Love Letters- Warmth, Intimacy and History

TereLiyeMINU thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

"A love letter can be very short or it can be long; it can be literary or non-literary; it can be bright or dark, cheerful or tragic. But above all, for a love letter to be a love letter it must be sincere!''

No matter how much we text on WhatsApp, Snapchat, or how many hours we skype, it is never same as a love letter. When it comes to expressing love, nothing beats the good old hand-written letter complete with stamps and sent via actual postal services.

The waits for the postman and cycle bells.The eternal longing urging to pull out the writer from the letter and hug him/her and the priceless happiness tracing their very handwriting,the words,the alphabets,the commas and full stops.

When we write a letter, we not only put our thoughts, but our heart in it. It shows the other person that we care, that we put that little extra effort of choosing a paper, selecting a pen, spending a little more time on writing, and walking those extra few metres to that post box.

From writing a simple "I love you ''to scribbling exquisite words, and walking that extra mile once. It will be worth it.

"I just miss you, in a quite simple desperate human way. I miss you even more than I could have believed; and I was prepared to miss you a good deal. So this letter is really just a squeal of pain''.

Can a simple emoticon will be able to bring out the emotion portrayed in above line...Na! Never.

Love letters offer a way to maintain and deepen intimacy, no matter which form they take.

Lets look at history and know some love letter phases of great people'.

In literature, we are offered a rare, perhaps singular invitation into such intimate correspondences. Whether the following love letters are artfully penned in a novel, memoir, or the anthologies of long-dead greatsthese vulnerable glimpses into the besotted human-id are all-consuming reads.

Here are some snippets from the love letters they sent to their significant other'.

1. I don't ask you to love me always like this, but I ask you to remember. Somewhere inside of me there will always be the person I am tonight.-- F. Scott Fitzgerald (Author of famous novel The Great Gatsby')

2. I answer one of your letters, then lie in bed in apparent calm, but my heart beats through my entire body and is conscious only of you. I belong to you; there is really no other way of expressing it, and that is not strong enough.-- Franz Kafka (Famous novelist of Trial' and Metamorphosis')

3. I came in at half past eleven. Since then I have been sitting in an easy chair like a fool. I could do nothing. I hear nothing but your voice. I am like a fool hearing you call me Dear.' I offended two men today by leaving them coolly. I wanted to hear your voice, not theirs. When I am with you I leave aside my contemptuous, suspicious nature. I wish I felt your head on my shoulder.-- James Joyce (Famous Modernist Irish novelist)

4. As always, a million heartfelt thanks for bringing such joy into this chick's life. -- Princess Diana

In a world where communications are dominated by the internet, a handwritten letter is more intimate than ever before. Imagining each word as a gentle stroke that touches your lover's soul is a feeling no technology can provide.

You have to trust your lover and yourself enough to put it all out there. Be vulnerable, be honest, and let yourself feel the emotions your words inspire. If you feel them, your partner will too, and that's what makes a handwritten letter pure magic.

So did you write a love letter today?😳

Edited by TereLiyeMINU - 7 years ago

dreamyp thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Waohhh wonderful post dear.. yes I wrote a love letter one day but kbi himmat nh hui uskO dene ki n ab tk mere pas ho h..
True jo bat love letter me, khudse likhe hue words me hoti h wo kisi video call me b nh ho shyd..
I would love to write bss koi aae to sahi life me😆
TereLiyeMINU thumbnail

Originally posted by: dreamyp

Waohhh wonderful post dear.. yes I wrote a love letter one day but kbi himmat nh hui uskO dene ki n ab tk mere pas ho h..

True jo bat love letter me, khudse likhe hue words me hoti h wo kisi video call me b nh ho shyd..
I would love to write bss koi aae to sahi life me😆

Thank you dear 😃 Letter mein jo jazzbaat hoti hai wo video call pe kahan..😳
Rucha21 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Hey Minu..
That was such a great read..

I agree letter conveys the emotions so perfectly and their is personal touch to it which can not be replaced by social media at all..

