Awesome update Archana 👏can't wait for the next update 😃
Archana_Vinod thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 3

UNDER THE SKY LANTERNS - PART 18

An original story by Archana Vinod

"I know," she says quietly, "that you are caring, soft, sensitive and gentle."

He is unable to meet her probing gaze any longer and quickly looks away. His heart pounds madly. He is breathless.

Roli turns soft at his overwhelming need to withdraw. The light which seemed to emerge from his eyes a while ago instantly flickers away. She looks into them for a moment. They seem distant and shrouded.

"You're also talented," she adds, "Do you know that?"

Siddhant turns to her again. He can't believe his ears. Did she just say that I'm talented? In what way?

"Oye," she smirks, "don't look at me like that! I'm not kidding! You ARE talented. You danced pretty well back there. Noticed?"

He remains quiet as he recollects their dance session at the hotel. Was I that good? No, can't be.

"And yet," she continues, "for some reason, you don't believe in yourself."

That's true, he thinks, I don't think too highly about myself.

"You just need to let go," she continues, "don't imprison yourself. Don't be scared."

Gently, she takes his hand in hers. He is stunned to feel her touch. She places his cradled hand on his pounding chest.

"Feel that?" she asks, "you really need to calm down. Now, just close your eyes."

He looks at her with a question mark.

"Close your eyes," she snaps, "go on."

He closes them. Why am I listening to her?

His world seems to drown in the darkness behind his closed eyes. And instantly, a devastating sense of gloom takes over.

"Now feel that," her voice seems to come above from the darkness, like a guardian angel, "see that?"

See what, he wonders, all what I see is darkness. All what I hear are whispers. All what I feel is doom.

"Feel it," she says, "feel your heart beating."

THUP-WHUP-THUP-WHUP-THUP-WHUP...

"What do you see," she asks him, "how does it make you feel?"

Darkness... he thinks... makes me feel scared... like running away... makes me want to hide...

"There's a child in all of us," her voice tells him again, "how do you see yours?"

FLASHBACK SCENE:

Siddhant, age 10, looks longingly out of his window into the bare distance. He seems to be waiting... waiting... and waiting... for someone who would never turn up.

Siddhant, age 10, stands alone in a gloomy, dimly lit room. A grim and forbidding authoritative figure in his 50's sits before him at his wooden desk with a large cane and reads through some papers. He glowers at Siddhant, obviously displeased and nods his head no'. Siddhant shivers in fear as the man lifts up his cane to strike him.

END OF FLASHBACK SCENE

"I think you're scared," comes Roli's voice again, "hurt... alone..."

Tears begin to form behind his closed eyes. He realizes that she's right. He realizes that someone knows... that she knows... finally...

"Now picture your present self," she goes on, "strong, confident, bold and daring, yet kind, caring, gentle and sensitive."

She pauses for him to get a glimpse of himself.

Siddhant searches the darkness for himself... for that source of comfort. But his older self seems to be playing games. He pops up in the distance like a mist and then quickly fades away. He's hard to catch.

Roli notices that Siddhant seems troubled. She presses his hand onto his pounding heart more firmly.

Where is he, thinks Siddhant as he frantically searches for his older self in the darkness. Sometimes, he crops up really close and then disappears.

What he sees next, sends a chill down his spine.

From the inky distance, a warm feeling creeps into his being. A graceful figure walks up to his younger self. Is that an angel, he wonders as he strains to see the blurry figure draw closer. No... It's Roli.

Hey Uparwaale, he thinks nervously, why am I seeing her?

And yet, he feels at ease. He feels at home. He feels at peace with himself.

"Now go down and give the little one a nice, big hug," her voice breaks through the darkness once again.

Roli, late 20's, approaches a 10 year old Siddhant and draws him into an embrace. He quivers in her arms fearfully.

"Hold him tight," she continues, "make him feel good. Let him know that you're there for him."

