Toilet Mulaquat ki Assar: Episode 5 Discussion

Samanalyse thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Ok today's episode was a mixed bag for me. Thankfully, it was less overwhelming than the last few episodes with regards to things happening so I managed to get my head on straight and not collapse under the weight of all the information like yesterday! 😆

What is it with these two and toilets anyway? Not only do they almost bump into each other outside one, but the talk of their rishta is also started in the same place. Not only that, the promo showing the awkwardness of their physical intimacy was also in a bathroom. From tabela to bathroom, people. I am not sure if that is progress. 😕🤣

I am liking Yash's family more and more. True, they are not the most modern in outlook but they feel real. They talk and exchange opinions and change their minds about things. The parents though strict and conservative have brought their kids up well and trust them to an extent to make their own decisions. Today we found out that Pankaj (the dad) did not approve of Pratik's girlfriend at first but that they all got together and convinced him. I really like this notion of a family where they are all willing to hear each other out and keep and open mind. That is important. You can tell that the mother doesn't exactly approve of Paridi's ways in calling her son but essentially she wants him to be happy and I assume is able to look past what she sees as "besharam" for this. I also love the bhaiyya-bhabi's relationship! They are so adorable together and so believable as a couple married for 10-15 years. And it was nice to see Yash smile at their banter. Seeing his family happy clearly gives him pleasure.

Pratik is such a sweet and helpful soul and doesn't take it at all to heart when people say nasty things to him. It is sweet that he has sworn not to get married until his brother does, though I don't exactly understand why. My guess is that he knows he won't be able to give his brother attention after he himself is married and then Yash will really be alone in the house. At least with one bachelor brother, he has some company. It was a pleasant surprise again how well he understands what Yash wants and how he is able to convince his mother of that. He has also clearly developed a soft spot for Aarti after their encounters and it was really sweet of him to help her today.

Ansh is really out of hand. His antics could have cost Aarti a lot today had Pratik not come to save the day.

Before I move on to the parts with Aarti's family, I would like to say that I was impressed with the subtle message they gave about how progressive thinking and wealth don't necessarily have to go hand in hand. The more progressive family was in second class, while the more traditional family was in the AC compartment. This was a nice little detail they added.

Ok I know Aarti's FIL is trying to be practical here but I think he is missing the whole point of the exercise. The point of PV is to allow Aarti to be happy and move on, happier than she is now that is. However, if Ansh was taken from her she would be devastated and miserable, far more than she is now. So her net. happiness would in fact decrease. I think the FIL is losing sight of the bigger picture in this narrow, almost desperate search for PV and unfortunately that led to them misleading Yash's family, which I was REALLY hoping would not happen. But I guess the drama has to be created somehow, right? SIGH.

But then I am confident that Yash's mother will eventually get past even that because she was shocked at Pratik's suggestion of having Yash marry a woman with a child but melted on seeing Aarti. I think the same will happen, of course first with tons of obstacles from the evil sister. My only hope now is that her divorce gets revealed before the wedding and Yash's family don't end up in the dark right up until Prashant makes his inevitable, ill-timed entrance. 🤔 I also liked how she told Vidhi not to rush things because I think she really sees potential in this rishta.

Aah the dargah! They really did set a divine atmosphere. What I liked most about this sequence was how Yash's family were all looking at Aarti with approval and showing her to each other, even the scary father approved, but when it came to showing her to Yash she disappeared. I think this heralds the fact that their ultimate union will not be rushed or orchestrated by family members but they will meet when they are destined to, without anyone's (even their own) knowledge, in an understated but divine and pure light.

Precap...so the pressure is on from both sides! I guess Shobha's husband convinces her to keep their son's truth a secret and I am sure they will justify it by saying he is dead to them, but still I was really hoping this wouldn't happen. However, now they are left with no choice as Yash's mother already said she wouldn't let a divorcee be a part of her household. I am intrigued and petrified to see how this will unfold!

Edited by Samanalyse - 13 years ago

pesi11 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
loved the episode ..especially aarti n anshu's interaction ...both r sweet ... so its started ...ArSh 😊 ..

slowly story is picking up 😊 ... yash's brother is awesome.. the match maker ⭐️
Edited by pesi11 - 13 years ago
laxmi2010 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 5
Okay, wow, how do they fit so much into these episodes? I'm going to try and put down all my thoughts, but there were so many, I'm sure I'll forget one or two.

I really wanted Aarti to give that conductor a piece of her mind, something like, "My son ran away. We will go back to our 2nd class place now, bas!" However, that wouldn't have presented a situation where Pratik could extend his help, and I really liked that scene. I think it's great that despite her gruff manner towards him, her still likes her.

