I am disappointed

hppppp thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
I just got to read few threads...and I am just so surprised that people are like condemning me like hell for that one suggestion I gave about using Ma'am and not Madam. I am really disappointed the way people treat suggestions.....I was very polite in giving this suggestion. And I am not wrong when you I say that Madam does have a negative connotation attached to it..... though it is more so in US- than anywhere else in the world...I am very much an Indian..and I am not a spokesperson of american culture either.... but you use it when you are too polite, or maybe in formal letters....When you say words like "Madam" in kind of a taunting way---"Madam" does not sound polite at all...and some people from a specific culture, do find it more offensive, coz it does have a negative meaning too-especially when you are using it in the context of perhaps a taunt.

Very respectfully...Mr. Groucho....I agree you might have given english classes...but is it necessary that everyone knows everything about everything?...is it just so wrong to share just any piece of knowledge. I did not cook the story myself......I attended training session on corporate etiquettes..and thats where I got to know that a non contextual usage of this word could offend people. Its more of an American thing...but the world is shrinking-and isn't it good to know etiquette of all the cultures? Even if it is wrong to know ......have I done a grave error in just sharing what I know?

@Rahul Vaid and Abhay.....why to take a suggestion in such an unhealthy manner? Why to create such a hue and cry if someone just shares something? And I don't even care what you say to anyone...I am NOT interested in giving you classes on how to address ladies! I for one ..Its just that I DONOT want to be addressed in a specific way!!...

And when I said that if you do not know about something atleast do not mock it....It was for something else..the way you guys were making never ending mockery (poker schools..like in almost every second thread.)...I wasn't born yesterday to not understand you were mocking me!....And I gave you an example of where it was used in recruitment....I don't support gambling..but don't hate it either..because there is some part of the world..where people take it as a respectful...and even intelligent game..I am not advocating it....but I had just stated a point, that you guys without verifying facts started your never ending "fun" (read ridiculing) sessions.

When I said I expect a level of formality with "guys"----- let me say it direct--I categorically meant it for Rahul, Abhay119 and Lambooji. I was hoping they would understand that there are people who are not comfortable with their comments. I do not have words to describe how difficult I find it to post anything on this forum....coz I feel my words will be taken in a complete different direction....If I argue with them-I get to a level where I don't even want to go.

I am just completely clueless about how to stay dignified while expressing your thoughts in a forum...where some people just think its their birth right to make a mockery of everything-in the name of fun....without considering the dignity of just anyone!!!

I am VERY glad that some people have decided they will not comment on any post by the other fan group. For God's sake please add me to your "Ignore" list too in case I am not already there!! I want to be able to express my opinions without being ridiculed, mocked, trashed, abused or anything.

I never thought the Madam-Ma'am thing would be treated more than a suggestion .....it is not even Uttaran related thing..but I had to clarify it..because the suggestion is being discussed in such a disgusting way. I understand this thread should be closed..coz it is not a related topic to Uttaran...and I would welcome if mods close it coz I myself am not looking for more arguments..or comments on it...I wanted to just state my opinion ..that I have already done.

Edited by hima_123 - 14 years ago

SRKLuvr thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Himani my dear its official: this forum has officially been segregated into the two new parties of world war three! I for one to do not intend to be a part of this segregation at all if you will read some of the posts from last night I was quite shocked however I do not wish to speak on it here as I don't want to get into trouble😊. I am worried for the safety of my beautiful Veeya Heaven which I love more than anything! Hima ji I think we should all try not to open these posts as it will give them more ammunition against us. Perhaps they dont realise that the majority of people in our Veeya fanclub do not venture out onto the rest of the forum because they feel targeted. But lets say no more here.😊
I never knew about the mam/madam thing so its ok for me but I feel now we should restrict ourselves to our Veeya Heaven😊
Edited by SRKLuvr - 14 years ago
sheebs_ratifan thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
@hima im agree with u but dont worry what can we do they r posting these types of posts then what can we do unhe jo karna hai kare ayinda se mein unke posts mein taps ki burai sunnungi to vaha comment nahi karungi seedhe uss post ko report karungi n vo log to mods ko bhi ahhhh!!!mujhe isse koi faraq nahi padhta mein apne bartav k liye sharminda hu n maine apne words back leliye but vo!!!its ok ab mein ayinda se unse fight karne k bajai unke posts ko report kardungi so keep smiling 😃
hppppp thumbnail

Originally posted by: SRKLuvr

Himani my dear its official: this forum has officially been segregated into the two new parties of world war threee! I for one to do not intend to be a part of this segregation at all if you will read some of the posts from last night I was quite shocked however I do not wish to speak on it here as I don't want to get into trouble. I am worried for the safety of my beautiful Veeya Heaven which I love more than anything! Hima ji I think we should all try not to open these posts as it will give us ammunition against us. Perhaps they dont realise that the majority of people in our Veeya fanclub do not venture out onto the rest ofthe forum because they feel targeted. But lets say no more here.😊
I never knew about the mam/madam thing so its ok for me but I feel now we should restrict ourselves to our Veeya Heaven😊

Hey Sanaya...Veeya fan heaven is such a safe heaven.- and it so easy to talk there.......however, I also feel we should be able to speak in all the threads which are open to all....or atleast be allowed to open threads. We shouldn't act out of fear.

The level of ridiculing by some members was just too much to me...and I really cannot appreciate a tone that sounds like 1980s bollywood...when Mithun Chakraborty would come and trash a woman "Madam...hum khoon paseena bahaane waale asli log hain...aur tum plastic ki ho..paper ki ho".......type of tone..and public would clap and whistle !!🤢....I live in 2010..where courtesy is the word....and its ok to expect it and ask for it.

