CutielovesChocs thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Thanks for the response guys! Looking forward to more! Here you go with part 2!

-------------------------------------------
Chapter 2: Ragging

In the cafeteria:

Randhir and Yoyo joined some other friends on a table. "OK, Ms. Aggarwal, ab aap sabke order lee jiye aur jaldi se ley aaeeye!" said Randhir authoritatively.

Sanyukta just stared at him and took her PDA out to take the orders.

'Wow, what a tech-savvy junior we've got!' quoted Lucky, one of the other students.

Ankit was also at the table but was busy researching something on his laptop and did not even look up.

'I want a coffee with a spoonful of sugar and only one tablespoon of cream. Got it?!' Randhir ordered. Sanyukta looked at him with a mischievous expression and turned around obediently.

She came back with a tray with drinks, coffee, tea, pakoras, samosas etc etc; whatever she was asked to bring. She saw another woman student sitting next to Randhir. The woman had her elbow on Randhir's shoulder and whispered something in his ear as Sanyukta approached the table.

She served everyone their choices but as soon as Randhir sipped his coffee, he spit it out, yeh, kya mazaak hai? Yeh tumney namak daala hai ya cheeni?'

'I am sorry, Randhir'

'It is Randhir SIR for you, got it?!' he scoffed.

'I am sorry sir
, woh yahaan Mumbai mein cheeni aur namak bilkul ek sey lagte hain. Can I get you another cup?' she pretended to be apologetic.

Everyone chuckled upon seeing Randhir flustered. It was rare to see Mr. Overconfident, Randhir Singh Shekhawat in that state. Ankit was particularly pleased as he and Randhir were arch rivals-both smart, brilliant and ambitious.

Ankit was aware that Vidushi was crazy about Randhir and he tried his best to keep their rivalry at the professional level only. He cared about his sister and would hate to create problems between her and Randhir.

Sanyukta came back with another cup but the coffee was just lukewarm; Randhir liked his coffee piping hot. He was a perfectionist in every sense; he got frustrated and grabbed Sanyukta's hand and pulled her towards the food counter, 'Come with me! I will show you how a coffee is supposed to be served, silly girl!' Sanyukta realized that he held on to her hand till they reached the coffee machine. There was something about his touch that sent a shiver down her spine. She had never felt that way before, what was it about his touch? She dismissed it to nerves and just followed him quietly.

Meanwhile, Vidushi had her eyes on Randhir and Sanyukta. She did not like the way he was holding her hand. She was relieved when they came back, as Randhir was a few steps ahead of Sanyukta. Vidushi was used to getting all the male attention as she was the 'princess of the college!' and did not like the fact that Sanyukta had soon made friends with most of the people on the table! Vidushi was even more furious when she saw Randhir sipping his coffee but staring at Sanyukta intently, without even blinking.

'Randhir, let's go
. You need to help me with a paper.' Vidushi pulled Randhir by his hand, forcing him to get up.

'Ragging abhi khatam nahin huyi hai, Ms. Aggarwal! Tonight at 8PM sharp, you shall report to the men's hostel mess, got it?!' Randhir snapped his fingers at Sanyukta as he got up and followed Vidushi out of the cafeteria.

8PM at the men's hostel mess:

Sanyukta promptly arrived at the required destination. She knew that there was no way out of this ragging
- even though she had her fair share at her previous college, the only difference was that in her previous college, only women could rag women but Mumbai, that is a different story. Trying to resist ragging or portraying fear usually made it worse; she was a fighter and thus, she would simply humor the "bunch of boys"- yes they were boys and not men! Real men would have more respect for women at their college!

8'O clock was the seniors' dinner time- no one else was allowed in the mess at that time. The seniors' had earned that status as this was their final year and the mess cooks would oblige them with special feasts, not available to anyone else in the college.

