vidya0906 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: -shopaholic-

Khirad tells the receptionist at the office dat her name is ume -hareem. Does umme mean something in urdu?

Umme means ummeed and Hareem means the walls of the sacred house of Kaaba😛
BornHyper thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: -shopaholic-

Khirad tells the receptionist at the office dat her name is ume -hareem. Does umme mean something in urdu?

It means Amma of hareem 🤣

Sorry.. NOM
Edited by shweta_r - 10 years ago
664269 thumbnail
no infact when khirad tells him that she used to tell tecahers that hareem is the daughter of a very wise and talented man, Asher feels like hugging khirad, his instinct that khirad is innocent was sinking in again, and more because now both the father in him and the husband in him were so helpless, he wanted to make khirad's pain get a full stop, he want to stop her tears, and thius he says " humari beti ko kuch nahi hoga, thats my promise to u " .. i love love everything about this episode, every scene n, every moment... and that convo just marks the acceptance from khirad's side that yes Asher is a kabil father, she was hesitant to give Asher the title of a good father, because initially she always mentioned him as hareem's rich father, but that episode she genuinelt thanks him and calls him a very good father, which makes Asher very emotional, finally the acceptance he wanted to see in khirad's eyes, he was seeing it, which weakened him more in her love
SPOILERS ALERT ...
reviewmovies thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: vidya0906

Umme-Hareem means "mother of Hareem" (in arabic). So in that sense she did not lie (by giving a different name).

As in Umme-Qulsoom (the famous egyptian singer) - that would mean "mother of qulsoom". And mother of a male son would also be possible.

For fathers it would be "Abu Nuuman" as in "father of Nuuman" etc.

However this prompted me to question whether it was common for a father to be known by the name of his daughter - my gut was saying it may be less common maybe - but then the name "Abu Hanifa" was coming to mind - where "Hanifa" is very clearly a feminine name. Abu Hanifa was a very prominent original jurist/originator of jurisprudence in islam (and a very anti-mullah figure as well - in fact he had tussles with the jahil mullahs of his day as well - and this was 100 years after beginning of islam - as expected - modern day saudi/wahhabis generally tend to move focus away from Abu Hanifa).

So I searched google - and arrived at this story - of how Abu Hanifa got that name. His name was "Numan Bin Thabit" (i.e. son of Thabit) - but he is now known mostly as "Abu Hanifa" (i.e. father of Hanifa). And here is the story to explain it (hope the women reading this find it heart-warming):

http://nlightmentz.wordpress.com/2010/12/14/from-numan-bin-thabit-to-imam-abu-hanifa/

This link seems to confirm my original gut feeling that arab environment may not have usually encouraged fathers adopting names of their daughters - so Abu Hanifa adopting his daughter's name was a novelty indeed:
http://islamicchildrenstudy.blogspot.com/2010/05/imam-abu-haneefah-numanra-numan-bin.html

BTW - Imam Abu Hanifa was one of the scholars to recommend (I think) that scholars should have their own means of business (like Abu Hanifa did) - and should not depend on the authorities - or on their mullaiat as a means of business (something which is common now - and which is made worse by saudi money influencing the state of mullahdom in the mosque in the U.S. and in pak - thanks to saudi money being dominant in this area).

BTW - Imam Abu Hanifa was the first of the series of figures - Hanafi (the majority sunni sect) are named after him. The others - Maaliki, Shaafai, Hanbali - are named after scholars who were to follow Abu Hanifa (and were students or students of students of Abu Hanifa). Saudi Wahhabiism grew out of the British support of Saud family who were patronizing Wahhab (who was ostracised by his own father and brother for deviating from their Hanbali school of thought). So Wahhabiism is borne out of the thought of Wahhab - with roots in the Hanbali school (Maaliki, Shaafai, Hanbali are considered more "parochial" compared to the more cosmopolitan Hanafi school - in the words of Ibn Khaldun - and even Sultan Salahuddin Ayyubi i.e. "Saladin" who was himself a Maliki - this is why all the major islamic governments have always been Hanafi - which treats non-muslims as equal in terms of right to redress murder etc. - as compared to the more parochial schools which are more negative to non-muslim members - this is perhaps why you can see a degree of regressiveness in Wahhabiism/Arabs and the Taliban who are influenced by those sources of money).