I personally have never written a letters to anybody..but I am eager to feel those emotins through love letter phase of samaina..
Samaina_16 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
Woah👏 I love reading your posts.
The opening quote ' For a letter to be a love letter, it must be sincere' sums it up all I am a letter person. Though I have never written a love letter, I have been writing letters to my friends and brother. The amount of emotions that are held up in a letter can not be matched by SMS/WhatsApp/Fb posts. I think aap ek letter me apne jazbaat jisss tareeke se bayaan krte ho, vo aap kahin aur nahi kr Skte. Aur ek khat me Jo apnepan ka ehsas hota hai uska to kehna hi kya❤️
I have always thought that whenever I meet the love of my life, I am surely going to write love letters to him. Pyaar ka izhaar ek khat se jyada acche se Kaise kiya ja skta hai😳

Thankyou for sharing some snippets from some of the love letters. I loved reading them😳
Phoenix100 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
Hey minu
I am in love with your write ups... The way you play with words is just amazing...
Love letters do have kind of importance which no technology can replace... Bt unfortunately i dont have experience with love letters... I used to write to my friends in other cities..
Love letters reminds of my mom dad... I still remember, when i was a child my dad was working abroad and we were staying in India... My mom used to write long letters at night... She used to write 4-5 pages of letters at a time... My dad too used to send long letters to her... May be he wrote those letters after coming back from work and sharing hi s thoughts and feelings in those letters... I never read any of their letters... Bt i can understand what it could be.
At that time i used to think, why was she spoiling her sleep and write such long Letters... Bt nw i cn understand why it was important for her... Those letters were precious for them and it gave them strength in going on and dealing with the separation.

Love u minu
Edited by angelic567 - 7 years ago
smiley_lizi thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 6
Wonderful post.

The warmth a love letter can give, that can no text message or video call give.

Alas! That charm is no more in this tech-world now.

I miss that time that charm. :(

Glad to see that our show brought back those feelings to me. :D
Edited by smiley_lizi - 7 years ago
TereLiyeMINU thumbnail

Originally posted by: Rucha21

Hey Minu..

That was such a great read..

I agree letter conveys the emotions so perfectly and their is personal touch to it which can not be replaced by social media at all..

I personally have never written a letters to anybody..but I am eager to feel those emotins through love letter phase of samaina..

Thanks Rucha for appreciation 😃 Me too awaiting to see their letter phase.Letter are beautiful and teach patience and love in newer ways.😳
MSK04 thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
Minu - Wow!! You always manage to enthrall me with the topics you choose to pen down your thoughts on... 👏

Love letters - such a simple term yet has so much depth in its meaning and history... Loved to read that...!! 😳

I used to write letters to my one and only love before our marriage... All the more fun, because I had to camouflage them as study material or some book applications, because he used to stay in a joint family... 😆 He would remain tensed that someday his family would tear an envelope and read the actual content, yet he confessed after marriage that he used to wait eagerly for those letters... 😳

Even now after marriage, if either of us is on a long business trip, we don't miss the chance to write to each other... And he unabashedly demands a written note from me on his every birthday, it can be a letter, a clumsy attempt at a poem, or anything but has to be a handwritten letter...😊

All our friends who knew my fetish for letters, made sure to send us handwritten wishes and letters on our wedding... We literally received dozens of them from around the world, and we cherish each one of them...

Thank you for reviving my memories...
TereLiyeMINU thumbnail

Originally posted by: moumita04

Minu - Wow!! You always manage to enthrall me with the topics you choose to pen down your thoughts on... 👏

Love letters - such a simple term yet has so much depth in its meaning and history... Loved to read that...!! 😳

I used to write letters to my one and only love before our marriage... All the more fun, because I had to camouflage them as study material or some book applications, because he used to stay in a joint family... 😆 He would remain tensed that someday his family would tear an envelope and read the actual content, yet he confessed after marriage that he used to wait eagerly for those letters... 😳

Even now after marriage, if either of us is on a long business trip, we don't miss the chance to write to each other... And he unabashedly demands a written note from me on his every birthday, it can be a letter, a clumsy attempt at a poem, or anything but has to be a handwritten letter...😊

All our friends who knew my fetish for letters, made sure to send us handwritten wishes and letters on our wedding... We literally received dozens of them from around the world, and we cherish each one of them...

Thank you for reviving my memories...

Thanks Mou for the kind words 😃 So glad that you shared your secret here.I can totally feel them.😳 Jijaji had to long for your letters for you are so good with words and expressions.👍🏼
I have written dozens of letters to my best friend and close friends.Sometimes they get irritated as I stack their tiny cupboards with my letters.

And the one for whom the letters were written never reached him.So they were written and given characters and published in newspapers.So in a way nearly 40% letters are now published stories and poems,30% gone to trash bin and rest 30% have been secured in my locked cabinet.

I still have the single chit he had written to me to meet in the break so that he could return my notes copy and clear some doubts..😆 If you remember 'Holding It Together''s Confession scene.😳