Credit: Twitter

Neerjaa thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: shweta_r

Humsafar: An ugly turn makes Fawad Khan's promising looking drama disappointing

Fawad Khan starring popular Pakistani drama Humsafar had us hooked for obvious reasons.Miles away from the regular daily soaps that perpetually project saas-bahu sagas in the name of an engaging dramas, Humsafar arrived as a breath of fresh air. The show looked artistically elegant and refreshingly different. We enjoyed the first 10 episodes as Fawad Khan and Mahira Khan's charming love-story made us sit up and take notice of the talent that comes from our neighbouring nation. If Fawad's confident screen presence made us go ga ga over the actor, Mahira Khan too charmed us with the ease with which she portrayed her character. In fact, we fell in love with the duo head over the heels as their equation bloomed into a romantic tale.

But the latest episode of the highly appreciated TV series shocked and disgusted us in equal promotions. We even felt cheated. So far the makers of the show presented us a beautiful story where the characters looked matured, practical with their thought-processes, and above all, they endeared us with their personality traits. The show had its share of glitches, but we moved over them because the characters looked believable and the screenplay had the so called thehraav. Sadly, when the drama walked the slippery slope of scheming and plotting saas ( Fareeda) who turns against her own daughter-in-law ( because she hails from a middle class background) A jilted lover ( Khizar) is used as a pawn to manipulate situation looked both unconvincing and highly regressive. We found ourselves chuckling as the regular rona-dhona was weaved into the plot and common sense took a back-seat.

We were reluctant to believe Asher ( He is a Yale graduate by the way, who spent his formative years in the liberal society of US of A) mistaking his wife Khirad's closeness to Khizar as an extra-marital affair. Khirad is just seen socialising and being pally with her new-found college buddy. Asher had no business doubting his wife just because she appears to be friendly. This sub-plot, at best, should have been exploited up to a certain limit perhaps to show how possessive and loving Asher is about Khirad. But by showing a series of unrealistic events that have unfolded in the last couple of episodes made the promising looking drama seem highly regressive.

Right from the claim that Khirad has an illegitimate child growing inside her to the otherwise practical and highly sophisticated Fareeda suddenly turning out to be a mean and menacing character. Suddenly she has transformed into an evil creature who can go up to any length to satisfy her own egoistic needs. The abrupt change in her made us laugh our backside out. Sadly, the show now suddenly appears formulaic, clichd and regressive beyond belief.

Some critics from Pakistan too slammed Humsafar for being misogynistic in nature. It fosters a myopic view where the endemic repressiveness prevails over practicality and acceptance. The characters too-which were beautifully layered, initially-now appear to be slotted into either black or white blocks.

Lastly, it would be wise ( and honest) to add that Humsafar has a brilliant star-cast that continues to charm us with its craft. But, sadly, the story has killed the mood and our collective euphoria has been butchered in one swift stroke!

Asher Might be Yale graduate , But Age difference and Khirad,s innocently spoken words have somewhere stayed with him making him insecure . And as Farida she was status conscious . Basirat,s warning about her giving divorce and he will decide who lives and who goes , destroyed in few moments her existence . He did not talked with her first and let her speak what she says . Basirat,s words were simmering inside her which turned in to hatred for Khirad as because of her she was insulted . She become so obsessed in her hatred that ,not even his own son , mattered to him . She always has this in her mind that Khirad is not suitable for Asher . Basirat deprived her right as a mother also .
She planted jealousy in Aasher and she was watching Asher,s expressions, in Khizar,s presence and took advantage of that . How can Asher not believe his mother when he saw her always treating Khirad as her daughter . And even after Basirat death , at the dining table when Farida was not eating then Khirad goes and make her to eat . He was watching all this and how could he not believe his mother . He saw and heard what his mother wanted him to witness. Farida planned very smartly the whole thing , she was quite composed later on when talking to Asher but it was quite apparent that in this she is somewhere mentally effected , No mother in her right mind will do what she did with her own son who was at the edge of death . Her hatred for Khirad made her blind .
Asher also was going through hell when was on the beach , it was shock for him when Khizar talked nonsense . Asher is shown to be mature person , he comes back and wants to confront Khirad , her mother just nailed the last stroke that she is gone with Khizar . He himself was shattered .
As earlier mentioned , it appears its genetic in Farida family as Sara is having the same traits , she is also turning psycho , if look at the exp[ressions of both .
Do not give verdict right now being black or white , Asher has also a person with flaws , he is not totally white . Farida turned totally dark in her ego and hatred . , Both are very strong emotions . If she would have been in right frame of mind then should have realized what she has done with her son after his nervous breakdown .
Yes last two episodes were regressive but how could she throw out Khirad from Asher,s life ? She accused her all kind of names . No person can remain so composed after all this and his expressions when Asher asked her about Khirad . Same as sara. Both are obsessive . If there is one appreciator than thee are hundreds to criticize .
Where the acting is concerned , i find none can stand in the last two episodes with FK,s acting skills .

BornHyper thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: RockChicGirl

Ek bhi kar lein toh bahut hain mere liye. 😆

I know...
Jis din usko movie ka confirmation aa jayega, main 24 hours ke liye IF nahi aaoungi 🤣
BornHyper thumbnail

Originally posted by: BlackStar.

Naomi Datta @nowme_datta 12h12 hours ago
@jiteshpillaai didn't you prefer zgh?

@jiteshpillaai
@nowme_datta I'm a bit soft of humsafar. I found zindagi heroine too grouchy and naashukra

@Bold - he is trying to speak urdu 😉
BlackStar. thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
I get called naashukri everyday by my mom 😆 Jiteish is really enjoying speaking in Urdu from what I see.
TheRager thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4

I know...
Jis din usko movie ka confirmation aa jayega, main 24 hours ke liye IF nahi aaoungi 🤣

I think you should pledge to sleep that 11pm instead for a week. 😆
BornHyper thumbnail

Originally posted by: BlackStar.

I get called naashukri everyday by my mom 😆 Jiteish is really enjoying speaking in Urdu from what I see.

Let me try this on my hubby... 😛
BlackStar. thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Let me try this on my hubby... 😛

Good luck 😆
pinkeye thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
9 pages? 😲 last night it was on page 127.

Huya kya hai subah subah? The place is buzzing. Fawad confirmed projects?

Btw good moring to all on hectic scheduled day again.
BornHyper thumbnail

Originally posted by: RockChicGirl

I think you should pledge to sleep that 11pm instead for a week. 😆

I am getting there Shreya,...

12 midnight on Sunday.. and 1130 last night... so i am sure by end of this week it will become 11 only to get back to 2 am over the weekend and the cycle will continue...