Poor Yash! Does he have to hear about his remarriage every single day? I would get angry and frustrated on hearing anything repeated that much by my family, let alone about something that I am dead set against doing. I knew as soon as they focused on Aarti holding the money in her mouth more than once, that it was going to end up in Yash's hands. I felt like that was a very interesting twist on a typical "kismat" type scene, especially with Pratik's joking.

I thought that the Scindias might assume that she was a widow, and that although a widow wouldn't be their first choice, her mothering skills would win them over. I also have been thinking that Yash and Aarti would get married without the family knowing her divorced status. In the after marriage bedroom promo, Aarti is all smiles when she tells Yash how beautiful his first wife is. Then he asks her if she remembers her first husband a lot, and the way he asks, it seems like he thinks her memories would be good. Why would if think she would have good memories if he knew about her divorce?

Anyway, so I wasn't surprised with the misunderstanding, and I wasn't surprised with the FIL not wanting to tell the truth. He has been coming of as a character to who the ends justify the means, where his wife is much more ethically inclined. I was a bit surprised that Mrs. Scindia actually came out and said that she didn't want a divorcee for Yash. I sort of assumed that they would keep their assumptions without saying anything about it. The fact that they did, and that Aarti's in-laws know it, will create problems for her later.

Ethically the MIL is right that they should tell the truth, but storywise the FIL is right, because there is no way that Scindias would consider Aarti for Yash if they knew the truth. I can even guess what his in mute reasoning was. He would be telling his wife that once the other family gets to know Aarti, they will see what a wonderful woman she is and then they would be able to tell the truth. That has always been his intention, that they should get a rishta fixed first, and then tell everything, where his wife wants to be more upfront about the whole matter.

Well, I'm sure all this was done so that the show can have a good supply of drama waiting whenever the CV's want to pull it out. I actually wouldn't be surprised if the ex coming back sometime after ArYa first get married would be the way the truth is revealed. No doubt Aarti would be under the impression that the truth is already known to the Scindias, and they will be under the impression that she betrayed them by lying about her status.

Hmmm. I will reserve judgement for now. I don't mind all these misunderstandings and drama, as long as it is shown in an intelligent, and fairly logical way. If it's shown in an unbearable way, with misunderstanding on top of misunderstanding not getting cleared for weeks or months, then I promise to skip those episodes and just read written updates. I'm very disciplined about not watching episodes that I think will be too painful.

I actually didn't think they would show ArYa agreeing to the rishta due to family pressure quite this quickly. I somehow expected them to both put up more of a fight. I am interested to see how the families get them both to agree. I'm not much worried about the condition, because obviously it is just for a weekend cliff hanger. We know that ArYa will get together, the question is just how will that happen.
Edited by laxmi2010 - 13 years ago
MelodiousDreams thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 4

