P now daydreaming of K😳. K is also attracted to P. 😳
Curious to know why P is afraid of the dark.😲

The precap they both share the same birthday wow😆

Waiting for the next update😛
Khushi96 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
thanks all for the comments🤗
keep them coming please. Here is the next part. And now there is an index on the first page in case any of you missed any parts of this ff.

Part 10 of 2

His phone was ringing but his hands were not free to pick it up, she really was afraid of the dark and she didn't let him move. it's probably Preeti best to ignore it will probably cut off soon' his mind reflected. Pratigya get a grip let him answer his phone and move away from him' her mind thought.

"Um sir you should answer might be Preeti ma'am"

"ok.. but will you be ok, I mean the light isn't on and...

"yeah answer but..." She wasn't making any sense, she wanted him to answer his phone but not leave which was humanly impossible as his phone was on the dressing table. But?" he asked when she didn't say anything further. He heard her sigh. Krishna didn't know what to say...

"Give me your hand?" ok... she mind thought she wasn't getting anything he was suggesting. "Get up" she did was he said.. now walk with me up to the table we will get my phone and come back ok?"

"ok" she said in a soft tone.. come.. he held her hand..

"damn it Krishna answer your phone!" Preeti was losing patience.

"Preeti whats up?" said her sister.

"He's switched his phone off, and it's time to get home but no answer.. you know what I'm leaving without him, take Siya let's go" Urmi nodded and went over. The phone stopped ringing as his hand got near it. "She's probably fuming" he chuckled. Once again he felt Pratigya grip get tight on his arm. This darkness is really bugging her but why? "Got it" he thought as he took it.. don't worry we can use the light in here. Just as he clicked the phone the lights in the room came on. Pratigya looked up and he saw the relieve on her face, she was still gripping his arm. Then their eyes met and she let go. "Thank god for that hmm?" he said pressing buttons on his phone. "will you be ok I will just make a quick call to Preeti" she nodded folding her arms and he put the ear to his phone. Urmi check who is calling?"

"it's him. Preeti rolled her eyes.. leave it. Urmi shrugged her shoulders and let it go to voicemail. "she's not picking up, what time is it?" he said looking at her and his watch. "It's nearly 1:00am? He put his phone in his pocket "I'll drop you home" she didn't say anything just watched him take his blazer. "you look cold here" he put it around her shoulders she held it in place "Pratigya you ok?" "hmm" she nodded. "come" he let her go first and followed behind. The car drive was quiet at a traffic light he occasionally looked at her but it was as if she wasn't there, they reached Gauri's house. He parked but she didn't notice.

"Your home" but not answer.

"Pratigya?"

"hmm?" she turned to him then looked ahead and noticed she was home.

"thanks, she replied ready to open the car door. "wait?" I want to ask you something?" she turned to him. "me?" "Yeah" he replied. "sure what you want ask." "Why you afraid of the dark?" Pratigya didn't want to say anything, she could feel the tears well up. "i.." well done Krishna you made the poor girl cry.

"sir it's just a painful memory which i...i can't" she shook her head not being able to talk about it her tears spilled. He quickly removed his belt. "Hey, hey.. come here" he took her in his arms. He was feeling bad for even asking. She snuggled her face into his chest, gripping at the collar. He rubbed her head trying to comfort her. She turned her head with her cheek against his chest. "shhh" he rubbed her cheek and trying to wipe the tears away. She felt a little better, when she felt him rub his thumb against her cheek bone. Pratigya enough now he is feeling bad now you don't make him feel worse her mind reflected. She sniffed and motioned her head upwards sitting back on the seat "Sorry" she wiped her nose with the back of her palm. "areey don't' say sorry" he took a tissue and handed it to her, she dabbed her eyes and nose.

"here" she removed his blazer and handed it to him. He took it, he was going to say for her to hand tomorrow but then he thought. "If you want to take the day off tomorrow then it's fine" She looked at him, taking the day off and the mind going into overdrive isn't a good idea.

