AR Rahman on y the music of JTHJ wasn't his best

DB_reloaded thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

A R RahmanIn an interview to a local daily, Oscar winning music composer and singer A R Rahman spoke on why the music of the much-hyped Jab Tak Hai Jaan, disappointed some of his fans.

"Some movies have this acceptance of whatever genre you do. There is a particular style of filmmaking they (Yash Raj Films) have tried and tested and they make amazing amounts of money. People love their movies and I had to fit into their genre. Their parameters were very small."

When asked if he compromised on the quality of his music, or was restricted in some way, Rahman said "Not compromise, but I had to set my tone to their level. I had two songs in Punjabi."

"They promote their songs very well. They are amazing people, they have a great studio. So I have probably gone out of my zone to meet their expectations. The film made Rs 250 crore. So they are very happy about that." he added.

With Yash Chopra as the director, Shahrukh Khan as the hero and the Academy award winning Rahman-Gulzar behind the music, JTHJ was the most-awaited music album of the year. Unfortunately, on release, the songs on offer left a lot of Rahman fans underwhelmed.

Edited by DB_reloaded - 12 years ago

Yes it wasnt good he knows
Yankees thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Not a fan, Taal is probably the only album i liked in its entirety.

i know and says made 250 crore..in their dreams 😆😆
blue-ice. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
I loved the music of JTHJ...especially Challa, Heer and Ishq shava...beautiful songs..👍🏼
blue-ice. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: wat_up

i know and says made 250 crore..in their dreams 😆😆

Must be talking about gross worldwide..
abjbdishiuw thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
EQUALS
aditya chopra is an ass who didn't let me enjoy any sort of creative freedom. He kept breathing down my neck. All he cared about was about making money-everything else be damned!
DB_reloaded thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5
jthj music was a let down!!!even pritam would hv done a b8r job!!!!

Originally posted by: DB_reloaded

jthj music was a let down!!!even pritam would hv done a b8r job!!!!

i know i mean challa wasnt suited on srk at all..i mean rabbi is a great singer and song not bad but looked odd in he movie

The song i thought somewhat decrnt was jiya re with anu it was upbeat..the rest either not upto the mark or lack picturization..its good was a punjabi touch but as you said not upto the mark and most didnt even understand the punjabi numbers lol

But AR rehman can be over rated at times like slumdog wasnt his best either..but americans wouldnt know but happy he got oscars because it gsve recognition abroad but rehman who i like in the past had great music..now a days not sure whats going on..but none the less hes talented

Edited by wat_up - 12 years ago
abby_girl30 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: czarcastic.

EQUALS

aditya chopra is an ass who didn't let me enjoy any sort of creative freedom. He kept breathing down my neck. All he cared about was about making money-everything else be damned!

🤣