*silence...*

What are the makers of this show trying to do, kill me now and rejoice with the fact that making me wait for EVERY. SINGLE. episode is like going to hell and back?!
This is only Episode 5 and I'm already drowning in the depths of this story...I never expected to become emotionally connected to these characters so fast, but that's what happens when the people who want to tell a story do so with clarity and have a team of people who know how to bring that story to the screen. They know where they're going, the writing is excellent, and the team of director(s) and actors are consistently raising the bar in terms of performance and execution.
I'll have haphazard thoughts in this post, so a word of caution.
I just cannot get over the sheer beauty of the 'Kun Faya Kun' sequence today. It was BEAUTIFUL. Ethereal. From the earlier events in the episode, we know that Destiny is playing her part in pulling Yash and Aarti towards each other...I love how PinkChocolate described the episode in her post - it's like there's a connection between these two people that transcends this lifetime.
The placement of a song sequence in the episode didn't slow the pace down at all; I really like how the song is truly situational, and so very apt! The proceedings and the obvious hustle-bustle at the dargah don't halt, hooray for realism! I couldn't help but break into a smile when Gayatri notices Aarti and steps backwards to watch her tenderly. Another winner of a moment: Gayatri pointing out Aarti to her husband and his nod of approval (YAY!) and then Prateek literally backing into the frame, beaming like crazy, and bounding off to fetch his Yash bhaiyya to bring him for a darshan! Aarti's radiant simplicity really shines through more and more every day, but there's something about the dargah scenes that brought that beauty to the fore for me today. There's a serenity in her manner when she's walking with her family or praying, in spite of all the pain she has bottled up inside of her. All right, I've resolved to make a post about 'Kun Faya Kun' later so I don't eat up a ton of space here!
Moving backwards, then, a la Prateek...😆
That "encounter" in front of the bathrooms was understandably all too brief but still incredibly cute, what with Aarti taking her sweet time to wash her hands, not realizing that there was a certain someone behind her...And Yash rolling his eyes at their synchronized movements (which I think is cute but he obviously just wants to leave ASAP). I feel that Yash is going to be rolling his eyes or looking skyward a lot now that he's been thrust into Aarti's path, and vice versa.
Although I feel kind of bad for Yash (sitting all alone by choice) being subjected to all these hints about getting married again, I liked Vidhi's manner of going about it since it became an expository element to help us learn a little bit more about Prateek, Paridi (sp?), and also Mr. Scindia's personality this time. Waise, when Prateek's phone rings, the hint of a smile on his father's face makes me wonder if he's more open-minded in that respect unlike his wife...Need to see more of the Scindias before I come to any conclusions about them, but that's probably going to be the case for a lot of the characters for a while since nobody is "black" or "white" by nature.
So Aarti does chastise Ansh at times! Sometimes in a gentle manner, which we've already seen, and sometimes in a more stern manner...I think yesterday during the confrontation with Prateek aka The Gunda, Aarti nonverbally tried to quiet Ansh down by squeezing his shoulders or something similar to what she did today when he yelled at Prateek. Anyways, this scene was great! "Bhabhi hai meri." And thank goodness the director/Kratika had enough grace to make Aarti's expression one of initial shock and disbelief instead of a long, drawn-out, utter wide-eyed shock moment. Along with Prateek's signals for her to play along, she had the sense to do so. The flow of the scene was nice! LMAO at Aarti calling Prateek a "locha-lafanga" and his chilled-out response. He already admires his bhabhi quite a bit; we can literally see the lightbulb turn on in his head at the end of that scene, LOL!
The Satyendra-Shobha conversation wasn't a picnic to listen to for obvious reasons, but it does an excellent job presenting society's views on the topic of remarriage of a divorcee (Satyendra's points) and the views of more open-minded well-wishers (Shobha). It was nice to see that Satyendra agrees with his wife about certain points but it is his daughter's reputation and welfare that he is worried about, and I understand his concern about the things Aarti might have to face from a society that may not be too accepting of her situation. We can already see that with Yash's family and Vimla (sorry I had to mention her. Didn't want to, but had to tie that in). And now, knowing how recently the Dubeys came to Bhopal, it makes sense that not everyone at Mansi's wedding knew about Aarti. I had a feeling that this would be the case when I was watching that first episode.
Skipping to the lipstick-marked note scene...Ah, how cute was this! Prateek is one of the few happy guys in this show, so I cheer up immediately when I see him, haha. He's so cheeky, but he's so right about this message thing! 😆 It's a message from fate, and a very neat one, too. ROFL at the way Prateek grins and grins until Yash gives him a look and the smile is wiped off his face, too! Poor Gurmeet doesn't have much to say, but I love his brooding expressions. He's very good at the pensive sort of look...The "lost in thought" scenario with the note was very nice...Going back and forth between Yash and Aarti, connecting them through that note as well as their expressions, with both sitting in their compartments, lost in thought.
(STILL lost in the brilliance of Gurmeet-Kratika's "interaction" during the 'Kun Faya Kun' sequence! If they're already this amazing, these two are going to be nothing less than explosive once they get more substantial scenes! One question about the part towards the end...Did Yash and Aarti see each other through the holes? I thought they did, however briefly, but I'm not sure. It seemed like Aarti was trying to see who it was on the other side more clearly and then decided to move on...)
Edited by PaNa4ever - 13 years ago
shubhika124 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5

Had a huge smile throughout the epi! 😃
Omg Omg Omg 😃
Love u CV's for ur expeditiousness ! What speed man! Within a week everything is almost placed 😊 The Direction is marvelous!
CV's u rock 👏
Now coming to the epi..😳 I had a huge colgate smile throughout the episode 😆. Not surprised that the Leads didnt see each other because I had presumed that! Both the families look really genuine! Sindhiya Family's eldest couple is adorable ❤️ Liked their nok-jhoks 😆 Pradeep is a sweetheart ! The confrontation scene of TT-Aarti-Pradeep was really mirthful & side-spliting 😆 And he called her his bhabhi ! Wow!😍
I was pensive that why is her pout being zoomed her holding the note (P.S. Aarti !that is unhygienic ) again & again! Symbolism right? It indicates that Aarti would shower Love & Affection on Yash knwngly or unknwngly 😍 through different means ☺️

The last part elucidated the Second Promo to an extent! Dubey JI you shouldnt have done that 😲

