lashy thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Aashu75

really?? i always thought that it was like a wh**e house??😆 thats how its shown in JA. big hall with ladies sitting around playing cards or talking.

Possibly because its not practical to replicate everything 😳...even JA the movie didn't really show anything much about the Harem...
It seemed like a big building with 1 Jo 1 MA and lots of servants😕
At least here they show some form of activity - like games, one scene where Ruqs was enjoying a concert, one scene where salima was reciting shaayari etc...

But yes...every female that would have been required to cater to various needs of the Royals on a more regular basis would also have somehow become a part of it...😳

Edited by lashy - 11 years ago
preet_pal320 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Autumn_Rose

Where is Abdul? Where is Maan Singh? Where is Shaguni Bai?

What about the people who are missing? 😆

Oh yes! I was going to make another thread about the people but got sidetracked when nursing and proper post-attack conversation did not happen.

My sister and I lament Abdul's disappearance at least once a week! His relationship with Jalal was so cute! I loved their bromance! Can we please send out milk cartons or milk jugs with his face printed on them? I want him back!

Maan Singh will make a reappearance! Did he leave with Jodha's brothers to Agra? I don't remember seeing him then.

Shaguni Bai's work is complete; she may still have things to say about Jodha's pregnancy, whenever that happens.
sonia_1 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: disha15

Shaguni Bai,i clearly dont miss 🤪They could have shown her though,its navraatri season and she is always in her kali mandir anyway 😆 doing exaggerated versions of arathi and her "om shreem bhreem chamundaaye namaha" 🤪

Abdul and Maan though,I definitely miss.

Specially Abdul They havent shown him since Jalal made that fankara paint a picture of Jodha and then burnt it.

BTW!One thing I almost forgot,the fankara who had painted that portrait of Jodha,was shown as one of his wives in that scene where Jodha dreams of Rukaiya and Hamida after hearing of Jalal's death.

This fankara/new wife was shown crying 🤪

God these ppl.Actors ki itni kami hai kya?!

🤣
I noticed her too...she was ready for the last meal & then poisoning 🤣
preet_pal320 thumbnail

Originally posted by: lashy

Possibly because its not practical to replicate everything 😳...even JA the movie didn't really show anything much about the Harem...
At least here they show some form of activity - like games, one scene where Ruqs was enjoying a concert, one scene where salima was reciting shaayari etc...

But yes...every female that would have been required to cater to various needs of the Royals on a more regular basis would also have somehow become a part of it...😳

There is a book I used to read when I was in middle school: Shadow Spinner by Susan Fletcher. It was about Scheherazade and the Shahryar, and this young girl who was brought into the harem. The way the book described it, the harem was huge and filled with many women, most of whom had certain jobs to do. The young girl was brought in to help Scheherazade with her story-telling; there was another women who took care of pigeons. You also had women coming into the harem to sell their wares. Oh this book was so fascinating; it was so well written it had me hooked as a kid. Today, when we discuss the harem, I visualize the life in the harem portrayed in that book, rather than what I see on screen.
Edited by preet_pal320 - 11 years ago
lashy thumbnail

Originally posted by: preet_pal320

There is a book I used to read when I was in middle school: Shadow Spinner by Susan Fletcher. It was about Scheherazade and the Shahryar, and this young girl who was brought into the harem. The way the book described it, the harem was huge and filled with many women, most of whom had certain jobs to do. The young girl was brought in to help Scheherazade with her story-telling; there was another women who took care of pigeons. You also had women coming into the harem to sell their wares. Oh this book was so fascinating; it was so well written it had me hooked as a kid. Today, when we discuss the harem, I visualize the life in the harem portrayed in that book, rather than what I see on screen.

Wow...harem had ladies responsible for story-telling, for feeding pigeons...spoilt much? 😆

But then another part of me went '' when I read what you've written
You know I don't think the serial has depicted the harem very 'disproportionately' ...I might be wrong, but then wouldn't this be the only Indian serial/movie that's even depicted a Harem boldly enough - with many of the rights and wrongs going on in it...🤔

Edited by lashy - 11 years ago
Sunshine75 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

true! i also think that show is more closer to history than the movie. in the movie jalal was never really shown as the "Jalad" he was kind of two goody shoes. although i kind of have an hard time accepting jalal sleeping with 2? (or more) women at the same time.
Edited by Aashu75 - 11 years ago
lashy thumbnail

Originally posted by: Aashu75

true! i also think that show is more closer to history than the movie. in the movie jalal was never really shown as the "Jalad" he was kind of two good shoes. although i kind of have an hard time accepting jalal sleeping with 2? (or more) women at the same time.

No doubt about it...that's why I became very passionate about the serial to begin with..that and PARIJAT of course...that's why I'm still hooked despite the faults/loopholes [MC Track, recent discontinuity etc]
preet_pal320 thumbnail

Wow...harem had ladies responsible for story-telling, for feeding pigeons...spoilt much?😆

But then another part of me went '' when I read what you've written
You know I don't think the serial has depicted the harem very 'disproportionately' ...I might be wrong, but then wouldn't this be the only Indian serial/movie that's even depicted a Harem boldly enough - with many of the rights and wrongs going on in it...🤔

Well the story-telling girl was only there to help Scheherazade; she was running out of stories to tell the Sultan, which was the only thing keeping her and the harem's women alive. The pigeons were the messenger pigeons of the palace; and that lady also had other responsibilities in terms of keeping women safe. You also had your regular maids running about all of the royals. It's a wonderful book, though, I highly recommend it.

I'm not complaining about the harem we see. But the one I read about so long ago has stuck with me and that's what I imagine: a bright, bustling environment, almost city-like, like you mentioned. I understand JA runs on a budget and has a specific story to tell; they will not go into so much detail unless it pertains to the story. I'm perfectly fine with the way they've shown things to be.
ghalibmirza thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
hey lashy, what hooks me to the show is the way rajat has portrayed jalal's character and parijat ofcourse, the loopholes and some stupid tracks r bound to happen since it is ekta's show and we all know that she is for sure hard working but not a perfectionist! jo chalta hai wo chalati hai..in spite of all that i am addicted to the show, it has something different from the rest of the shows that sucks u in and then keeps u there...therefore, i feel like i have no way out and i am trapped in the mesmerizing land of jalal and akhda❤️
Edited by mandyg - 11 years ago