"no sir, I don't need a day off, I will see you tomorrow"

"ok.." he replied. She opened the car door.

"bye see you tomorrow"

"yeah see you" he replied. Then the door opened again and she peered her head in. "and the sari I can change now and give or..

"no, no don't worry about it, keep it it's really no problem.. Preeti has hardly worn it so..

"I will see you tomorrow, and um.." she didn't know what to say but she wanted to make him feel he wasn't to blame about anything. "drive safe" is all her mind could come up with it was a little blank. "I will and you get a sound sleep" he smiled. She nodded sweetly and shut the door once he saw her go in and shut the door he drove off. Pratigya was so tired she didn't even feel like changing she opened the door the night light was on.

"Gauri ki bachi aren't you tired?"

"nai yaar I'm just chatting to someone, how was the party?"

"yah ok but some incident happened and sir.." "Hold" Gauri put her laptop a side."something happened between you and Krishna?"

"no not what your thinking.. let me change and then we can talk. Gauri nodded eagerly, Pratigya took her nightdress to change in the bathroom. About 25 mins later she came out. "Gauri" she called, as she went closer to her bed "you gone to sleep?" Pratigya shook her head as she saw her friend fell asleep with her glasses on, she removed them and put them to the side. "Pratigya, sorry I feel asleep" she stirred. "Areey Koi baat nai we will talk tomorrow" "ok.." she replied in a sleepy voice. Pratigya smiled at her she thought if she was blessed with a sister she would be just like Gauri.

"Krishna where did you get to last night?" Krishna walked into the hall trying to ignore her. "hey don't walk away when I'm talking to you!" He was annoyed with her zillion questions "for god sake Preeti I already told you now drop the subject. He told her he dropped Pratigya then met Kushan and they got a little drunk and lost track of time. "Why you both shouting, Preeti he is saying now just leave it" Urmilla was the only one Preeti listened to. "ok fine..listen Krishna me and di are going for shopping not sure when we will be back" Like I care he thought. "ok have fun" then he headed for his office but the doorbell rang. Sargam went to get the door. "oh badi malkin" she smiled. Krishna and preeti exchanged a look who could it be. Krishna took a few steps forward he saw a suitcase being placed in. He adjusted his shirt button as he walked towards the front door. The elderly woman saw Krishna and her smile lit up to her eyes. "Dadi!" he smiled and hugged her. "kesa hai mera papu" He let go and faced her "I'm good how are you and you're here to stay I hope" his face lit up when he saw her, he adored his dadi around her he become a little child. "Preeti look who is staying with us for a few days" he put a arm around her and turned "dadi" he exclaimed happily, Preeti walked with Urmilla. "oh dadi it's so great to see you" she came with a plastic smile, then she draped her pallu on her head to take blessings. "bas, bas,no need to take trouble to do this" she knew Preeti never did this type of traditional things,Preeti rolled her eyes, then got up, the two women never saw eye to eye. "what brings you here" she said standing next to Krishna. "why I can't come to see my papu when I get time?"

"Preeti what silly questions you asking, don't take notice of her we are thrilled you're here" the door bell rang again. Preeti and Urmilla slowly walked back to the kitchen. Krishna squeezed his dadi's cheeks. "I'm so glad you here" he kissed her cheek. "oh beta me too" she pressed her cheek to his, she adored her grandson. "who is she?" dadi looked at the girl in a simple orange salvar. Krishna looked where she was referring too. "Hey Pratigya come, come" he gestured with his hand calling her. Pratigya walked forward with one plastic bag in her hand. "meet my girlfriend.."

