TOI: TV shows are not that important-Sachin

Armu4eva thumbnail
TV show directors are not that important

Says actor Sachin Pilgaonkar,who is about to complete 50 years in the entertainment industry

Soumitra Das

He is one of the most popular faces ever on Indian television as well as films,and Sachin Pilgaonkar has worn the directors hat with lan too,as evident from the success of Tu Tu Main Main and Kadvee Khatti Meethi (on television ) and several hit Marathi films.Besides,along with his actress wife Supriya Pilgaonkar,he managed to win the first season of Nach Baliye! We caught up with the actor at the launch of Star Ya Rockstar,a singing reality TV show,he said,Television and films have given me a lot.And yet,its only human to ask for more.I am excited that I have got a platform to showcase my singing talent and I have been devoting three hours everyday to singing.This is my 50th year in the entertainment industry and yet,I am learning new things everyday.I cant ask for more. Sachin,who started off as a child actor at the age of four in Marathi film Ha Maaza Marg Eekla in 1962,went on to give hits like Geet Gaata Chal,Balika Badhu and Nadiya Ke Paar as lead actor.So why dont we see him in Hindi films now As an actor,I would never say no to good roles.I am doing a couple of Marathi films where I have really interesting roles.Actors should never say no to experimentation,because you widen your horizon only by experimenting.But when people have given me so much of love and affection,it is my responsibility to ensure that I do quality work.I believe there are still a lot of things that I havent explored. he explains.
Will we see him directing a TV show in the near future To be honest,I cant make daily soaps.They are not my cup of tea.I am planning a bi-weekly HIndi comedy show in the near future.People say that comedy is my forte. shares Sachin.
Talking about why he turned a producer,he says,I turned producer to justify the director in me.I remember directing a show where I told the production house that it wont be possible for me to come to the sets everyday and wanted the schedule to be relaxed.They said that it wont be a problem and they would get some scenes directed by someone else.That day,I realized that the importance of a TV director is almost zero!
Mention his wife Supriya and the smile broadens.I couldnt have found a better life partner.Even today,she looks at both of us as students in this industry and her constant support has gone a long way in making difficult decisions seem like a cakewalk. he signs off.

Sachin Pilgaonkar

[Previous] Ahmedabad Times [Next]

EXOL thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Love Couple India Season 2 Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: MPROCKS

acting hi nahi aati toh kya karega bechara looser

ONLY MANASI DESERVES TO WIN,OTHERS ARE JUST LOOSERS AND THEY CAN NEVER BE AS BRILLIANT AS MANASI..
SACHIN SHULD BE ELIMINATED NEXT HE'S SUCH A BESURA AND HAS NO TALENT
OTHERS DOESNT EVEN DESERVE TO BE IN THE SHOW ...WHO CHOSE THEM
THEY REALLY NEED TO LEARN SOMETHING FRM THE MULTITALENTED MANASI

u got some problem or wat???? why are u bashing other actors and trying to show u r big manasi fan...when each of ur post is showing u r not true MP fan...
kesariya-balam thumbnail
Hey yes manasi is indeed a fantastic actor n singer but other actors also deserve some respect so please dont bash them 😊

hope that manasi wins 😃
iViews thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
I JUSE love how sachinji exolain the importance of Director in a series . That explains a lot 🤣
samiya.059 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
U cant bash actors.u r mp fan bt that doesnt mean that u will use disrespectful words for others...bad manners