Bharti's pregnancy to have complications - Article

Rakhie_08 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Article from Deccan Chronicle - 28th May 2011

Pregnancies push up TRPs

Big fat elaborate weddings and traditional, colourful rituals are big TRP boosters. But of late, pregnancy and miscarriage sequences have been playing a key role in driving TRPs. Take the case of Pavitra Rishta. The two-year-old daily which went through a long phase of wrong marriage turning into a love story, followed by bitter separation because of family pressure and subsequent reunion, needed another prod to take it to the top. This came by way of Archana's pregnancy which gave it the required impetus. Incidentally, the pregnancy track was aired during the Cricket World Cup and IPL season and it still did well. Another show that resorted to a baby track recently during the IPL to push up its ratings was Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai. While Archana's pregnancy in Pavitra Rishta is progressing well so far, Akshara of Yeh Rishta had a miscarriage.

The "baby" tracks in both the shows struck a chord with viewers and boosted ratings. But producer-director Rajan Shahi of Yeh Rishta denies that Akshara's pregnancy and miscarriage was a TRP gimmick. "The show is about falling in love after an arranged marriage and what happens after that in a couple's life. It has sensitively touched several aspects of a young couple's life and having a baby is a natural progression of the story," he defends. Zee's fiction head Sukesh Motwani says Pavitra Rishta has dealt with several issues like getting along with one's parents, siblings, spouse, survival and aspirations. "So pregnancy had to happen after two years of simple and relatable story-telling," he adds.

Whether there is a twist in the tale in Archana's pregnancy, is yet to be seen. In Baba Aiso Var Dhoondo, protagonist Bharti is in the family way but her pregnancy will run into complications as she is a dwarf. Writer-producer Rakesh Paswan of Baba Aiso Var Dhoondo admits that his show's protagonist will get pregnant but refuses to divulge details about the complications.

After a lot of ruckus in Kesar's pregnancy in Pratigya, sooner or later, the show's protagonist Pratigya too will get pregnant. Ditto with at least one of the daughters-in-law in Sasural Gende Phool, if not Suhana who has been diagnosed with a brain tumour. It will probably be Suhana because she drives the show and complications will add a fresh twist to the story. Avni of Maayke Se Bandhi Dor is another potential candidate for conception. Whether it is a logical progression or a major TRP booster is anybody's guess, but the "baby trap" works.

Edited by Rakhie_08 - 14 years ago

Rae24 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Thanks Rakhie - but wasn't this posted earlier??
Rakhie_08 thumbnail
Was it?
I think the earlier article said she would fall pregnant. This says the same thing, but further adds that her pregnancy will have complications. So that'll be the next drama!
Oh joy 😔
It just gets better and better for BharLi dun it?! 😕
Apologies if it has been posted already.
hashbrown thumbnail

i had known ever since i read the first article that they would show bharti's pregnancy complications simply because it can be turned into "an issue" concerning little people...but never had anticipated murli's misconception being highlighted this way...

i can understand his concern for his wife, he went for the second opinion of the other doctor, he said there he wanted to be prepared for every thing, all fine...what is not acceptable is his attitude...he is simply ignoring his wife...what would she think, how deeply will she be effected psychologically, and emotionally, did he ever think of that?
she would positively think that her husband did not like her, and is not interested in her any more; she would blame herself for coming into his life the second time, when she could have had refused his offer, and what not!!!

trust me murli, you will have to regret ignoring your wife, and becoming a cause of her emotional pain.
you will have to apologize her later...
Rakhie_08 thumbnail

Originally posted by: hashbrown

i had known ever since i read the first article that they would show bharti's pregnancy complications simply because it can be turned into "an issue" concerning little people...but never had anticipated murli's misconception being highlighted this way...

i can understand his concern for his wife, he went for the second opinion of the other doctor, he said there he wanted to be prepared for every thing, all fine...what is not acceptable is his attitude...he is simply ignoring his wife...what would she think, how deeply will she be effected psychologically, and emotionally, did he ever think of that?
she would positively think that her husband did not like her, and is not interested in her any more; she would blame herself for coming into his life the second time, when she could have had refused his offer, and what not!!!

trust me murli, you will have to regret ignoring your wife, and becoming a cause of her emotional pain.
you will have to apologize her later...

