Fanaa-sajan oneshot

crystal angel thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
i wrote this ages ago but never posted it...i actually forgot all about it till i came across it today...so i thought i would share it with u people now although the subject matter is totally outdated...please enjoy and leave a review...😊

Mere haath me,
Tera haath ho,
Saari jannate mere saath ho…………

"Main jab tumhare saath hota hoon tab mujhe aisa lagta hai ki main jannat main hoon.", I fought the urge to roll my eyes as I said this. Could it get any cheesier? Sheena's face had the biggest smile I had ever seen her wear and it was almost nauseating to watch. Over her shoulders I could see Tamanna ma'am beaming at us. She looked as if Christmas had come early. To my right, I could hear Mayank and Nupur arguing in hushed whispers. I had never seen another couple who argued so much. But in spite of all these fights, they were one of the most perfect couples I had ever seen……which was more than I could say for myself and Sheena. Everyone in Excel thought us to be a model couple, the rich chocolate boy of the college with the hot and happening babe. Initially I had thought so too. I had thought Sheena to be 'the one'. But my illusion had shattered pretty quickly. On our very first date, she had informed me that my friendship with Gunjan had to break if we were to commit. Of course, I refused point blank. She didn't hold a candle to my Chashmish. I wouldn't give her up for the world. Through the night, I kept thinking about my conflicting feelings for Sheena and Gunjan. Why was Gunjan more important to me than my own girlfriend? I thought long and hard and finally, at the wee hours of the morning, I stumbled upon the answer. It wasn't Sheena that I loved. It was Chashmish. I didn't know how I had fallen for my best friend, but somehow I had. As scary as the thought was, I also felt relief washing over me.
Tu jo paas ho,
Fir kya yeh jahaan,
Tere pyaar mein,
Ho jaaun fanaa………….
Gunjan had always been by me, no matter what. She was my guardian angel. She was my voice of conscience. She was the only one who had seen past my 'cool dude' image and seen the real Samrat. She had been there with me at my most vulnerable moments and had offered me silent support. I could be myself with her because she did not have impossible expectations from me just because I was Samrat. But most of all, she truly cared for me, as a person, not as a trophy, like most of the girls. I made up my mind to tell Sheena about the revelation the first thing in the morning.
But by then Sheena had changed her tactics. She had gone to Gunjan and asked her to sacrifice her friendship for her best friend's happiness, for my happiness. Gunjan, being the girl she was, had willingly done it for my sake. That was how I was here, practicing my lines with Sheena, when all I wanted to do is to find Gunjan and tell her that I love her.

crystal angel thumbnail
Tere dil me meri saanson ko panaah mil jaye,
Tere ishq me meri jaan fanna ho jaye.

Gunjan watched from the most shadowy corner of the rehearsal room, as Samrat rehearsed with Sheena. They looked so perfect together, she thought. Sheena was beautiful, smart and accomplished. She would suit Samrat infinitely better than a 'plain jane' like her. Beside, it was not like Samrat would ever see her as anything other than his nerdy best friend. So it was best for her to stay away from Samrat for his and Sheena's happiness. She had asked Samrat not to speak to her anymore and god knew, it nearly killed her to say those words to the love of her life, but it was for the greater good, or so she thought. As she left for the library, she only hoped that Samrat would leave a little corner in his heart for his best friend.
Jitney paas hai
khushboo saans ki,
Jitney paas honthon ke sargam………………
I must be a better actor than I give myself credit for. Fifteen minutes into the rehearsals, and I am out. I pretended to have a stomachache and every single person bought it except Mayank, who was giving me funny looks. But I had to look for Chashmish and talk her. As I walk through the semi deserted corridors of Excel, I let my mind drift back to my first meeting with Gunjan. I had initially met her as Bhavesh, my nerdy alter ego. It had been an elaborate prank, planned by me, Benji, Dia and Uday. But it had ended with disastrous results as Gunjan had fallen into the pool. Now, it wouldn't have been too bad, except, Gunjan didn't know how to swim. I still remember the surge of panic I felt when I saw her going down. I relished the way she clung to me when I rescued her from the pool. As Nupur pulled her away, she kept looking at me with those innocently sorrowful eyes. That look had haunted me for a long time after that incident.
Jaisey saath hai
karvat yaad ke,
Jaisey saath baahon ke sangam……………
I am on my way to the library, where, I am almost certain, Chashmish is hiding, lost in thoughts of the past, when I literally run into, and am stopped by, Shukhla sir. I mutter a few curses under my breath as he goes on and on about how it is absolutely appalling for students to waste time, roaming the corridors of the college. Finally, after what seems to be an eternity, he winds up and hands me an immediate detention. I look at him in disbelief, but he remains unmoved. Incredulously, I follow him to the staffroom where he tells me to arrange all the books and take that time to think about my misdeeds. I grumble under my breath. It was as if the world was conspiring against me. All I wanted to do was to meet my 'chashmish', enfold her in my arms and tell her how much she means to me. And everything would be fine then.
Jitney paas paas
khwabon ke lahar,
Utne paas tu rehna humsafar………
Gunjan stared at the book in front of her. No matter how much she tried, she couldn't concentrate. Samrat's thoughts continued to distract her. She sighed as she thought back to the time she had realized her love for Samrat. She had fallen in love with her best friend and had foolishly expected him to love her back. She remembered the days she had spent with him. He had made everything so special. She treasured each moment with him. And now she knew that she would have to spend the rest of her life only with the wonderful memories of her time with Samrat. Samrat was someone else's now and there was nothing that she could do about it. If only her dreams obeyed her! Samrat was always with her in her imagination. Every time she would get a reality check and her dream world would be shattered.
Tu jo paas ho
Fir kya yeh jahaan,
Tere pyar mein,
Ho jaaun fanaa………
She felt so secure with Samrat. The world faded away when he was with her. Her insecurities did not dare to raise their ugly heads in front of the confidence exuded by Samrat. He was her savior. Only he had the capacity to pull her out of her shell and spread her out in front of people. He was the only person who could effortlessly bring out the best sides of her personality in front of a crowd in spite of her shyness. He always held her up. She felt like she could drown in her love for him. The world didn't matter when she was with him. His company was addictive. She could never have enough of it.
crystal angel thumbnail
Rone de aaj humko, tu aankhen sujaane de,
Baahon me le aur, khud ko bheeg jaane de…
Hai jo seene me quaid daria who chhoot jayega,
Hai itna dard ki tera daaman bheeg jayega…………

