Repeat post : Deleted
Jaya posted this before
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 01 Sep 2025 EDT
Bigg Boss 19: daily Discussion Thread- 1st Sept 2025.
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 31 Aug 2025 EDT
Mannat Har Khushi Paane Ki: Episode Discussion Thread - 26
CASE IN COURT 31.8
UMAR KHAYID 1.9
Anupamaa 31 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
Vicky says Katrina hates ‘honest feedbacks’ about her acting but…..
Why she gets bollywood movies
Bacha chor is such an incompetent lawyer🤦♀️
Happy Birthday wat_up 🎂
Celebs pictures during Ganesh Festival
Jee Le Zaraa Is Happening
In this gen Cliff wali legacy maut will not happen
I wanted Abheera’s fate for Akshara
Janhvi Kapoor In Talks For Chaalbaaz Remake
SD BURMAN Dada and I..
Remembering S.D. Burman
on his 25th death anniversary,
which fell on October 31...
Dada Burman's music for me was like a peg of liquor that hits you gradually, but rises to total intoxication due to its sheer potency. My initiation into film music was through the songs of Naushad's Mughal-e-Azam and Mere Mehboob, Shanker-Jaikishan's Junglee, Sasural and Jis Desh Mein Ganga Behti Hai, and Ravi's Gharana, and initially I had little inclination for the exotica that was Dada's true metier.
Not that I was unaffected by Dada's music even then - I never knew that it was a Sachin Dev Burman delight that I was savouring when I heard the haunting Na tum hamein jaano (Baat Ek Raat Ki), Khanke kangana (Dr Vidya), Dil ka bhanwar (Tere Ghar Ke Saamne), Mora gora ang lai le (Bandini) and a little later, Pyar mein aag mein (Ziddi). On a lesser note, there was also Jaanu jaanu ri (Insaan Jaag Utha), but the two songs that really affected me, haunted me and did things I did not understand then to my sense were Roshan's Parda uthe salaam ho jaaye (Dil Hi To Hai) and SD Burman's Na tum hamein jaano (Baat Ek Raat Ki).
On reflection today, I realise why I did not identify these songs as Burman beauties, and that fact alone does wonders for SD's standing. And the answer is, that while a certain similarity encompassed the compositions of the others, the music of Dada Burman was infinitely varied, each song being as fresh as a newly-fallen dew-drop. I was later to read somewhere that SD Burman once told his son Pancham to completely and consciously forget a song once it was recorded. And what a positive difference that would have made to Pancham's already-fabulous ouevre had he headed this priceless advice!
While agreeing generally with the view that his son was far more gifted than him, I would still say that he lacked the greatest qualities of the senior Burman. This was just one of them. There were others, and had Dada lived on and not died on October 31, 1975, I dare say that he would have eclipsed his own son in the 1980s. His earlier struggles (Dada almost packed his bags and went back to Calcutta in 1949-50 as he was disillusioned with Mumbai) and final success with Mashaal, Baazi, Naujawan, Sazaa (1950-51) had armed Dada Burman with impregnable steel - he became and to the end he remained a fighter.
He brooked no compromise in his music. Pancham often left some work to his assistants who cared a hoot for RD's interests. It is part of filmlore that Dada waited for a Nepalese drum for Honton pe aisi baat (Jewel Thief) and had a no-nonsense approach. Lata did not sing for him for six long years, years that saw him present music buffs with scores as precious as Chalti Ka Naam Gaadi, Pyaasa and Kala Pani. He was a man who simply did not believe in surrendering.
It is this doughtiness that was not only missing in Junior Burman, but also the courage in refusing to bow to trends that he did not agree with. If he did not want a 100-piece orchestra, it did not matter if everyone else did. He never believed in the holier-than-thou castigation and dismissal of junior composers. I remember the summer of 1974 when S.D. Burman's Yeh laal rang kab mujhe chhodega (Premnagar) vied for the top slot of the charts with his son R.D. Burman's Jai jai Shiv Shanker (Aap Ki Kasam), Kalyanji-Anandji's Mera jeevan kora kagaz (Kora Kagaz) and Laxmikant-Pyarelal's Gaadi bula rahi hai (Dost). That was Sachin Dev Burman. His music sparkled with joie de vivre because he had no insecurity or vitriol in his system. That is why he did not need to change with the times - he remained himself, forever young-at-heart, and his music always sounded state-of-the-art.