"eh behave" she hit him on the arm. "sorry beta I'm Krishna's dadi and you are?" she looked at Krishna. "Pratigya meet my dadi and dadi meet Pratigya she is Siya's babysitter. "hello beta" "Namaste" she said sweetly. When she said that Krishna remembered his very first meeting with her and he smiled at the funny incident. "such well mannered girl not all of India has lost their culture and roots. She sweet lady had taken a liking to Pratigya she could not stop staring at her. "He did mention Siya having a babysitter but I thought she maybe middle aged not a young beautiful girl like you" Pratigya smiled at the compliment. "you must be maybe 2 years or so younger than him right?" Krishna looked at dadi. "hmm yeah I'm not that much older" she replied. "are you married?" Pratigya she looked at Krishna, she was feeling a little embarrassed. "Dadi enough the poor girl is going to run away if you keep asking such questions behave.." he said cheekily. "you be quiet I'm speaking with her" "it's ok sir no I'm not married as of yet" she said twisting the bag in her hand. "there you have your answer" replied Krishna. "any boyfriend?"

"ok that's it, enough sorry about her, Pratigya Siya is upstairs.." Pratigya nodded and left to go up the stairs, once she was out of sight the nudged him.

"why did you do that, I wanted to know the answer.

"kya dadi, let her do her job peacefully, and I want to hear all about your trip"

"wait aren't you stuck in the office all the time?"

"come on dadi if anyone can take me out of the office than its surely your arrival"

" papu when did you grow.. chal,let's have some tea and catch up" He smiled this was the best time he loved to spend time with her, he was her little laadla.

2 hours or so later Pratigya came down with Siya. "Look who is awake" dadi turned and saw her in being carried down the stairs she got up from the sofa and went to the two of them, Siya beta come here to your badi dadi" dadi smiled stretching her arms out to carry her but Siya wouldn't move she stuck to Pratigya like glue. "dekho beta look who has come to meet you" dadi made all attempts to hold her but every time she did Siya turned her head and cried for Pratigya. "alle alle what's wrong?" she said taking her back, dadi looked at the two of them what a sweet bond Pratigya has with her, she is so good with her, Krishna got up from the sofa." Pratigya bring her here and sit next to dadi so she gets familiar with her" Pratigya nodded and did just that. Her and dadi walked back to the sofa area and sat down with him on the opposite sofa facing them. Pratigya held the baby securely in her lap "Siya has grown so much since the last time I was here" she stroked the little ones cheek, she looked up at her badi dadi, and a smile appeared. "yeah she would you only visit once a year on my birthday" the comment made Pratigya take note. Krishna's birthday is coming up?.. when is it her mind reflected. "Dadi Siya like your bangle, here now she will play with you watch.." dadi smiled and took her and she was right her bangle on her wrist did the magic Siya was engrossed in looking at the shine and attempted to chew on it. "oh Siya your beautiful" she smiled and kissed he cheek. Pratigya was happy to see her bond with her badi dadi "So your birthday is coming?" Krishna sipped his tea "Yah and dadi always makes a special appearance she is the best gift" he smiled. "that's lovely, um is Preeti home I bought the sari back for her I didn't see her so I left it in her room".

"yeah that should be fine, she's not here gone shopping with her sister" he replied. "now I need to get back to office to do a quick conference excuse me ladies" he said leaving them to it. "beti your really good with her" said dadi. "thank you that means a lot" Krishna walked ahead then realised he left Pratigya with his dadi? Oops he better rescue her before dadi tries to match make her with one of her friend's sons or something. "how long have you been working here?" "a few months?" she replied. "and you like it, I mean my grandson doesn't trouble you does he?" the question stuck in her head, trouble are you kidding me he is the perks of this job. "no he is.. she smiled. "dadi I just remembered something, sorry Pratigya don't mind" "no it's fine, I'll take Siya in the garden for some fresh air.. dadi gave her Siya and Pratigya went leaving them both alone. "papu what is urgent?"

"hmmm.. oh I.. I have... you seen my office I got it refurbished since the last time come and see" he said pulling her hand like a little kid. "ok..ok beta I'm coming" she smiled and giggled at his enthusiasm, he become like a little child, Pratigya watched from the corner waiting for the garden door to be opened by Sargam, she notice the change in Krishna when he was around his dadi he was different extremely gentle and sweet, like a little child. She smiled to herself how sweet was this side of him. During the day Pratigya was busy with Siya only when she was about to leave to go home she saw Krishna and dadi again. Pratigya come and have some coffee and biscuits with us."