Roli consoles the shattered boy. "It's okay," she tells him, "you don't have to be afraid anymore. I'm there for you. It's okay... You're not alone..."

Her divine aura and embrace calms him down. His heart slows down. He begins to feel at peace.

He comes out of his trance' as he feels her pull away.

He opens his eyes and finds Roli looking at him with a smile.

"Better?" she smirks.

But he is speechless. He just looks into her deep, sparkling eyes. He is confused, why do I feel like this? What is this feeling? I feel so much at peace...

"Oye," she smacks him gently on the head, "now stop staring at me like a duffer and drop me home na?"

He realizes that he had been gaping at her and quickly shifts his attention to the car.

LATER

Siddhant pulls the car to a halt in front of her building.

"Thanks," she winks, "we had a lot of fun!!! We should actually start hanging out more! Goodnight!"

All what he can do is just smile. He just can't talk after what happened a while ago.

He watches her disappear into her building before driving away.

A MOMENT LATER

Roli comes out of the building again. She heads to the nearest electronics store, purchases a web camera and heads home.

... TO BE CONTINUED

greshin thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
poor sid..he's very much feeling for roli..he needs her a lot in his life😭 i can feel his pain yaar😉 pls update the next part as soon as possible
Archana_Vinod thumbnail

UNDER THE SKY LANTERNS - PART 19

ROLI'S APARTMENT - NIGHT

Time: 10:30 PM

Roli is at the computer setting up her new web camera. She's signed into her Skype account.

ATUL comes online and onscreen, a suave charming fellow in his early 30's. He looks like a rich business guy's son. And he is!

"Hello beautiful," he smiles, "glad you managed to sort this out today itself."

"Hmm," she blushes, "how have you been?"

"Just great," he beams, "you look even more gorgeous than I saw you last week."

"Stop it yaar," she blushes even more.

"Why?" he laughs, "what happened?"

"You're giving me goose bumps," she says shyly.

"Really?" he smirks, "maybe I need to get hold of you and do something about it!"

"Oof!" she snaps, "you're such a rascal!"

He laughs hysterically. "Fine-fine," he gets a grip on himself, "so tell me. How's your new job?"

"Just started," she replies, "so far all's well. Signed a new contract the day before."

"Oh really?" he beams, "Good job!"

"Thanks," she smiles.

"Get ready to sign a huge contract first thing tomorrow," he flashes his eyebrows.

"What?" she asks.

"I'm returning to Ahmedabad tonight," he says, "will be in the office tomorrow. Why don't you come over?"

"Yeah?" she asks, surprised and excited at the same time, "you're really coming back tonight?"

"Haan baba," he replies, "just drop in my office tomorrow. We're starting a new division... so need new guys in here, both technical and otherwise."

"Oh wow!" she's all excited now.

"Your boss is going to be proud of you," he smiles proudly.

Roli can hardly sit still. She's so excited now.

"And I'm giving this requirement only to your company," he adds, "do you know why?"

"Why?" she asks breathlessly.

"Because I love you," he says in a lover's voice.

Roli blushes like crazy now. "Atul... You na..." she grins from ear to ear.

"Now your turn," he says, "tell me."

"What?" she asks innocently.

"Tell me about how you feel," he smiles.

"Sleepy," she lies, "I'll see you tomorrow."

"What?" he laughs, "I know you love me."

"Ta-ta!" she laughs, "goodnight! Adios!!!!"

"Tell me," he urges her.

"I'm logging off," she teases him.

"Tell me once," he urges more.

But she simply logs off and takes a deep breath. She looks all lost and dreamy as she turns off the lights and tucks into bed.

THE NEXT DAY

Another hot day!

Roli is all fed up and disgusted as she stands on the streets and waves at passing taxis and autos.

"Oofff!!!" she hisses angrily, "I'm really fed up of this bullshit!! Every single day? Come on!!!"

An empty auto almost stops for her and picks off again.