As a kid, I remember the craze for his songs in Guide and later for Jewel Thief. I cannot forget the magic that was Aradhana - the omnipresence of those songs on radio and loudspeakers was matched only by Bobby later - and never again. And I loved that quaint voice singing Wahaan kaun hai tera and Safal hogi teri aradhana, and a few months later, Prem ke pujari (Prem Pujari).
For me, as an evolving music lover, the discovery of Dada Burman and his wondrous and aromatic music came as a reverse journey from this era (and the wonderful scores of Gambler, Talash, Tere Mere Sapne, Ishq Par Zor Nahin, Naya Zamana and Sharmeelee that followed), on to Yeh Gulistan Hamara, Abhimaan and Premnagar. It was later that I went back into the Dada era of Kaagaz Ke Phool, Pyaasa, Tere Ghar Ke Saamne, Sujata, Funtoosh, Nau Do Gyarah, Kala Pani, Kala Bazar and the other peaks of that master's creativity. In retrospect probably this was the best thing that could have happened, for it enabled me to understand that sheer genius and his extraordinary modernity. Place Dukhi man mere (Funtoosh) in the voice of either Kumar Sanu or Vinod Rathod, on someone as contemporary as Anil Kapoor, and it will not sound the least incongruous. And the same held true for countless other Burman spell-binders - they simply lacked the handicap of sounded dated. Amazingly, these timeless gems sound as apt in any decade.
And interestingly, his newest numbers seemed classic and solid enough to fit into the less market-driven era of film music - the '50s and '60s. What else could you term lovelies like Mera man tera pyaasa (Gambler/1971), Ab to hai tumse (Abhimaan/1973), Khilte hai gul yahan (Sharmeelee/1971) and O mere bairaagi bhanwara (Ishq Par Zor Nahin/1970) but solid, substantial and yet mass-friendly? Men and women, wine and concrete, age with the years. S.D.Burman never did so, and neither will his melodies.
Rajiv Vijayakar
31st October, 2004 marks twenty nine years from the day Sachin Dev Burman left for his heavenly abode. While for himself, on that fateful day, Dada achieved the immortality that accompanies death for artists of his stature. For his family, friends, admirers and fans he left behind a void that was difficult to fill. One such family, friend, admirer and fan all-rolled-into-one was fellow musical genius Kishore Kumar, who has since achieved immortality himself. Burman and Kishore's association went back to their early days with Bombay Talkies and spaned almost three decades. Throughout which they shared a very special chemistry. Even though a good twenty three years separated them in birth, they still had a personal rapport that transcended this age-gap and translated to immortal creations in the music room. Kishore had tremendous respect and love for Burmanda which was reciprocated in equal measure with great affection from Dada Burman. Dada's death in 1975 deeply affected this sensitive singer. The famous radio host Ameen Sayani recalls Dada Burman's funeral, the tears in Kishore's eyes and his(Sayani's) realisation of how much emotional depth this seemingly carefree, jovial and wacky man hid within him. In the days following Dada Burman's death, Sayani met Kishore Kumar a couple of times in the hope to get a small tribute for the customary obituary programs that follow such occasions. What he got in return was a radio program beyond his expectations. Kishore takes the concept of obituary tributes to a level that no one else had taken it before or has achieved since. It's a little wonder then that this tribute is one of Ameen Sayani's most prized possessions. In this extremely entertaining, yet poignant and heartfelt account, Kishore takes us out to meet the Burmanda he knew and loved. He brings the late composer/singer alive with his excellent mimicary skills and his extremely entertaining descriptions of Burmanda's endearingly eccentric ways. He gently pokes fun at Dada's nasal singing style, his quaint pronunciations and impishly unpredictable nature as Dada tried to play mentor to him down the years. By the end of it, Sachinda, with his childlike enthusiasm for his music and his eccentric single-mindedness in all matters related to it and Kishore as his sometimes reluctant and sometimes indulgent deputy both endear themselves to the listeners. They paint a happy picture of lush fields, blue skies and bright rainbows. This happy picture however fades away with a jolt back to reality. Burmanda is no more... The grief in Kishore's voice as he signs off with a pathos filled Jeevan ke safar mein rahi, is now, twenty nine years down the line, somewhat universal. Kishore, in this approximately fifteen minute piece takes us on a roller-coaster ride of emotions and at the end he leaves us with a picture of Burmanda that only he could paint. Download Kishore's Tribute to Sachinda | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Note This tribute was originally broadcast as a part of the radio series S.Kumar's Filmi Muqadama in 1975. | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Acknowledgements This radio program has been brought to us courtesy the painstaking efforts of Kaustubh Pingle who has very generously shared it with all of us. We thank him for the same. We are also grateful to Vishwas Nerurkar who was equally generous in passing on this recording to Kaustubh. Many thanks to both of them for bringing this gem of a radio program to all music lovers. |
Songless Indian Films
by S.D Burman
Occasionally Dada would put his baton down and pickup the pen. This article on the role and indispensability of music in Indian films was one such instance. This piece was written in 1966 and appeared in the 8th September issue of the Cine Advance film journal.
