Zoyamalik2005 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Ishita has been here before. Subbu left her, married someone else, and had a child.
She had been here. Last time it was with someone she loved. But that love wasn't like this love. The love that consumes her is Raman. But unlike a lot of people, I really don't think she is playing martyr. I really don't.

Rather, I think she is so accustomed to being in pain now, she's become numb to it. The only times we have really seen her emotions spill over are in Raman's proximity. The dance was breath taking because they were lost in each other. When she sees him drunk and broken, she breaks too. And we see a glimmer of hope in her in the dream she has of Raman welcoming her with open arms. That, along with when she realises the boy at the police station is Adi, and that night are the only times we really see the pain.

Because if Ishita was a good actress before, these seven years have made her perfect her craft. And it certainly helps that she now feels numb. I think she is so used to feeling rejected, that whilst Raman in his desperate attempts to hurt her is really hitting below the belt, there is a reason doesn't react. He has killed her before, and now she is simply used to it.

So she is where they begun their story. The man she loves s moving on in front of her eyes. She is numb, and he is being driven to insanity because she remains stoic.

Raman is desperate to illicit a reaction, and he is failing to understand that it is hurting her, but this has become a constant for her. It's like Shagun. She gets so used to feeling insecure about shaguniya, because she constantly loiters around. I don't think she was ever able to shake that insecurity, and simply accepted it. And today, with Raman attempting to make her burn in hell with him, he can't understand she has been there for years already.

Ishita doesn't fight Raman back furthermore, because if he is sadistic, so is she. She thinks she deserves this grief. She was supposed to be dead for her inability to save Ruhi. And because she isn't it's like she welcomes his insults. Ruhi and Raman were her everything, and now she thinks she deserves this pain.

I also think the fact that she thinks she no longer has a right on him plays into things here. She has been where she thinks Shagun is now. And she won't hurt another woman the way she had been hurt. To play into Raman's antics and exert rage and fight like cats and dogs is part and parcel of how they became everything to each other. How they started their married life and fell in love. If Ishita plays into that again, she will fall in love with him again and again and that would be agonising for her, knowing that Raman has promised another woman now.

So I don't think Ishita is a martyr. I think pain is constant for her. And tears can't flow every second of every day. I think she is in so much pain she's exhausted. Let's face it, how can a dead person really fight themselves. And for all intents and purposes, Ishita is dead.

Now, from today's episode, she may start to resurrect herself for Raman's sake. To rectify her mistakes. At least Ishita is being accountable for her wrongs. But oh goodness I feel a heartbreaking sadness for her. My heart really does go out to her. She is so hurt, so used to pain, it's part of her now, and she can't feel anything else right now.

mayasun thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
Hi You are very good in your analysis
Hope CV pay at least .01% like your analysis to the character the created

-K.13- thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Great post!

I will admit I find it hard to connect with this Ishita not bc of her stoic nature bc I can understand that but simply bc of the execution and ultimate goal of this story. After watching many desi shows - I have become jaded about the FL & YHM 1.0-3.0 kept me from that happening here but this leap in its execution has biased me.

Maybe it makes me a bad person that I can't feel for Ishita but I also can't feel with Raman. I can conceptualize the all the emotions that were there from day one but no matter how I try I can't feel them.

So I continue to applaud you for staying emotionally connected.

Essentially both are living but dead

One is a rock
The other a meteor

Who will persevere? The rock

The meteor will crash and burn
Edited by -K.13- - 9 years ago
-Atii- thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Beautiful, beautiful write up! It may have even made me tear a bit. I agree with everything you said. She is dead inside, and it is heartbreaking...
svati12 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
I jst cant say anythng..
u r jst beyond evrythng...
ur analysis...👏

well explained ishita...
Sri1091 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Bang on post today's episode gave us an insight of ishita's feelings as she said there is nothing more in her to give anyone dat love is not present in her and she feels dat she is d reason for all wat had happened to d families and Raman and she is correct to an extent she was d reason she was d only string who always kept d family together and wen she left everything was broken and now she wants to bring back Raman not for her sake but for his sake for their children and for their families and in this process she will get back her Raman too
EkPaheli thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
I often find inspiration for my posts and works in songs - since I believe nothing is more magical and powerful a force to move a heart as music - you may sometimes not understand the words sang by someone, not make out the language hummed too but music, it has no boundaries, language, religion or culture.

As someone who has grown up listening to classics of Lata Mangeshkar, Rafi and Mukesh, I often prefer songs of the era gone by than what we have today because of the sheer poetry of their lyrics.

dil ki tasalli ke liye, jhoothi chamak jhootha nikhaar

jeevan to suna hi raha, sab samajhe aayi hai bahaar

kaliyon se koi poochta , hasti hain ya woh roti hain

aisi bhi baatein hoti hain

kuchh dil ne kaha

kuchh bhi nahiin

For the consolation of my mind, (I did) this false glitter and groom!

Even then, my life remained barren, though everybody thought of a spring in it!