"Ahhhggghhhrrr!!!" she screams, "WHY THE HELL DID YOU STOP THEN? YOU IDIOT!!!"

She's hopping mad!!! She takes quick glances at her watch, it's close to 9 AM. Hey Matarani, I'm going to be late today!!! Stupid place! She begins to walk forward out of desperation.

"Hope that I get an auto or taxi from there," she mutters to herself, "it's too late to hop onto a bus. I'll never reach on time!!!"

But it all seems hopeless, until a car pulls to a stop in front of her. The door swings open.

She looks around, surprised.

It's Siddhant!!! He raises his eyebrows at her as if to ask what are you staring at?'

She smiles at him and jumps into the front seat.

"Ohhh! Thank God!!!" she chuckles, "thank you so much! You're sooo sweet!!!"

Saying this, she grabs his cheeks and pulls it hard!!!!

"Owww! Hey!!" he cries out in pain and surprise, "are you crazy??"

"I'm so happy," she giggles, "I got a taxi just in time!!"

"Oye!" he snaps, "are you calling my car a taxi? Chalo, get out then!"

"Abhey yaar," she snaps back, "I was just pulling your leg. Now can you please drive fast? We're getting late!"

He glowers at her and clears his throat as if he wants to tell her something.

"Now what?" she asks irritably.

He gestures with his eyes towards the seat belt.

"Arrey yaar," she begins.

"Follow-the-rules!" he chants.

"Oof! Whatever!" she buckles up the belt as Siddhant begins to drive.

"Achcha Siddhant," she begins.

He looks at her, stunned. That's the first time I heard her call my name!!

She notices him gaping at her. "What?" she asks, "lost something?"

"Nothing," he shrugs, "what were you trying to tell me?"

"As soon as we reach office, we're going to get the contracts, presentations and all the blah-blah stuff and head to Shinde Group of Industries," she says, thrilled.

"Shinde Group?" he asks.

"Yeah," she replies, "we have a business meeting there in the morning. I know the Director personally. He has promised to give us some hot requirements!"

"Awesome," he remarks, "so you're going alone?"

"No!" she beams, "what a question! We're going together of course!!!"

"We?" he's nervous again, "you mean me? To Shinde Group?"

"Haan yaar duffer!" she barks, "We make a great team na!"

The brand name Shinde Group' sends a huge surge of negative waves through him.

"But yaar..." he begins nervously.

"No buts!" she snaps, "and don't come with any of your crap excuses! You're coming with me!"

Siddhant's hands are cold and clammy as he wrings the wheel tightly.

Shinde Group??? That's a huge company with a massive workforce!!! She knows the Director personally; I don't even know the peon!!! They must be really cool and confident people! Rough and tough! Brash and outspoken! I don't know how I'll stand up to them! I might even start talking gibberish! Hey Uparwaale! Give me the courage!

... TO BE CONTINUED

Archana_Vinod thumbnail

Originally posted by: greshin

poor sid..he's very much feeling for roli..he needs her a lot in his life😭 i can feel his pain yaar😉 pls update the next part as soon as possible

Next part's up 😉
justloverosid thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Interesting development waiting for next update😃
deeksha.aiyer thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
superb update, didi... 😊
greshin thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
waiting for ur next update...its too long yaar...r u busy or something??
Archana_Vinod thumbnail

Originally posted by: greshin

waiting for ur next update...its too long yaar...r u busy or something??

Sorry yaar, not been keeping too well. I'm working on the next update now... trying my best to put it up today 😃
Archana_Vinod thumbnail

UNDER THE SKY LANTERNS - PART 20

THE SHINDE GROUP - LATER

A bold and daring Roli walks into the lobby of the massive company followed by a very nervous Siddhant.

"Good morning Ma'am, Sir," the receptionist greets them warmly, "welcome to Shinde Group. How may I help you?"

"We're here to meet Mr. Atul Shinde," smiles Roli.