'Tonight, amongst us is a junior student, Ms. Sanyukta Aggarwal! And she is going to make the dinner for everyone today! After all, what better way for a woman to spend her time, but in the kitchen?' Randhir announced with a smirk as everyone clapped. Sanyukta was shocked
- how was she expected to cook for a bunch of hungry boys? She opened her mouth to argue and give him a piece of her mind about the chauvinistic remark, but chose to prove it by her work in the hospital instead. She did not protest but gave Randhir one of her cold looks and stepped into the kitchen. In a short while, the students were surprised to see a variety of dishes being served by Sanyukta and the mess boys.

'Wow, ladki ke haath ka khaana khaane kaa mazaa hi kuch aur hai', said one of the students. Randhir quietly chewed on his food with a smirk, but could not help agreeing that this was one of the best meals he had tasted in ages
, perhaps since his mother's cooking.

As Sanyukta gathered her belongings to leave, Lucky got up and came close to her. 'Now that you have stepped into the hostel, it's better if you spend the night, isn't it?' he said with a devilish grin on his face. The other students laughed in agreement but Randhir stayed quiet. He thought this was getting too far.

'Alright then, tonight Sanyukta Aggarwal will stay with me!' Randhir got up and declared. He knew no one would challenge him but she gave him a disgusted look and raised her voice finally, You're all touted to be the future of this country! Kal jaa kar, aap log desh ke physicians and surgeons honge! You should be ashamed of yourselves! Sharam aani chahiye aap logon ko!'

'Sharam toh humne to medical college mein aate hi chodd di thi' one of them said as everyone joined in the laughter.

Randhir came close to Sanukta, grabbed her hand and turned around, 'she is going with me
, so all of you stay out of it!' No one had the guts to challenge him, so they remained seated and said nothing.

Randhir walked with Sanyukta down the stairs and then to the main gate of the hostel while she kept trying to set herself free, wriggling against his hold, trying to get him to loosen his grasp, hitting her free hand against his iron-clad hold. 'You guys disgust me
! I wish I had never moved to Mumbai!',she was almost yelling but was surprised when she saw they were at the main gate of the hostel. She looked up at Randhir and before she could say anything, he set her hand free, 'Be there on the surgical floor tomorrow morning at 6AM sharp! Dr. Jain likes to start on time, got it?!' he pointed towards the gate and waited till she left the premises safely. Sanyukta felt relieved as she started making her way to the women's hostel. Why did Randhir do what he did? Was he being protective or just trying to scare her?

Women's hostel:

Sanyukta entered her room late at night; her heart was still beating fast after her experience at the men's hostel, 'I hope this is the end of ragging!',she prayed silently.

She had not even unpacked her boxes yet as she had been busy with orientation and ragging all day! She sat down on the floor and started opening the boxes one by one. She was wondering whether she made the right decision in switching colleges at this stage. It would take her time to break into the culture at a new college; so far she had not been impressed!

She heard a knock on her door, "OH, hi Kanika! You haven't gone to sleep yet?'

'Oh, I saw that your light was on, and so came to see you! Waise, all of us go to sleep really late - we're night owls, you see?' Kanika smiled as she walked in. She joined Sanyukta on the floor and helped her unpack. 'Sanyukta, the boys didn't give you a hard time, did they? All of them are somewhat cukoo in the head, but extremely helpful and protective otherwise. Don't take them too seriously.' Kanika advised.

Sanyukta smiled, 'Don't worry Kanika, aisa kuchh bhi nahin hua! I can handle a bunch of foolish boys', she remembered how scared she was when they had asked her to spend the night at the men's hostel and how Randhir had saved her from further harassment.

'Well, most guys are fine in general, but Randhir? Oh gosh, he's so arrogant! Uski naak hamesha oonchi rehti hai. No doubt, he is extremely smart, bordering on pure genius, but itnaa attitude! It's a pain in the rear! And his girlfriend, Vidushi? She is beyond the comprehension of us mere mortals! She is so possessive about Randhir, it's insane! She blows her top off if any girl so much as talks to him! But well, we can't stand her either! I think they are made for each other!' Kanika couldn't control herself and burst out in laughter.

