Kumkum Bhagya New Season BC ~ Results
Sunita Ahuja Claims Her Son Doing Better Film Than Saiyaara
YRKKH SM updates, BTS and Spoilers Thread #126
Pari should be sent to jail
Why are there no happy moments
Tanya is due a WKW class
Case Filed Against SRK Deepika
Chapter 6
"Aniket..." Survi swallowed dryly, thoughts of Vishaka gone facing the angry young man. "I can explain...I..."
"What?" he barked angrily. "How are you going to explain yourself? Don't think of lying, because what's out is out. As soon as I saw you run out I understood."
"I never meant...I..." Survi tried to explain emotionally. "I did it because..."
"...because you saw a really good sale, didn't you?" he deadpanned.
She was thrown for a loop and just gaped at him with her mouth open. "W-what?"
Aniket burst out laughing seeing her shock and confusion, practically doubling over in hysteria. It took a minute for everything to process, and Survi joined him.
"I see that you're just like everything typical girl," he sighed dramatically. "Deserting your friends in light of a really good sale. Your deep dark secret is out, don't think you can hide this from me anymore. It's ok, for the sake of our friendship I'll look over this terrible fault of yours. I mean it'll be hard, but no one's perfect."
The relief washing over her felt like a cold dunk in a stiflingly hot situation. She would have to be more careful from now on, that was a close call.
"I appreciate your efforts," she deadpanned, which prompted another round of laughter from him. "Accha, very funny ha ha. Now stop laughing and let's go, I'm hungry."
"Hey, wait up! I'm the injured patient, I can't keep up with you! What's the rush, Shanti will save us food!"
xXx
Late that night, in the comfort of her own home Survi sat outside on the front steps of her house. Lost in her musings, she never realised Karan's presence until a soft blanket was dropped around her shoulders. She looked up in surprise, but wrapped the blanket around herself realizing that a chill had set into her.
"Where are you lost?" Karan asked, settling a step above her, leaning against one of the two twin pillars of the front entrance.
"Everywhere," she answered softly. "I had such a close call in being discovered today, but on top of that I was so close to finding Vishaka. Sometimes I think I'm doing to right thing, but sometimes I feel as if what I'm doing is wrong. Lying, deceiving...I'm building new relationships on fake foundations of trust. If I get found out, I'd be hurting a lot of people."
Karan let the silence float between them, punctuated only by the occasional sounds of cicada's or a far off car horn.
"Have you ever heard that sometimes, a lie told for the sake of good is equivalent to a hundred truths?" Karan offered philosophically. "Lies and truth, they are intrinsic to the human identity. However both can be good and bad. A harsh and mean truth is sometimes much worse than a lie. It depends on the context, and for what purpose people use it."
"Like how Tai used them for wrong means?" Survi picked up. Karan smiled and nodded, staring off into the distance.
"Sometimes the nicest people are the most corrupt, and sometimes the most corrupt are the nicest," he said mysteriously. "You should be careful in who you trust."
Survi smiled brightly towards her friend, and grabbed his hand. "When I have a friend as smart as you, I have no fear in who to trust. I'm sure you'll guide me on the right path," she teased happily.
Karan shook her hands off and laughed, not making a comment. From the window of the house, Srikant peered out, smiling at the duo.
Survi, a father knows what is in his daughter's heart. Karthik was more than a friend to you, but now that chapter in your story has closed. Baccha, look and see what I am seeing. Bappa, please bless these two with a long lasting relationship.
He walked off, not wanting to eavesdrop on the duo's conversation.
"Ok, now tell me what happened with Vishaka," he demanded in interest.
"Well..."
xXx
The next few days at the Barve household passed without incident. People fell into routines, and on some note it made Survi happy that she was a part of the family's, and Karthik's routine. Once a day, around mid-afternoon the two of them would get together to go over his mother's reports, and for her to provide insight on potential new hires.
"No," Survi said firmly, pushing the file across the desk.
"Yes," Karthik rebutted firmly, pushing it back.
Survi smiled tightly, and pushed it back. "I think you're wrong, I still disagree."
"I'm wrong?" Karthik questioned sharply, standing up.