"Do you have an appointment Ma'am," asks the receptionist.

"Yes," she replies.

"Okay, just give me a minute," the receptionist rings up Atul to check his availability.

"You may go in," replies the receptionist.

"Thank you," Roli nods and turns to Siddhant, "come on."

Siddhant keeps up as they make their way to Atul's office.

"Roli," begins Siddhant as he tries to remain calm, "you said that you know this guy personally. How exactly?"

"We were actually classmates," she replies as she keeps her eyes in front.

"What?" Siddhant is stunned.

Roli beams proudly.

"When? Where? How?" he fires a ton of queries on her.

"College," she replies crisply, "we graduated together."

Siddhant is more nervous now as they close in on Atul's office. A metal plate on the door reads Atul Shinde - Director, Shinde Group.'

"Hey Uparwaale," heaves Siddhant.

Roli doesn't pay attention. She is very much excited to go in. She opens the door and walks in followed by Siddhant.

"Hey Atul," she beams.

Atul swerves around on his chair and instantly glows at seeing her so close. "Wow!" he flashes a very white smile, "look who's finally here! Come here!"

They hug each other casually while Siddhant stands on and watches them.

"How have you been?" he booms.

"Fine yaar," she replies shyly, "ermm... meet my colleague. Siddhant Bharadwaj."

"Hey man," Atul shakes hands with Siddhant.

"Hi," Siddhant manages to smile as he shakes his cold and sweaty hand with Atul.

Damn, thinks Siddhant, this guy makes me go weak in the knees. He's so confident! So cool! So class!!! He makes me look like a big zero!

Atul turns his attention back to Roli. They all settle down around his enormous table.

"So," he begins, "like I said yesterday, we're starting a new division and will need close to 25 people in the office. Technical and non-technical."

"Wow!" Roli is excited. This is huge business! Vikrant's going to be very happy!

"And that's not all," he goes on, "we also need around 100-250 people on site, including labourers. So what do you think? Can you do this?"

"I'd like to take a look at the job specs," she replies.

"Yeah," sighs Atul casually, opens his drawer and takes out a file, "here it is. It's all in there."

"Excellent," she replies as she begins to glance through the job descriptions.

"Like I said before," he goes on, "I'm giving this job only to you guys."

"Thank you so much Atul," she beams, "this is something we can do. We're game."

"Wonderful!" he replies, "so how soon can you get this done?"

"Latest by next morning," she replies, "we'll start on this as soon as we get back."

"Brilliant," replies Atul.

Siddhant just sits back and watches them keenly; his eyes dart to and fro from Roli to Atul as if he's watching a fast paced tennis match.

Roli gets up to leave. Siddhant follows suit. "I'll keep you posted then," she replies, "thank you so much again."

They shake hands with each other and almost walk out of the door. But...

"Roli," Atul calls her back, "can you stay back for a moment?"

Siddhant watches them and notices that Roli looks a bit red in the face. Why's that she looks nervous? The only time I've seen that look on her face is on the flyover.

She turns to Siddhant and says quietly, "I'll see you out in a while."

He nods, okay and steps out.

INSIDE ATUL'S CABIN

Roli closes the door behind her and walks to Atul.

He steps away from his table and moves closer to her.

She begins to get nervous. "What?" she asks quietly, "why did you ask me to""

But before she can talk further, he shuts her up with a finger on her lip. "Shhh..." he hushes her.

Roli just stares into his eyes, mesmerized.

"Now I'll do the talking..." he says in a low voice.

OUTSIDE ATUL'S CABIN

Siddhant slowly makes his way to the lobby. Should I wait here or just go downstairs, he wonders. I don't feel too good sticking around here.

Just then, the voice of a man calls from behind him "Siddhant?"

He turns around, stunned. Who's that, he wonders.

At about an arm's length away, a balding man in his mid 60's stares at him in disbelief.

... TO BE CONTINUED