But Im really bewildered & bemused! Sindhiya's can accept a widow but not a divorcee! 😲😲 Aren't widows considered inauspicious in traditional families! Well whatever 😉

The Last scene was 😍

Highlights of the day :
1. Bathroom scene . Their expressions were awesome 😆
2. Pradeep's cuteness
3. Aarti's suit 😆loved it ☺️ Costume dept Rocks 👏
4. In-laws meeting
5. Dubeys hiding a relevant truth
6.Dargah & the touch 😍

Somebody pls exchange Saturday with Monday! 😭 I beg 😆

Edited by shubhika124 - 13 years ago
geetaddict thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
My take on episode 4 . Sorry jyothi and priya if it is a repetition for you.Will edit episode 5 analysis hopefully sooner this time.
So the lady has temper. The scene between Aarthi and her future BIL was really cute. I love the BIL anyway.He gives the much needed comic relief without it being slapstick. She did yield the hockeystick like she meant to use it if needed 😲😆 .And it was not fair for Arthi to call those guys goondas. I don't know in what angle they looked like goondas. One literally ran away when she came with the hockey bat and even the remaining one was a scaredy cat.😆 How could he not when there was a chota thakur too yelling at him and scaring him. Looks like he has his mothers temper too.😲
I was asking about the elder brother and I got to see him today. Seems to be a cool guy and is in a good marriage with his wife as is seen in the way he teases her. And the younger brother says they have been married for 18 years? Older brother and Yash seem to have a huge age difference then almost 15 years? Samana was asking about the dad yesterday. So they presented the dad too. Its almost meet the family day. It is actually surprising to see that the dad has Yash's looks (or is it the other way around?) He too is young for his age. But he does have the conservative head of the family look. Not too strict or anything I think.
So Aarti's FIL was actually right. I thought he had a shifty look and he was too quick to talk about returning the advance. So I thought he had done somethinng ulta pulta. But turns out he is the right. And looks like his DIL does help hin in the business otehrwise she wouldn;t know the details of the transaction. Knowing her temper her way of talking on the phone was very natural especially when she was in the right. Yash on the other hand was cool and he seems fair too. That is a character change alright.
Maybe it is to bring a contrast in their status but those who write the dialogues for Arti's family as so spot on. i loved the way the MIL and FIL of Aarti discussed trying to get her to see another guy. It was a conversation exactly like you would hear between two people on the street. There was no theatre to it. I had only one doubt. Does anybody think that the FIL was a little bit worried that Ansh may not be aprt of their life anymore if Arti got remarried. Of course he didn;t come out and say that but somewhere I got the feeling.I can't help singing the praises of the MIL of course. I love her, I love her , I love her.❤️
And the fiasco that follows is again so natural. I loved the expression on the MILs face when he sees the guy.I can imagine the same expression on my mom's face had she seen such a piece of art. Kahaan sey aathey hey aisey namooney. Age is just one factor. That guy of course had no culture whatsoever. No wonder he was never married in teh first plac,(not that they told that anywhere.I am just assuming. And the way he shouts after them. Like I said completely uncultured. I like the way they show AArti's family as a perfect middle calss be it catching an auto or hiring a taxi.
The fact that Arti does not have even a tinge of misunderstanding with her in laws shows the level of trust and apanapan she has. Otherwise anybosy else mgiht have got offended they even considered such a guy in the first place. She knows their heart is in the right place and they just want her good.
Aren't the Scindia's quite rich?Why are they not flying. Maybe it is a place they can only go by train.
Ansh reminded me a lot of my son. He too loves the upper birht a lot. though thankfully he is older and doesn't need the bathroom as much. AgainIi like the everyday feel to their conversation nad actions.And what was that BG score when Yash came out to use teh bathroom. I thought it was a tad too sensational for someone who is looking for a place to pee.😆
And their is taraf us taraf was cute. I can think of doing the same thing in the train. Till now everything seems so natural. I hope they don't make their interactions too fimly in the name of romance. The song is good but I want their love to be the mature one which I would enjoy more in the current situation than hero heroine types.
Also I love Arti's family so much hope after they get married we get to see them equally often and not only the uptight Scindia's with the evil aunt.
jyoti06 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Master Thumbnail + 8
OMGG Very interesting episode filled with so many symbolismss ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 😳😳..Gosh who r directors of PV ?? ..The whole episode had such a wonderful flow and the whole suspense of Aarti being a divorcee which Yash's family might now know for now itself makes such a good storytelling ,,woww 👏👏👏...
I know we might argue that why Aarti's FIL had to hide this truth or why Yash's mother had this weird clause of a widow is fine but not a divorcee but I feel for drama and future storytelling ,this interesting twist is important or else post marriage if all is well ,then there wont b any story left then 😆😳 ...May when final truth will b out later ,Yash will stand in Aarti's support which will b the turning point of this show since Yash claims he needs a mother for his kids but not a wife but mayb during the climax he will stand in support of his wife 😳😳😳😳...Thats why I liked this interesting twist for now 😛...
Also I liked the fact that Yash's mother might hv some orthodox thinking but at least she is clear about her terms and conditions before marriage itself rather than springing shocks after the marriage 😊...Realistically speaking one cannot blame Aarti's FIL for hiding the truth and also Yash's mother for this condition since her son is also a widow and so she too might b looking for a similar girl only 🤔...
Today there were bundle of symbolisms in the entire episode ...Firstly I think for the first time a show is shot in a real train and whole build-up of the Punarvivaah storyline is taking shape in a real train itself where both families meet and almost do the rishta ...I feel here the main symbolism is the train and how two lives r shown getting connected in that same train and so the train here symbolises the journey of life ..the new journey of Aarti and Yash ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ...
Second symbolism is the way first they meet in a very unromantic place like the train toilet which indicates their life's journey wont start on a romantic note 😆 but later once again they sort of brush each other's hand in a divine place like the Dargah where both almost comes face to face in front of that divine sacred place while tieing the dhaga together which indicates that their life's journey might not start on a romantic note but its going to b divine ,pure and eternal 😳😳...
Third symbolism is of course the spl currency note which has Aarti's lipstick mark on it and it goes to none other than Yash ...well does it mean Destiny hv made their jodi ..or should I say Rab ne bana di jodi ?? 😳
Their first meeting was in a marriage and well their life's journey too will start with marriage 😳..then the second encounter was in unromantic place like train toilet and well their life's journey too wont b a romantic one 😆...then the third brushing of hand happens in a peaceful place like dargah and their life's journey too is going to be peaceful hopefully without any jerks of betrayal 😳 ...
Pratik-Aarti scenes are really very cute and the way Pratik helps Aarti in dealing with that ticket checker ...is it like an indication that after marriage Pratik is going to b this cute Devar-Freind of Aarti who will help her out in her new life journey as well and might b a possible cupid for ArYa as well ?? 😛🤔...
Precap is interesting but we dunno what other condition Yash's family hv put in ?? 😕..is it like they dont want Aarti to carry Ansh with him to their house after marriage ?? ..Well I guess that wont happen because promos suggested Ansh too will come along with Aarti after marriage ...Mayb Yash will give a fair decision and allow both Aarti and ANsh in his life 😃...
Overall a very good episode with a very interesting precap ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Edited by jyoti06 - 13 years ago
SecretKhabri420 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 9
Relationship begins by lies r wrong... Elders should never lie, it makes the people r involved into this relationship suffer...