Nobody but Benji knows all about me. Nobody else knows that my greatest fear is that my parents will reject me if I don't meet up to their expectations. But now, I want to show Chashmish all of me. I feel that opening up to a person reflects upon the amount of trust we have on that person, and I trust her with my life. And I want to show her that I trust her. I'll probably cry and she will hold me close, sharing my grief, shedding tears with me. She will encourage me to let out all my sorrows and I will, secure with the knowledge that no matter what I am, or am not, I will always have someone beside me, to cheer for me, to offer me support unconditionally. Somehow I see myself giving all of me to her.
Jitney paas paas,
Dhadkan ke hai raaz,
Jitney paas boondon ke baadal………
Gunjan had been hiding her feelings for a long time now. She didn't know how much longer she could keep this up. Every time she saw Samrat and Sheena together, her heart broke a little more. She knew that a time will come when she would break. She would collapse under the strain of hiding her feelings, from the world, and from one person she had promised to never hide anything. But she also knew that everything came with a price. And this was the price she had to pay for falling in love with Samrat, her best friend.
Jaisey saath saath,
Chanda ke hai raat,
Jitney paas naino ke kaajal………
She could only pray for his happiness from afar. She could only look up at the moon every night and wish for it to light up his world. She could only watch from her dark corner as he and Sheena had a wonderful life together. But she didn't begrudge him his happiness. If he was happy, it was all that she required. After all, love is all about giving right?
Jitney paas paas,
Saagar ke lahar,
Utne paas tu rehna humsafar………
I hurry down the corridor to the library where I know Chashmish is. Shukhla sir's detention has made me extremely late. I can only hope that Chashmish is still there in the library. I skid into the library, earning myself a glare from the librarian. Praying that I don't get another detention, I muster a charming smile and rejoice as the librarian falls victim to it and motions me ahead. I rush to the table where Chashmish is and notice her wiping her tears. Knowing Chashmish really well, this has to be because of her decision of not talking to me. Her tears give me hope. Hope that she cares for me. So I sit down in front of her. After her momentary shock at my arrival, she looks ready to object to my presence. So I act instinctively and pull her in for a kiss. I can feel her stiffen under me, but she responds almost immediately. Pulling away, I tell her about my feelings and am elated when she responds in affirmative.
Tu jo paas ho,
Fir kya yeh jahaan,
Tere pyaar mein,
Ho jaun fanaa………
It's only after I hear discreet coughing that I come out of my Gunjan induced haze. I turn around to see Dia and Benji standing there grinning at us. Chashmish looks mortified as she realizes that we had audience for our make out fest. However, Dia and Benji simply wave and leave, still grinning from ear to ear. Feeling mischievous I pull Chashmish in for another kiss. She resists, the scarlet on her face deepening. I pout and she smiles, relenting and giving me a peck on my cheek before leaving. I could get used to this.

Adhoori saans thi dhadkan adhoori thi adhooren ham...
Magar ab chaand poora hain falak pe aur ab pooren hain ham.

Glowing_Star thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
It was reallyyy sweet...😊