My dear Meghana.
I am here because you wanted my comments on this undoubtedly excellent post of yours.
I think one can twist oneself into knots trying to explain the Jalal and the Jodha one saw last night, and still get nowhere.
She was appalling, and what appalls me even more is the warm approval for her behaviour that seems to be so widespread here, of course with a gentle little caveat to say that it was ok, all that she said, only it should have been said a little more gently.
I am sure that even had she stabbed him with a stiletto, there would be explanations that she spared him pain by not hacking at him with a blunt axe.
Jodha made me feel sick after that scene. Paridhi is not capable of going beyond the script as Rajat can so effortlessly, so she cannot invest this Jodha that she has been handed with any shades that might soften the blow. She looks, in that order
(1) blank as he expresses relief that she did not let him down
(2) narrow eyed when he classifies her among those who hate him upfront
(3) supercilious when she is briefing him about how sad his life is and finally
(4) blank again as she leaves and he tells her not to dare to pity him.
Then she promptly forgets all about him and goes on to dance as merrily as a cricket.
As for Jalal, by episode end, I came down with a thud after the high of that wonderfully bitter take he gave to his scene with Jodha, where one could see the man who was truly destiny's child and knew it.
I could not believe that he would be so lost to all sense of self respect as to go and ogle her dancing away without a care in the world. Each of your 5 options below only reinforced this feeling, and I do not think one can really even contemplate No.3. After listening to her yesterday, can you really think any sane man would feel that Jodha can fill the emptiness at the core of his being?
My sorrow is not about the Jodha we were shown yesterday, for I never really expected either sensitivity or empathy from her as she is shown here. It is more about the Jalal we were landed with by episode end. He made me feel distinctly queasy. How are the mighty fallen!
Shyamala
Originally posted by: meghanajain
Jalal's initial attraction and interest in Jodha was because of her beauty and her hatred for him. Within few weeks we saw that he did NOT like the fact that Jodha hated him so much. He flinches everytime Ruqu brings that up and defends himself by saying he wants to break her 'guroor'. He is not yet admitted to himself consciously though that Jodha's hatred affects him. He is very close to that stage though and might not be able to handle her hatred. I was surprised that in Agra after spending so much time in Agra not once did he want to find out about the reason for hatred. It has to be because so far he has not realized that her hatred affects him. When he got the opportunity though in Kaali Maa temple, he could not stop his inner need of finding out the reason for hatred.
He has asked Jodha many times this question - "Kya aapko hamari phikar hone lagi hai". Jodha has always given the same negative response - "hume aapki nahin, xyz ki chinta hai". With a heavy heart (great voice modulation RT), Jalal says that Jodha did not break his trust in her hatred. I feel the reason he asks this question repeatedly is because deep down he wants to hear a different response. But, Jodha has been consistently crushing his desire. He even appreciates her hatred as she is open about it unlike many other enemies he has. At this point I really wanted to hug him. He is being so nice to Jodha after such a mean comment. Jodha's consistent response was insensitive enough for Jalal (and us the audience), she goes one step further in her cruelty today. She gives an insensitive response by saying all she feels for him is pity. If only these comments were said in a different tone, with slightly different words - how sensitive would they have felt. Jodha did say the right thing that its sad that Jalal is all alone, can't even trust his family or even his own shadow. She even goes on to tell him that no one loves him. At that very moment Jalal looks at her as she touch a chord of his heart that he claims does NOT exist. Was this the right way or time to bring it up? Yet again, Jalal hides his hurt and responds in as calm voice as he could. A lion and a king walks alone - not because of his bhagya, but because bhagya has chosen him.
Why is Jalal so forgiving of Jodha inspite of her clearly showing her hatred? Few reasons that came to my mind are below, but friends I would love to hear you view on this so please help me understand Jalal.
- He has this soul connection with her that he is not consciously aware but sub-consciously his soul understands that Jodha is his soulmate
- He is like a kid who wants something that he can NOT have. Jodha is constantly trying to block every step he tries to take towards her. She is consistent with her hatred and Jalal wants to change that no matter what.
- Its his deep loneliness and hurt that nobody loves him, that he can trust nobody and sub-consciously feels only Jodha can fill that emptiness
- He is so impressed by Jodha's many outer qualities that he cannot stand the fact that she hates him
- He realizes that it was his mistake in marrying her and wants to make it up to her by tolerating her tantrums. We have seen that specially after the suicide track.
Jodha has been brought up in a royal family. She is the eldest daughter and has been trained to be a soldier and a queen one day. Then, why does she not have any clue about what it takes to become a king? Why doesn't she understand that a king has no friend? Why does she not understand that a king has to take lot of tough decisions? Today, when her family sent her to Jalal they asked her to calm him down. She starts of nicely by requesting Jalal to leave. I was so touched by Jalal asking Jodha for her opinion on what would she do if she were in his shoes instead of yelling at her for making such a request. Jodha disappoints again by acting like an ordinary girl and says she does not know the answer. Even Jalal was surprised that she would not answer that question and hoped that she understood his tough situation. Instead of understanding she seem to have taken it as a blow on her pride, that she did not know the answer. I don't know what CVs are doing with this character as it seems to consistently sadden me. She retorts back by telling Jalal that she pities him without actually showing any sensitivity or pity herself. Forget that she does not act like a queen, isn't she a human? A person (who is her husband) has been attacked so many times, would you sympathize with this man or hurt him more by your words? I seriously hope CVs give us some explanation for this heartless character of Jodha.
Our Jalal is still not affected by all the rude remarks of Jodha. As soon as he finds out that Jodha is going to dance his eyes light up? Jalal you are too sweet buddy, how can you forgive and forget so easily? Are you already in love?
Precap: In full on Shenshah mode Jalal watches Jodha. I go back to the ghanghor festival when Jalal took this exact posture in admiring Jodha. He is not secretive or fearful of his stare. You see he is the shenshah and hubby of this chudail begum. Hence he feels he has a right to do so! I hope the promo about Jodha giving a dand is false.