I never actually read the first article. I only know from reading posts from people on this forum. I don't have an issue with this because a pregnancy for any woman can be a very worrying time, and many average sized women face complications of all kinds too. And so the dangers involved in being pregnant for a little woman are all the more greater. That is an issue worth being discussed within the context of a drama.
But building up to it, using this entire suhaag raat incidence as a prelude to the bigger forthcoming pregnancy track was utterly unnecessary. A complicated pregnancy would have been enough of a track. It didn't need a secondary issue to bump up it's drama factor.
Pretty soon, Bharti is going to start thinking that perhaps Murli regrets his decision of having married her. Or that he regrets having consummated their marriage. She'll start thinking that she wasn't up to the 'job' and so he's rejecting her. The chances are that by the time she falls pregnant and Murli's protectiveness goes into over-drive, she'll think he's unhappy because the child may be a little person too!
Already, I'm feeling mortified at the emotional battering that the CV's have planned for this woman. I'm not saying Murli is enjoying any of this. Or that he's wanting to reject her or hurt her in any way. but the fact is that Murli atleast has the advantage of knowing why he is behaving like this. While Bharti is completely clueless.
Edited by Rakhie_08 - 14 years ago
hashbrown thumbnail

bharti's pregnancy and complications is a very legitimate issue. rakhie, i 100% agree with you.
it is an issue for every woman, it would be far more than an issue for bharti...i can think of her own very concerns about her unborn child...so i had thought her pregnancy would be a worth watching track where she and murli would be bonded closely, would face complications hand in hand, and be there for each other. i thought it would become a perfect opportunity for them to come real close to each other, so close that would make them inseparable for the rest of their lives...but alas, i forgot for sometime that i was watching a desi show which thrives on negativity...

complications, yes...murli's apprehensions about the child, yes...but love and commitment for each other to supercede the hardships, complications and anxieties should have been the theme. that is the sort of murli i would have liked to see on my screen. it is heart wrenching for me to think of bharti and hundreds of legitimate questions in her mind regarding her husband's behaviour, who needs to talk it all out with his wife; so at least she has one part of her brain at peace, and then she could concentrate on other aspects of her pregnancy.

Rakhie_08 thumbnail
I don't understand how long Murli thinks he can get away with avoiding intimacy with Bharti?
How long can he make excuses in order to keep himself away from her?
The first day after their SR, as Bharti rightly said, he chided her like a child and keep sending her to bed!
The second day when they came back home, she leaned against him and rested her head on his shoulder for comfort, and at first he reciprocated. But after his flashbacks he made a hasty exit out of the room saying he needs to go and check on KamAnsi.
So far because of everything else going on, their time alone has been limited or hindered in some way or another anyway. But as the days go on and they return to normal routine around the house, how is he going to avoid Bharti?
When she comes near him, wants to be close to him, wants to be with him, what is he going to do? what other excuses is he going to give his already confused, hurt and fragile wife?
Even just holding her hand or hugging her seems to be too much for him to deal with. He's so afraid of letting either his or her emotions taking over and one thing leading to another, that the slightest touch sends him into a frenzy about how to avoid the possibility.
I agree, when I heard about the pregnancy track I was waiting to see a loving, considerate Murli, who would understand that his wife's pregnancy will be somewhat different to other womens. I wanted to see how they deal with her complications as a couple. I wanted CV's to show how people like these two in the real world (and there are plenty), deal with these very real issues.
And while we'll be a shown a caring Murli, it won't be in the same way we want him to be. This will be a Murli who will let his fears rule. A Murli who under a misguided sense of responsibility will be over protective to the point of being over bearing. This will be a Murli who will assume he knows what is best for her and them.
And that is not a Murli I want to see.
hashbrown thumbnail

rakhie, i think it is time to start another campaign. add another tag line. i am with you...infact,
we all will be...
we need a murli who stands with his wife, who is wise, who is compassionate and who can stand the test of time.
bavdfan thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Rakhie_08

Was it?

I think the earlier article said she would fall pregnant. This says the same thing, but further adds that her pregnancy will have complications. So that'll be the next drama!
Oh joy 😔
It just gets better and better for BharLi dun it?! 😕
Apologies if it has been posted already.

it wasn't posted, the previous one was a different article . thanks for this one

if there is complication, that shows us that the track is realistic. i'm not trying to say that there is always complication if a dwarf is pregnant but this is a risk that we can't neglect.
But i hope this is not a track like death of the baby or something like that cause if that happens i bet that the CV's will make a change of personality for bharti and i don't want that.
Edited by bavdfan - 14 years ago
Rae24 thumbnail
@ rakhie Oops sorry may have been mistaken think this one does go further in information