shows should actually show (instead they either villainise the woman or show her sacrificial nature) so that unaware women are truly educated and take more thought through decisions in marriages.

I would love to see that especially when audiences have your back, and I believe TRP audiences also would celebrate such a storyline, they have loved story points when Anupama accepted the partnership or when she left Shah house, so whats the hesitation in showing Anupama giving it back to her abusers. If they think legal drama will not gain TRPs, please have a look at the news channels viewership.

They have budgets to celebrate function every week but don’t have creativity to put drama with right thing to do behaviour. you know what’s the biggest irony here is writers who are writing all this are females.

I really don’t want to discredit the production channel and team as a whole for bringing such a plot with huge connect on screens but when you do such a thing you might as well add some responsible and sensible developments.

731627 thumbnail

Nkw ab adulery after 2018 in india crime nahin hai, to ab vanraj jail nahi jaa sakta, bus, yeh ground of divorce hai jo anupama ne liya, hai

Yes, i agree rajan shahi( producer of anupama)shah family ko bahut glorify karta, hai kyonki shah rajan shahi ke favour character i hai,rajan shahi sliye baar baar, aisa dikhane ki koshish kartehai ki jo vanraj baar ne, kiya, woh, koi bahut badi baat nahi but agar woh kavya ne kar diya to woh vamp. Ho gayi because rajan shahi hate kavya

S.n.e.h thumbnail

Originally posted by: Bechain_Bulbul

I dont know your age so dont know about when you started watching itv. If you are in your late 20s or early 30s then you must have an idea about golden days of itv when there was no daily soap culture and serials used to come weekly mostly. Those were the days when we got gems such as astitva ek prem katha, justujoo, kora kaagaz, saans, hasratein, shanti, tara, campus, chhoti si aasha, kitty party, gulaal, kashmir and many more. Those were the serials, those were the characters specially women, such strong independent women. Even vamps were shown standing their ground based on their logic not some kinds of clowns with heavy makeup and designer dresses. But....ekta kapoor and daily soap culture ruined it all.🤢

To give some recent examples patiala babes, kuch rang pyar ke aise bhi are some shows which represented sensible women.

These days we only have either anupama like female lead who is God level mahaan, bearing every shit from everyone and still pretending to be independent strong woman or we have vamps like kavya who plans, plot, wear makeup, designer dresses and do whatever it takes to be a cartoon.

And their male counterparts are no better. Either we have vanrajs who is abusive and arrogant but when he decides to say sorry everyone should forgive him without a question or we have anujs who is so mahaan and understanding that even God takes advice from him on being nice.

Law and logic are the two things which doesn't exists in itv world.

They dont have humans to show in their stories, they have unrealistic cartoonish characters far from reality.

First of all thanks for sharing all those names, will look out for those if available..🤗

I am 35, but in my family television was not watched beyond news till all us siblings completed graduation, so not seen all these DD shows, it’s really good to know there were better shows. Most of my ITV experience is post Ekta and group took over. Thanks again 😊

S.n.e.h thumbnail

Originally posted by: Miniwatch

Such valid points and important criticisms you have all put forth. It's real nice to read.

I started watching Anupama because I wanted to see how they portray the journey of a woman from dependent to independent. I have these questions everyday and wish that mainstream tv can somehow address these issues in a progressive way, without pitting women against each other, without women fighting over a man, by showing problems other than family drama. Now I'm watching to see if they atleast portray a mature love story nicely.

I might just be disappointed on both counts. But yeah, am sucked into the drama!

that’s my basic minimum expectation too 🤞