Edited by reviewmovies - 10 years ago
vidya0906 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Friends this is off topic, but its fun...i tried you know which famous person😳😉 and i got the answer right 😛

Think any famous person in ur mind and click this link..

http://en.akinator.mobi/personnages/jeu

Don't know how it works, but simply awesome..👍🏼

mary78613 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

In this context it means, Mother of Hareem. She could not tell the receptionist her own name, so she gave the name 'Umm e Hareem'. So basically she was not lying.. 😃
BornHyper thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: mary78613

In this context it means, Mother of Hareem. She could not tell the receptionist her own name, so she gave the name 'Umm e Hareem'. So basically she was not lying.. 😃

I just made a guess in my previous post and it turns out to be correct 😊
mary78613 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Friends this is off topic, but its fun...i tried you know which famous person😳😉 and i got the answer right 😛

Think any famous person in ur mind and click this link..

http://en.akinator.mobi/personnages/jeu

Don't know how it works, but simply awesome..👍🏼

This is amazing. It guessed mine right too! 😆

Chahat_A_Doshi thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 7

Caught up with Humsafar catch ups

The office scene was awesome man

When Khirad entered the cabin and Asher looked at her it was like he was looking at a ghost

He had truly never ever expected to see her ever again in his life

the pain the anger was so evident on his face

Khirad too she spoke each and every word maintaining eye contact and kyun nahi kyun wo nazrein jhukaye she had not done anything wrong

When she tell him KHiser's blood group is also not B +ve the way she held her head even higher was too good

Asher OMG the way he slightly scoffed when she said main zyaada time nahi loongi chali jaaoongi he was like haan obvio you will go away after you get what you want tumhari specialty hai

The entire scene was fabulous and the follow up too Khirad sees the kid with he father the family

Asher too he threw away the file but one look at Hareem's picture and he knew she was hers; koi aur hota toh photo tear kar deta

+++++

Ye papa bhi na So cute; Mamma ko kya pata chalega Hareem called papa ya papa called hareem because mama toh was having a bath

Papa mamma can check the cal history na; mamma papa keep aside all logic when they explain to kids so cute

His expression changed when Hareem tol him mamma taught me not to lies kyunki Allah miya naraaz hote hain; he thought khud toh duniya bhar ka jhoot bolkar baithi hai and bacchi ko sacchai ka paath padha rahi hai

oh Asher bad; He told her not to say personal stuff in front of help and khud ne bhi wohi kiya Khirad was ready to cook for guest but he told maid to make jo bhi use aata hai

Sara yeesh I am happy that if I am alone Asher too is alone; If you love someone you would never want lonliness for them

Precap for Monday Uff Asher ka gussa; Fareeda ka inhuman nature adn love the way Khirad stands up to her

Neerjaa thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
From Asher,s perspective :
When Khirad was being accused being the characterless and her reputation was tarnished before Asher . Asher enters the house not expecting to see what did he saw and his mother started to play he game the same moment calling her names not giving khirad even to breathe . Asher was in shock and kind of stupor who has come to meet his love . Then Khizat just fanned the fire by saying his crap that you should not be afraid of people , we love each other and alike interests . Asher already was chased by Khirad,s innocently spoken words about boring , zinda dil and all . That time in the state of shock hew left the place . Here i feel his love was not strong enough to stand for her whether she was right or wrong . Asher goes to beach to cool off and to think about what did he saw and heard .
How can he not believe what he saw or heard , his mother showed him what she wanted him to see and hear . She has already seen Asher,s reaction to Khizar and then she was watching both of them being unhappy . She knew the reason between the two was Khizar . Where Khirad was unaware of Asher,s reason to be upset with her but Farida knew it and took advantage of this to split them .
Asher comes back and wants to talk to Khirad but mother dear put oil in the already burning fire that she went away with Khizar saying that it was forced marriage and she was never happy and now its in the open then whats the use of hiding the truth and in few days will talk to him about divorce . Aassher was a broken , shattered person . He does not have any reason not to believe his mother when he has seen his mother treating Khirad like daughter .
Khirad was never out of his heart and mind , thats why he started avoiding going to home where he could feel Khirad,s presence in the room every where and was running off. Then why did not he took her call when she called ? Was he scared that she will ask for divorce and really hated her for rejecting her . And rejection can be the major jolt to any person .
for him Khirad ran away with Khizar and when Betule calls him and tells him that she is innocent then again he might be thinking that Betule khala naturally will take her side and Khizar might have left her . Ego also comes here .
Khirad comes to him and tells him about daughter and he is rude to her and she leaves with her reports . Asher did not bother for 3-4 days , according to novel Asher was kind of in hazy state if it was really Khirad here ? But when Hareem hugs him saying you are my photowale papa then realty dawns n him . As per novel Khirad has locket with Asher,s picture in that .Then he runs to his office and sees Hareems picture and breaks down , somewhere guilt also that he reacted so late and then getting control of himself . This very minute scene FK did wonderful job , breaking down , controlling and then asking for the doctor , his voice modulation was superb . FK is not only have the looks but its talent which makes him shine
Brings them home but ignore Khirad , not once asks the explanation what happed that day and why she did that .Khirad has her reasons to hate him and he has his reasons where he felt he was rejected and cheated . Khirad did not have any feelings for him left and Asher has seen her expressions. He might be in the impression that she was not in love with me .
He was trying to provoke her at every given opportunity so that she speak something . But Khirad did not react. Yes he is perplexed by her behavior , she is becoming kind of puzzle to him .
He must have known through Hareem that they were living with Betule Khala . Khizar also went away after 2 days so Asher was at no point whom he could go after . when he was recovered after nervous break down . After that it was that Khirad has rejected his love whatever lies his mother fed him .