"sorry dadi I have to get home, another time?" she didn't want Krishna to get the impression that she didn't have a life besides being here. "wait when you back next week?" Krishna munched on a biscuit.

"yeah I don't work weekends so I will be back on Monday"

"Wait actually I need you on the weekend" huh he needs me for... her mind thought as he didn't make it very clear.

"hmm. it's.. he said munching. Dadi looked at him and shook his head the girl is waiting for an answer.

"right.. it's for..

" areey it's his birthday on Sunday be sure to come to the party" Dadi answered for him.

"yeah keep Sunday free, and you won't be babysitting its strictly to have fun and you can bring a friend too. "my papu's party" she said teasing him, "papu?" said Pratigya.

"it's his childhood name, actually it's what I call him my papu lapu." she smiled Pratigya smiled at him. He sat up straight.

"dadi stop calling me that it's embarrassing na." Pratigya tried to hide her smile but she couldn't even dadi didn't take notice of his words.

"you know why papu.. because when he was a child he had chubby cheeks I will show you photos when you come next. "dadi don't embarrass me please"

"ok I guess I will see you on Sunday then" Krishna got up from the sofa.

"Yeah and come dressed in whatever your comfortable in, its my party and you are my guest so.." he smiled. Pratigya made a move to leave, she waved by to dadi and he walked her to the door

"sir is your actual birthday on 28th May itself?"

"Yah yah dadi has it all pre-planned she makes all her calls to her friends, my friends, family etc months in advance even before I know about it, it's all dadi's organising I leave it to her." His birthday is 28th just like mine she thought.

She only had a day to get his gift sorted out, her and Gauri went shopping the very next day. They had tried to find something that was a reasonable price at the same time high status type, finally she had come up with something.

"Gauri do you think he will like it.. it's not that expensive and I ..." "arey yaar don't worry your Krishna sir will like it I'm sure. She smiled. "thank you bhaiya pack this up" she said at the front counter. She took the bag and they walked out of the shop "Are you going to tell him?" "what? his birthday party.. is in the evening tomorrow and I think... "no that not.." Pratigya was not getting what her friend was saying. " you know it's the fact that you and Krishna share the same birthday, its' your birthday tomorrow too. She said with a smile. "I know what a coincidence me and sir share the same day so cool na?" "yah yah cool but aren't you going to tell him?" (tut) what's the need Gauri..I will just keep it to myself no need for a big show my birthday has always been simple and I'm use to it that way." Pratigya walked and a part of her thought if Krishna knew then would things be different, but why , why would they, I'm not his girlfriend so what is the big deal?! She usually celebrated her birthday by going Mandir in the morning and taking god's blessings, and that's exactly how her day started she went mandir then she went to her father's house. He blessed her. "beta happy birthday" he said sitting on the sofa she walked in. "thank you papa" he hugged his daughter. "take a seat I feel like I haven't seen you for so long how are " "obviously your daughter mixing with the rich people now who are we to her" always had a dig at her. "give your tongue a rest woman. "eh Kaushaliya get the thali my pratigya is 27 yrs today, mu to meetha hona chaiye" "there is no need for that" she said being mean.

"didi!"

"Mohan, Kirtan" she kneeled to hug her brothers. They hugged their didi tightly. "how are you both?" she rubbed each ones head

"fine di, you we haven't seen you in long time?" pouted Kirtan.

"sorry chotu you know I'm busy at work na?" Mohan turned and looked to his mum. "maa didi s birthday give some meethai na..." then he turned back to Pratigya. She spoke with them and her step mum came back with a box of meethai. "beta feed me one first" said Saurabh, he didn't trust his wife what if she harmed his Pratigya, once he had a taste he fed her the ladu and the boys feed her and each other, it was a very sweet moment.

