I should’ve made the speech
Bigg Boss 19: Daily Discussion Thread - 10th Sep '25
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai Sep 10, 2025 EDT
MAIRA AGAYI 10.9
🏏T20 Asia Cup 2025- Ind vs UAE 2nd Match, Group A, Dubai 🏏
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai Sep 11, 2025 EDT
How many more chances for Janhvi Kapoor!!?
Should Janhvi Kapoor Join India Forums
Karisma Kapoor's Kids Move Delhi HC
KIARA EXPOSED 11.9
"I don't like women who are too thin" : Bipasha Basu
Anupamaa 10 -11 Sept 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Navri and her eternal victimisation
VICE PRESIDENT OF INDIA- CP Radhakrishnan
When Love Finally Grew Up ~ A Rumya Three-Shot [Completed]
🏏Cricket Forum Banner Contest Announcement🏏📢
Mannat Har Khushi Paane Ki: Episode Discussion Thread - 27
🏏T20 Asia Cup 2025- BD vs HK 3rd Match, Group B, Abu Dhabi 🏏
I should’ve made the speech
Seriously? His first language is not English
Clown? why is it such a crime to feel intimated or nervous and blabber a bit in an accent. This was a huge global event. Not everyone’s comfortable in their skin or have more natural English accents if it’s not their first language.
Still more understandable than Minnesota and white southern accent .
I am so happy for them
NTR sounds a bit like Kumail Nanjiani to me.
Anyhoo, after living in the United States for over 20 years, I have given up cringing or laughing at folks who fake accents. It may sound absurd, silly, ridiculous, or pandering to many - but I see it as what humans do for survival and belonging.
The United States is extremely cruel and rejecting of non-white accents. Especially thick East Asian, African, and South Asian accents are often made fun of. People will swoon and fetishize European and Australian accents. But people of color get discriminated against for having accents. POC accents can ruin and derail entire careers. POC accents can affect your ability to date, order delivery, or get basic customer service.
So, I deeply admire people with the courage and conviction to own their accents. But to those who put effort into faking it, I see you too, and it's Ok; you do you to belong and survive.
Besides, why would I commend British and Canadian actors for how American they sound and then condemn Indian actors for doing the same.
An yous guys tell yer folks I says hi.
They did amazing. They made India proud.
Originally posted by: ohophelia
People would criticize either way. When someone does talk in Indian accent, particularly South Indian accent, you'll have people complaining how it's hard to understand and keep asking them to repeat themselves. Now when they have put on a slight accent so that it's easier for the west to understand them they are called clowns. There's just no winning. To me, they sound okay. Jr. NTR could've been better.
💯 yes
These people judge in either way..they have problem with every thing..i heard people criticizing heroine for not learning that particular language even after acting many years in that industry and also I saw criticizing a heroine voice who learnt that language and dubbed herself for a particular movie. I'm not understanding what people need now a days😕Har Baath ko criticise karna jaruri hai kya?
Coming to the topic I didn't find it weird r fake. Infact tarak is person who tries to learn new thing r new.language ..He put so much effort and his dedication is vere level. I'm happy for RC tarak and SSR ( kudos to RRR team) proud to be their fan
Originally posted by: BubbleTea
Still more understandable than Minnesota and white southern accent .
Having lived in both places, I definitely don’t blame you for the latter. I’m a Georgia girl. Even then, I will never be able to understand an Alabama man’s speech unless I have both my ears, my heart, my brain and my soul open.
He's doing it to be understood. I don't believe there's any delusion there of wanting to be part of Hollywood as was the case with Aish and PC.
It's kinda cringy watching those 2 ladies fake the accent in the attempt to belong. Maybe because I never felt the need to.
The sector I'm working in is not dependent on accent except that I have to make myself understood. My high-pitched voice gives me more trouble than the accent TBH, because older people lose their hearing first in the higher pitches, and they can't hear me. 😔
Anyway, trying to step back from judging Aish and PC because they're clearly in a field where accent counts.
RRR peeps are just trying to be understood. The posts against them are getting ludicrous at this point. They won because of their hard work. The money spent on PR only gets judges' eyeballs on the work. The win is on merit and a few other factors, politics, need for global reach, etc.