I shared what I knew about the word Madam(and ofcours someone told me..and I didn't make him miserable for telling me what I was not aware of- I think sharing of information is a very good thing)....I admit the negative connotation is more of an American thing...but come on, was it so bad that I shared it?

I am not really surprised by the division...😊...there always was a division...its good if they have decided to not comment on our posts...atleast we can expect less fights and can feel more freedom in expressing views about Uttaran, without having to argue and defend all our thoughts.....😃 ..finally..phew!

hppppp thumbnail

Originally posted by: sheebs_ratifan

@hima im agree with u but dont worry what can we do they r posting these types of posts then what can we do unhe jo karna hai kare ayinda se mein unke posts mein taps ki burai sunnungi to vaha comment nahi karungi seedhe uss post ko report karungi n vo log to mods ko bhi ahhhh!!!mujhe isse koi faraq nahi padhta mein apne bartav k liye sharminda hu n maine apne words back leliye but vo!!!its ok ab mein ayinda se unse fight karne k bajai unke posts ko report kardungi so keep smiling 😃

Hey Sheebs...don't feel bad😳..I haven't yet seen the post that created so much uproar...I just saw that one thread ..some "shaan se jiyo" kinda topic.

whatever you replied to anyone, I am sure there is nothing worth that should make you feel bad....just stay unaffected😊 ...here people say just too many things to each other....without realising the original source of instigation...so don't regret anything- ..its all fine...perhaps not worth noticing even..😳...its cool..enjoy the spice of life! l

😳

sheebs_ratifan thumbnail
@hima thanks yaar agree ur very sweet
arunima_LUIT thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
@hima:

plz chill😆...I dont think Here in India...Madam means something like that what u mean......😆

for us Middle class Indian ppl , madam n Sir means terms of formal address .many of us dont even think that there is any big diffrence between madam n ma'm..its for us aam aadmi....just a missing D makes it more respectful😕

I condemn it if anyone is disrespectful to any member ..but honestly no one even knows here that madam means something like that...n those guys who call anyone madam might have never known it means that...

as for me ..my junior colleagues call address me as madam
I adressed al my teachers at school n university as madam....n mayb sometimes ma'm

n anyways can u dictate vocabulary to anyone

None means any disrespect when someone call u or me madam in India

We wont change bcoz its some new rule in America

Last evening sheebs_rati fan Called us cheap many times .......n when we complain it is we who bear the brunt

Dear Plz dont get hyper..🤗...it is just a forum.....there can b diffrence of opinions...ignore if u find something irritating ....but yah no one means any disrespect i m sure ...we r just havininteractions here wy wud any one b disrespect ful to u

sheebs_ratifan thumbnail
hima dear mein manti hu maine inhe cheap kaha ek kaam kijiye yaha mere explain karne se achcha hai k aap vaha k comments padhlijiye phir aap meri side le kisi aur ki mujhe koi faraq nahi padhta
abhay119 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Dear Hima_123. I hv decided not to post in this UT forum, and will stick to tht, but as ur post is not concern anywhere to the UT and u hv personally address me somewhere in ur post, so last time I want to reply u and don't want any argument on this. U hv expressed ur POV and I m posting my POV and will not reply u anymore.
First of all u r saying u r not born yesterday and understand everything, do u think we r born yesterday and don't understand u. ur every word and every sentences full of arrogance and attitude. Whnever we talk abt anything u come with ur lecture, whn we were makin fun of gambling u started ur lecture to prove it science, even once Shivani posted a Veer-Ichha photos, we started commenting wht resolution it sd be. Do u think we need ur suggestion?? Or do u think u r only person in this forum who hs all these knowledge. Yes we r tired of ur lectures and we don't thnk tht u r the person from which we need any lesion. If u think u r the only person who attended training session on corporate etiquettes? There r people who five lectures in such seminars, but they don't give lecture here. Do u think u r the most MULTITALENTED person in this forum. Wht u want to prove, tht others r uneducated and they need to be educated by u???
U r talking abt to take the things in HEALTHY way, who take everything as taunt. Hv u any sense of humor??? Once whn I told u "cool doun, don't take everything seriously" u also take it as taunt. After tht I stop commenting u. with such frame of mind if anyone talk to take things healthy way, its just funny. As concern to madam as taunt, u can say anything as taunting, even m'am. Its all depends how u r saying it. So keep ur lecture to urself, we don't need it. Now as we r not here to reply u can freely practice it, ur follower will appreciate it. Don't reply me, becoz I will not even read ur post. And if mod want to ban me for this post, to offend their Tapu lovers it dosnt matter for me anymore.
Gnarly_Quinn thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
okay so the dark times are back again in this forum... there were only a few weeks left in between to have some peace and now the taunters are back... i really dont understand whats people's problem in this forum... if there are more than one couple in the show people are supposed to like different couples right?... the forum has become dreadful for most of the people who like rashmi or tappu...every other day there are instigating posts..like the one i just saw 'make up ki dukan' ... n yes altho it might have happened that these guys did not know the right connotation of the word 'madam'... they are deliberately taunting at times...n making scornful remarks....i know 90% of veeya fans dont do that...for a fact...one or two new members might get carried away but u cant judge the whole group by one instance...n some iccha fans have deliberately tried to instigate us all along. n banning or continuous warnings from mods also dont seem to make any difference...sad.
Edited by pragya_dutta - 14 years ago