"how is work?"

"good, everything is good but now papa best get back I didn't even meet Gauri's parents I came out when everyone was a sleep I went mandir then came straight here" She got up to leave "ok beta have a good day today, I wish I could do more for you.. hold on.. he took a money note out of his pocket.

"come here" she turned to him. "here from me for your birthday"

"no papa there is no need seriously" Kaushaliya saw from the corner as Pratigya reluctantly took the note. " your right there is no need" she snatched it from her hands.

"Kaushaliya!" Saurabh shouted. "what, she earns enough and here we need for our boys"

"what? she always puts money in for us and them every month in the bank how else do you think we have light and water still?"

"I don't care.. beta you understand na we need every penny and your brothers they will need education hmmm." she explained and left from there.

"beta I'm sorry" he didn't know what else to say, his condition made him helpless.

"no problem papa, really I'm fine with it, she's right my brothers need to more" she hugged her papa she didn't want him to feel bad. Then she left from there. once she was out her mood wasn't great she wondered how nice life would've been if her mum was still here.

pre-cap

Krishna went into his office, to check something Gauri told him to do, he checked Pratigya file, and saw her dob. "Pratigya and I share the same birthday? why didn't she say anything, she sacrificed her birthday and came to my party..hmm I..I must do something for her tomorrow.

Edited by Khushi96 - 11 years ago
rekrn thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
Wonderful Update Kroopa👏👏👏

Loved the bond that is developing between Kriya. 😳 Krishna's Dadi is so adorable, why do i think she may be influential in getting Kriya together, hope so.

Love the precap, Gauri is a genuine of friend of P that she had asked K to look at P's file. Looking forward to what K will plan for her birthday. 😳
manissha thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Beautiful update khushi. Waiti g for birthday party. I like this krishna very much.
Renu111 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
love the update di...is krishna's dadi want pratigya for krishna 😉 ... and precap wow so kriya celeberate their bday together ..gauri did fab job ...update soon
Uma-Arhaanfan thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Nice update dear.loved reading it.waiting for the next part
dhakarn thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
very nice update khushi... continue soon
lovelyarja thumbnail
Nice... Update 😛 waiting for next one
Khushi96 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

a much delayed update. 3 ffs at the same time 😆

hope you still like this one.. enjoy, and thanks for all the comments keep them coming please 😛

Part 11

Her birthday didn't start in the best way, her step mum always knew how to ruin it. She parks up and comes to the front door, she walks up the steps, before she can open the front door it opens. She walks in "Gauri?" she calls but no answer.. she walks into the drawing room, still no answer. "Where is everyone?" she walks through the kitchen "Surprise!" There is the 3 of them Gauri with her mum and dad, standing in front of the table with party hats on, and a table full of cake and other good food. Seeing this Pratigya breaks into a smile. Gauri rushes over to her "Happy birthday soul sister" she throws her arms around her. "Thank you, thank you" she replies hugging her back she didn't expect this. "Happy birthday beti" says Gauri's mum" giving her a hug " beta come cut your cake" says Gauri's dad. Pratigya nods and they all go over to the table. They all make a fuss over her, feeding cake in turns, giving gifts and capturing it on camera. Her birthday started to feel special.

"Papu no meeting today, today its all about you" says dadi holding a thali.

"ya dadi I rescheduled as soon as I found out, what time is it?" "It's approaching 12pm now hurry go get dressed or we will miss the aarti.

"you know I'm not religious much but for you anything.."

"That's like my sweet papu lapu" she gently pulls his cheek

"areey dadi the name has to stop and especially tonight"

"ok fine but just for tonight.. otherwise it stays"

"ok" he says sweetly putting his arm around her. They shared a strong bond, dadi is the mum he never had.

"Wow baby you looking stunning" says Gauri catching a glimpse of Pratigya as she enters the room. Pratigya had a sari on, her hair was out a little curly at the ends, her makeup was simple except her lipstick was a lovely maroon colour making her smile vibrant.