Someone should have asked the flower-buds, are they smiling or weeping?

Did my heart whisper anything?

No, no, nothing at all!

The above verse is from a song called 'Kuch Dil Ne Kaha' from a movie called Anupama and is one of my favorite tracks, with little to no music at all in this song but it just adds to the beauty of this piece, for I believe the lyrics are so gorgeous, that they need no help...

To me, this verse particularly stands out in the song as you can get from the meaning why and as I think of Ishita today, it feels befitting that the words are apt for Ishita today.

No one who LOOKS at her, can actually SEE her...the woman looks gorgeous, glowing positively and from her face or appearance you wouldn't make out at all how lost, lonely or broken she feels on the inside...you couldn't know that this woman who is putting up a smile on her face is crying on the inside because that's the front she wants to present to the world in general - hence the words

dil ki tasalli ke liye, jhoothi chamak jhootha nikhaar

jeevan to suna hi raha, sab samajhe aayi hai bahaar

No one can look at her and actually SEE how miserable she is, what ails her broken heart and shattered soul, because she's that scared, that fragile where it really matters and the one person she allowed a glimpse into her soul, the one person she trusted enough to show her bruised, battered - labeled as 'barren' self - threw it at her face at the moment when she was at her lowest, he kicked someone who was already down and now, she's afraid of allowing to hand over that power to him or anyone else again...it's better to pretend than to be real...it's easier to fake than not too.

kaliyon se koi poochta , hasti hain ya woh roti hain

aisi bhi baatein hoti hain

Since the moment she is back and known, everyone has expected things of her - wanted something, anything. A mother wants the proof that she loves her and her family, the MIL who loves her as a daughter wants her to reunite her broken home and care for her son, the son she loves wants her back because he has missed her and been lonely and is longing for her love and care, the man who she continues to love despite the fact that she thinks she's incapable of love now and has exhausted all the capacity she had for it - wants revenge, wants to hurt her, wants answers and her attention...in all of this - not ONE person has asked her what does she want - what is in her heart, what went on in her mind on that night seven years ago and for all the years since...and since she feels she's the reason of misery and hurt and hate everywhere, she's licking her wounds by herself not allowing them to fester but not getting a chance to be healed as well...so she's doing the one thing that comes to her - she's allowing herself to numb the pain, to show she is heartless and doesn't feel and it's not much of a task anymore - the two people who held her heart and soul - both in a way aren't with her...

kuchh dil ne kaha

kuchh bhi nahiin

And while today her heart, might want to whisper to her lots of things - like her dreams give away - how she craves the husband she is madly in love with even now she has learned to ignore the wishes her heart whispers because what good would come of it - she has loved and lost...and that's the beginning and end of everything for her...

To me this is where Ishita stands today - wanting to drown out the whispers of her heart as she hears to everything and everyone around her ...

Edited by QueSeraSera - 9 years ago
traveller_girl thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
Brilliant write up oncell again
Loved it

SurabhiA91 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Bang on nothing to add brilliant write up
Good to see ishita is owning up to her mistakes raman will do the same at a later stage but guess that would be too late as he doesn't realise that ishita has given up on her relationships now she is doing her duty n even after everything sorts out I don't think she would return even if she wants to
charminggenie thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
If this was real world, I would connect with the emotions you have connected here..it's a gem of a analysis. Yet, this is a fictional story on tv, which is also a reality.
Hence, somewhere the characters need to have a very visible and tangible support, because unlike in real like where a husband making choices of a wife' womb or calling her names or even attempting molestation would mean end of relationship. No love. Here, you need to give your characters, voices even in silence..you need to hold the tongue because you are selling the fictional characters on the premise of "mohabbatein" , need to tangibly support it..make sure you , the viewer never question the premise or the title. Hence, as much as extrapolation makes for a good discussion, it ends up making a problematic viewing because we aren't sure if thats what the characters are selling.

Ishita was also a woman who left her love for Subhu and moved on..she had deep seated insecurities but she was inspiring because she was able to cut away and live with her parents, work independently and discover herself ..even with PAIN. But here it' not just that, there is a lot of damage..her voice needed a lot of reasoning. Why she stayed away for long, why she didn't inform her family. Why leave Pihu and Adi?

The reason usually given about her not informing her family is that they kept silent when Raman was shouting at her. But But , Ishita on-screen has NEVER blamed her family or had anger against them. what is she doing making the two families unite? But why?
Also, her family had their own share of indifference with Bhallas not like they welcomed Raman or his behaviour , Mihika was pissed at him. Vandhu rightly felt that this relationship has taken away whatever Ishita build for herself.

Yet this is fiction. Ishita and Raman are meant for each other.
But this Ishita needs cvs and writing tangibility to show why she is in pain...why she is numbing and if she is aware of this pain..then what is it about...family, her own self, kids, Raman ..what?

Hence character numbing on-screen is a very dangerous scenario especially when the paralle character aka Raman is made to hit the lows..because it makes both of them look bad and their love hollow. Weak Narration.