Sanyukta remembered the woman in the cafeteria; the one who was clinging to Randhir and did not look very happy when Sanyukta was the center of attention, 'Ahhh, now I understand" she muttered softly.

'Did you say something?' asked Kanika.

'No. Thanks a ton for helping out here, Kanika! I'm glad that I have a friend in this new place!' They both wished each other good night, and Sanyukta turned off the lights, and fell into a dreamless sleep, exhausted after her first day.

...to be continued!

---------------------------------------

Let me know what you think, everyone! I love reading the comments, they're like cookies for me! 😆

Edited by CutielovesChocs - 11 years ago
NonComposMentis thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Wow, you're quick!
Frankly speaking, it's good to see the first update on Page 3 rather than on Page 13 as is the case with most FFs I've seen around (not just here, of course.)

Sanyukta as her feisty self and Randhir as his previous arrogant self are SO much fun!

But. Mere liye highlight was this:
"The woman had her elbow on Randhir's shoulder and whispered something in his ear as Sanyukta approached the table. "

I was all, "Oooh, whispering, huh?" Lawl. :P

I'm jumping ship to RanShi till SanDhir develop a stronger bond here. ;)

Lovely update, Raina. :)

Mugs.
anyania thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
I jst loved it.Thank god..Randhir saved Sanyukta at the right moment..
totally exciting..
waiting eagerly for the next part..
Update soon. Waiting...
relentless. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
omg omg Raina!!! both the parts are beyond amazing!!!

I love the idea of randhir & sanyukta being doctors. ah gosh, reminds me of DMG days 😆 but wayy better than that. omg, you've mixed & matched the parents and their kids and characters too, compared to SH and this OS :D i like how ankit & vidushi are twins, and are the kids of sanyal's hahaha! very nice indeed.

eeeks, randhir & vidushi r the duo LOLLL. her character sounds that of a bimbo 🤣 randhir as always seems hot, handsome and sexy in this OS ☺️ AHH YAY, so SanDhir finally meet, he rags her bad and even protects her AWWW omgosh! love love it raina! man, why do u do this to me? such an interesting story you have narrated...and where is part 3? 😳 hehe please write it jaldi. Dying to know what happens next ❤️
coolishparul thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: CutielovesChocs

Thanks a bunch! I shall try my best!😳

this is indeed one of the best ff in this forum.
and plz do accept my Buddy request and pm me
Edited by coolishparul - 11 years ago
heartbeatz thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
very beautifully written...
update soon
keep up the good work!

Originally posted by: NonComposMentis

Wow, you're quick!

Frankly speaking, it's good to see the first update on Page 3 rather than on Page 13 as is the case with most FFs I've seen around (not just here, of course.)Thank youuu Mugsie! It's better that way, isn't it?

Sanyukta as her feisty self and Randhir as his previous arrogant self are SO much fun! That's what make them perfect nah?

But. Mere liye highlight was this:
"The woman had her elbow on Randhir's shoulder and whispered something in his ear as Sanyukta approached the table. " Hey bhaggguu! Let it go meri maa! But well, aage jaake you shall have more..so be happy ..for a while! 😆

I was all, "Oooh, whispering, huh?" Lawl. :P

I'm jumping ship to RanShi till SanDhir develop a stronger bond here. ;)

Lovely update, Raina. :) Thanks a tonnn! 😳

Mugs.

Originally posted by: twni

love it raina awesome

Thank youu so much! 😳

Originally posted by: meenu1613

awsm😛

nxt prt plzzz

Haha thank you! It shall be up sooon! 😃

Originally posted by: anyania

I jst loved it.Thank god..Randhir saved Sanyukta at the right moment..
totally exciting..
waiting eagerly for the next part..
Update soon. Waiting...

I know! But how can he put his 'farzi' in harm's way?😆 Aage aage dekho! Thank you so much! 😳