"I'm in a sari it's not too much na?" I mean I like western but I prefer traditional wear, I hope its not lame" Gauri goes over to her and takes her kajal box, she takes a little on her finger.

"you look perfect, kisi ki buri nazar lage meri didi ko" she presses her finger behind Pratigya's ear.

"thanks for borrowing me this sari and everything. I.."

"yaar stop apologizing you know na I don't like it.. be at ease what's mine is yours" Pratigya smiles.

"ok I will shut up, but why are you wearing such a simple salvar.."

"i'm not important her.. I'm only coming with you to keep you company bas I want you to have a great day its your birth.."

"no.. no don't mention my birthday there to anyone its my request" Gauri rolls her eyes "fine" That was one thing that annoyed her about Pratigya, she never wanted to make anything in her life special or a big deal, but then she too understood where she had the best childhood, Pratigya had the worst, she didn't want to push her too much.

"chal let's get a photo together, in this purple and white net sari you are looking better than me, and blouse sleeveless blouse you hottie, seriously even I don't look this good In this one..

"chup and smile for camera" They stand in front of the camera and take a selfie.

"let me see.. wow I'm making this my wallpaper on my new phone" she says with excitement in her voice "let me see" both girls look into the screen. Pratigya watches as her best friend admires their photo she puts a hand on her shoulder "seriously your family really didn't need to buy me such an expensive gift Gauri I..

"Pratigya how nicely your birthday is going don't spoil the mood by saying such things yaar" she whinges.

"ok fine.. is that the time? we better hurry" Gauri nods and they both leave for Krishna's party.

The guest house hall is full with many people, everyone came in and greeted Krishna and dadi along Preeti who was at his side. Dadi looks around, "Dadi everyone is here, shall we cut the cake?" says Krishna sweetly he is in a white blazer with a black tie.

"hmm?"

"dadi its getting late we should cut the cake before Siya goes to bed na?" says Preeti pointing to her sister who is holding Siya.

"Just five minutes?" she replies. Preeti sighs who is she waiting for anyways' Krishna shrugs his shoulders. "I don't know..." he walks off away from her.

"Mr Mittal" he shakes his hand, "glad you can make it"

"happy birthday" Mr Mittal hands him a boxed gift. "really no need for this" he replies politely. Mr Mittal is a business associate of his for a long time and knew his parents quite well.. "Namaste beta glad you can make it"

"of course maaji I always make time and schedule my meetings.. is it ever that I have missed little Shankar's birthday" ..Krishna smiles when his father's name is mentioned. "Maji you have done a good job with him.. he is a fine young man.. but his life partner choice" he sighs.. Krishna looks over at Preeti she is busy talking with her rich friends to even greet. "hmmm.. hey preeti come say hi" Dadi gives him a what are you doing type of look.. he nods indicating he knows what he is doing. "darling meet Mr Mittal you know him na.." krishna explains. "oh yes hi again.. Preeti we should cut the cake now?"

"no! says Dadi.. all eyes are on her. "dadi now look Siya is falling a sleep, and Mittal uncle is here na he is who you were waiting for this time right?" she wants to tell him he is right but he isn't. she nods at him.. "sure go ahead".

"Preeti go organise it I'm just coming. She nods with a fake smile plastered across her face. Dadi goes ahead and looks around. " who are you waiting for really?" he says in a low tone.

"Really Pratigya and then what happened?"

"then he helped with my blouse and, I.. " she looks down feeling shy..

"then?"

"then.. this isn't some movie" she laughs.

"feels like one, I feel you and Krishna are growing closer.. she looks at Gauri "I think you maybe right."

"we are here..don't forget the gift bag" she says to her.

"ya got it" they both come out of the car, "its at the back not here, this is the main house. We have to go to their guest house, back there.. they reach the front door, it's already open... and Pratigya feels nervous to enter.

"what's wrong?" said Gauri.