She rolled her eyes at his indignant reactions and chuckled seeing him grumble more. Yes, her Karthik had changed but getting to know him again showed that he was still young at heart, like he was so many years ago. In small little instances like this, his harsh demeanour would break a little and she would see her old Karthik. It gave her hope, that the damage Tai had done to him over the last eight years could be repaired.
"I think you should rethink what you said carefully," Karthik seethed dangerously, a little appalled that the young woman was so straight forward with him.
"Not at all," Survi chirped firmly. "I don't think that having her as a nurse is a good idea. Her profile isn't good at all."
"This is the fourth one you've rejected," he griped, and she swore there was an undertone of a whine. Survi shrugged, standing up. "Not my fault they aren't capable. I want the best for Lata kaki and these aren't it. If you'll excuse me."
Survi left the room, nearly colliding into Bindu and Hema. "Sorry," she murmured, making her way to Lata kaki's room. The sister duo watched her leave, and peeked into their cousin brother's room.
Her last remark pulled a smirk from his lips, and he promptly chucked the file into the trash bin. Shaking his head he began the search a new, when a call came in. The person on the other hand had him rushing out past the two.
"You know, it's nice seeing Karthik bhai somewhat relaxed around someone who isn't our family," Hema remarked innocently. Bindu's eagle eyed glance watched her brother go, then looked back to Simmi's retreating figure. A thought formed and a vicious smirk came across her face.
"Yes and no," she remarked, walking down the hallway at an idle pace. "If she makes some place in his mind, or even heart, it could be problematic for us. After all, remember what happened when that Survi was here. I shudder to think if that happens again."
Hema struggled to keep up with her sister's brisk pace, but her comments caused her to gasp and nearly lose her footing. "You're right!" she shrieked. "We can't let that happen."
"Keep your voice down!" Bindu hissed, pulling her sister into her room. "But at the same time, if she's changing Karthik bhai for the better than that's a good thing for us. Sometimes he is absolutely unbearable."
Hema tried to piece together her sister's train of thought. "So what should we do?" she asked in confusion. Bindu rolled her eyes at her sister's stupidity. "We make sure we have control," she explained, lounging in her chair confidently.
"Mom isn't the only one with a sharp mind," she crooned wickedly. "Let Simmi make a place in Bhai's life. All the better if he loosens up a bit and strays away from his angst filled thoughts and talks of Survi. In fact, if it comes down to it, we will even help them build a relationship."
"But what about her becoming more important than us, like Survi all over again," Hema whined childishly. Bindu rolled her eyes.
"We make sure that we have Simmi under our control. This way we kill three birds with one stone," she explained arrogantly. "Simmi makes him happy and he makes us happy. And if we control Simmi, we can control both of them. Karthik bhai will be with us for life that way."
Hema shrieked in excitement and even Bindu joined with a cruel laugh. It was time to play around with fate.
xXx
Karan waited patiently in his office, his abode. Karthik was coming in to meet him, and once again he was setting the final touches to his staged play for the day. The knock on his door alerted him it was time for the show to begin. He distracted himself with the file at hand, and called for the individual to enter.
Karthik was ushered into the office and made his way to the small desk where Karan sat. Karan pretended to be surprised, and rose to meet him.
"Mr. Barve, you came so quickly," he exclaimed, shaking the man's hand over his desk. "Please be seated."
He waited until Karthik was seated before making a fuss over his desk. "I'm sorry for the mess," he apologised, shifting files around. He picked up what he was looking for, an ornate black and white invitation and held it up. "I have so many papers I've lost track of things. Look at this for example, I don't even know how it got here. My secretary is terribly disorganized."
Karthik eyed to invitation. "Ah, the business ball," he remarked. "I didn't know you associated with those kinds of circles."
Karan smirked inwardly and tossed the invitation aside without thought seeing it had served its purpose. "Oh the clients of a psychiatrist are both rich and poor," he remarked, moving more files around. "Now where is it. Ah here! Now let-oh my!"
Tugging up the file he wanted, Karan inconspicuously let a stark red binder fall to the ground. He let himself look flustered, and Karthik stood up. "I'll get that, you seem a little lost," Karthik insulted.