Viji79 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 6
I had made a post on my views on today's episode and thought would post the same think here.

There are far too many problems than forgetting the dead wife and estranged husband and coming together in marriage.

1. Yash's mom has made it clear that she would accept a widow as her daughter-in-law but not divorcee. I cant understand the logic, may be she is worried about the girls tolerance and attitude towards married life. It is sad that people still hold the woman responsible for the failed marriage.
2. Aarti's father-in-law is all set to hide the fact that Aarti is a divorcee. This would cause more damage if Aarti doesnt come to know of the lies that have been told. She would think Yash knows about her past. In promo#2, Yash asks Aarti if she remembers about her husband and she doesnt answer. Now it makes me think that may be she knows about the lie that has been told about her marital status (may be just before the marriage from her MIL) and when Prashanth may make an appearance later, hell will break lose.
3. The condition that Yash's parents have laid may be that Ansh cannot come to live with them after their marriage. Since Aarti's F-I-L is already favoring this idea, he might coax his wife into this and hide it from Aarti until the marriage.
I dont know what the CVs have planned, there are too many knots and how these would affect the lives of 5 and their families is indeed going to be interesting.
Blooper of the day - if Aarti had held the currency note between her lips, is it not logic for the lipstick marks to be on either side of the currency note and not like she had kissed it, as shown?
jyoti06 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Master Thumbnail + 8
Updated my take on Pg 1 ...All better read it haan 😡😆😳😳
@Zee:Lies which can make one's life happy forever sometimes are said to b blessing in disguise 😳...If today this lie would not hv happened ,story would hv never progressed ahead mayb 😆 and in future Yash would hv never got the opportunity to show his spl herogiri by supporting Aarti 😆😛