"I don't know.. maybe we should just turn back and.." Gauri holds her hand. "don't be silly, you come here every day..and don't worry I'm here with you.." she drags her in with her. This hall is much bigger and decorated, doesn't even feel like they are in a house, feels like a outdoor hall, Heads turn at them but then turn back to the front. She hears Krishna's voice, "I really couldn't..." is he making a speech?. She goes ahead and sees the family portray of dadi next to him holding Siya and his one arm around Preeti on the other side clinging on him. "couldn't do anything without the support of these pillars in my life, my dadi and my beautiful wife Preeti" everyone cheers. "thank you all for coming enjoy the party" he turns to her and a photographer comes.. and clicks a family photo. Gauri looks at Pratigya.. "maybe coming wasn't such a great idea.." from her expression Gauri could tell Pratigya felt down seeing this sight of him with his family. "don't worry Pratigya atleast we didn't see the cake cutting"

"thank god I missed seeing the sight of them feeding cake to each other" she sighs. This place is filled with so many people if I just slip out of the back door then..

"Pratigya beta so glad you came" dadi out strengths her arms and hugs her.

"and you are looking beautiful like a doll" she says.. "thanks dadi" Gauri sees how sweet Krishna's dadi is, and seeing Pratigya ease when speaking with her.

"you got late, you missed the cake cutting you know I was waiting for you to come, but then Siya.."

"no, it's fine I completely understand" she said holding on the frail old lady's hand.

"well you are here now that is what counts" she smiles.. "dadi meet my friend Gauri"

"Namaste" says Gauri.. "Namaste beta, and beta you are in a sari, it's lovely to see this culture is still intact, even Krishna likes sari, but his wife, look at her wearing such a ugly dress. Gauri laughs but Pratigya stays quiet. "I guess all have their own choices" she says with a diplomatic answer. Dadi could see how sweet Pratigya is, not a selfish bone in her body. "come have dinner" she takes them with her. She walks pass and sees Krishna talking with his friends but he doesn't notice her. Dinner is served in a buffet way, dadi sits down with the girls but leaves shortly to answer a call. "Pratigya munches on the last item on her plate a samosa. "you ok?" says Gauri.

"yeah I'm fine.. it is what it is.." she says then goes quiet, Gauri was not buying her lame excuse.

"its just.."

"everyone can I just have your attention" says Preeti into the mic. Pratigya couldn't help but roll her eyes. "what now?" she murmurs, from the corner of her eye she could see Krishna and Preeti standing up."as you all know how much a crazy watch fanatic my husband is well actually he is a collector so..i want you all to see my gift"

"happy birthday darling" she says presenting him a small box. "wow thanks" he replies.

"open it" she whispers.. "hmm.. ya I will do later" he replies. "no now" she whispers a harshly. "It's a imported Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Vintage.. everyone gasped as they knew how expensive this watch is..

"exactly its.. " Krishna zoned out as she announces the price and goes on about it.. but everyone else is actually interested.. he gets annoyed by each passing second.

"how much did she say" Pratigya is shocked. "I won't give him this gift.. I can't compete with that price.. even Gauri was speechless. " don't worry Pratigya and you said so yourself Krishna is different and.. oh they are calling to take dessert come"

"you go I'm not very hungry.. she twists the bag in her hand. Gauri leaves..

"Krishna you didn't even open the box.."

"I'll do it later.. he says moving away from Preeti.

"look I know you said no, but its chocolate and its your birthday.." she holds the little plate to her.. Pratigya sighs. "ok and shhh about my birthday what did I say at home..

"fine, fine here take it" Pratigya takes the plate and digs her fork into the delicious dessert. "Mmm" she responds.. "nice na" says Gauri and she nods in agreement. Her and Gauri start to talk about other things, she wants to keep her mind off a certain someone.