(Circa 1966, Cine Advance)
The main factor in the film is its story. Everything else, including songs and background music, serve only as a fine embroidery to improve and enhance the impact and beauty of the story content. Hence it is a logical argument that if the film has a powerful and gripping script that holds the audience interest from beginning to end, then I agree that the other paraphernalia like songs, dances and even other allied embellishments are not a must. |
But songs are very necessary in musical films. Even here care has to be taken in their use. If songs are not properly utilized and merged with the film as a whole, they create the hindrance which affects the continuity of the story. It is this aspect which causes all these complaints in Indian films. It's not that the people don't like and enjoy songs as such; it's how they are presented in the film which matters to them while witnessing a film. |
A cliping from an interview of Anuradha Paudwal.
------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------------
You got married at a very young age in 1972 to Arun Paudwal who was a music arranger for S.D Burman. Did that open doors for you?
On the contrary he was very strict. Lataji and Ashaji were at the top and they were such stalwarts. It's not like it is today, where any body and every body just gets up and sings. You had to have exceptional talent to even be noticed and you were compared directly to the Mangeshkars and they were the epitome of perfection. So Arunji said just because someone thinks they can sing doesn't mean they have to! He said that even after I had been singing professionally for 4-5 years, and had won so many awards. I myself had no interest in singing professionally. Even when people used to approach me and ask me to sing, I used to get so nervous.
It was my in-laws especially my father in law who was very fond of me and would keep telling Arunji, make her sing, and he would say, to his father, "It's not so easy, look at the competition." My father in law said you wait and see one of these days she will sing a duet with Asha Bhosle.
So how did the turning point come?
I used to take lunch every day for Arunji at music director S.D. Burman's place. Often Arunji would put together some music, record it on a tape recorder and play it for Burman da. When the movie Abhimaan was ready for release, Burman da wanted to record a shiv sholka to open the film. Arunji asked me to sing it, recorded it and took it as a demo tape to Burman da. He heard it and said who sang this?
Arunji said my wife, and Burman da said, you have been married for a while now and she has been coming here so often and you didn't tell me she sings. He then said let her sing the shloka, why bother Lataji for it. That is how I started. I do have to tell you a strange story connected to my musical beginnings in the industry. One day I was going in a cab and I was humming. The cab was driven by a Sikh gentleman and he said to me you seem to be very fond of singing. Who do you pray to for music? I said, traditionally we pray to goddess Saraswati.
He said well as you know the celestial instrument Nada came from Lord Shiva, so pray to him and see how things take off for you. It was strange hearing this from a Sikh cab driver. I did and strangely I started my film career by reciting that Shiv shloka and I have always felt the impact of Shiva's blessing in my musical career.
A lot of people thought that shloka from Abhimaan was sung by Lata Mangeshkar.
That's true. In fact it was funny because a lot of people congratulated her and said the best piece of musical rendering was the shiva shloka.
We all know that it was S.D. Burman who made Kishore, the superstar singer of the seventies, when he chose him to sing 'Roop tera mastana, pyar mera diwana' for Rajesh Khanna in the superhit Aradhana.
Do yu know the The last song Kishore sang for S D Burman was during the time when S D was in a deep coma, and R D had to complete the recording. It was the song Badi suni suni hai from the film Mili. S D Burman went into coma while recording the song Badi sooni sooni hai.
Really, i did not know that...
his songs were brilliant.."mere sapno ki rani" - is still a favourite. the movie aradhana has so many diffrent''genre"of songs..amazing.. too good.
there was this songs of his :dheere se jaana bagiyan mein--o bhomra"..I think he was our first nasal king..but what arange of songs...Kishorda owns majority of his fame to the baap beta jodi of SDB & RDB..
He is a legend in Tripura...
We all know that it was S.D. Burman who made Kishore, the superstar singer of the seventies, when he chose him to sing 'Roop tera mastana, pyar mera diwana' for Rajesh Khanna in the superhit Aradhana.
Do yu know the The last song Kishore sang for S D Burman was during the time when S D was in a deep coma, and R D had to complete the recording. It was the song Badi suni suni hai from the film Mili. S D Burman went into coma while recording the song Badi sooni sooni hai.