Bending down, he grabbed the file when the name caught his eye. Survi - Patient #453. His heart hammered, and almost trancelike he picked it up. After his initial meeting with Karan he had tried to find out if the Survi that was mentioned was his. It seemed Bappa was rewarding him for his patience, as another sign that she might be the traitor he was looking for fell into his hands. His thoughts were broken as the file was ripped away from, him.
"Thank you!" Karan crowed happily. With purposeful stride he went to his shelf, and made sure Karthik saw him put away the file. He then settled behind his desk, noticing the hawk eyed attention that other had.
"Now," Karan said, snapping the attention back onto himself. "I've decided that after looking up your mother's file that it is a case I would like to work on. I see tremendous potential."
Karthik nodded, trying to focus on the man even though the file called out to him. "I hope that you live up to your reputation," Karthik remarked coolly.
Karan smiled easily and nodded. "I do too. However, my work can't start until your mother becomes conscious. That is up to someone to restore her mental and physical balance. I can't work with something that isn't on so to speak."
"Rest assured, that is in the works," Karthik replied.
"I figured as much, but I did some research myself." Karan pushed over a sheet of paper. "This is a very famous doctor who practises a few cities away. He specialises in coma cases, similar to your mothers. You might want to take a chance with him."
Karthik looked over the paper, and then folded it and tucked it into his breast pocket. "I'll be sure to have my secretary call him," he said. Karan shook his head and chuckled. "Unfortunately that won't work," he explained, resting his cheek on his propped fist. "He only meets with people face to face, you'd have to go visit him personally."
Karthik nodded, all the while trying to think of how to bring up the topic of the red file that rested not too far away. "Sir," the bumbling secretary called through the door. Karan let out an annoyed groan. Throwing an apologetic look at Karthik he called her in.
She strode in, a young childish girl who fumbled with the papers in her hand. "You're next appointment is here, I think," she said. "And there is someone on the line for you, the girl you asked me to call you about the business ball."
Karthik's sharp eyes took in the young woman, assessing her. A plan was beginning to formulate. Watching her walk off, he thought he found the way to get his hands on the file.
"Do you mind if I take this call? Karan questioned. "Not at all," Karthik responded. "If you'll excuse me, I'll just use the restroom."
Karthik made his way into the small office's bathroom, and pulled out his phone. He messaged his secretary, asking her to get some information on Karan's secretary. After that he messaged one his men who did some less than legal' work for him, instructing him to use the information to persuade the young secretary to make a copy of the file for him. Finishing his task, he met his reflections gaze and smirked wickedly. "Survi, you can't hide from me forever. I'll use this file to find out who and where you are, and then I'll make your life a living hell, the way you did mine."
Karan waited patiently for Karthik to exit the bathroom, keeping a look out through the mirror on the opposite side of his office which reflected the door. When he saw it creak open he began talking on the phone.
"Survi, it'll be good for you to go out," he said, pretending to be invested in his call. "I'm sure Srikant kaka won't have a problem with it at all. You've been working hard the past few days. Going to the business ball will be a treat, you might see some old friends too. I won't take no for an answer, your clothes are ready. Can't you do this much for a friend?"
A crash nearby had him ending his call, and he turned to find Karthik shell shocked next to a broken vase.
"Mr. Barve are you ok?" he called out, standing up in concern.
"Yes, I'm sorry about the vase. My secretary will send a replacement. If you'll excuse me, I have another urgent meeting," Karthik rattled off, hurrying out of the office.
Karan smirked watching the man go out.
Survi, it's time for you and Karthik to meet face to face. Now things will get interesting.
Karthik rushed out and stopped against his car. The conversation he heard was enough to unsettle him. Looks like he wouldn't have to wait for the file. He got his confirmation and an opportunity to see Survi. He pulled out his cell phone.
"RSVP me for the business ball in two days immediately," he barked to his secretary. Karthik clenched his fists, anger overtaking him.
It's time to make you pay Survi. Pay for everything you've done. After I'm done with you, you'll wish you never betrayed me the way you did.