"exactly in a few weeks?" then pratigya nods. Gauri sees someone sneak up on Pratigya.. she is about to open her mouth but the person tells her not too. about time.' Her mind reflects. He presses his lips in a thin line, takes his left hand and covers her eyes.. "Kaun?" she says touching over the hand which is covering her eyes.. "guess karo?" he says.. in a disguise voice.. Gauri is tempted to speak but he shakes his head.. "areey" he spins her to face him. Holding the sides of her upper arms, "it's me the birthday boy.. you are looking very beautiful. he pays her a sweet compliment her eyes see him close up, he looks hot in white. "sir i..

"finished?" he says referring to the plate in her hand.. "hmm" she replies.. he takes the plate from her.. "take this" he hands it to the waiter and turns back to her.

"Happy birthday sir" she says.. "thank you" he replies holding her hands in his.

"Gauri glad you could come" he turns back to Pratigya "where's my gift?" he asks sweetly.. "gift?"

"areey yah kya you haven't got me any gift for my birthday?" he pouts.. Pratigya felt is she talking to the same serious, business mode Krishna, here he is acting like a kid it was nice to see this side.

"I.." he sees her hand.. "this it?" he takes the bag.. "yes replies Gauri.. Pratigya looks at her clearly annoyed. "Sir its.. I .. you can take it back.. He took the box out, and saw the brand.. "its too good" "really?" she replies not entirely convinced with the answer. "yeah.. but ma'am's gift.."

"this is better" he opens the box in front of her. "wow I love it"

"it's no Rolex" she comments, he closes the box.

"what can I say I'm more of a sekonda guy.. how did you know its my favourite brand.. dadi told you na?" he smiles. Actually no one told her it was a lucky guess but she nods anyway.

"The best gift I have got today.. thank you" he softly holds his hand around her right arm just above the elbow, at the same time he leans in brushing his right cheek to her left one and kisses the air just to the side of her face. Feeling his cheek against hers her right hand rises up and rests on his shoulder blade. He is face to face with her again. "I'll go put this away, you really look lovely in this sari" she smiles, "thanks" he blinks his eyes as to say your welcome, it was a cute gesture. Once Krishna was out of sight Gauri turns to her. "you must be feeling much better now" says Gauri.. pratigya nods shyly.. "hmm" she replies.

"You don't want to dance?" says Gauri "I don't understand one minute things feel great and now... look at them happily dancing.. she says pointing to the dance floor. Her mood was off, she thought Krishna would come and speak with her more but since the gift he hadn't come back.. Pratigya wanted to leave but dadi told her to stay for another five minutes.. it was approaching 1:00am most guest had left already and now a few were back in main house as Krishna had to send a urgent e-mail out he left early and was unable to say bye' to some of the guest. "dadi I will see you tomorrow.."

"ok beta see you then" she smiles. Gauri feels bad for Pratigya , she can see the disappointment in her eyes of not seeing Krishna, but she ia too stubborn to admit to it. "chal gauri"

"I need the washroom" she says.. "ok hurry I will wait in the car" she nods and leaves the house. Gauri walks passed and opens krishna's office door. "sorry sir I didn't mean to interrupt your meeting I wanted to ask you something.. He looks over to her.

"no Its fine..ask..

"sir um.. check Pratigya's file and see her date of birth that's all"

"sure.." he says a little unsure.. "please sir don't forget.."

"will do it right away.." he replies. "ok, bye" she closes the door.

"Gauri is a strange girl.." he sighs, "anyhow" he opens the drawer and takes Pratigya's file, he opens it, his eyes fix on her dob.

"No way.. Pratigya and I share the same birthday? why didn't she say anything? (tut)she sacrificed her birthday and came to my party..hmm I..I must do something for her tomorrow. He closes the file and made a phone call..

Precap: Sir where are we?" she asks seeing the view outside the car windows.

"it's a surprise, first close your eyes and bring your hands forward.

Tell me why are you scared of the dark?"

"I will tell you my issue if you tell me why you married so young.."

"deal" he replies.

tbc

Edited by Khushi96 - 11 years ago